Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Orvis Kangaroo Upland Boots

A hunter's two best friends—lightweight and waterproof. Kangaroo leather has the best strength/weight ratio of any upland boot leather available. This rugged boot will take the punishment, yet save you hundreds of pounds of cumulative walking effort over the course of a long day in the field. Gore-Tex® membrane with Cambrelle™ lining keeps feet dry and comfortable. Semi-aggressive Vibram® Gumlite sole for solid traction. Upland boots in brown. Kangaroo leather. Not available in California. Made in USA.Men's whole and half sizes: 7-11½, 12, 13, 14. Size 10 weighs 1.6 lbs.Ships to contiguous 48 states only, excluding California.
Average Customer Rating:
4.281 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (89 reviews)
5 stars
60
4 stars
12
3 stars
6
2 stars
4
1 star
7
76 of 89(85%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Orvis Kangaroo Upland Boots
Review 1 for Orvis Kangaroo Upland Boots
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Versatile, lightweight and comfortable,
April 3, 2014
By: japantiger
from Austin
"I think the title says it all. I've worn these for about a year bird hunting, on an elk hunt and just around the farm. Great fit, comfortable and lightweight. They were snug out of the box, which had me concerned; but within about an hour they felt broken in. I ordered a 10 when I normally wear a 9.5; the right call. Will do some serious climbing on a hunt next month; I expect them to do great."
Review 2 for Orvis Kangaroo Upland Boots
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Terrific boots,
April 1, 2014
By: MagTen
from Greensboro, NC
"I bought these boots for upland bird hunting because I wanted dressier and lighter footwear than my heavily insulated boots. I wore them to shoot sporting clays this weekend and walked over a mile on hilly terrain. They look sharp, felt remarkably light and provided good support. The fit was slightly narrower than other common brands at first, but not problematic and they seemed to conform to my feet over time. It appears that these boots will not require much of a break-in. My initial impression is that these are terrific boots."
Review 3 for Orvis Kangaroo Upland Boots
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Wow, Dang it, again Wow!,
January 15, 2014
By: StereoBuckle
from St. Louis, MO
"Ordered 9.5 because I have been professionally sized in 9.5. Opened the box and they were beautiful. Put them on and they were like a size 9 from the arch forward. Sent them back...painlessly. Orvis sent size 10s the same day. Tried the size 10s, still snug but within a day they broke in. Biggest issue, there is a LOT of tongue leather. Otherwise...WOW!"
Review 4 for Orvis Kangaroo Upland Boots
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Not what I expected,
January 2, 2014
By: arkydeacon
from Arkansas
"Doesn't compare with the Browning Kangroo featherweights that I have worn for 40 years. your size 12 is
shorter than a size 11 Browning.
I will send you my old brownings if your will make an exact copy. They are the softest most comfortable boot that i ever wore
"
Review 5 for Orvis Kangaroo Upland Boots
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Size too small,
December 28, 2013
By: uplander33
from Atlanta, GA
"The boots arrived. Quality looks good. I slipped them on and they were way too small. That alone would not be that big of a deal. However, the footbeds were all bunched up into the toe of the boot. I tried to straighten them out to no avail. I pulled the footbeds out, and it seem liked they tried to fit a size 12 footbed into a size 9 boot. The only reason they get two stars is due to quality of the boot itself. However, order up a full size and plan on replacing the footbeds."
Review 6 for Orvis Kangaroo Upland Boots
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Beautiful and Well Made,
December 27, 2013
By: vlkyri
"These boots are well made and beautiful but they are a size too big for me. I am a petite woman and finding quality hunting/shooting gear is nearly impossible. I realized that the boots would likely be a size too large for me but Orvis has a wonderful return policy and great customer service so there won't be any issues returning these.
I can only hope that Orvis and some other retailers will invest in extending their line of women's clothing and accessories options in the future. Not every female hunter/shooter out there is at least a size 6!"
Review 7 for Orvis Kangaroo Upland Boots
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best Boots I Have Owned,
December 21, 2013
By: TMike
from Oklahoma City, OK
"I retired from the Marine Corps more than 25 years ago after 20 years of service. The footwear issued, aside from the Vietnam era jungle boots were horrible. As the result of that experience I have always tried to avail myself of the best footwear for my personal use. These boots more than fit the bill. A perfect fit right out of the box, with no break-in required, they are warm dry and very comfortable."
Review 8 for Orvis Kangaroo Upland Boots
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
great look, poor fit,
December 21, 2013
By: Puckstop
from Irvine, CA
"Love Orvis products but not this boot. The boots look great. Toe area is too compressed and does not fit correctly. Not right no matter what foot size and width.
I have worn twice hoping to break in. Wrong move. should have paid attention to reviews but could not resist the look.
"
Review 9 for Orvis Kangaroo Upland Boots
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Very comfortable,
December 20, 2013
By: Olemiss68
from Roswell, GA
"Right out of the box, they were very light and comfortable. Definite buy."
Review 10 for Orvis Kangaroo Upland Boots
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
too tight,
December 18, 2013
By: ukscout
from princeton, nj
"these boots arrived and the fit problem is apparently still an Issue. Too tight in the toe box as described.
Seemingly good quality but I won't have the opportunity to try them.
"
Review 11 for Orvis Kangaroo Upland Boots
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
sizing,
December 11, 2013
By: judgeconch
from Kentucky
"Just received my size 12s, had to send back 11s. I have worn boots everyday for the last 20 years and have always worn 11s.
Initial thoughts on quality is very high, and are the most comfortable boots I have owned.
"
Review 12 for Orvis Kangaroo Upland Boots
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Bummer...,
December 10, 2013
By: Osprey2
from Opelika, AL
"I ordered these boots in spite of my reservations because I've had excellent service from virtually all Orvis products I've purchased over the years.
Numerous reviews pointed out the troublesome excess leather in the tongue as well as the cramped, uncomfortable tightness of the toe area. I decided to try the boots because of the Orvis note in the reviews about "making changes in the design because of customer comments".
Unfortunately, I found both issues to still be problematic and I quickly returned the boots.
Surely, it wouldn't be a big deal to offer an E width and reduce the amount of leather in the tongue. You can do better, Mr. Orvis!"
Review 13 for Orvis Kangaroo Upland Boots
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Pleased Thus Far,
December 4, 2013
By: sidebyside
from Alexandria, LA
"I have just recently purchased these upland boots. After a recent pheasant hunt, I saw the need for a tough, light weight, well made boot (walked my tail off in Big Grass and by the end of the days hunt each foot felt like it weighed ten pounds)! I think these boots may "fill the bill". They are lighter in weight than my other boots and are of obvious quality. I especially like their higher tops and the "soft" toughness of the kangaroo hide. I will get back to you with another review once I have had a chance to field test the boots."
Review 14 for Orvis Kangaroo Upland Boots
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Long walks,
November 20, 2013
By: Jimmer86
"Love the boots. Conformed to my foot right away and were very comfortable on the 7 mile a day walks while bird hunting. Very warm and waterproof. Love this boot!"
Review 15 for Orvis Kangaroo Upland Boots
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
November 19, 2013
By: Hatchet
from Pasadena, CA
"Haven't had an opportunity to really use these boots in the field, but they are a comfortable fit and seem to measure up to their specifications."
Review 16 for Orvis Kangaroo Upland Boots
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
third pair of kangaroo boots,
October 21, 2013
By: beekay
from 48116
"I'm not a hunter. Kangroo boots are comfortable, lightweight , waterproof, and provide support to my ankles. Made in the USA means a lot to me.
BK-Brighton, Mi.
"
Review 17 for Orvis Kangaroo Upland Boots
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
not happy,
October 16, 2013
By: orvis2100
from Tallahassee, FL
"Very comfortable & light weight. Problem is: Just came back from hunting trip in Wyoming. They have terrible traction & grip on any hill with
any moisture. Also, I have worn these boots very little & and they already have severe wear on heels. Not up to Orvis quality. Not happy!
"
Review 18 for Orvis Kangaroo Upland Boots
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Boot !,
October 7, 2013
By: Orangemen
from Virginia
"From the box to the field this boot performed great ! Light weight and comfortable. I ordered a half size larger and the fit was perfect ! Best boots I've owned to date !"
Review 19 for Orvis Kangaroo Upland Boots
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great boots!!!,
October 3, 2013
By: Freight
"I hunt upland birds in Northern Michigan and these boots perform perfectly in some rough terrain. Ordered my normal size and they fit just as I wanted with a light weight sock. I like the large tongue and it tucks in nicely on each side of the boot. Made in America...what more can you ask!"
Review 20 for Orvis Kangaroo Upland Boots
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best boots ever,
October 1, 2013
By: BirdhuntTN
from East Tennessee
"Best boots ever! First set I had leaked in the left boot after just 10 minutes in a dew-filled hay field on the first trip. However, Orvis replaced them no questions asked. The second set I leak-tested in 5" of water in the tub for an hour BEFORE I wore them on a trip - and they passed. Wore them for 3 days of hard hunting in Nebraska sandhills and never did my feet hurt or blister. Please note that when you first put them on you will think they are WAY to small, but within an hour they are perfect. I gave up on the competitor's boots (3 pair for each of 3 vendors) as they all leaked, were too stiff (leather was like plastic) or too sloppy fitting. Well worth the price and wish I had shopped Orvis first."