Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Silver Snap Caps

A shotgun is best stored with its firing pins released, not cocked, for safety reasons. Our highest-quality shotgun snap caps let you relax spring tension without dry firing the pins. Just pop in and press the trigger. Set of two shotgun snap caps. Sizes 12-, 16-, 20-, 28-gauge, and .410-bore (please specify). In silver. Made in USA.
Average Customer Rating:
4.5 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (14 reviews)
5 stars
11
4 stars
1
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
1
13 of 14(93%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Silver Snap Caps
Review 1 for Silver Snap Caps
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
#rd set,
April 9, 2014
By: NautiBuoy
from Nova Scotia, Canada
"Top Quality. My 3rd set of Snap Caps for O/U shotguns - 12ga, 20ga & 28ga. There are cheaper Snap Caps available - none better"
Review 2 for Silver Snap Caps
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best Snap Cappy,
March 26, 2014
By: steviebeenthere
from Albany, NY
"If you have a taste for fine Italian-made shotguns, then you will enjoy these. The machining is superb. The O-ring design is magnificent. The fact that they do not eject even in an ejector-style is very nice for me. Such that they do not get nicked up and soiled on the floor. Made in USA"
Review 3 for Silver Snap Caps
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Quality.,
January 20, 2014
By: ooo7
from Wytheville, Va.
"These Snap Caps are great. They fit well in my Caesar Guerini 28ga. Tempio. The only problem I have had is removing the Snap cap from the bottom barrel."
Review 4 for Silver Snap Caps
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best Snap Caps,
January 3, 2014
By: BYOB
from N.J.
"I've tried many others , I have to say these are the best I have ever used !
Great Quality ....."
Review 5 for Silver Snap Caps
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Can be better.,
December 10, 2013
By: MarcioPassos
from Brasília - DF - Brasil
"It's cute, but it is not very usual, should be a little heavier."
Review 6 for Silver Snap Caps
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Smart caps,
March 29, 2013
By: BwanaRip
from Palm Beach, FL & Big Sky, MT
"These Orvis Snap Caps are a major improvement over traditional ones due to the addition of neoprene "O" rings which prevent the caps being completely ejected from the gun's breech upon opening."
Review 7 for Silver Snap Caps
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Orvis Snap Caps,
March 6, 2013
By: pranny
"Both failed after less than 10 dry fires. The anvil that simulates the primer obturated and jammed well below flush with the case head.
On a positive note- Orvis has said they will quickly refund my cost.
I'm still an Orvis customer.
"
Review 8 for Silver Snap Caps
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
silver bullet,
January 21, 2013
By: osama
from Bend, OR
"My sons will use these when I'm in the great hunting preserve in the sky."
Review 9 for Silver Snap Caps
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great snap caps!,
November 9, 2012
By: Virginian43
from Virginia
"I have probably purchased a dozen or so 12ga snap caps over the years. I even bought Orvis snap caps made with brass a few years ago. These are smaller, fit more snugly in the chamber, and are really well made (i.e., should last a long time). Are they pricey? Yes, but worth it considering how much money I have spent on my shot guns."
Review 10 for Silver Snap Caps
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Very Snappy,
September 9, 2012
By: RKP444
from Lovells, Michigan
"I got these for a vintage 16 gauge side by side I wanted to have something special for. While they are probably excessive to the basic need - they feel good in your hand, and work well in the gun. And the way the inexpensive plastic ones will break - you may even save a little in the long run."
Review 11 for Silver Snap Caps
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Good finish and they work,
August 28, 2011
By: Rookhawk
from Chicago, IL
"They work nicely and have some heft to them. I wish they were available in brass finish as were the prior model but they are not. They are shorter than last year's model which may impact how they display in a fitted gun case."
Ratings-Only Reviews for Silver Snap Caps
Based on the average of (3) ratings-only reviews
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Would recommend? Yes 3 out of 3