Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Upland Briar Pants

Leave it to German engineering to create the finest hunting pants we've seen. Made of a microvelour with a Cordura face, these pants exude rich quality and rugged functionality in the same breath, with a substantial look and feel worthy of the price. Turns back briars, brush, and moisture in the toughest conditions. Cargo pocket on right leg with integrated knife pocket. Zip-close rear pockets. Front pockets, one with zip safety pocket. Articulated knee construction. Tunnel belt loops with expanding waistband. Men's hunting pants in loden. 100% polyester. Washable. Imported.Even waist sizes: 32-44. Plain finished up to 35" at no extra charge.
Average Customer Rating:
4.857 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (35 reviews)
5 stars
31
4 stars
3
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
34 of 35(97%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Upland Briar Pants
Review 1 for Upland Briar Pants
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
High-end Sport-Utility Pant,
December 3, 2014
By: 4WDFlyfisher
from Ostrander, OH
"Ordered a pair (following the sizing recommendations of earlier reviewers, e.g., ordered one size larger in the waist); received them; wore them; washed them; wore them again; ordered a second pair. Absolutely GREAT pair of pants, with features I grow to appreciate with each wearing. One thing I didn't notice in any other reviews is that they make a PERFECT pair of under-wader pants, especially in colder conditions. Worth every penny."
Review 2 for Upland Briar Pants
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Most comfortable pant...,
November 10, 2014
By: Mountainguywithdogs
from Huntington Station, NY
"These pants are the most comfortable pair of pants I have ever worn. I like them so much, I purchased a second pair. I will buy another pair soon. While being the most comfortable, they are also the most versatile pair of pants I have every purchased; they are hardy and strong on the trail and pleasing to the eye off the trail, too. I use them when I take my dog to Nose Work Classes, too. The pocket system has a zippered pocket, which is great for storing identification and keys, especially when you are hiking or backpacking and want to keep an eye on the essentials to get home. If you are looking for a versatile pair pants, look no further...buy them. I will soon purchase a lightweight pair of them, too."
Review 3 for Upland Briar Pants
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fantastic Briar Pants,
October 29, 2014
By: DeseoMar
"These are some very fine briar pants. Comfortable, and soft, the briar lining on the front of the pants is bullet-proof. Very breathable and they look great too!"
Review 4 for Upland Briar Pants
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Awesome Pants!!!,
October 24, 2014
By: JoeGreensburg
from Greensburg, PA
"I purchased these pants with the intent to see if they were the quality pants that everyone else was saying. I have used them several times and they are truly awesome. Comfortable, soft, and tough as nails. If you are looking for pants that will last and protect you this is the one. A little extra money gets you what you really need! Great Product ORVIS!!"
Review 5 for Upland Briar Pants
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great pants,
October 22, 2014
By: RiptidechartersCapecod
from Cape Cod MA
"I was a little hesitant to spend this much money on a pair of brush pants but we hunt so much that I could justify the cost if they were as good as rated. I what are the pants and they arrived within 3 or 4 days hemmed appropriately I generally wear a 36 waist on jeans and khakis so I ordered 38 s in these pants because of the reviews they fit perfectly would definitely recommend going up one waist size can't wait to try them out they feel fantastic right out of the package"
Review 6 for Upland Briar Pants
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
you get what you pay for,
September 19, 2014
By: huntGA
"Material and construction quality mirrors custom clothing. Never had a pair of pants that can be perfectly functional pushing thorough brush and then the next weekend good looking enough to be worn out to dinner. These are both. Definitely worth the money. AND DEFINITELY buy one size up in the waist. Followed other reviews. Normally wear 36 and ordered 38 - perfect fit."
Review 7 for Upland Briar Pants
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great pants,
September 17, 2014
By: Merkel28ga
from Atlanta, GA
"Bought these pants as a heavier weight alternative to my favorite Ventile hunting pants. They are everything described and more. Comfortable, dry and able to bust through the brush."
Review 8 for Upland Briar Pants
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Mountainguywithdogs,
July 31, 2014
By: Mountainguywithdogs
from Huntington Station, NY
"I like these pants so much, I will purchase a second pair soon. They are comfortable, fit great and plan to use them on some fall hikes. I highly recommend them."
Review 9 for Upland Briar Pants
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Upland briar pants,
July 31, 2014
By: sureshot64
from beckely wv
"Very good looking , good fitting pants. Very flexible and comfortable to walk in. It is no wonder it took awhile to get them from Orvis because the demand exceeded the supply. I use them for rabbit hunting but also will use them to run my insurance business this fall and winter. Stuck on them."
Review 10 for Upland Briar Pants
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Most comfortable pants,
July 30, 2014
By: Mike3546
from Manchester, NH.
"the upland briar pants are the most comfortable and durable pair of hunting pants that I have found. Hunting in heavey briar areas can be a painfull experience but the supper smooth surface of the pants precludes snags."
Review 11 for Upland Briar Pants
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Pants,
July 20, 2014
By: Mountainguywithdogs
from Huntington Station, NY
"I enjoy wearing these pants; they are very comfortable, durable and look great even dining out. However, I purchased them for hiking, camping and backpacking as the temperatures get cooler in the fall. This winter I will test them with a base layer but I am sure they will be just fine. The pockets are convenient, particularly the zipper ones. If you need a durable and very comfortable pair of pants, I recommend these pants."
Review 12 for Upland Briar Pants
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Worth the cheese!,
January 15, 2014
By: Sunny23
from Memphis, TN
"These pants performed outstanding while turkey hunting last year! Cold, wet, you name it, these pants get it done!!!"
Review 13 for Upland Briar Pants
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent product at least so far,
December 31, 2013
By: Merkel28ga
from Atlanta, GA
"Bought these pants as a slightly heavier alternative to my favorite Ventile pants. Have only worn them once and found them to be exactly as advertised. Fit well, extremely comfortable, shed thorns and briars completely, and were totally dry during an end of hunt shower and walk back to truck. Will likely buy a spare pair after further wearings to confirm quality."
Review 14 for Upland Briar Pants
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
South Dakota Test,
December 20, 2013
By: Weasal
"I purchased my first pair of Upland Briar Pants and have just spent a week pheasant hunting in South Dakota. The weather dipped to -3 degrees with a steady wind and the pants were perfect. They were comfortable on the days it was 30 degrees and in the colder weather. I couldn't ask for more out of a pair of pants."
Review 15 for Upland Briar Pants
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best Purchase ever.,
December 17, 2013
By: stella42
from Memphis, Tn.
"Gave them to my husband for birthday. He loves them so much he is getting another pair for Christmas.
He is soooo happy!
"
Review 16 for Upland Briar Pants
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Briar Proof Pants,
December 11, 2013
By: proto
from OCEAN VIEW VIRGINIA
"I have had these pants for about a month and can't say enough about them. I was afraid the crotch would be too low for extended walking but as it works out once the pants are broken in the rise fits correctly. I chose these pants in particular for a couple of reasons. First they are polyester. They wear like iron are light as a feather and don't have a fabric memory from stretching with kneeling or knapping in them. Secondly they don't look like field pants. The color is Lodun green. Nobody would guess they are hunting pants even if you wear them to dinner with a coat and tie which I do. I got one size up b'c I wear a variety of gear/weapons inside my belt but I would advise you to buy your actual street jeans size. The waist band fits a rigger's belt. And the button stud closure isn't going to pop off like a threaded button. Don't sweat the purchase price. The pants will outlast any other three pairs of garden variety TOGs. One more feature: It does have positive zip closure pockets which I can't understand why all pants don't have. I can't imagine a better present for any male of the species for Christmas."
Review 17 for Upland Briar Pants
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Well made, quiet and warm,
December 11, 2013
By: KennyH
"Have worn them for three months now. They are quiet, when walking or stalking, and warm. Not snow pants but perfect for late fall season and early spring.
They are reinforced and quite effective turning away briars and thorns and while not waterproof they turn aside most moisture from brushing against bushes and grass.
They run slightly smaller in the waist than American made pants (go one size up) but the inseam lengths are spot on. Very well made hunting trousers."
Review 18 for Upland Briar Pants
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best upland pants I have found,
November 24, 2013
By: Whaler51
from Lake Oswego, OR
"I bought these pants for SD pheasant hunting. I read they ran a bit small so I ordered up one size in waist and length. They fit to a tee after I washed and dried them. They were warm, sturdy, and held up to 10 days of rough hunting. I would not hesitate to buy another pair."
Review 19 for Upland Briar Pants
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Super Upland pants,
November 20, 2013
By: BobcatGuy
from South Dakota
"The best upland and briar pants ever! Well worth the price. Great fit, and comfortable to a fault. My other upland pants have been left hanging."
Review 20 for Upland Briar Pants
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Briar-Proof Pants,
November 14, 2013
By: proto
from OCEAN VIEW VIRGINIA
"I research field pants for the longest time and came up with these from Orvis. They couldn't be any better. It's hard to find hunting clothes in a color other than khaki. These are a dark Loden green which works with anything in the field or at the club. I bought one size up as I wear a 1/4 Zip-T base layer everywhere and have a service sidearm tucked in my waistband. The sizing is true despite what the reviews claim. Order your correct size unless you are holding inside your belt. These pants are sturdy. I'm guessing they will last forever justifying the steep price. They look good too. It is also noteworthy that they have zip pockets on the back and one on the front so if you shoot upside down on a suspension system, your lighter won't fall out f your pocket. I give these pant a top rating. Spring for a pair. You'll get your money's worth."