Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product
This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Orvis.

Foundry Cloth Pants

These men's vintage work pants are made from the same rugged fabric that has protected the American worker for decades. This high-grade cotton canvas is broken in with a vintage wash for instant comfort. Easy-entry squared-off front pockets with extra stitching. Triple-needle stitching on both inside and outside pant seams and into the high-stress crotch area, where it meets with a flexible crotch insert. ¾" belt loops, metal front shank closure, and cut-brass zipper. Rear patch pockets with reinforced stitching. Interior navy grosgrain tape with embroidered olive fly tape. Back panel scuff guard and stitch detail. Men's vintage work pants in gray. Pure cotton. Belt, field notes, and watch not included. Washable. Imported.Even waist sizes 32-44. Finished inseams 30", 32", 34".
Average Customer Rating:
4.692 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (26 reviews)
5 stars
20
4 stars
4
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
0
26 of 26(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Foundry Cloth Pants
Review 1 for Foundry Cloth Pants
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Unbeatable,
November 1, 2014
By: JonJ1
from London, UK
"It's a massive shame these foundry cloth trousers haven't been restocked in the UK: I would quite possibly live in them permanently, given another pair and half a chance. Brilliantly hard wearing, great detail (third front pocket: inspired) and simply way more comfortable than the alternatives - for work or play."
Review 2 for Foundry Cloth Pants
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Good for Work,
October 21, 2013
By: bluesman65
from Middletown, DE
"I like the heavy material, especially at the bottom of the legs, and the secret pocket is a nice feature too. I bought these for work and they should hold up well."
Review 3 for Foundry Cloth Pants
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Excellent everyday casual trousers,
September 26, 2013
By: WillieJohn
from Fife, Scotland
"The kind of trousers rarely made anymore - too hard wearing and too comfortable. Great around the house and the garden although my wife makes me change to go out."
Review 4 for Foundry Cloth Pants
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Solid pants,
July 22, 2013
By: GWS243
from Penn.
"These are great weekend pants & work for casual Fridays, too. The hidden phone pocket is in just the right place. Other pants with accessory pockets put them further down on the leg putting them right where you're likely to knock it into something."
Review 5 for Foundry Cloth Pants
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great pants,
May 25, 2013
By: TJJO
from NJ
"I have these in both colors, they are unbelievably tough and can easily handle all manner of abuse. These run pretty big though, so even if you order down plan to wear a belt."
Review 6 for Foundry Cloth Pants
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
foundry cloth,
May 14, 2013
By: haze4
from Terrace park OH
"these have become my go-to pants for anything involving working/building, but clean up well. good fabric, good fit."
Review 7 for Foundry Cloth Pants
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Versatile and comfortable,
April 15, 2013
By: Sixtus
"These are the most comfortable pants I own, and I have them in every color that is made. Only negative is that some of the belt loops fray after some time."
Review 8 for Foundry Cloth Pants
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Smart and tough,
March 5, 2013
By: Pagan
from Cardiff
"Robust material and comfortable to wear. They are a generous cut, which suits my build. I have worn them for country walk and also to work, drawing favourable comments on both occassions."
Review 9 for Foundry Cloth Pants
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Nice pants,
January 28, 2013
By: Cmonaco78
from NY,NY
"Overall these pants are very nice. The fabric seems durable and can be worn casually or a bit more dressed up.i found that they run a bit big in the seat and the legs are wide. I returned my originals and got a size smaller."
Review 10 for Foundry Cloth Pants
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Foundry cloth pants,
January 21, 2013
By: erigaktuk
"Casually stylish. Colour and fit were perfect.. These are rugged pants that fit well in any casual environment."
Review 11 for Foundry Cloth Pants
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great work pants,
January 10, 2013
By: Squarerigger
from Long Beach, CA
"These pants are really the best for working in. They have enough give to allow bending, enough firmness to prevent skin damage from minor bumps and scrapes, and very solidly built seams and joints. The double right-hand front pocket is a great feature, allowing me to slip a receipt in there and not have it drop out, while loose change is in the other section of that same pocket - really helpful design!"
Review 12 for Foundry Cloth Pants
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
better then jeans,
December 30, 2012
By: Barklley
from Berkeley CA.
"These pants have the same feel as jeans but a step up so you can wear them in dresser situations. The button security pocket means I'll take them on my next trip to Asia.
Nigel"
Review 13 for Foundry Cloth Pants
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Surprised,
December 29, 2012
By: FRW1
from Allendale, NJ
"Buying a pair of these pants was a mistake. I should have bought more. They are my favorite casual/work/outdoors pants by a wide margin. Tough fabric, good construction, very comfortable fit."
Review 14 for Foundry Cloth Pants
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best Pants Ever,
December 28, 2012
By: Abercorn
from Anchorage, AK
"I have finally found the best.
Great Quality!
Great Comfort!
Great Fit
Great Value!
"
Review 15 for Foundry Cloth Pants
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Nice pants, just not right for me,
December 12, 2012
By: madiscl
"I really liked the material & color of the pants...they came as advertised. Unfortunately, the cut wasn't very complimentary for me, so I had to return them. Sorry pants, but it's not you, it's me."
Review 16 for Foundry Cloth Pants
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Not True Color,
December 3, 2012
By: Distiller
from Chicago, IL
"Don't get me wrong, I like the pants, I really do, but the color is not true to the catalog. They are listed as Field Khaki, but are much closer to "Mustard" or Yellow. Not really what I expected or how it was shown in the catalog. I realize it is difficult to reproduce colors exactly as shown, maybe a more accurate color description would be better."
Review 17 for Foundry Cloth Pants
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
BEST PANTS EVER,
November 14, 2012
By: ortho
from South Carolina, where we still hunt!
"These pants fit as advertised. The weight and special features like gusseted crotch, and double cloth on lower back of pants leg is great. Thats where my favorite pants always wear out. Love the second pocket on the right side, and the way the pockets are cut. Easy to access, but with the secret second pocket for security. Only wish you had more colors!"
Review 18 for Foundry Cloth Pants
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Most Comfortable Work Pants!,
November 12, 2012
By: RVDude
from Sarasota, FL.
"Very comfortable and durable work pants. I am really impressed with the quality of this product. Buy them!"
Review 19 for Foundry Cloth Pants
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Hardwearing trouser,
October 24, 2012
By: abcdefgh
"Tough material, tough design, comfortable and practical. A very good product and an excellent colour."
Review 20 for Foundry Cloth Pants
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
My New Favorite Pants,
October 18, 2012
By: birdhunter
from Northern Missouri
"I have lots of Orvis pants, but these may be the most comfortable I've ever purchased.. The material is a nice, hefty weight, but is very supple, making it very, very comfortable. The fit is typical to Orvis pants (thanks for that predictability) and the color was true to the internet picture. These pants felt well worn right out of the shipping box. I'm sold on these pants."