Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product
This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Orvis.

Irish Setter Wingshooter Boot

A simple and classic wingshooter's upland boot for the hunter that believes in the tried and true. Ultradry™ waterproof membrane keeps feet dry. Lightweight midsole for support and Irish Setter's Prairie Black outsole sheds clay and dirt. Goodyear welt construction. 6" height from the inner sole to top of boot collar. In brown. Leather. Imported.Whole and half men's sizes: 8-11½, 12, 13, 14. Weighs 3.4 lbs. in size 10.
Average Customer Rating:
4.517 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (29 reviews)
5 stars
21
4 stars
4
3 stars
3
2 stars
0
1 star
1
26 of 29(90%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Irish Setter Wingshooter Boot
Review 1 for Irish Setter Wingshooter Boot
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
hunting boots,
June 5, 2013
By: ster
from Wayzata, MN
"This is my 5th pair of this brand boot. I keep buying them because they hold up over a lot of walking and keep my feet dry. great boot!"
Review 2 for Irish Setter Wingshooter Boot
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best,
April 2, 2013
By: ajgm
from Buffalo, NY
"From the minute I put them on, I could tell the quality of this product.
Will use for wing shooting, wore them for opening day of trout season and loved them. Get them while you can.
"
Review 3 for Irish Setter Wingshooter Boot
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Just a well made pair,
March 6, 2013
By: marine0311
from Ga.
"Love these boots just needed a larger width Have order a pair in EE just not from Orvis"
Review 4 for Irish Setter Wingshooter Boot
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Excellent Value,
February 24, 2013
By: Gundog
from Grand Rapids, MI
"These boots are an excellent value. Others have described them as lightweight, but I think they are more substantial than that. I wore them out in snowy conditions today with temps in the mid thirties. After three hours my feet were warm and dry. They are very comfortable right out of the box, and unlike others who have reviewed them, I think the color is true to what you see in the catalog or online. In regard to sizing, I would advise buying them one half size larger than normal."
Review 5 for Irish Setter Wingshooter Boot
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Just what I wanted,
February 14, 2013
By: froger
from Virginia
"Have been looking for a sturdy but lightweight boot for upland hunting. This boot is excellent. Comfortable from the moment I put them on."
Review 6 for Irish Setter Wingshooter Boot
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Nice Boots,
December 30, 2012
By: EAllan
from Gainesville, VA
"Pretty darn comfortable even after a couple of hours walking through the civil war battlefields of Virginia. Sturdy and lightweight; I'd recommend them to anyone."
Review 7 for Irish Setter Wingshooter Boot
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ouch!,
November 28, 2012
By: PrimeLie
"I had high hopes for these boots. They were the right size, I wore the right socks but unfortunately these boots were a no-go.
I ended up with half dollar sized blisters after the first hunt of the season. Gave them the benefit of the doubt for some breaking in and used them again two weeks later. (With duct tape on my socks this time.) Sorry to say, same result. Thankfully the return policy at Orvis is so generous. I was able to return these boots and select another pair having much better results!
"
Review 8 for Irish Setter Wingshooter Boot
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
What you see is not what you get.,
November 20, 2012
By: Higgsboson
from NY NY
"I ordered the Wingshooter boot because it looked like a rugged simple basic lace up boot- no frills .
When I opened the box I thought they sent the wrong shoes. The look and feel of the boot did not match the impression I had from the photo.
The cut of the boot didn't look right and the leather was a fuzzy-ish suede as opposed to a worn leather look. The product you get doesn't always live up to the promise in the photo.
"
Review 9 for Irish Setter Wingshooter Boot
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great comfort,
November 7, 2012
By: AlexC
from Scottsdale, AZ
"These are the nicest boots, love to walk the woods with them. You have traction and comfort in one , and they look great. The dark brown works for me. I'm in AZ so I have to say they did keep cool when I had them on all day! Thanks Orvis for having these!!!"
Review 10 for Irish Setter Wingshooter Boot
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent,
November 6, 2012
By: Coton
from Pennsylvania,
"The shoes fit as described and run true to size. They were comfortable right out of box with no break in period required. Shoes perform well in all weather conditions.m"
Review 11 for Irish Setter Wingshooter Boot
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
A good pair of boots,
November 2, 2012
By: OforOrvis
"They are a great pair of boots. Extremely comfortable. I like the speed laces. I enjoy walking in them"
Review 12 for Irish Setter Wingshooter Boot
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great purchase..as promised,
May 2, 2012
By: hubrat
from Campton Hills , Illinois
"Best value available for a good quality upland hunting boot.Immediate wearability..No break in needed.."
Review 13 for Irish Setter Wingshooter Boot
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Perfect for my needs,
April 4, 2012
By: TheWood210
from SC
"Great warmer weather boot. Not too hot. Waterproof. Perfect for spring turkey hunting and I also use for hunting. I went with this boot over other options because it looks classier. They look great with jeans and can be worn around casually without appearing overwhelmingly like many of the large camo colored hunting boots"
Review 14 for Irish Setter Wingshooter Boot
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Some boots!,
March 15, 2012
By: plainsking
from Mission, KS
"I purchased these boots with the hope that they would be the waterproof, light and comfortable answer to my upland hunting prayers. I could not be more pleased with my purchase. Great ankle support, light sole that offers great grip without picking up/packing mud, I could go on and on. I did not find the boots to need any breaking in and to mirror what other reviewers have said, I get a lot of compliments on them because they look great. Overall a great buy; my best piece of gear."
Review 15 for Irish Setter Wingshooter Boot
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Boots,
March 10, 2012
By: Gcash
"When I first put them on they were very comfortable; did not need to break them in. They look great too, very stylish boot. However, the boots are MUCH darker than the ones in the picture. High quality leather and stitching. Very happy with them"
Review 16 for Irish Setter Wingshooter Boot
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
boots much darker that picture,
December 7, 2011
By: huntinggunner
from Irwin, PA
"the boots are very well made, but they are a few shades darker than the picture shows. They look more like a dress boot than a multi-purpose boot. The finish is dark and feels a bit oily/wet. nice boot, just not what i expected from picture. The fit was spacious, I would recommend ordering 1/2 size smaller."
Review 17 for Irish Setter Wingshooter Boot
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Boots,
November 28, 2011
By: ChrisRez
from Tulsa, OK
"These boots were very comfortable right out of the box. Nice look, light weight, great support for ankles and arch. My new favorite boot."
Review 18 for Irish Setter Wingshooter Boot
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Boot,
November 28, 2011
By: ATLguy
from Atlanta, GA
"Like the look. Very comfortable the first time I wore them and didn't need breaking in. I'll get a lot of use out of these. Got compliments the first time I wore them."
Review 19 for Irish Setter Wingshooter Boot
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
great value,
October 19, 2011
By: 54Chevy
"handsome boot that looks great with jeans. no breakin period required"
Review 20 for Irish Setter Wingshooter Boot
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
comfortable boot,
September 6, 2011
By: Atlantagolf
from Atlanta, GA
"Got size 12 originally, but they were too tight. I sent back and ordered 13. Light, comfortable with enough room for hunting socks. Wore around yard all day with only a little discomfort from being unused to having boot above ankle. I will continue to break in for my trip to S.Dakota. Not a heavy or deep lug pattern, I do hope they will provide good traction in mud if encountered."