Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Orvis Classic Landing Net

This fly-fishing landing net is handsomely crafted start to finish by master Maine craftsmen. Native Maine ash wood makes up the single strip bow, while hard walnut forms the strong laminated handle. Soft catch-and-release net bag. Brass eyelet attaches to net retriever. Made in USA.
Average Customer Rating:
4.639 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (36 reviews)
5 stars
27
4 stars
6
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 star
0
34 of 36(94%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Orvis Classic Landing Net
Review 1 for Orvis Classic Landing Net
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Very Nice,
December 15, 2014
By: Minamag
from Columbia, MO
"Great quality and style. Perfect size and weight. Purchased for my wife so a larger net would have been to cumbersome."
Review 2 for Orvis Classic Landing Net
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality product,
September 22, 2014
By: camercad
from Tulsa OK
"The craftsmanship of this net is great. The opening size was not quite as big as I expected it to be but more that adequate for the size of trout you will catch in Oklahoma streams. I am very pleased overall."
Review 3 for Orvis Classic Landing Net
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Small size is perfect,
May 15, 2014
By: Michael1
from Germany
"I use the small size since years when a net is mandatory and you have to carry it with you. It is never in the way.
Price is good and the net is well made.
"
Review 4 for Orvis Classic Landing Net
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
LANDING NET,
May 13, 2014
By: JLHCPA
from Lancaster, PA
"very lightweight net, top quality
worth the cost.
highly recommend, as nearly all Orvis products
"
Review 5 for Orvis Classic Landing Net
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Can't wait to try it out,
April 7, 2014
By: LittleAl1949
from Paris, Tx
"I'm a new fly fisherman and have gotten most of my gear from Orvis, My latest is this net and looks great the quality of the material can't wait to go fishing and try it out, Thanks Orvis would recommend this product"
Review 6 for Orvis Classic Landing Net
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
A little pricey, but the quality is worth it.,
March 18, 2014
By: AmberleeS
from Hot Springs, AR
"While I did find this the Orvis Classic Landing Net to be a little steep in the pricing department, I also have to admit that it has been well worth the money. I bought the larger one (the 21"), and when it arrived, you could honestly tell that it is exactly as promised: well-crafted, from a beautiful wood, and quite exquisite to the eye. (If you are one to show off your awesome fishing equipment, then you definitely want to consider purchasing this beauty). They also did a wonderful job in packing it to ship safely. I am very pleased with my purchase.
I do wish it were just a bit more lightweight, as I am quite the scrawny girl, but it's beauty, effectiveness, and durability makes up for it being slightly heavier weighted than what I would usually prefer. It is extremely durable. I can honestly say that I have caught some really big fish, and the Orvis Classic Landing Net can keep up with the fish I bring in, and that's exactly what I need! I fly-fish quite often, but I trot-line fish all the time too. I realize the net is a fly-fishing net, and it works GREAT for that, but in case anyone is wondering, it works great for other fishing too.
"
Review 7 for Orvis Classic Landing Net
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
January 19, 2014
By: TroutD
from Kingston, Ontario
"Good materials, the right size for my trout adventures. Workmanship is fine.I hope to wear it out from overuse."
Review 8 for Orvis Classic Landing Net
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Skimpy,
January 6, 2014
By: Rhine
from Upstate NY
"For an orvis product I was slightly disappointed with the nets construction. Seems quite fragile and the eye in th end to secure it will certainly pull out with ise"
Review 9 for Orvis Classic Landing Net
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great Product,
January 3, 2014
By: Toony
"Well constructed product. In keeping with the do no harm to the trout ethos."
Review 10 for Orvis Classic Landing Net
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Gift Purchase,
December 18, 2013
By: Manxmiss
from Wisconsin
"I purchased the Orvis Classic Landing Net for a gift. It's well made and lightweight for standing in a trout stream all day. I appreciate the choice of sizes."
Review 11 for Orvis Classic Landing Net
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Classic Landing Net,
October 5, 2013
By: Carlitto
from Dublin, Ireland
"Excellent, good looking, lightweight net with old style netting rather than the more expensive fish friendly plastic / rubber netting. Nicest I've seen along with Brodin. A great selection of sizes too."
Review 12 for Orvis Classic Landing Net
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Landing Net,
August 17, 2013
By: Norfisher
from Norway, Europe
"Like me, you probably want the largest Orvis Landing Net. The size is not large, so if you buy a large net you will consider it a medium size. The Landing Net is very light weight and I can hardly feel that it is hanging down my back. The finish is great and it looks beautiful, but the best thing is that it feels great in my hand."
Review 13 for Orvis Classic Landing Net
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Classic Landing net,
June 4, 2013
By: Masdams
from London, England
"Great quality as you would expect from Orvis.
Really light weight and easy to use, Ideal for river fishing.
"
Review 14 for Orvis Classic Landing Net
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Classy,
May 29, 2013
By: Temefisher
from The Marches
"Beautifully made and very light, all I need to do now is catch a fish to grace it! :-)"
Review 15 for Orvis Classic Landing Net
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Exactly what I wanted,
December 24, 2012
By: satisfiedbuyer
"Good quality as expected from Orvis and prompt on time mailing"
Review 16 for Orvis Classic Landing Net
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great net,
November 12, 2012
By: Richard1979
from Scotland
"Great net looks well made and nice finish. Will look better with a fish in it."
Review 17 for Orvis Classic Landing Net
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great net,
November 9, 2012
By: TCS1
from Pennsylvania
"I broke in this net on a nice brown yesterday. It is beautifully crafted and light weight. The net is designed to be easy on the fish so catch and release fishermen like me can enjoy another day on the stream."
Review 18 for Orvis Classic Landing Net
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great net, Great Price,
October 19, 2012
By: Minidriver
from Wheaton, IL
"I added this to my equipment list pretty quickly once I started FF. It is a good quality net without a big ticket price. I used it in Tennessee with small trout and then for catching and pulling in bass. I take it out with me every time I fish."
Review 19 for Orvis Classic Landing Net
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Review update,
August 2, 2012
By: johnnyjav
"This net looks and feels great but I have grown to really dislike it. The mesh netting is terrible. I spend more time getting my flies out of the mesh than I do taking them out of the fish I catch! The mesh has multiple holes from this now. I would completely stay away from this product and get a rubber net. I am definitely not happy with this net. I wish I purchased a rubber net from orvis instead! If i could return it, i would."
Review 20 for Orvis Classic Landing Net
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
careful on sizing,
July 19, 2012
By: southturner
"just what you'd expect, well made and comfortable in the hand. However - a note on size - I had planned to buy the small size, but upon reading other's comments, I opted for the medium instead of small. The medium size however, was tiny, really small. A large bottle of water (2 quarts) would just fit inside. If you want a typical size, get a large."