Orvis Ratings and Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Orvis.

Muflon Jacket with Detachable Vest

You have to feel it to believe it. A benchmark hunting coat from one of Europe's great sporting houses. Combines the very latest in technical fabrics with the classic and traditional features serious sportsmen expect in ultra high-grade shooting attire. The coat is made of a sanded microfiber that is cashmere soft and cat silent. It is built with a CTX membrane (comfort, technology, extreme) that is waterproof, windproof, and breathable. Features include handsome removable zip-in vest, that can be worn separately and has Amaretta shooting patch and two zip pockets. The jacket has a zip-off adjustable lined hood with throat latch for complete protection. Rear-entry game bag in the back. Two snap-close flap shell pockets with hidden flap restraints to hold them open for shooting. Two upper zip-close fleece-lined hand-warmer pockets. Vertical Napoleon pocket on the upper left. Two interior zip-close pockets. Outer cuff is Velcro-adjustable over a smooth stretch inner cuff. Draw cords at the waist and hem. Amaretta accents on shoulders and pockets. Full-zip close with snap storm flap. Truly one of the top estate hunting coats available. Imported from Europe with Continental front zipper orientation. In olive. Polyester. Washable. Imported.Sizes: M(38-40), L(42-44), XL(46-48), XXL(50-52).
Average Customer Rating:
3.667 out of 5
3.7
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (9 reviews)
5 stars
4
4 stars
1
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 star
1
6 of 9(67%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Muflon Jacket with Detachable Vest
Review 1 for Muflon Jacket with Detachable Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Solid Field Jacket,
December 28, 2011
By: cgilchr
from Oklahoma
"For the "outdoorsman" upland hunter, this jacket is for you. Everything needed, from stowing items to layers of warmth without hindering ones ability to react in the field, is found in this jacket."
Review 2 for Muflon Jacket with Detachable Vest
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Good spring/fall jacket,
December 19, 2011
By: ibloom
from Toronto, Ontario
"I got my jacket a few days ago after a very quick turn-around and shipping from Orvis. A+ in that department!!
The colour is true to the website, and size is true to the charts. I am a 44 reg shoulders with 33 arm, and the L fits me very well. It is a longer jacket however. It is marketed for all weather types, so naturally it should be a little longer for when it rains, but I found that when all zippered and buttoned up, if I bent down to pick something up the jacket would catch along the backside and the bottom button would pop open. Hardly a deal breaker, but if you're pushing grouse or pheasants and will be bending over a lot it may become a bit of a hassle and may over the years create problems with the zipper. The only other "negative" thing (and I use this term lightly) I have to say is that it is significantly less insulating than I expected. I may have thrown myself off when I heard the whole "inner vest for added warmth" bit, and expected something I could wear in the winter also, but in reality the inner vest is quite thin and as a whole makes for a comfortable jacket into late fall before the need to layer becomes apparent. Without the vest I would restrict it to the spring or a chilly early summer night. *I just checked the website and in fact it does say for "cooler nights" so I should have known it wasn't a winter coat.*
The inner cuffs are fitted nicely to keep water out and additional tightening well with the velcro straps is effortless. Pockets are in all the right places and are easy to access.
The whole jacket is very nice and light and not at all burdensome to wear. Dexterity and ease of movement is natural. It is also very nice and soft to the touch. Stitching, although not doubled, seems durable; although I wouldn't wear it like I would a Carhartt or Dickies jacket...
All in all this is a VERY comfortable light jacket with the only downfall so far is with the bottom button popping open. The jacket will be enjoyed for years I am sure.
And to those who were complaining about the zipper being on the wrong side; it's a zipper. Get over it. I've bought plenty of jackets all across North America with zippers on the "wrong side". It's not a very difficult task to overcome. I assume some would argue that when paying this amount of money for a jacket it should come exactly the way you want it, and to some extent I would agree, but if you want it EXACTLY to your specifications, then you should be buying from your tailor not a manufacturer...
I'll post a follow up review in a few months to see how things have changed by then."
Review 3 for Muflon Jacket with Detachable Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Jacket,
November 23, 2011
By: MJONES
"Just got it and already used it in rainy weather, great feel to it and no problem with the rain.
Looking forward to the first real field trip soon.
"
Review 4 for Muflon Jacket with Detachable Vest
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Better than oilskin.,
October 31, 2011
By: Peavine
from Reno, NV
"For travel this shooting coat is excellent for driven shoots in Great Britain. It is a combination of a soft, comfortable material looking and wearing better than oilskin. It allows layering well, and it is waterproof. It is very comfortable. Good wrist waterproof cuffs. It saves me from taking an oilskin or other rain jacket and also I don't have to have a heavy wool shooting coat but can layer with a vest, fleece or even a down filled garment and still wear breeks and other fitting gear for the moor. It also serves as a good overcoat for an evening out in the city. I travel with less luggage which is always a challenge for cold or wet weather trips. The coat is of very good length allowing for easy acces to shell pockets and also the length helps it function as a good overcoat and for foul weather protection. The pockets for shells are well done except for the tacky velcro shell loops for a few shells. These are poorly done and unnecessary. Also a smooth shooting patch on each shoulder would facilitate good gun mounting. The waterproof zipper pocket right breast area is ugly since the zipper protrudes from the fabric. With a few changes this could easily make it to a 4 or even 5 star rating."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Muflon Jacket with Detachable Vest
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Zipper mounted as woman's coat,
October 30, 2011
By: SteveMS
"The zipper is reversed. It zips like a woman's coat. Otherwise it's a good coat."
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Muflon Jacket with Detachable Vest
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Zipper Issues,
January 13, 2011
By: Cooperthedog
from North Carolina
Good Value: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Features: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I ordered this coat, and there was a lot to like. However, there were two issues with the zipper. #1) It is mounted in the European style, which is the reverse of a normal US men's zipper. This meant I had to overcome 50 years of muscle memory in order to line up the two parts of the zipper. I would have been willing to make this adjustment, except for issue #2) The zipper is too small, hard to grasp, and not sturdy enough for a coat of this heft and quality. I think it would eventually fail. After struggling to get the zipper aligned to close it several times, I gave up and returned the jacket. Fix the zipper and you've got a great coat. I ordered a Barbour Classic Beaufort, and although it's zipper is also European style, it is very sturdy and has a brass ring to make grasping it easy."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Muflon Jacket with Detachable Vest
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Too Technical,
December 31, 2010
By: Colebrook
Good Value: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Features: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Appearance: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
"In a word, we found this jacket too technical. Layers make it cumbersome to put jacket on. The oiter shell's zipper is on the worng side from a male perspective."
0 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Muflon Jacket with Detachable Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
High Quality, Super Soft & Light,
December 8, 2010
By: wrbtu
from Long Island Motor Parkway
Good Value: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"This jacket's color is accurately represented in the photo. It is extremely light weight & soft, & true-to-size, therefore very comfortable. Made by Laksen, who makes some of the finest coats available. This coat is not water "resistant," it is truly water-PROOF. I've stood in windy rainstorms for an hour, with no leakage. The material is a type of polyester made by DuPont, called CTX, which is similar to Gore-Tex, but in my experience, is more breathable, lighter weight, & somewhat more flexible than Gore-Tex. An odd feature of this material, at least for me, is that I can stand inside with this jacket on, for prolonged periods (without the liner), without sweating, yet it keeps me warm in wind chill factors of 0 to 10 degrees F. Hand-warmer pockets have a fuzzy fleece type of material, that adds warmth. The sleeves have soft cuffs around your wrists, for keeping wind out. There are two cargo pockets that can be held open via cords with snaps coming from the top pockets. There's one inside pocket with a zipper, inconveniently placed a little too low & too much to the side; access is not easy while wearing the jacket. The zip-out liner is also made of polyester, with polyester fill, & again, is extremely light-weight; it has two slant pockets for your hands. With the liner in place, the inside jacket pocket is unavailable. The only jacket I own that is comfortable & warm enough to wear with a short-sleeved shirt, because the material warms instantly, unlike nylon, which is at first cold to the touch. I don't think that this jacket would hold up as well as Cordura nylon in a thorny environment, but I've never tried it in that setting. Overall, an outstanding jacket, but pricey."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Ratings-Only Reviews for Muflon Jacket with Detachable Vest
Based on 1 ratings-only review
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Would recommend? Yes 1 out of 1