Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product
This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Orvis.

Hands-Free Texas Shotgun Holster

Avoid laying your gun on damp ground or leaning it in an insecure fashion with this unique leather shotgun holster. Holds any gauge side-by-side or over/under in a safe, broken position, freeing both hands while keeping your gun safe and instantly ready to use. Holster slides onto your belt. Leather shotgun holster in brown. Leather. Made in USA.
Average Customer Rating:
4.9 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (10 reviews)
5 stars
9
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
10 of 10(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Hands-Free Texas Shotgun Holster
Review 1 for Hands-Free Texas Shotgun Holster
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Accessory,
January 13, 2014
By: west91
"this is a great product that is very useful while on the range"
Review 2 for Hands-Free Texas Shotgun Holster
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Gift for Upland Hunter,
November 29, 2012
By: Chooky
from Baltimore, Maryland
"Unique well made gift for any upland hunter who uses a over-under or double barrell shotgun. Would highly recommend ."
Review 3 for Hands-Free Texas Shotgun Holster
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great holster,
October 17, 2012
By: pheasantstink
from MN
"Great holster - love the ability to carry hands free.
Two things I'd change:
The Orvis logo is ridiculously big. I do not mind the wordmark, but this thing is like a billboard and very overkill.
Would be nice to have a two shell loop on the holster to store rounds when you don't want to leave them in the chamber. Small potatoes, but still."
Review 4 for Hands-Free Texas Shotgun Holster
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
A must have in the field,
September 28, 2012
By: rook7
from Columbus Oh
"Great for keeping gun dry and safe when handling a retrieved bird."
Review 5 for Hands-Free Texas Shotgun Holster
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Shotgun Holster,
February 9, 2012
By: braquelover
from VT
"This holster is very handy for keeping you nice shotgun safe and off the ground. When you have a dog in each hand the holster comes in very handy. My friend ordered one as soon as he saw how handy mine was."
Review 6 for Hands-Free Texas Shotgun Holster
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Hands-Free Holster,
October 1, 2010
By: spitter
from Naperville, IL
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"I'm typically skeptical of new fangled contraptions, but it said Orvis - so how ridiculous could it be?! A buddy bought one of these and we got to use it on the sporting clays range the other day.
18 stations and nearly three hours later, my buddy was in great shape and the double gun fit without issue with good ground clearance for the muzzle. There was no issue with control. Excellent quality construction was evident.
At the end of the day, everyone wanted a chance to try it out... got to order one for myself! Buy one before their gone..."
Review 7 for Hands-Free Texas Shotgun Holster
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
where has this been,
September 16, 2010
By: jimd
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"The holster and butt support are GREAT ideas Long needed Please let me know your closet store to Boone that would handle them"
Review 8 for Hands-Free Texas Shotgun Holster
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best on the market and great price too,
September 15, 2010
By: huntNguide
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Was researching these holsters for a while and came across this one on Orvis. WOW! One heck of a deal and the quality of this holster is top notch. I have been a guide for 20 years and have used many of these holsters. None compare to this one. I would highly recommend it to anyone. Can't wait to start hunting with this new shotgun holster."
Review 9 for Hands-Free Texas Shotgun Holster
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
What a GREAT Product!!!,
September 14, 2010
By: 91model
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"This is possibly the most ingenious product ever devised!! Why hasn't someone thought of this sooner? Now I can carry my gun, eat a sandwich, and work the dogs all at the same time. This product is surely to make my time spent in the filed much more enjoyable...now I can't wait to try it out."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Hands-Free Texas Shotgun Holster
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Works perfectly for bird hunting with dogs,
September 7, 2010
By: JWfromNC
from Greenville, North Carolina
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Found this on Orvis. Great Job guys!! I have paid as much as $500 for these to be custom made before, and this Orvis one has same quality. I'm ordering myself a couple of spares. I enjoy quail hunting and works perfectly to free my hands to work dog in field. I'm ordering one for my brother and uncle for early Christmas presents. I have ordered the shotgun butt holster too, I think I'll enjoy this one on duck and dove hunts."