Orvis Ratings and Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Orvis.

Scout Waffle-Knit Henley

Knit from breathable pure cotton, this waffle-knit Henley shirt is an ideal layer in cold weather. Plus, its easy fit makes it a natural complement to your favorite jeans for a relaxed look fall through spring. Contrasting stitching and cuff lining. Pure cotton. Washable. Imported.Sizes: M(38-40), XXL(50-52).
Average Customer Rating:
3.6 out of 5
3.6
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (35 reviews)
5 stars
10
4 stars
12
3 stars
6
2 stars
3
1 star
4
24 of 35(69%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Scout Waffle-Knit Henley
Review 1 for Scout Waffle-Knit Henley
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Why can't I get these any more?,
December 19, 2012
By: BelperBoy
from UK
"So comfortable and cosy, when you need an extra layer without too much weight, I wear both the navy and the green ones all the time. Trouble is, I've just lost 45 pounds (on purpose) so they hang off me now. So disappointed I can't have one that fits properly for Christmas now they're out of stock. Will they ever be in stock again? I hope so!"
Review 2 for Scout Waffle-Knit Henley
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Nice thermal Henley,
December 18, 2012
By: 4x4ever
from Cleveland, Ohio
"This shirt was a good deal when I bought it on sale. The quality is very good and the collar has four buttons which is more than the norm. Contrasting stitching is a cool touch. I usually wear a large tall from other retailers but the sleeve length on a plain old large is fine for me."
Review 3 for Scout Waffle-Knit Henley
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Basic Base Layer,
December 15, 2012
By: DMcB
from MI
"The shirt is fine for casual wear. I wish the fabric was softer, but maybe after a few washes it will have the feel I am after."
Review 4 for Scout Waffle-Knit Henley
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Scout Waffle-Knit Henley,
December 13, 2012
By: glampugnani
"Absolutely not and item you would expect from Orvis.
Very low quality and appeal"
Review 5 for Scout Waffle-Knit Henley
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
great winter layer,
November 19, 2012
By: Brit2ATL
from Atlanta, GA
"Purchased this for winter layering, is a good quality product. Sizing is a little generous so if you want a snug fit you may wish to select a size down. I am very happy with the quality"
Review 6 for Scout Waffle-Knit Henley
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
scout waffle-knit henley,
November 11, 2012
By: coolboy1
from raleigh, n.c.
"this is a great shirt, however i do not like the idea that you cannot place this item in the dryer, due to shrinkage. it is a good price though and i will recommend this product to a friend."
Review 7 for Scout Waffle-Knit Henley
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
An OK purchase,
October 30, 2012
By: AlandJ
from Kingsport, Tn
"The shirt feels good and fits well. However the sleeve cuff is a little funky. I just folded mine under and moved on"
Review 8 for Scout Waffle-Knit Henley
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
The Henley with Very, Very Long Sleeves,
October 29, 2012
By: dabpittsburgh
from Pittsburgh, PA
"I like Henley shirts, and I also like almost any garment that's waffle-knit. However, this particular shirt, despite being warm and substantial, has sleeves that are unnaturally long. I'm of very average size for someone typically wearing a large, and other shirts and sweaters I've bought never have sleeves that extend beyond the middle of my hand. These sleeves, though, unless I roll them up a few inches, extend to my fingertips. That said, I'll keep it."
Review 9 for Scout Waffle-Knit Henley
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Surprising details on henley,
October 25, 2012
By: chicagotraveler
"nice fabric, nice buttons, slightly tight fitting, contrasting cuff color when folded, unexpected but pleasing surprise"
Review 10 for Scout Waffle-Knit Henley
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Sizing issue,
October 23, 2012
By: Soonerfan
"I would recommend but only if my friend buys a size larger than usual. I really like the shirt, but it does not seem to be sized like other Orvis shirts I have. Unlike other size large shirts, this one was too tight, and I ended up giving it to my son. If it is intended only to be worn under other shirts, the size would be acceptable, but not if worn alone."
Review 11 for Scout Waffle-Knit Henley
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
First Time Not Satisfied,
October 22, 2012
By: hawks
"This is really the first time that I am totally dissatisfied with an Orvis Product. The shirt was cut small thru the body; the sleeves were 6" too small; the color was not as shown. Returned for Credit."
Review 12 for Scout Waffle-Knit Henley
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
disappointed,
October 19, 2012
By: texasguy
from Dallas, TX
"I was hoping for better fit and quality. Loved the overall style on-line, but the quality wasnt what i was expecting from Orvis. Also, sleeves were too long and the wrist elasticity was poor which made the henley awkward to wear as the sleeve constantly covered my hand.
Id return it, but its a hassle and not really economical given its 1 item. Plus, I hate the idea of paying shipping to return something I dislike. Ill probably end up painting in it or doing other chores."
Review 13 for Scout Waffle-Knit Henley
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
excellent style and quality,
October 17, 2012
By: Mooseyfan
from Co Durham
"A Traditional well made long sleeved T shirt, looks great on, much better than the picture, I ordered another for my father,
very good product
"
Review 14 for Scout Waffle-Knit Henley
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
It's OK,
October 11, 2012
By: Pene
"Bought this in the sale for my husband and he does wear it a lot over polo shirts as a good weight for the early autumn / late summer.
However would not have paid full price as the hem is fraying at the bottom and sleeves and is generally poorly made. Good value at less than £20 though.
"
Review 15 for Scout Waffle-Knit Henley
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Good for layering,
August 23, 2012
By: jjscotman
from Edinburgh, Scotland, UK
"For me the sleeves are slightly out of proportion to the body which means I will use this shirt for layering rather than on its own.
The fact that the material feels soft and comfortable is an added bonus for this purpose.
I got the shirt in moss green and I really like this colour.
Recommended !!
"
Review 16 for Scout Waffle-Knit Henley
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
An old favourite,
May 27, 2012
By: Robfish
from Cornwall GB
"I've bought these before and find them an indispensably smart and comfortable choice."
Review 17 for Scout Waffle-Knit Henley
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Very comfortable shirt,
February 21, 2012
By: MississaugaDom
from Mississauga, Canada
"Super comfortable shirt that has all the features I like. Sleeves aren't constricting at the wrist, shirt is roomy and well made.
My wife asks--"are you ever going to take that shirt off?" That says it all."
Review 18 for Scout Waffle-Knit Henley
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Cheap Fabric,
February 6, 2012
By: snoopy
from Rochester, NY
"I like the natural color, but these shirts are paper thin. Henley's are meant to be a fall and colder weight fabric and this shirt is barely summer weight. To top it off, even with the dryer on low, these shrink a size and do not fit right after washing."
Review 19 for Scout Waffle-Knit Henley
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Cuffs,
January 26, 2012
By: anyone
from Akron, Oh
"The cuffs on this shirt are not functional at all. I doubt if it will be wearable after a couple of washings. Overpriced to boot."
Review 20 for Scout Waffle-Knit Henley
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Handsome shirt,
January 19, 2012
By: MrPutnam
from Putnam County, NY
"Henley fits well and looks great but quality of fabric could be improved."