Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Shearling Winter Ball Cap

Stay warm outdoors in cold winter weather in an eight-panel ball cap crafted from genuine sheepskin shearling. Earflaps snap to the sides when not needed; polyvinyl-bound brim and earflap edges add durability. In brown. Sizes: M(7-7⅛), L(7¼-7⅜), XL(7½-7⅝), XXL(7¾-7⅞).
Average Customer Rating:
4.21 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (38 reviews)
5 stars
27
4 stars
3
3 stars
0
2 stars
5
1 star
3
30 of 38(79%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Shearling Winter Ball Cap
Review 1 for Shearling Winter Ball Cap
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
NIce cap ruined by cheap trim,
January 22, 2014
By: WatchfulEye
from CT
"I received the Orvis shearling ball cap as a gift..
This expensive and otherwise well-made cap is trimmed in cheap vinyl around the edge of the brim and the fold-down ear and neck flap.
Shortly after I got the hat, the trim began to crack at the corners of the brim. And over time, the trim on the edge of the flap has shrunk and become stiff, so that the flap does not lie flat against the ears and neck when folded down and looks goofy.
How much more could it possibly have cost to use a more flexible and durable trim material?
Orvis used to be all about the little details like this. What happened?"
Review 2 for Shearling Winter Ball Cap
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Warm and cozy,
January 15, 2014
By: Mtnboy
"I really love this hat- rugged, stylish, and it keeps me warm in the Polar vortex!"
Review 3 for Shearling Winter Ball Cap
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Gift,
January 15, 2014
By: Kabby
from Joliet IL
"I purchased this hat for my father and he loves it! It is very warm and the it fits him perfect! I would highly recommend!"
Review 4 for Shearling Winter Ball Cap
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great gift,
January 1, 2014
By: cleatarr
from Atlanta, GA
"Very nice quality material. This was purchased as a gift for my father, and it looks like it will last a long time. It looks great on him and he loves it!"
Review 5 for Shearling Winter Ball Cap
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Disappointed,
January 1, 2014
By: csjbeverly
"I expected a shearling lined cap. Instead, it was a thin polyester faux lining.... not what I expected based on the description and price. Sorry I can't be more positive.... looked good in the picture!"
Review 6 for Shearling Winter Ball Cap
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Winter Cap is a Winner,
December 28, 2013
By: Piersol
from OKC, OK
"My husband loves his shearling baseball cap. It will keep his head warm and toasty in the winter."
Review 7 for Shearling Winter Ball Cap
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
nice winter hat,
December 26, 2013
By: russia1994
from Oshkosh, WI
"Fit fine. I like the ear flaps and wool lining. Great for Wisconsin winters."
Review 8 for Shearling Winter Ball Cap
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Not the same as in the picture, not even close,
December 17, 2013
By: Yanan
"Very disappointed. I ordered a XXL but it's very small and shallow. The leather's so dark it's almost black but in the picture it's nice brown. The "fur" around the hat is dark dark gray but in the picture is light beige. Not worth the money at all. Will return it."
Review 9 for Shearling Winter Ball Cap
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best winter cap,
December 17, 2013
By: Eboraiberu
from Pa
"I closed my eyes before spending on this cap but it's worth it. Fits well, very warm, nice compliments with a gentlemanly composition . Highly recommended."
Review 10 for Shearling Winter Ball Cap
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Stitching is poor,
December 16, 2013
By: Wyotown
"The hat fits well and looks nice, but quality control is a problem for this manufacturer. I've seen better stitching on a ten dollar hat. Considering the price, I think they could afford to take a couple of seconds out of their day to inspect the hat before shipping it out."
Review 11 for Shearling Winter Ball Cap
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great cap!,
December 14, 2013
By: Ararat
"The cap is very stylish, soft and warm.
Highly recommend.
"
Review 12 for Shearling Winter Ball Cap
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Hat,
December 10, 2013
By: 1940dog
from Jackson, Wyoming
"The hat is warm, comfortable and very functional. Highly recommend."
Review 13 for Shearling Winter Ball Cap
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Quality not good and size not accurate.,
November 26, 2013
By: MickSloane
from Chicago, IL
"I ordered the hat from the Michigan Ave Store. The hat was too small.
I went to the store to exchange the hat. while waiting at the counter, a customer asked me my opinion about a dog item. I told her I wasn't very fond of dogs and I would never purchase a dog item.
She and the salesperson acted like I just committed a sacrilege.
The sales person was proud to tell me that Orvis is a dog friendly store. (so what's the poin?). Who cares? I just wanted to exchange my hat.
The salesperson and the customer immediately bonded with each other againt me and aquired an attitude.
I figured, I don't really need this hat and attitude, I got a refund for my hat and left."
0 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Shearling Winter Ball Cap
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Winter Warm,
July 31, 2013
By: Seychelles
from Somerset
"The product is just what i had been looking for , un fussy head gear as our winters are getting colder and we now have a dog its going to be perfect for those winter walks."
Review 15 for Shearling Winter Ball Cap
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Hat!,
February 11, 2013
By: NorthernBoy
"Perfect fit and warm and snug - the ear tabs work perfectly if the conditions are extreme. Well constructed with soft leather that has a worn in feel to it. This hat will last me a lifetime!"
Review 16 for Shearling Winter Ball Cap
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great product,
January 10, 2013
By: Anonymous
"Nice hat, warm fits well and is made well. All ways receive complements."
Review 17 for Shearling Winter Ball Cap
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Nice material, but poor quality control!,
December 28, 2012
By: Mountainhome
"I ordered the shearling ball cap from Orvis based on the great reviews other people posted. Unfortunately I didn't have that experience. When I received my ball cap I instantly liked the quality and feel of the shearling and thought it would stand up great to cold Montana winters. I tried it on and was disappointed that it was too large even though I used the size chart to make the appropriate selection. I reasoned that I'd be able to use some type of internal hat band to make it fit better so not a big deal. What did disappoint me, however, was that one of the snaps which holds the ear flap in place was broken and fell off in my hand before I could even try to work the snap. Also, there were several unsightly silver markings on the leather of my hat. Fortunately I was able to remove the majority of the marks with a damp cloth. I plan to use this product and imagine it will still work well for its intended purpose. However, because of these problems with the quality of the item and the premium price that I payed, I'd be very apprehensive to recommend it to another."
Review 18 for Shearling Winter Ball Cap
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great purchase,
December 28, 2012
By: Jzimm
from New york
"I've had great results with this product. And would definitely recommend it."
Review 19 for Shearling Winter Ball Cap
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Gift!,
December 17, 2012
By: EmpireStef
"I gave this hat as a birthday gift to my boyfriend - at the end of November - although we haven't had many cold days yet (still first half of Dec.), he loves the style of the hat, and the large fits great as the sizing chart indicated it would."
Review 20 for Shearling Winter Ball Cap
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great style and fit!,
December 30, 2011
By: Corvuscorvax
from Atlanta, GA
"Wearing it as I write! Very comfortable in 30's - 50's temps. Haven't tried ear flaps yet, but guess they would be good for even colder temps. I wear 7 3/8 (59) and the large fits perfectly. Comfortable to wear all day. Great fit and finish. Have received may compliments. Definitely worthy of the Orvis brand!"