Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Snake-Proof Gaiters

Hunt with confidence in our camo hunting gaiters, and pay attention to where you're shooting, not where you're stepping. Turtleskin® Snake Armor™ is made of ballistic fibers in a fabric that is windproof, waterproof and comfortably flexible. Comfortable in all weather and terrain. Tested with live diamondback strikes and simulated needle strikes. Camo hunting gaiters in reversible camo/khaki. One size fits most. Polyester/ballistic fibers. USA.
Average Customer Rating:
4.909 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (11 reviews)
5 stars
10
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
11 of 11(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Snake-Proof Gaiters
Review 1 for Snake-Proof Gaiters
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent product!,
December 1, 2014
By: Tropo
from Asheville, NC
"My wife and I each bought a pair of these gaiters to wear while working on our property in North Carolina. We got tired of getting our jeans snagged on the briars that are all over our place...now we can blaze right thru the worst of them without getting stuck. We also have quite a few snakes in our area so it is nice to have a little peace of mind wearing these gaiters knowing that we have some awesome protection on our legs. The adjustable fit ensured that the gaiters were comfortable and secure without being constraining. We wore them for 4 hours the first day we got them and they were worth every penny! A definite must if you're tromping around in heavy brush, briars or in snake country!"
Review 2 for Snake-Proof Gaiters
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Comfortable and quiet,
November 5, 2014
By: WiJWi
from Atlanta
"I was impressed by how light weight and comfortable they are to wear. They are also not too stiff. Amazing material."
Review 3 for Snake-Proof Gaiters
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent,
September 19, 2014
By: AHunterPFN
from Sweetwater Texas
"Light weight - Easy to use - Comfortable - Durable. Moisture buildup between clothing but small sacrifice to avoid snake bite. Held up great in thick cover, rain & mud."
Review 4 for Snake-Proof Gaiters
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best option for upland hunting,
May 19, 2014
By: 1Birdhunter
from Smyrna, GA
"These gaiters are by far the best for bird hunting. They are light, adjustable and very comfortable. I will have to have a set of chaps also. Excellent performance at a reasonable price."
Review 5 for Snake-Proof Gaiters
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Snake gaiters,
October 4, 2013
By: anoutdoorsman
from Carlisle, PA
"These are very light weight, easy to use, and comfortable; but they are also very expensive. They are, however, less constrictive than snake-proof boots and, hence, more comfortable. I particularly like the two-sided choice of patterns."
Review 6 for Snake-Proof Gaiters
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Exceeds the reviews,
July 25, 2013
By: ROCFLYFISH
from Salem, VA
"I bought these to protect me from snakebite in the hot summer months when I wet-wade. They are as light as a feather, and dry very fast. I've never had to unzip them as my foot slides thru easily. The drawstring at the top is a nice feature but takes some getting used to. I wear these with wading shoes that are not high tops and have not had any problem with them "riding" up over the boot and exposing my ankles. Great product."
Review 7 for Snake-Proof Gaiters
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
great gaiters,
December 19, 2012
By: Francesco
from Millbrook N.Y.
"Easy to put on ,lightweight and reversible to camo.They kept me dry on wet mornings .I wore them over hunting pants and khakis and they protected me from the low underbrush and briars ."
Review 8 for Snake-Proof Gaiters
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Very nice...a must buy,
September 25, 2012
By: Ricker1187
from Colorado
"These are very nice indeed. Easy to put on, flexible, and stay where you want them. In my mind they are a must buy if you hunt anywhere snakes are. Put it this way…one bite from a Rattler (I live in Colorado) is about $197,000 in medical bills (no joke, it happened at an outdoor range here)…what does that make the ROI for these Gaiters? Plus, these are made to last a life time. 5 stars! I won’t upland hunt without them now unless it is snowing."
Review 9 for Snake-Proof Gaiters
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great product,
September 28, 2011
By: brooker1966
from Jacksonville, FL
"I have worn these Turtle Skin Gaiters hunting, hiking and trail motorbike riding for three years. They fit well, are light weight, flexible, comfortable to the point you forget you have them on, reasonably cool, are easy to put on, they stay put and easy to clean as you just wash them in the washing machine and hang them to dry. I am very satisfied with this product, so much so I bought this product as a gift for several others."
Ratings-Only Reviews for Snake-Proof Gaiters
Based on the average of (2) ratings-only reviews
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Would recommend? Yes 2 out of 2