Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Leather Shotgun Holster

Eliminate an aching arm from holding or carrying your shotgun. Simply slide this leather shotgun holster on your belt and drop in the butt of your shotgun. All the weight is transferred to your hip. Instantly ready to mount and shoot. Great for the sporting clays course. Handmade of the finest quality latigo leather. Leather shotgun holster in brown. Made in USA.
Average Customer Rating:
4.906 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (32 reviews)
5 stars
29
4 stars
3
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
32 of 32(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Leather Shotgun Holster
Review 1 for Leather Shotgun Holster
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best Holster Ever,
February 4, 2015
By: kykitty
from North Carolina
"I was looking for something to help with carrying a semi-automatic shotgun. With sporting clays, the gun should be carried with the chamber open, so how you carry it is specific. The gun gets a little heavy after a 100+ rounds. I like the product a lot and found it very useful."
Review 2 for Leather Shotgun Holster
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Smart Sophistication,
January 5, 2015
By: ChristyMc77
from Texas
"It is so nice when functionality and style intersect! I purchased this for both my husband and my father - both wonder why they didn't have something like this sooner! Easy to pack - easy to use - easy to love!"
Review 3 for Leather Shotgun Holster
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The best shotgun toter,,
December 20, 2014
By: Yogi1399
from Denver, Colorado
"Wish I would have thought of this ten years ago. Makes carrying a shotgun all day effortless. Great quality."
Review 4 for Leather Shotgun Holster
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
FINE PRODUCT,
December 19, 2014
By: PSALTERYMAN
from East TN.
"The orvis leather shotgun holster is just what I needed to keep my arms from getting tired when I fallow the dogs on my quail hunts. It takes the weight off my arms and keeps my shotgun ready at a moments notice.The leather is top quality and very well put together. If you walk a long way on your bird hunts you need one of these."
Review 5 for Leather Shotgun Holster
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great product,
December 19, 2014
By: Woodsygirl
from Delafield, WI
"This item is very well made and does exactly what it's supposed to do, makes lugging the shotgun through fields much easier."
Review 6 for Leather Shotgun Holster
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Excellent shoulder saver,
November 26, 2014
By: FoxFire
from Central PA
"I use this for both bird hunting and clays. It is great when you are giving the dogs a break or you are backed-up on the sporting clays range. Leather quality is top notch. Inside is unfinished leather. It is very kind to gunstock finishes. I wish is was lined with suede instead. I will be interested to see how it ages!"
Review 7 for Leather Shotgun Holster
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
shotgun holster review,
October 29, 2014
By: JandV
"Outstanding quality in the stitching and the leather.
This product is clearly durable and I expect many years of use out of it....and a lot of additional comfort.
"
Review 8 for Leather Shotgun Holster
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excited to use,
October 22, 2014
By: wwill6
from Virginia Beach,VA
"Received my shotgun holster in a very timely manner from Orvis. I'm headed to South Dakota for a pheasant hunting trip, and I know this will make those long days of walking much easier, especially for my 80 year old father who looks forward to this trip every year! Thank you!"
Review 9 for Leather Shotgun Holster
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Shotgun Holster,
December 7, 2013
By: Rgarhogan
from Indian Trail, NC
"Very useful, prevents fatigue on a half day or day long hunt.
Simple design, easily used with any type belt, classic look.
"
Review 10 for Leather Shotgun Holster
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
November 18, 2013
By: Herbinmichigan
from Michigan
"Makes carrying a shotgun all day less fatiguing and easier on the shoulder especially for a 70 year old."
Review 11 for Leather Shotgun Holster
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great Holster,
February 4, 2013
By: Tim12345
from Atlanta, GA
"I really like this holster. I shoot Trap with a semi and to compound things I'm a lefty. The mat to place the barrel of an OU is on the right and I know the rest of the squad won't be happy if I move the pads at every station. The holster is equally handy for Skeet where the wait can be longer depending on crowds.
I would have given this item 5 stars if it had been a bit cheaper. Other than that, superb product."
Review 12 for Leather Shotgun Holster
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great for Tired Arms,
February 3, 2013
By: WomanHunter
from Wisconsin
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"I'm a 30 year-old woman who has recently taken up pheasant hunting with my step dad. The first time we went out, my arms were so exhausted from holding the gun up and at the ready for hours on end. I was looking for a holster to make it easier, and this fit the bill perfectly. Last time we went out, it made holding the gun effortless. Not only for when we were walking around, but for leaving one hand free when picking up birds/shells etc. This is perfect if you need a way to rest your shotgun while keeping it up and ready."
Review 13 for Leather Shotgun Holster
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
BEST YET!!,
January 4, 2013
By: SimplyAndy
from Cincinnati, OH
"Took a wild guess and ordered this for my husband! WOW!! He loves it and we immediately ordered another as a gift. Takes the constant weight off the arms. The reviews sold me and it really is a success. Thanks Orvis!!"
Review 14 for Leather Shotgun Holster
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
December 31, 2012
By: WEHEW
from Toronto ON
"Product not used yet, but looks quite functional and made with good quality leather."
Review 15 for Leather Shotgun Holster
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Procuct,
December 26, 2012
By: MangierisPizzaCafe33
"Wonderful assist in waiting for the birds in the field and a wonderful way to ensure your expensive one of a kind shotgun remains protected. Was introduced to the prodcut during a hunt by a fellow hunter. I'm positive everyone on the hunt ordered."
Review 16 for Leather Shotgun Holster
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Shotgun Holster,
December 25, 2012
By: OUGuy
"Received this as a gift and it is fabulous. As a 60 year old avid pheasant hunter in Kansas, this little device is practical and very easy to use. Hiking through the fields for hours at a time can be tough on us older guys but this holster makes it very enjoyable and takes the weight off my elbows/shouders. It is exceptionally well made and I would recommend it to every upland game hunter."
Review 17 for Leather Shotgun Holster
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
saves your tired arms,
November 14, 2012
By: JMS43
from Westchester, ny
"After a day of pheasant hunting my arms were tired, I can't wait to try this holster on my next hunt. It looks great and functional."
Review 18 for Leather Shotgun Holster
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
dove hunt,
September 26, 2012
By: southtexas
from Pearsall, Texas
"Allowed me to easily carry my shotgun while I was standing behind the mesquite trees."
Review 19 for Leather Shotgun Holster
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great arm saver!,
September 23, 2012
By: Resoboy
from Allen, Texas
"As I get older my shotgun seems to increase in weight and I thought this holster might save holding it constantly while hunting birds. It did a great job of giving my arm a break while carrying it for hours at a time. Unusual quality and unique product that actually works very well. My hunting pals all asked about it and may try it themselves."
Review 20 for Leather Shotgun Holster
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Good idea for hunter who has it all!,
September 19, 2012
By: Hunterswife
"So hard to buy for husband who buys whatever he wants and gives me no ideas. He loved this. He is a pheasant hunter so always messing with guns,dogs, birds... Said it was a neat usable gift! Score one for the wife!"