Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Upland Briar Pants

Leave it to German engineering to create the finest hunting pants we've seen. Made of a microvelour with a Cordura face, these pants exude rich quality and rugged functionality in the same breath, with a substantial look and feel worthy of the price. Turns back briars, brush, and moisture in the toughest conditions. Cargo pocket on right leg with integrated knife pocket. Zip-close rear pockets. Front pockets, one with zip safety pocket. Articulated knee construction. Tunnel belt loops with expanding waistband. Men's hunting pants in loden. 100% polyester. Washable. Imported.Even waist sizes: 32-44. Plain finished up to 35" at no extra charge.
Average Customer Rating:
4.821 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (28 reviews)
5 stars
24
4 stars
3
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
27 of 28(96%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Upland Briar Pants
Review 1 for Upland Briar Pants
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Mountainguywithdogs,
July 31, 2014
By: Mountainguywithdogs
from Huntington Station, NY
"I like these pants so much, I will purchase a second pair soon. They are comfortable, fit great and plan to use them on some fall hikes. I highly recommend them."
Review 2 for Upland Briar Pants
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Upland briar pants,
July 31, 2014
By: sureshot64
from beckely wv
"Very good looking , good fitting pants. Very flexible and comfortable to walk in. It is no wonder it took awhile to get them from Orvis because the demand exceeded the supply. I use them for rabbit hunting but also will use them to run my insurance business this fall and winter. Stuck on them."
Review 3 for Upland Briar Pants
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Most comfortable pants,
July 30, 2014
By: Mike3546
from Manchester, NH.
"the upland briar pants are the most comfortable and durable pair of hunting pants that I have found. Hunting in heavey briar areas can be a painfull experience but the supper smooth surface of the pants precludes snags."
Review 4 for Upland Briar Pants
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Pants,
July 20, 2014
By: Mountainguywithdogs
from Huntington Station, NY
"I enjoy wearing these pants; they are very comfortable, durable and look great even dining out. However, I purchased them for hiking, camping and backpacking as the temperatures get cooler in the fall. This winter I will test them with a base layer but I am sure they will be just fine. The pockets are convenient, particularly the zipper ones. If you need a durable and very comfortable pair of pants, I recommend these pants."
Review 5 for Upland Briar Pants
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Worth the cheese!,
January 15, 2014
By: Sunny23
from Memphis, TN
"These pants performed outstanding while turkey hunting last year! Cold, wet, you name it, these pants get it done!!!"
Review 6 for Upland Briar Pants
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent product at least so far,
December 31, 2013
By: Merkel28ga
from Atlanta, GA
"Bought these pants as a slightly heavier alternative to my favorite Ventile pants. Have only worn them once and found them to be exactly as advertised. Fit well, extremely comfortable, shed thorns and briars completely, and were totally dry during an end of hunt shower and walk back to truck. Will likely buy a spare pair after further wearings to confirm quality."
Review 7 for Upland Briar Pants
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
South Dakota Test,
December 20, 2013
By: Weasal
"I purchased my first pair of Upland Briar Pants and have just spent a week pheasant hunting in South Dakota. The weather dipped to -3 degrees with a steady wind and the pants were perfect. They were comfortable on the days it was 30 degrees and in the colder weather. I couldn't ask for more out of a pair of pants."
Review 8 for Upland Briar Pants
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best Purchase ever.,
December 17, 2013
By: stella42
from Memphis, Tn.
"Gave them to my husband for birthday. He loves them so much he is getting another pair for Christmas.
He is soooo happy!
"
Review 9 for Upland Briar Pants
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Briar Proof Pants,
December 11, 2013
By: proto
from OCEAN VIEW VIRGINIA
"I have had these pants for about a month and can't say enough about them. I was afraid the crotch would be too low for extended walking but as it works out once the pants are broken in the rise fits correctly. I chose these pants in particular for a couple of reasons. First they are polyester. They wear like iron are light as a feather and don't have a fabric memory from stretching with kneeling or knapping in them. Secondly they don't look like field pants. The color is Lodun green. Nobody would guess they are hunting pants even if you wear them to dinner with a coat and tie which I do. I got one size up b'c I wear a variety of gear/weapons inside my belt but I would advise you to buy your actual street jeans size. The waist band fits a rigger's belt. And the button stud closure isn't going to pop off like a threaded button. Don't sweat the purchase price. The pants will outlast any other three pairs of garden variety TOGs. One more feature: It does have positive zip closure pockets which I can't understand why all pants don't have. I can't imagine a better present for any male of the species for Christmas."
Review 10 for Upland Briar Pants
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Well made, quiet and warm,
December 11, 2013
By: KennyH
"Have worn them for three months now. They are quiet, when walking or stalking, and warm. Not snow pants but perfect for late fall season and early spring.
They are reinforced and quite effective turning away briars and thorns and while not waterproof they turn aside most moisture from brushing against bushes and grass.
They run slightly smaller in the waist than American made pants (go one size up) but the inseam lengths are spot on. Very well made hunting trousers."
Review 11 for Upland Briar Pants
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best upland pants I have found,
November 24, 2013
By: Whaler51
from Lake Oswego, OR
"I bought these pants for SD pheasant hunting. I read they ran a bit small so I ordered up one size in waist and length. They fit to a tee after I washed and dried them. They were warm, sturdy, and held up to 10 days of rough hunting. I would not hesitate to buy another pair."
Review 12 for Upland Briar Pants
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Super Upland pants,
November 20, 2013
By: BobcatGuy
from South Dakota
"The best upland and briar pants ever! Well worth the price. Great fit, and comfortable to a fault. My other upland pants have been left hanging."
Review 13 for Upland Briar Pants
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Briar-Proof Pants,
November 14, 2013
By: proto
from OCEAN VIEW VIRGINIA
"I research field pants for the longest time and came up with these from Orvis. They couldn't be any better. It's hard to find hunting clothes in a color other than khaki. These are a dark Loden green which works with anything in the field or at the club. I bought one size up as I wear a 1/4 Zip-T base layer everywhere and have a service sidearm tucked in my waistband. The sizing is true despite what the reviews claim. Order your correct size unless you are holding inside your belt. These pants are sturdy. I'm guessing they will last forever justifying the steep price. They look good too. It is also noteworthy that they have zip pockets on the back and one on the front so if you shoot upside down on a suspension system, your lighter won't fall out f your pocket. I give these pant a top rating. Spring for a pair. You'll get your money's worth."
Review 14 for Upland Briar Pants
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
October 22, 2013
By: Steveontario
"Very nice pants. I would agree with previous reviews that they run slightly small, probably one size up will be fine."
Review 15 for Upland Briar Pants
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent Pants!,
April 1, 2013
By: HunterConservationist
from Northern California
"Since purchasing my Raschers I wore them on a quail hunt and on opening day of turkey season. The pants are extremely comfortable and wear well, weather it was walking long distances as in my quail hunt or sitting under a tree waiting for that gobbler. On both occasions the weather was wet, cold, and windy; while my pants kept me dry and warm. Rascher truly makes an excellent product."
Review 16 for Upland Briar Pants
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great pants,
December 23, 2012
By: RNFinCA
"These are the best looking hunting pants I have seen. Great fit and comfortable."
Review 17 for Upland Briar Pants
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Awesome!!,
November 20, 2012
By: DocHop
from Tahoe, CA
"These are truly incredible pants! Buy a size up as the waist band has some elastic points that make them fit slightly smaller."
Review 18 for Upland Briar Pants
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Amazing briar pants,
October 26, 2012
By: ZachAttack
from Camilla, Georgia
"Not a single briar sticks to the outside of these pants. My other companions wore other upland pants, but these out performed them.
The pattern cut of these pants is extremely comfortable, they are extremely warm and I cannot wait to wear these int he field again."
Review 19 for Upland Briar Pants
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
October 23, 2012
By: HRBSR
from Anchorage AK
"Excellent quality material that is comfortable in the field as well as on weekends at home. The cut of the pants makes them appear as a pair of chinos!"
Review 20 for Upland Briar Pants
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Satisfied,
October 16, 2012
By: Hubb
from Johnson City TN
"Haven't worn them in the field yet but the fit and finish is perfect. Going pheasant hunting in SD next week. I think they will be fine. If not will write another review."