Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product
This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Orvis.

Extreme Cold Weather Layering System (0°-25°)

Sometimes the fishing is best when the temperature is freezing or below. Steelheaders know this, die hard late fall saltwater anglers know this, and even trout anglers know there are those days in the winter when a good midge hatch can be well worth the effort. This Cold Weather Layering system is built just for these conditions. Built from the skin out to get rid of chilling moisture and retain body heat. Layered fly fishing clothing consists of the following elements:
Average Customer Rating:
4.385 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (13 reviews)
5 stars
9
4 stars
2
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
1
11 of 13(85%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Extreme Cold Weather Layering System (0°-25°)
Review 1 for Extreme Cold Weather Layering System (0°-25°)
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Staying Warm in Cold Weather,
December 28, 2012
By: Xenia
from Stratford, CT
"I try to fly fish every weekend thta I am home, and living in New England that means a lot of cold weekends to contend with. Today was a perfect day to fly fish - cloudy, some snow flurries and weather in the high teens - and NO wind. I suited up in my Layering System and waded the river with ease and the best thing is I caught 7 nice Browns and stayed warm the whole day. What a great day!"
Review 2 for Extreme Cold Weather Layering System (0°-25°)
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
winter undergarments for Waiters,
November 20, 2012
By: Aggie44
"Awesome winter undergarments. better than wearing jeans. a lot more comfortable as well."
Review 3 for Extreme Cold Weather Layering System (0°-25°)
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Under-wader fleece,
October 26, 2012
By: Scottie24
from Owen Sound, Ontario Canada
"This fleece will definitely make the fall steelheading more comfortable. I was especially pleased to find that from the waist down there's enough room when I want to layer up with some thermal long underwear. The upper section will add some real warmth without increasing too much in terms of bulk for subsequent layers."
Review 4 for Extreme Cold Weather Layering System (0°-25°)
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Tobacco Fleece,
May 8, 2012
By: FPPP
from Portland, OR
"Received tobacco fleece zip jacket. While attractive, it lacked a tightening cord at the bottom to block cold air, making it far less effective as an insulation piece. Otherwise, it was a nice piece."
Review 5 for Extreme Cold Weather Layering System (0°-25°)
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Problem with fit...,
February 10, 2012
By: Schlappen
"While the quality seemed very good this was an oddly fitted garment. I am 6ft., 200 lbs. and ordered a large. The torso length was too short yet the girth or waist was way too large. Therefore I don't see how most people would obtain a satisfactory fit.
I had to return it.
"
Review 6 for Extreme Cold Weather Layering System (0°-25°)
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Absolutely one of the best products ever.,
November 6, 2011
By: thombui
from Aptos California
"I have a similar under garment from another company the cost was approximately the same. This product far out ways any other similar product i have ever owned from any other company. Perfect for Winter Steelhead. I have worn it several times already and find it to be an excellent product as all my Orvis purchases. I have many Orvis products all meeting or exceeding my expectations."
Review 7 for Extreme Cold Weather Layering System (0°-25°)
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great so far,
September 6, 2011
By: Dmj714
from Boston,MA
"Just received the jacket and it looks terrific and fits well. I like the weight and all pockets, but it's not cool enough to wear the coat yet. I will provide an update when I can actually test it by wearing it on a cool day."
Review 8 for Extreme Cold Weather Layering System (0°-25°)
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Warmth in the Wind,
August 3, 2011
By: Maxfly
from Oregon City, OR
"Had the jacket on while at the Oregon coast in late July. Twenty-five mile an hour winds coming straight off of the north Pacific. No problem! The jacket kept the wind out and I was very comfortable. Great jacket."
Review 9 for Extreme Cold Weather Layering System (0°-25°)
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Versitile,
February 14, 2011
By: heavyduck
from Nashville TN
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I like that I can wear this jacket day to day, on its own, or as part of a layering system. Whether I am in the duck blinds of Middle Tennessee, on the Caney Fork River or having an afternoon with my wife, it fits the occasion!"
Review 10 for Extreme Cold Weather Layering System (0°-25°)
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best Jacket Ever,
January 18, 2011
By: Smallies
Good Value: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I thought I was spending too much for this coat but since it was Christmas $$$ I decided to take a chance and splurge. Best Jacket Ever!"
Review 11 for Extreme Cold Weather Layering System (0°-25°)
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great product,
January 3, 2011
By: striper1
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I have used this suit for steelhead fishing, duck hunting, and any manner of snow sports. Very warm and comfortable, wicks moisture well"
Ratings-Only Reviews for Extreme Cold Weather Layering System (0°-25°)
Based on the average of (2) ratings-only reviews
Overall Rating: 
4.5 / 5
4.5 / 5
Would recommend? Yes 2 out of 2