Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Orvis Classic Landing Net

This fly-fishing landing net is handsomely crafted start to finish by master Maine craftsmen. Native Maine ash wood makes up the single strip bow, while hard walnut forms the strong laminated handle. Soft catch-and-release net bag. Brass eyelet attaches to net retriever. Made in USA.
Average Customer Rating:
4.595 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (42 reviews)
5 stars
31
4 stars
7
3 stars
2
2 stars
2
1 star
0
39 of 42(93%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Orvis Classic Landing Net
Review 1 for Orvis Classic Landing Net
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best Landing Net for the price,
May 19, 2015
By: DougV
from California
"Purchased this landing net to replace an old one and went out on the Truckee River in California that next week end.
It is light weight and easy to take along .
I think the dark net does not scare the fish away as much as the lighter colored nets.
"
Review 2 for Orvis Classic Landing Net
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Light and durable,
April 16, 2015
By: Miwa
from New York
"Good quality and pretty much light which won't bother your back. Net is soft and really considered not to damage the fish itself."
Review 3 for Orvis Classic Landing Net
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Perfect for small streams.,
April 12, 2015
By: FlyFishingFool
from Wisconsin/Illinois
"A lot of streams around my area have tall grass or wooded area. It's nice to have the smaller net so it doesn't tangle in all the mess like my other larger one did."
Review 4 for Orvis Classic Landing Net
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Not the greatest for regular use,
April 3, 2015
By: CWLMatthews
from Texas
"This is an okay mid-priced net but the poly finish is poorly manufactured. Returned the first after receiving it from an online purchase. The poly coat was already cracking. The second one I received lasted one trip to the river, before some cracking of the finish under regular conditions and use. Not Orvis quality. Going with a competing net."
Review 5 for Orvis Classic Landing Net
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Good quality but....,
April 1, 2015
By: Vadims
from Hastings
"Bought medium size in Tenterden Orvis shop, good quality, light but unfortunately too expensive, this is reason why I put 4 stars"
Review 6 for Orvis Classic Landing Net
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Happy fly fisherman,
December 26, 2014
By: AlderPole
from Woodstock. Ontario
"I haven't tried it, but as a gift it made my son very happy. That is endorsement enough for me. Besides, I have never bought or seen a poor Orvis product."
Review 7 for Orvis Classic Landing Net
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Very Nice,
December 15, 2014
By: Minamag
from Columbia, MO
"Great quality and style. Perfect size and weight. Purchased for my wife so a larger net would have been to cumbersome."
Review 8 for Orvis Classic Landing Net
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality product,
September 22, 2014
By: camercad
from Tulsa OK
"The craftsmanship of this net is great. The opening size was not quite as big as I expected it to be but more that adequate for the size of trout you will catch in Oklahoma streams. I am very pleased overall."
Review 9 for Orvis Classic Landing Net
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Small size is perfect,
May 15, 2014
By: Michael1
from Germany
"I use the small size since years when a net is mandatory and you have to carry it with you. It is never in the way.
Price is good and the net is well made.
"
Review 10 for Orvis Classic Landing Net
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
LANDING NET,
May 13, 2014
By: JLHCPA
from Lancaster, PA
"very lightweight net, top quality
worth the cost.
highly recommend, as nearly all Orvis products
"
Review 11 for Orvis Classic Landing Net
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Can't wait to try it out,
April 7, 2014
By: LittleAl1949
from Paris, Tx
"I'm a new fly fisherman and have gotten most of my gear from Orvis, My latest is this net and looks great the quality of the material can't wait to go fishing and try it out, Thanks Orvis would recommend this product"
Review 12 for Orvis Classic Landing Net
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
A little pricey, but the quality is worth it.,
March 18, 2014
By: AmberleeS
from Hot Springs, AR
"While I did find this the Orvis Classic Landing Net to be a little steep in the pricing department, I also have to admit that it has been well worth the money. I bought the larger one (the 21"), and when it arrived, you could honestly tell that it is exactly as promised: well-crafted, from a beautiful wood, and quite exquisite to the eye. (If you are one to show off your awesome fishing equipment, then you definitely want to consider purchasing this beauty). They also did a wonderful job in packing it to ship safely. I am very pleased with my purchase.
I do wish it were just a bit more lightweight, as I am quite the scrawny girl, but it's beauty, effectiveness, and durability makes up for it being slightly heavier weighted than what I would usually prefer. It is extremely durable. I can honestly say that I have caught some really big fish, and the Orvis Classic Landing Net can keep up with the fish I bring in, and that's exactly what I need! I fly-fish quite often, but I trot-line fish all the time too. I realize the net is a fly-fishing net, and it works GREAT for that, but in case anyone is wondering, it works great for other fishing too.
"
Review 13 for Orvis Classic Landing Net
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
January 19, 2014
By: TroutD
from Kingston, Ontario
"Good materials, the right size for my trout adventures. Workmanship is fine.I hope to wear it out from overuse."
Review 14 for Orvis Classic Landing Net
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Skimpy,
January 6, 2014
By: Rhine
from Upstate NY
"For an orvis product I was slightly disappointed with the nets construction. Seems quite fragile and the eye in th end to secure it will certainly pull out with ise"
Review 15 for Orvis Classic Landing Net
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great Product,
January 3, 2014
By: Toony
"Well constructed product. In keeping with the do no harm to the trout ethos."
Review 16 for Orvis Classic Landing Net
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Gift Purchase,
December 18, 2013
By: Manxmiss
from Wisconsin
"I purchased the Orvis Classic Landing Net for a gift. It's well made and lightweight for standing in a trout stream all day. I appreciate the choice of sizes."
Review 17 for Orvis Classic Landing Net
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Classic Landing Net,
October 5, 2013
By: Carlitto
from Dublin, Ireland
"Excellent, good looking, lightweight net with old style netting rather than the more expensive fish friendly plastic / rubber netting. Nicest I've seen along with Brodin. A great selection of sizes too."
Review 18 for Orvis Classic Landing Net
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Landing Net,
August 17, 2013
By: Norfisher
from Norway, Europe
"Like me, you probably want the largest Orvis Landing Net. The size is not large, so if you buy a large net you will consider it a medium size. The Landing Net is very light weight and I can hardly feel that it is hanging down my back. The finish is great and it looks beautiful, but the best thing is that it feels great in my hand."
Review 19 for Orvis Classic Landing Net
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Classic Landing net,
June 4, 2013
By: Masdams
from London, England
"Great quality as you would expect from Orvis.
Really light weight and easy to use, Ideal for river fishing.
"
Review 20 for Orvis Classic Landing Net
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Classy,
May 29, 2013
By: Temefisher
from The Marches
"Beautifully made and very light, all I need to do now is catch a fish to grace it! :-)"