Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Orvis Kangaroo Upland Boots

A hunter's two best friends—lightweight and waterproof. Kangaroo leather has the best strength/weight ratio of any upland boot leather available. This rugged boot will take the punishment, yet save you hundreds of pounds of cumulative walking effort over the course of a long day in the field. Gore-Tex® membrane with Cambrelle™ lining keeps feet dry and comfortable. Semi-aggressive Vibram® Gumlite sole for solid traction. Upland boots in brown. Kangaroo leather. Not available in California. Made in USA.Men's whole and half sizes: 7-11½, 12, 13, 14. Size 10 weighs 1.6 lbs.Ships to contiguous 48 states only, excluding California.
Average Customer Rating:
4.273 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (99 reviews)
5 stars
67
4 stars
13
3 stars
6
2 stars
5
1 star
8
84 of 99(85%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Orvis Kangaroo Upland Boots
Review 1 for Orvis Kangaroo Upland Boots
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great so far,
October 3, 2014
By: mbowler
from Pacific, MO
"I purchased these boots for a late October pheasant hunt in South Dakota. I've been wearing them for the last month to "break them in". I quote that because break in is really only about an hour. I've worn them in mud and rain and so far they have been completely dry. I have worn them on 90 degree days with pants and they did not feel uncomfortably hot. They are also a great looking boot that doesn't look out of place in social settings."
Review 2 for Orvis Kangaroo Upland Boots
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Awesome,
September 30, 2014
By: AliMc
from Atlanta and South Africa
"These must be one of the best boots I have ever bought. They are extremely comfortable and even after a long days walk behind the dogs your feet feel great.
They give you a feeling of stability and agility at the same time and I would highly recommend these boots for any upland hunting.
"
Review 3 for Orvis Kangaroo Upland Boots
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Top of Line Quail Hunting Boot,
September 24, 2014
By: mdawkins
from South Carolina
"These boot are excellent for what I purchased them for and that is to hunt quail. Quail hunting requires a lot of walking in some pretty tough terrain. They being water proof really adds to the quality these boots represents. Would recommend them to any family member and to friends who require quality and good looks."
Review 4 for Orvis Kangaroo Upland Boots
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Boots,
September 24, 2014
By: mauser98
"ordered my first pair three years ago for hunting boots. They were so comfortable i started wearing them to work everyday. I work in the trades so they were really abused and lasted three years. No cow hide boot ever lasted that long. A little pricey, but awesome boot, cant wait until my next pair gets here."
Review 5 for Orvis Kangaroo Upland Boots
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Could have been a great one, but I don't think so.,
September 2, 2014
By: LongRifle
from Hamilton, VA
"I was looking for the ultimate upland boot. This could have been it. It had all the features externally: Great design, great materials, well made, light weight. Internally, a complete failure! Reviewers are binary in opinion: these boots either fit you, or they torture you with guarenteed blisters especially along the heel area. With modern ergonomic footware technology advances in running shoes, Orvis should invest in redesigning the insides of these boots to achieve their destiny as the finest upland boot available. Until then, I'm forced to return mine and buy another, more advanced, design."
Review 6 for Orvis Kangaroo Upland Boots
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
So Far So Good,
August 28, 2014
By: JRHII
from South Alabama
"I've had these boots for a little over a week and have not been able to wear them enough to fully break them in yet, but they are very comfortable out of the box. The first thing I noticed is how much lighter they were than my previous pair of upland boots. They are a little snug right now but they are stretching out and I have no doubt they will be very comfortable in the days to come."
Review 7 for Orvis Kangaroo Upland Boots
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Lightweight and dry,
August 27, 2014
By: gacampbell
from Greenville, SC
"I have only worn these boots a few times, but they are light and dry. Break in period was minimal. One occasion was the 6 mile trek for an overnight at Mt. LeConte in Tennessee. The goretex lining certainly kept water out, but these are not as breathable as the traditional Gokey upland boots or Russell South 40s. It just doesn't seem to breathe like all-leather boots. However, I plan to use these boots mostly for quail hunting in Thomasville, Georgia. So I will update the review after a season in the south Ga briars. Hopefully, with a good coat of Obenauf's they'll hold up just fine. Snake Armour lining would be a welcome addition."
Review 8 for Orvis Kangaroo Upland Boots
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Blending comfort with utility and support,
July 15, 2014
By: Winglet
from Boulder, CO, USA
"These kangaroo upland hunting boots represent the perfect necessity for those who really enjoy the comfort and support in their feet and ankles while hunting in uneven and varying field conditions like best of Highland Hills fields. I highly recommend them and should have purchased them long before this year!"
Review 9 for Orvis Kangaroo Upland Boots
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Comfortable every day,
June 17, 2014
By: StevenZ
from North West Massachusetts
"These boots are comfortable enough to wear every day. I did order a half size larger than I normally take and the boots fit perfectly. The tongue has some extra material but I find it adds padding when laced up and also allows easy foot removal. I've worn them in a variety of conditions and the waterproof claim stands true. I already recommended them to a friend and will continue to do so."
Review 10 for Orvis Kangaroo Upland Boots
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Disappointing,
April 29, 2014
By: Cttd
"I was concerned about buying these boots given the multiple reviews citing poor fit. I was thrilled when I saw that Orvis had posted that the fit issues had been corrected as of 10/2013. Well, the issue has not been resolved. My foot is an "average" width and the boots were unbearably snug. They seem to be extremely well made, and they certainly are incredibly light weight. I'm not sure what was done to "resolve" the fit issues, but I am sure that it didn't work."
Review 11 for Orvis Kangaroo Upland Boots
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Versatile, lightweight and comfortable,
April 3, 2014
By: japantiger
from Austin
"I think the title says it all. I've worn these for about a year bird hunting, on an elk hunt and just around the farm. Great fit, comfortable and lightweight. They were snug out of the box, which had me concerned; but within about an hour they felt broken in. I ordered a 10 when I normally wear a 9.5; the right call. Will do some serious climbing on a hunt next month; I expect them to do great."
Review 12 for Orvis Kangaroo Upland Boots
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Terrific boots,
April 1, 2014
By: MagTen
from Greensboro, NC
"I bought these boots for upland bird hunting because I wanted dressier and lighter footwear than my heavily insulated boots. I wore them to shoot sporting clays this weekend and walked over a mile on hilly terrain. They look sharp, felt remarkably light and provided good support. The fit was slightly narrower than other common brands at first, but not problematic and they seemed to conform to my feet over time. It appears that these boots will not require much of a break-in. My initial impression is that these are terrific boots."
Review 13 for Orvis Kangaroo Upland Boots
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Wow, Dang it, again Wow!,
January 15, 2014
By: StereoBuckle
from St. Louis, MO
"Ordered 9.5 because I have been professionally sized in 9.5. Opened the box and they were beautiful. Put them on and they were like a size 9 from the arch forward. Sent them back...painlessly. Orvis sent size 10s the same day. Tried the size 10s, still snug but within a day they broke in. Biggest issue, there is a LOT of tongue leather. Otherwise...WOW!"
Review 14 for Orvis Kangaroo Upland Boots
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Not what I expected,
January 2, 2014
By: arkydeacon
from Arkansas
"Doesn't compare with the Browning Kangroo featherweights that I have worn for 40 years. your size 12 is
shorter than a size 11 Browning.
I will send you my old brownings if your will make an exact copy. They are the softest most comfortable boot that i ever wore
"
Review 15 for Orvis Kangaroo Upland Boots
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Size too small,
December 28, 2013
By: uplander33
from Atlanta, GA
"The boots arrived. Quality looks good. I slipped them on and they were way too small. That alone would not be that big of a deal. However, the footbeds were all bunched up into the toe of the boot. I tried to straighten them out to no avail. I pulled the footbeds out, and it seem liked they tried to fit a size 12 footbed into a size 9 boot. The only reason they get two stars is due to quality of the boot itself. However, order up a full size and plan on replacing the footbeds."
Review 16 for Orvis Kangaroo Upland Boots
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Beautiful and Well Made,
December 27, 2013
By: vlkyri
"These boots are well made and beautiful but they are a size too big for me. I am a petite woman and finding quality hunting/shooting gear is nearly impossible. I realized that the boots would likely be a size too large for me but Orvis has a wonderful return policy and great customer service so there won't be any issues returning these.
I can only hope that Orvis and some other retailers will invest in extending their line of women's clothing and accessories options in the future. Not every female hunter/shooter out there is at least a size 6!"
Review 17 for Orvis Kangaroo Upland Boots
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best Boots I Have Owned,
December 21, 2013
By: TMike
from Oklahoma City, OK
"I retired from the Marine Corps more than 25 years ago after 20 years of service. The footwear issued, aside from the Vietnam era jungle boots were horrible. As the result of that experience I have always tried to avail myself of the best footwear for my personal use. These boots more than fit the bill. A perfect fit right out of the box, with no break-in required, they are warm dry and very comfortable."
Review 18 for Orvis Kangaroo Upland Boots
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
great look, poor fit,
December 21, 2013
By: Puckstop
from Irvine, CA
"Love Orvis products but not this boot. The boots look great. Toe area is too compressed and does not fit correctly. Not right no matter what foot size and width.
I have worn twice hoping to break in. Wrong move. should have paid attention to reviews but could not resist the look.
"
Review 19 for Orvis Kangaroo Upland Boots
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Very comfortable,
December 20, 2013
By: Olemiss68
from Roswell, GA
"Right out of the box, they were very light and comfortable. Definite buy."
Review 20 for Orvis Kangaroo Upland Boots
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
too tight,
December 18, 2013
By: ukscout
from princeton, nj
"these boots arrived and the fit problem is apparently still an Issue. Too tight in the toe box as described.
Seemingly good quality but I won't have the opportunity to try them.
"