Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product
This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Orvis.

Italian Boiled-Wool Watch Cap

Warm and naturally weather resistant, boiled wool makes this classic watch cap for men a perfect match for cold, damp weather; the soft fleece interior ear band keeps ears toasty, too. Wool cap for men in olive, red. One size fits most. Wool/polypropylene. Hand wash. Italy.
Average Customer Rating:
4.333 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (18 reviews)
5 stars
10
4 stars
5
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 star
0
16 of 18(89%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Italian Boiled-Wool Watch Cap
Review 1 for Italian Boiled-Wool Watch Cap
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Good Hat, a little small,
January 2, 2013
By: Stadium
from Ohio
"This is exactly what I wanted, a wool hat, with a fleece band around the ears. The only problem is it is too small. It rides up your head as you move around and I am constantly tugging it back down over my ears to keep them fully covered. Another inch of fabric and it would have been a 5 star hat."
Review 2 for Italian Boiled-Wool Watch Cap
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Well made hat,
December 28, 2012
By: rpscolorado
from Colorado
"Nice hat, bought the natural color for me and red for wife. Great for our cold winter morning walks."
Review 3 for Italian Boiled-Wool Watch Cap
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Italian Wool Cap,
December 24, 2012
By: Crackers
from Valparaiso, Indiana
"This is a very nicely made Italian boiled wool beanie that I can recommend for the sale price!.. I would like to make this clear that this cap could be worn by both men and women... I say this because this cap is cut a little on the small side and will fit a woman well and a man say up to say 7 1/4 max.. I wear a size 7 and it is perfect! The cap is designed to fit snug to begin with but honestly if you have a larger size head than 71/4 I would suggest a different cap.. This cap is very well made and the boiled wool is a very tight knit.. It also has a soft fleece band on the inside for additional warmth and itch free comfort!.. If you don't have a large head, I would highly recommend this cap for the sale price.. I liked it so much I bought a second one for backup! Forgot to mention it is pretty warm!"
Review 4 for Italian Boiled-Wool Watch Cap
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Warm and comfortable,
December 1, 2012
By: northidaho
"Great product combining fleece and wool for ultimate comfort/warmth with a sale price that was impossible to beat."
Review 5 for Italian Boiled-Wool Watch Cap
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
November 26, 2012
By: Brickman
from Green Bay, Wisconsin
"This hat lives up to its billing. The wool is knit to a tight weave and stops the winter wind and cold. The quality is excellent. I would give this hat a five stars rating if it didn't run small in size. The hat is stingy in circumference, but amply sized from top to bottom."
Review 6 for Italian Boiled-Wool Watch Cap
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Windy cold days,
November 18, 2012
By: DCJDDS
from Winchester, VA
"I use this cap for dog walks on those windy cold days when other caps would blow off easily. Polar fleece over my ears means no more ear muffs, I have both colors.
I love this cap!
"
Review 7 for Italian Boiled-Wool Watch Cap
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Super small hat,
October 26, 2012
By: ChicagoLobbyist
from Chicago, IL
"nice material but fit for small children rather than adults. Had to return it."
Review 8 for Italian Boiled-Wool Watch Cap
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Top Quality,
May 24, 2012
By: RandyP
from Tyler TX
"I bought 1 & liked it so much I bought the other color to have 2. I love the quality construction & wool & I bet this cap is warm as well as fits well !"
Review 9 for Italian Boiled-Wool Watch Cap
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Keeping Warm,
May 19, 2012
By: JIVA
from Ann Arbor, MI
"Winters in Ann Arbor MI can get very nasty. I always keep something to protect my head in each jacket just in case the winter days turn for the worst. This wool cap works just perfect and easily fits in any coat/jacket pocket ready and handy."
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Italian Boiled-Wool Watch Cap
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Touque,
May 16, 2012
By: Lethbridge
from Lethbridge, Alberta
"We call them touques here in Canada, & they are hard to beat in keeping your head warm. This one made in Italy is a top quality product. I have a large sized head & this "size fits all" is not to tight & very comfortable in our frigid winters. Very nice styling."
Review 11 for Italian Boiled-Wool Watch Cap
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
A little tight,
January 12, 2012
By: Dave100
"One size fits all I'm not sure that works well with anything. Found this cap to be a little tight. Otherwise great cap."
Review 12 for Italian Boiled-Wool Watch Cap
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great hat,
January 4, 2012
By: Tuco60
from NJ
"Better than the old wool hats where you flip up part of the hat becuase it was big."
Review 13 for Italian Boiled-Wool Watch Cap
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Pleasant surprise,
December 30, 2011
By: cooper52
from Tennessee
"it is refreshing to buy something online that turns out to be exactly as described. Great color, weight, shape. We got it in time for Xmas. Great customer service."
Review 14 for Italian Boiled-Wool Watch Cap
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
High quality,
December 26, 2011
By: yoeddie
from Concord, NH
"I gave this cap as a gift to my husband for Christmas. He really likes it. The soft fleece band makes it very comfortable and not itchy at all. It does seem to be a bit on the small side but my husband is hoping to stretch it out a bit."
Review 15 for Italian Boiled-Wool Watch Cap
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Too small,
December 25, 2011
By: SandeeEggo
from San Diego, CA
"My husband is a big and tall man. This cap was too small for him. I'm giving it 3 stars instead of 2 because it is a nice cap. I am sending it back for an exchange."
Review 16 for Italian Boiled-Wool Watch Cap
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Hat,
December 17, 2011
By: jrob
from St Lois mo
"Nice hat somewhat pricey compared to a Filson watch cap. But I am pleased with it."
Ratings-Only Reviews for Italian Boiled-Wool Watch Cap
Based on the average of (2) ratings-only reviews
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Would recommend? Yes 2 out of 2