Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Orvis Kangaroo Upland Boots

A hunter's two best friends—lightweight and waterproof. Kangaroo leather has the best strength/weight ratio of any upland boot leather available. This rugged boot will take the punishment, yet save you hundreds of pounds of cumulative walking effort over the course of a long day in the field. Gore-Tex® membrane with Cambrelle™ lining keeps feet dry and comfortable. Semi-aggressive Vibram® Gumlite sole for solid traction. Upland boots in brown. Kangaroo leather. Not available in California. Made in USA.Men's whole and half sizes: 7-11½, 12, 13, 14. Runs narrow. Size 10 weighs 1.6 lbs.
Average Customer Rating:
4.123 out of 5
 out of 
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (122 reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star
100 of 122(82%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Orvis Kangaroo Upland Boots
Review 1 for Orvis Kangaroo Upland Boots
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Perfect Boot for English Shoots,
October 6, 2015
By: WilliamLee
"These boots are going to serve me well on hunts domestically and internationally. Thank you!"
Review 2 for Orvis Kangaroo Upland Boots
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
this is a very narrow boot,
September 29, 2015
By: HalS
from Austin, TX
"nice boot, but the Orvis supplier is making the boot way too narrow. I have regular feet and have never had a problem before. I ordered a larger pair given the previous reviews and it still is too narrow for comfort. I'm surprised that Orvis has not corrected this issue with their vendor. Good boot, light weight, but they have some serious problems with the width. proceed with caution. hope you have really narrow feet."
Review 3 for Orvis Kangaroo Upland Boots
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Good purchase,
August 20, 2015
By: Dan46
from North Carolina
"Looking for a comfortable, durable hunting boot and I have found it. Fit was snug at first,gave it a chance and fit and comfort is perfect. If it performs like other Orvis products it will be a winner. Just what i expected from Orvis, worth the price difference."
Review 4 for Orvis Kangaroo Upland Boots
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Not so waterproof,
April 16, 2015
By: ChrisinFlorida
from Florida
"Generally very well made boots, and lightweight, but the first pair I ordered began to leak water in on one foot within three months. Orvis promptly processed an exchange for a new pair, but now eight months later I have leaks on both boots. For the price, and since they are Goretex, they should stay waterproof for some time."
Review 5 for Orvis Kangaroo Upland Boots
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
April 7, 2015
By: doveguy
from Memphis TN
"I need a size 15 and am a regular Orvis shopper. what are my options?"
Review 6 for Orvis Kangaroo Upland Boots
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Worth It,
April 3, 2015
By: backyard80
"I'm a forester. In the woods almost daily. This boot is lightweight & tough. This is my second pair in the last 3 years. An expensive boot but well worth it."
Review 7 for Orvis Kangaroo Upland Boots
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Way too narrow,
March 4, 2015
By: ChicagoLobbyist
from Chicago, IL
"Should have listened more closely to the previous reviews. Sized up and stull could not get feet in the boots. D width is more like a B or C. Will reconsider purchasing if Orvis gets sizng correct."
Review 8 for Orvis Kangaroo Upland Boots
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great - - But Could Be SO Much Better,
February 13, 2015
By: RandyL
from Oklahoma
"First off, as some other reviewers have noted, these boots are CRAZY narrow.
I wear an 11, and when these arrived in 11, I couldn't even get my feet into them.
I ordered a 13, and they fit much better.
The good: they're light (the waterproof lining is heavier than the Kangaroo leather), they're strong, and when wide enough, very comfortable - - especially the arch support, which is in exactly the right spot for my foot.
Because I had to order a couple of sizes larger than normal to get my foot into them, they are a little (a little, a very little, not a lot) long in the toe and the heel.
Nevertheless, they are a very high-quality, very comfortable pair of boots.
I have worn them almost daily since getting them, and have had no problems with chafing or blistering because of them being (marginally) too long.
I will wear them turkey hunting in a couple of months instead of my Danner Jackal snake boots.
These boots are that light and that comfortable.
They look really, really slick, too.
Like I say in the title, they could be so much better - - if they were of normal width, they would fit my feet like gloves.
They might not be quite worth the price, but like I say, they are an extremely high-quality product.
Orvis came oh, so close, to a grand slam here.
Think of the boots as a bases-loaded double, high off of the center field wall."
Review 9 for Orvis Kangaroo Upland Boots
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Big Disappointment,
February 10, 2015
By: GeorgeC1
from Long Island, NY
"I have been purchasing Orvis clothing and hunting gear for over 15 years and unfortunately this was my first significant disappointment. Like many other reviews, these boots are beautiful and well-made to the quality expected from Orvis. However quality cannot overcome size if they do not fit. My boot size is 10 ½ D, which I ordered and found snug at first, but assumed would loosen up as being worn. Sadly and painfully I was mistaken. I attended a quail shoot at Bray’s Island, only to stop and change into my dress moccasins to finish the hunt. Orvis customer service was outstanding as I returned the 10 1/2D for 11 1/2D, which was still too narrow, then returned and ordered a third time the 10 1/2D in the Bob Sole model, but still not satisfied with the overall fit and returned those as well. Regrettably, I must take my upland boot business elsewhere."
Review 10 for Orvis Kangaroo Upland Boots
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Too tight,
February 8, 2015
By: Odog
"Read reviews before purchasing but decided to try them anyway. These boots are entirely too tight fitting. I ordered a size larger than normal based on reviews and still too tight. Wish they would size them correctly. Good looking boot."
Review 11 for Orvis Kangaroo Upland Boots
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
First Class Comfort,
February 2, 2015
By: Dochildy
from Fenton, MI
"These boots right out of the box feel broken in. Reading other reviews prior to purchase I concur. I have a narrow foot and reviews said they fit narrow so order a size larger. I ordered my regular size 12. Even with my narrow foot they fit way too tight and short. Customer service immediately sent out a size 13 and they fit like a glove. So to save yourself a little aggrevation order a size larger."
Review 12 for Orvis Kangaroo Upland Boots
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
good value,
January 27, 2015
By: reddirtshooter2506
from OK
"boots fit a little snug but are very comfortable. Very light weight and my feet felt very good after a long quail hunt. Haven't had in any moisture yet to check out the waterproof label, hope someday it will rain so I can. I would purchase again."
Review 13 for Orvis Kangaroo Upland Boots
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality hunting boots,
January 23, 2015
By: ASeeger
from Boise, ID
"With careful consideration for all comments from previous customers, I purchased the kangaroo upland boots (made by Gokey). My wife and I have purchased Orvis products for home and field for many decades and have never been disappointed by products received even if we decided to return an item for whatever reason.
As most had reviewed previously, upon receiving the boots, the quality, suppleness and light weight of the boots are obvious. For outdoor boots I use a purchased thicker footbed so I upsized my normal 10D by a half size to 10.5 for these boots. Because of the several comments about these boots being narrow and trouble with the tongue, I wore the new boots inside for a week, even walking on our treadmill 3-4 miles each day. The boots actually felt good from the first wearing, but with the softening of the leather and my foot forming into the boots, the fit went from good to great. My bottom line to others would be: 1. give the boot a chance but if it doesn't work for you, send it back, 2. Think about size ordered based on your foot, 3. As for the tongue, comments that this boot has to much sloppy leather is misplaced. These are tall (9") hunting boots. The tongue needs to be spread and tucked properly as you break them in and they will develop memory and never be a problem going forward.
GREAT boots for most, nothing is perfect for all.
Review 14 for Orvis Kangaroo Upland Boots
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Good boots owerall, but,
January 11, 2015
By: AndreUSA
from Washington DC
"Bought this used and like this quality and light weight, whatever even this pair was used, I still have slight problem with right boot, my right foot is little wider like many man have, I used some mink oil and stuck big ball of paper inside, hope this will do the trick , this boots have little room for thick socks and some kind of hard toe protection, so if your foot is need more room , go with Bob Sole, they look like more wider but I never tried those, I have very fine foot size 12 and this boots size 12 D fit them almost prefect, but to people with wider foot I recommend to go with Bob Sole, this is great boots, you need just find the right size one's"
Review 15 for Orvis Kangaroo Upland Boots
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great pair of boots,
January 6, 2015
By: TurkeyGreat
from Horry County, SC
"Purchased Orvis Kangaroo Upland boots and I'm very pleased with fit,comfort,and style"
Review 16 for Orvis Kangaroo Upland Boots
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Comically Tight,
January 2, 2015
By: JasonSpurlock
"These boots are of a very high quality. However, they are absurdly tight through the toes and middle of the foot. The issue has clearly not been resolved. Also, I concur with the other reviews that say there is way too much material in the tongue. You have to fold it over a couple of times to lace the boot. Bad deal."
Review 17 for Orvis Kangaroo Upland Boots
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Most desired Boot,
December 30, 2014
By: AlabamaOrvis
"This is a great boot and desrves 5 stars...but I can not wear it.... it has ONE BIG problem it is made narrow the "D" size is a C perhaps, if you have a full D or D-E width it will not work. I have tried twice to buy these (saw where online notes siad it had been re-designed from the other comments). I want this boot very bad but ....if the shoe don't fit"
Review 18 for Orvis Kangaroo Upland Boots
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
good boots,
December 23, 2014
By: birdman61
from knightdale nc
"These boots are good to bird hunt in and to work in and look good for casual wear"
Review 19 for Orvis Kangaroo Upland Boots
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Kangaroo Upland Boots,
December 15, 2014
By: Gundog1
from Fogelsville, PA
"Purchased a pair of these boots 4-5 years ago. I had some concerns about customer feedback on the fit of the boot but liked a number of the features of the boot, so placed the order. I have a very average size 9 1/2 foot. I typically have no problems finding boots that fit well. However, the Orvis Kangaroo boots were much too narrow. I kept the boots because of feedback from some customers that the boots would stretch. However, they never stretched and I found myself wearing them less and less. Fast forward a year or two and Orvis posted that the sizing/fit problem had been fixed. Purchased another pair which were promptly returned because they were still too narrow. Fast forward another year or so when the bob sole kangaroo boots appeared. Liking the bob sole and seeing customer feedback that the sizing/fit problem had been addressed, I ordered a pair. I was pleasantly surprised when they fit well. I contacted Orvis customer service and an enquired whether the sizing/ fit of the regular sole boots was the same as the Bob sole boots. Assured that they were the same, I ordered a pair of the regular sole boots. Sizing/ fit of the regular sole boots was not even close to the Bob sole boots. The regular sole boots were much narrower and were visibly shorter. I have been an Orvis customer for many years and have generally been very pleased with the products that I have purchased. I will be taking my upland boot business somewhere else."
Review 20 for Orvis Kangaroo Upland Boots
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great boot - Narrow!,
December 2, 2014
By: Macanaw
from Chicago, IL
"Disappointed I couldn't wear this outstanding boot. It's sized narrow. I typically wear a D and this boot was much too tight. Sorry it didn't work for me since it looked terrific."