Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Silver Snap Caps

A shotgun is best stored with its firing pins released, not cocked, for safety reasons. Our highest-quality shotgun snap caps let you relax spring tension without dry firing the pins. Just pop in and press the trigger. Set of two shotgun snap caps. Sizes 12-, 16-, 20-, 28-gauge, and .410-bore (please specify). In silver. Made in USA.
Average Customer Rating:
4.562 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (16 reviews)
5 stars
13
4 stars
1
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
1
15 of 16(94%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Silver Snap Caps
Review 1 for Silver Snap Caps
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Well made product,
October 2, 2014
By: GeorgeW
from Long Island, NY
"I recently purchased several sets of snap caps for my 12 and 16 gauge guns. These are well made in the tradition of the Orvis quality and reputable."
Review 2 for Silver Snap Caps
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Product,
September 29, 2014
By: Dps1salem
from Winston-Salem, NC
"Love these! Whenever I purchase a new gun I make sure to order these caps from Orvis!"
Review 3 for Silver Snap Caps
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
#rd set,
April 9, 2014
By: NautiBuoy
from Nova Scotia, Canada
"Top Quality. My 3rd set of Snap Caps for O/U shotguns - 12ga, 20ga & 28ga. There are cheaper Snap Caps available - none better"
Review 4 for Silver Snap Caps
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best Snap Cappy,
March 26, 2014
By: steviebeenthere
from Albany, NY
"If you have a taste for fine Italian-made shotguns, then you will enjoy these. The machining is superb. The O-ring design is magnificent. The fact that they do not eject even in an ejector-style is very nice for me. Such that they do not get nicked up and soiled on the floor. Made in USA"
Review 5 for Silver Snap Caps
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Quality.,
January 20, 2014
By: ooo7
from Wytheville, Va.
"These Snap Caps are great. They fit well in my Caesar Guerini 28ga. Tempio. The only problem I have had is removing the Snap cap from the bottom barrel."
Review 6 for Silver Snap Caps
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best Snap Caps,
January 3, 2014
By: BYOB
from N.J.
"I've tried many others , I have to say these are the best I have ever used !
Great Quality ....."
Review 7 for Silver Snap Caps
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Can be better.,
December 10, 2013
By: MarcioPassos
from Brasília - DF - Brasil
"It's cute, but it is not very usual, should be a little heavier."
Review 8 for Silver Snap Caps
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Smart caps,
March 29, 2013
By: BwanaRip
from Palm Beach, FL & Big Sky, MT
"These Orvis Snap Caps are a major improvement over traditional ones due to the addition of neoprene "O" rings which prevent the caps being completely ejected from the gun's breech upon opening."
Review 9 for Silver Snap Caps
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Orvis Snap Caps,
March 6, 2013
By: pranny
"Both failed after less than 10 dry fires. The anvil that simulates the primer obturated and jammed well below flush with the case head.
On a positive note- Orvis has said they will quickly refund my cost.
I'm still an Orvis customer.
"
Review 10 for Silver Snap Caps
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
silver bullet,
January 21, 2013
By: osama
from Bend, OR
"My sons will use these when I'm in the great hunting preserve in the sky."
Review 11 for Silver Snap Caps
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great snap caps!,
November 9, 2012
By: Virginian43
from Virginia
"I have probably purchased a dozen or so 12ga snap caps over the years. I even bought Orvis snap caps made with brass a few years ago. These are smaller, fit more snugly in the chamber, and are really well made (i.e., should last a long time). Are they pricey? Yes, but worth it considering how much money I have spent on my shot guns."
Review 12 for Silver Snap Caps
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Very Snappy,
September 9, 2012
By: RKP444
from Lovells, Michigan
"I got these for a vintage 16 gauge side by side I wanted to have something special for. While they are probably excessive to the basic need - they feel good in your hand, and work well in the gun. And the way the inexpensive plastic ones will break - you may even save a little in the long run."
Review 13 for Silver Snap Caps
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Good finish and they work,
August 28, 2011
By: Rookhawk
from Chicago, IL
"They work nicely and have some heft to them. I wish they were available in brass finish as were the prior model but they are not. They are shorter than last year's model which may impact how they display in a fitted gun case."
Ratings-Only Reviews for Silver Snap Caps
Based on the average of (3) ratings-only reviews
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Would recommend? Yes 3 out of 3