Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Shearling Winter Ball Cap

Stay warm outdoors in cold winter weather in an eight-panel ball cap crafted from genuine sheepskin shearling. Earflaps snap to the sides when not needed; polyvinyl-bound brim and earflap edges add durability. Shearling hat for men in brown. Imported.Sizes: M(7-7⅛), L(7¼-7⅜), XL(7½-7⅝), XXL(7¾-7⅞).
Average Customer Rating:
4.25 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (48 reviews)
5 stars
33
4 stars
5
3 stars
2
2 stars
5
1 star
3
38 of 48(79%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Shearling Winter Ball Cap
Review 1 for Shearling Winter Ball Cap
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Warmest & Softest Ever,
April 3, 2015
By: MarkieD
from Ann Arbor, MI
"This hat exceeds my expectations for warmth and comfort. I live in Michigan and on the coldest days of winter, I wear this hat in place of any skull cap for warmth. Also, the fur inside is soft."
Review 2 for Shearling Winter Ball Cap
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The warmest most comfortable hat ever,
January 30, 2015
By: CourtGuardian
from New York City
"Truly awesome first quality materials and construction which is the warmest hat I have ever owned, Highly recommended."
Review 3 for Shearling Winter Ball Cap
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
You don't see this hat often,
January 26, 2015
By: Johnny28
from Maryland
"nice leather hat.. warm and well made. the bill could be a bit longer to hold off the snow falling in you eyes."
Review 4 for Shearling Winter Ball Cap
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Very Nice Hat,
January 2, 2015
By: CMulier
from London, Ohio
"I have used this hat outdoors since I got it as a gift. I love the hat. It fit well and keeps my head warm as advertised."
Review 5 for Shearling Winter Ball Cap
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Lovely hat but needs a fix.,
January 2, 2015
By: Flicka54
from Chanhassen, MN
"I purchased this hat for my husband for Christmas. It was a random gift that I thought he would like and yes, he loved it! Beautifully made, leather is soft and ear flaps snug and effective. However, the band on the front almost immediately curled up and is staying that way. I will likely call Orvis to see what can be done but since we're on vacation, have not had the opportunity to do so yet. Watch this space......... and Happy New Year!"
Review 6 for Shearling Winter Ball Cap
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Finally a classy hat,
December 27, 2014
By: HappyWifeNJ
"My 64 year old husband is always covering his bald head with cheap baseball caps. I got this for Christmas and he loves it. So much better....He says it's very warm and soft. I measured the inside of one of his other caps to get his size. Worked perfectly."
Review 7 for Shearling Winter Ball Cap
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Mu husband loved this gift,
December 27, 2014
By: forjeremy
"This is a great hat. My husband can walk the dog and pull the ear flaps down for warmth when necessary"
Review 8 for Shearling Winter Ball Cap
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
didn't work for me,
December 26, 2014
By: slickmick
from New York, NY
"The cap came as described in the catalog, but simply didn't look attractive on my head. The mistake was mine in not buying a product at your store instead."
Review 9 for Shearling Winter Ball Cap
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Shearling Winter Ball Cap,
December 11, 2014
By: jennh
"The warmest for Wisconsin winters...my husband wears the cap each day...is warm and very handsome. Quality is very good."
Review 10 for Shearling Winter Ball Cap
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
NIce cap ruined by cheap trim,
January 22, 2014
By: WatchfulEye
from CT
"I received the Orvis shearling ball cap as a gift..
This expensive and otherwise well-made cap is trimmed in cheap vinyl around the edge of the brim and the fold-down ear and neck flap.
Shortly after I got the hat, the trim began to crack at the corners of the brim. And over time, the trim on the edge of the flap has shrunk and become stiff, so that the flap does not lie flat against the ears and neck when folded down and looks goofy.
How much more could it possibly have cost to use a more flexible and durable trim material?
Orvis used to be all about the little details like this. What happened?"
Review 11 for Shearling Winter Ball Cap
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Warm and cozy,
January 15, 2014
By: Mtnboy
"I really love this hat- rugged, stylish, and it keeps me warm in the Polar vortex!"
Review 12 for Shearling Winter Ball Cap
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Gift,
January 15, 2014
By: Kabby
from Joliet IL
"I purchased this hat for my father and he loves it! It is very warm and the it fits him perfect! I would highly recommend!"
Review 13 for Shearling Winter Ball Cap
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great gift,
January 1, 2014
By: cleatarr
from Atlanta, GA
"Very nice quality material. This was purchased as a gift for my father, and it looks like it will last a long time. It looks great on him and he loves it!"
Review 14 for Shearling Winter Ball Cap
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Disappointed,
January 1, 2014
By: csjbeverly
"I expected a shearling lined cap. Instead, it was a thin polyester faux lining.... not what I expected based on the description and price. Sorry I can't be more positive.... looked good in the picture!"
Review 15 for Shearling Winter Ball Cap
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Winter Cap is a Winner,
December 28, 2013
By: Piersol
from OKC, OK
"My husband loves his shearling baseball cap. It will keep his head warm and toasty in the winter."
Review 16 for Shearling Winter Ball Cap
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
nice winter hat,
December 26, 2013
By: russia1994
from Oshkosh, WI
"Fit fine. I like the ear flaps and wool lining. Great for Wisconsin winters."
Review 17 for Shearling Winter Ball Cap
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Not the same as in the picture, not even close,
December 17, 2013
By: Yanan
"Very disappointed. I ordered a XXL but it's very small and shallow. The leather's so dark it's almost black but in the picture it's nice brown. The "fur" around the hat is dark dark gray but in the picture is light beige. Not worth the money at all. Will return it."
Review 18 for Shearling Winter Ball Cap
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best winter cap,
December 17, 2013
By: Eboraiberu
from Pa
"I closed my eyes before spending on this cap but it's worth it. Fits well, very warm, nice compliments with a gentlemanly composition . Highly recommended."
Review 19 for Shearling Winter Ball Cap
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Stitching is poor,
December 16, 2013
By: Wyotown
"The hat fits well and looks nice, but quality control is a problem for this manufacturer. I've seen better stitching on a ten dollar hat. Considering the price, I think they could afford to take a couple of seconds out of their day to inspect the hat before shipping it out."
Review 20 for Shearling Winter Ball Cap
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great cap!,
December 14, 2013
By: Ararat
"The cap is very stylish, soft and warm.
Highly recommend.
"