Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product
This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Orvis.

Foundry Cloth Pants

These men's vintage work pants are made from the same rugged fabric that has protected the American worker for decades. This high-grade cotton canvas is broken in with a vintage wash for instant comfort. Easy-entry squared-off front pockets with extra stitching. Triple-needle stitching on both inside and outside pant seams and into the high-stress crotch area, where it meets with a flexible crotch insert. ¾" belt loops, metal front shank closure, and cut-brass zipper. Rear patch pockets with reinforced stitching. Interior navy grosgrain tape with embroidered olive fly tape. Back panel scuff guard and stitch detail. Pure cotton. Belt, field notes, and watch not included. Washable. Imported.Even waist sizes 32-46. Finished inseams 30", 32" 34".
Average Customer Rating:
4.257 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (70 reviews)
5 stars
46
4 stars
11
3 stars
4
2 stars
3
1 star
6
59 of 70(84%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Foundry Cloth Pants
Review 1 for Foundry Cloth Pants
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Very well made, comfortable,
September 3, 2013
By: firehat
from Houston, TX
"I hate the feel of denim and oftentimes chinos just aren't warm or tough enough, so I opted to try canvas. These pants are extremely well made, with triple stitching throughout and reinforcement in certain areas. The fabric itself feels tough but comfortably soft. There pockets are roomy and have an unusual square cut that I like.
One downside is I have wide hips so ordering my waist size usually means a baggy seat, and these were no exception. I guess I can't fault Orvis for that, since it's a common problem I have.
It's summer so I can't really tell you how well they'll handle wind and cold but they certainly feel warm."
Review 2 for Foundry Cloth Pants
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Just Love Them,
May 1, 2013
By: SunnySoutherner
from East Sussex
"So comfortable with a generous cut. Easy access pockets. I wear them all the time. Great alternative to denim."
Review 3 for Foundry Cloth Pants
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
great buy,
March 4, 2013
By: 82terry
from Baton Rouge, LA
"Great fitting pants. Comfortable and rugged. Wear them at the hunting camp and they keep the thorns and branches from penetrating. Look good when having to stop on at the feed store aand shopping on the way out and on the way home. eats jeans and other outdoor clothes, no snags or pulls at the end of the day."
Review 4 for Foundry Cloth Pants
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Extreme heavy duty,
February 20, 2013
By: sillythings
from Norwich
"these trousers are extremely heavy duty and when I first tried them on I thought too stiff a material but how wrong was I.
These are the heaviest duty trousers I have tried but also very comfortable.
They would make excellent work trousers were smartness and wearability was needed.
"
Review 5 for Foundry Cloth Pants
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durable, Good-Looking Pants,
February 18, 2013
By: daz709
from Wisconsin
"My husband now has four pairs of these pants. Having been a speed skater as a kid, he has trouble finding pants that fit his thighs and bum without being huge in the waist. These, thankfully, fit great. In addition, he works half in an office and half in construction areas, and these pants have proven to be very durable and long-lasting (kind of like better-tailored Carharts) while working with a button-down shirt. Overall, I would definitely recommend these pants to the rugged (but somewhat nerdy) type - haha. Thanks Orvis!!!"
Review 6 for Foundry Cloth Pants
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent,
February 16, 2013
By: Auzz
from Victoria, BC
"Like another review, this was my first purchase from Orvis and I absolutely love these pants. First impression is they're made to last. They're comfortable, the grey is very understated and so far seem very durable. The double front pocket is genius. Now to just wait for a sale for the tobacco-coloured pair!"
Review 7 for Foundry Cloth Pants
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
My Everday Go To Pants,
January 31, 2013
By: SamW
from Wrightsville Beach, NC
"Got my first pair of Foundry paints over a year ago and had to get a second pair in another color because my wife got tired of looking at them EVERYDAY! Not only will these paints replace your favorite jeans, they will look great at a dinner party on Saturday night. The cloth is very sturdy but not stiff and my first pair look like new after more than a year of heavy use, from cool evening on the sailboat, romping through the woods with my lab, to Church on Sunday, you can't go wrong with these paints. I love the double front pocket, keeps my keys from scratching the screen on my phone and the reinforced rear hem keeps them from fraying. This is the kind of product you expect from Orvis."
Review 8 for Foundry Cloth Pants
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
first purchase with Orvis,
January 23, 2013
By: PitbullPete
from Canmore, AB
"This was my first purchase with Orvis but definitly not my last. I was thrilled with the quality and the sizing."
Review 9 for Foundry Cloth Pants
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Too short,
January 22, 2013
By: jogi
"These are very nice trousers, especially at a bargain half price. I constantly wear Montana Morning jeans, so thought the same size in the Foundry Cloth would be perfect, but alas no, much too short, although the waist was perfect."
Review 10 for Foundry Cloth Pants
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
One small detail,
January 21, 2013
By: MrRoper
from Long Beach CA
"I would look at the size of the tab on the zipper. If the zipper is all the way down, this sometimes gets covered by the material making it difficult to grab it for closing the zipper."
Review 11 for Foundry Cloth Pants
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
a little missized,
January 15, 2013
By: carbarn
from Washington, DC
"Quality of the pants were great, but I think they ran a little big, especially compared to other orvis pants. I would buy again, but at a smaller size than I regularly order."
Review 12 for Foundry Cloth Pants
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Foundry Cloth Pants - Great Fit!,
January 12, 2013
By: CntryEddie
from Estes Park, CO
"These pants are a great fit and very comfortable. At first I was concerned of the right side double pocket, but find it very useful. The reinforced area at the leg bottoms will keep these from wearing out prematurely. And the long rise front is just what I prefer, I'll definitely be back for more."
Review 13 for Foundry Cloth Pants
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Perfect pants bad sizing,
January 12, 2013
By: SassyMichigan
from Houghton Lake, MI
"These pants were exactly what I was looking for so I could go hiking with my dog then to a nice restaurant for dinner. Hardy cloth, nice lines and a great color. The only problem was with the sizing. I ordered the size I usually would, and imagine my surprise when I could have fit my self and a very close friend in with me. I like a loose cut but this went beyond that. Perhaps, if there were models to show how the pants hung this would have helped. It is also possible the pants were mis-labeled. I was sad about having to return them, but short of a miracle tailor, theses pants would never work."
Review 14 for Foundry Cloth Pants
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great adventure pants,
January 1, 2013
By: NikonBob
from Rochester Hills, Michigan
"I love to get outdoors. As a Professional Photographer i spend a lot of my time out doors photographing clients or teaching workshops. These pants are wonderful for all types of activity. They are tough yet flexible and comfortable."
Review 15 for Foundry Cloth Pants
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great pants,
December 29, 2012
By: Bshopping
"Great fit, look sharp while sturdy. Anticipate a long and happy usefulness."
Review 16 for Foundry Cloth Pants
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great fit,
December 29, 2012
By: Megger
"My husband loves these pants. They are well made and the way the seams are done provides for a roomy fit. They are his favorite pants, by far."
Review 17 for Foundry Cloth Pants
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Very Comfortable,
December 28, 2012
By: rsweet
from Austin, TX
"Love the pants, they seem to be durable and really really comfortable. Would highly recommend"
Review 18 for Foundry Cloth Pants
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
High Quality,
December 13, 2012
By: casvop6
from Pinehurst, NC
"Great pair of pants, rugged, comfortable, wash well and look great. Awesome alternative to jeans but can also bridge the gap between jeans and khaki's"
Review 19 for Foundry Cloth Pants
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
My favorite pants,
December 3, 2012
By: texasonthefly
"These pants are great. They are comfortable while staying heavy-duty. I don't wear them to fish, but they are perfect for meeting friends at the bar or even wearing to church. They're nicer than jeans but serve the same purpose."
Review 20 for Foundry Cloth Pants
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great pants!,
October 12, 2012
By: UTDuck
from Salt Lake City, UT
"Great fit, super tough and my lady loves the color and cut. These pants remind me of another manufacturers product with the added bonus of looking classier since they are absent the hammer loop and outside utility pocket, they have become my go to weekend knocking around, yard working, trap and bird shooting pants. They turn brush well and are wearing like iron while looking and feeling great, I'll be buying another pair (or two) very soon. Thanks Orvis!"