Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Leather Shotgun Holster

Eliminate an aching arm from holding or carrying your shotgun. Simply slide this leather shotgun holster on your belt and drop in the butt of your shotgun. All the weight is transferred to your hip. Instantly ready to mount and shoot. Great for the sporting clays course. Handmade of the finest quality latigo leather. Leather shotgun holster in brown. Made in USA.
Average Customer Rating:
4.917 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (24 reviews)
5 stars
22
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
24 of 24(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Leather Shotgun Holster
Review 1 for Leather Shotgun Holster
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excited to use,
October 22, 2014
By: wwill6
from Virginia Beach,VA
"Received my shotgun holster in a very timely manner from Orvis. I'm headed to South Dakota for a pheasant hunting trip, and I know this will make those long days of walking much easier, especially for my 80 year old father who looks forward to this trip every year! Thank you!"
Review 2 for Leather Shotgun Holster
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Shotgun Holster,
December 7, 2013
By: Rgarhogan
from Indian Trail, NC
"Very useful, prevents fatigue on a half day or day long hunt.
Simple design, easily used with any type belt, classic look.
"
Review 3 for Leather Shotgun Holster
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
November 18, 2013
By: Herbinmichigan
from Michigan
"Makes carrying a shotgun all day less fatiguing and easier on the shoulder especially for a 70 year old."
Review 4 for Leather Shotgun Holster
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great Holster,
February 4, 2013
By: Tim12345
from Atlanta, GA
"I really like this holster. I shoot Trap with a semi and to compound things I'm a lefty. The mat to place the barrel of an OU is on the right and I know the rest of the squad won't be happy if I move the pads at every station. The holster is equally handy for Skeet where the wait can be longer depending on crowds.
I would have given this item 5 stars if it had been a bit cheaper. Other than that, superb product."
Review 5 for Leather Shotgun Holster
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great for Tired Arms,
February 3, 2013
By: WomanHunter
from Wisconsin
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"I'm a 30 year-old woman who has recently taken up pheasant hunting with my step dad. The first time we went out, my arms were so exhausted from holding the gun up and at the ready for hours on end. I was looking for a holster to make it easier, and this fit the bill perfectly. Last time we went out, it made holding the gun effortless. Not only for when we were walking around, but for leaving one hand free when picking up birds/shells etc. This is perfect if you need a way to rest your shotgun while keeping it up and ready."
Review 6 for Leather Shotgun Holster
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
BEST YET!!,
January 4, 2013
By: SimplyAndy
from Cincinnati, OH
"Took a wild guess and ordered this for my husband! WOW!! He loves it and we immediately ordered another as a gift. Takes the constant weight off the arms. The reviews sold me and it really is a success. Thanks Orvis!!"
Review 7 for Leather Shotgun Holster
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
December 31, 2012
By: WEHEW
from Toronto ON
"Product not used yet, but looks quite functional and made with good quality leather."
Review 8 for Leather Shotgun Holster
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Procuct,
December 26, 2012
By: MangierisPizzaCafe33
"Wonderful assist in waiting for the birds in the field and a wonderful way to ensure your expensive one of a kind shotgun remains protected. Was introduced to the prodcut during a hunt by a fellow hunter. I'm positive everyone on the hunt ordered."
Review 9 for Leather Shotgun Holster
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Shotgun Holster,
December 25, 2012
By: OUGuy
"Received this as a gift and it is fabulous. As a 60 year old avid pheasant hunter in Kansas, this little device is practical and very easy to use. Hiking through the fields for hours at a time can be tough on us older guys but this holster makes it very enjoyable and takes the weight off my elbows/shouders. It is exceptionally well made and I would recommend it to every upland game hunter."
Review 10 for Leather Shotgun Holster
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
saves your tired arms,
November 14, 2012
By: JMS43
from Westchester, ny
"After a day of pheasant hunting my arms were tired, I can't wait to try this holster on my next hunt. It looks great and functional."
Review 11 for Leather Shotgun Holster
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
dove hunt,
September 26, 2012
By: southtexas
from Pearsall, Texas
"Allowed me to easily carry my shotgun while I was standing behind the mesquite trees."
Review 12 for Leather Shotgun Holster
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great arm saver!,
September 23, 2012
By: Resoboy
from Allen, Texas
"As I get older my shotgun seems to increase in weight and I thought this holster might save holding it constantly while hunting birds. It did a great job of giving my arm a break while carrying it for hours at a time. Unusual quality and unique product that actually works very well. My hunting pals all asked about it and may try it themselves."
Review 13 for Leather Shotgun Holster
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Good idea for hunter who has it all!,
September 19, 2012
By: Hunterswife
"So hard to buy for husband who buys whatever he wants and gives me no ideas. He loved this. He is a pheasant hunter so always messing with guns,dogs, birds... Said it was a neat usable gift! Score one for the wife!"
Review 14 for Leather Shotgun Holster
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great hunting accessory!,
November 17, 2011
By: casco04015
"I love all of my Orvis leather hunting accessories... I only wish Orvis would make more... especially with Orvis embossed in the leather! This holster is great when waiting for the dove to fly! Also used it quail hunting!"
Review 15 for Leather Shotgun Holster
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Orvis Sells a Good Product,
November 8, 2011
By: SteveH
"Used this for the first time this past weekend. I wanted it for carrying my semi-automatic while on the skeet range. If you do not have an over-under to break over your shoulder, holding your shotgun for all 8 stations can be a pain. And if the ground is wet or muddy you dont want to rest the stock on the ground. The toe rests are nice but you end up resting it on the choke tubes which I dont care for either. You can simply attach this thing to your belt holding your shell pouch and then hold with one hand or just cross your arms locking it in. It is quite relaxing and it keeps your shoulders relaxed while waiting for your group to shoot. If it ever wears out, which seems unlikely due to its quality construction, I would definitely buy another one."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Leather Shotgun Holster
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Very useful in lthe field,
October 10, 2011
By: duggaboy
"Product is very durable and well made. It will serve me for many years to come."
Review 17 for Leather Shotgun Holster
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Quality!,
May 9, 2011
By: RobertBob
"I waited over three months for this item because of back order status but it was well worth the wait. The craftsmanship and quality is superior to what the competition has to offer. I have tried another brand but no comparison what so ever! This holster holds it's shape, is well finished and feels right. Great product."
Review 18 for Leather Shotgun Holster
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Exactly What He Needed,
January 15, 2011
By: Texanna
from TX
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"My husband was excited to get this for Christmas. It's exactly what he needs for hunting in the field. The leather and workmanship are good quality, and quite "lovely.""
Review 19 for Leather Shotgun Holster
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Just what I need!,
December 14, 2010
By: uplandmike
from New Mexico
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Excellent addition to hunting gear if carrying your long gun for a few hours. Works well both left and right handed. Fine for shotgun or rifle. Requires a heavy belt."
Review 20 for Leather Shotgun Holster
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great for every hunter,
October 15, 2010
By: huntNguide
from Montana
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Went sporting clays with a few friends last week as we prepared for duck season and used this shotgun holster all day. I felt comfortable with it on my hip and by the end of the day my arms and shoulders were not sore. All the weight from the gun was on my hip and it was in a great position for me to fire when ready. This is another first class shotgun holster and I would recommend it to anyone. Can't wait to pick up a couple more of these as Christmas gifts for my hunting buddy's."