Orvis Ratings and Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Orvis.

Floppy Critters

Fun to catch, shake, and flip around, these soft unstuffed dog toys are constructed with three layers of material for added durability. Sewn-in eyes. Squirrel features crinkle material in the tail. Soft dog toys in squirrel, possum. Approx. 23"L. Washable. Imported.
Average Customer Rating:
3.77 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (87 reviews)
5 stars
43
4 stars
16
3 stars
6
2 stars
9
1 star
13
62 of 87(71%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Floppy Critters
Review 1 for Floppy Critters
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I don't have to worry about the stuffing,
April 1, 2013
By: welshieluvr
from Houston, TX
"I bought both the Possum and Squirrel toys. I have a Welsh Terrier and he enjoys "gutting" all of his stuffed toys. I am worried about him eating the polyester stuffing. These toys were wonderful! not only didn't I have to worry about the stuffing - because there isn't any - but he loves them! I looked on the website for more - there are none. I even chatted with someone on-line and found out that there not only will be no additional types of these toys, but they are no longer even offering the ones that I got. I think this is awful. I have looked and looked for toys that do not have that awful polyester or worse stuffing - now these are not even available. I can't believe that any dog owner of a "hunting" type dog like mine, isn't looking for these and am sorry to say that I have not found any others. Orvis, you are such a pro-dog company - I can't believe that you have given up on non-polyester-filled toys. I am very disappointed."
Review 2 for Floppy Critters
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
BEST FOR CHEWERS,
February 13, 2013
By: BrookfieldMo
from Chicago IL
"Annie is part shepard and cattle dog. 45 lbs. and 2 years old. She NEEDS to chew and rip toys apart. THIS IS THE ONLY Toy that she has not devoured in less than a day! she has 4 of these almost industructable toys. Some are in parts,some are still intact. THE BEST dog plush EVER!"
Review 3 for Floppy Critters
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Very disappointed,
February 4, 2013
By: Dunham
from Milwaukee, WI
"I bought this toy at your Milwaukee store for my German Shepherd working dog during a moment of weakness while away on a business trip and based upon the features and quality described on the labels. I agree with the other reviewers in so far I thought it was a beaver vs a squirrel. I am very disappointed with the quality of this toy and do not feel it holds up as described. Granted my dog is pretty rough on his toys, but the ‘superior stitching’ came apart where the tail is attached to the body, as well as where the squeaker is located in the head (squeaker does not work any longer either) This toy did not even last an hour. Considering the price and the reputation of your company as well as the description on the labels I thought I might get some usage from this item. The $2.00 dog toys at my local discount store actually last better and longer than this one did. I think Orvis should think twice about carrying this brand of product as it reflects negatively on your reputation."
Review 4 for Floppy Critters
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
THE SQUIRREL,
January 22, 2013
By: Booklady1969
from KS
"My chocolate lab puppy loves this toy. He sleeps with it! I think he particularly likes the crinkle sound in the tail.... He has torn up all of his other toys, but not this one."
Review 5 for Floppy Critters
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fantastic,
January 4, 2013
By: Mommiedog
"A friend bought the possum for our puppy and we are now on our second one! He absolutely loves it - think it has to do with the crinkly insides and it's squeak (which isn't annoying like some toys)! Hours of playtime fun for our puppy and entertainment for us to watch. Well worth the money :)"
Review 6 for Floppy Critters
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Floppy Critter,
December 31, 2012
By: Wolly10
from Boston
"The Critter lasted about a week. The stiching on the neck let go...tail is strong. It had to be repaired to keep going... The dog loved it but heavier stiching would be a help.."
Review 7 for Floppy Critters
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Not Cute!,
December 31, 2012
By: Star50
"This squirrel looks like an angry rat with a beaver tail. If that's what you like as a joke then this product is for you. I will say I bought the moose along with this and the moose is adorable.
I ended up sending this back but still have not received the refund"
Review 8 for Floppy Critters
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Basset-proof Toy,
December 29, 2012
By: 2Bassets
from Pittsburgh
"The floppy otter is still basset-proof after a week! It's easy to throw and so far has not been chewed to pieces in 5 minutes. But the body is flat and not very people-pleasing!"
Review 9 for Floppy Critters
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
floppy critter dissappointment,
December 29, 2012
By: Vieto
from Edina, Mn.
"This critter was not dog worthy. My dog , a small 35 pd. boxer, tore this toy apart in five minutes. I expected the Orvisdog toy to last alot longer. This dissappointment in the product does not encourage me to purchase future dog toys from your company.However, I love the Orvis dog beds. Orvis just needs to work on the quality of the toys."
Review 10 for Floppy Critters
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Not Worth It,
December 29, 2012
By: Snowsurfing4ever
from Denver, CO
"Picture looks like is it stuffed but it is empty. It is kind of like a deflated balloon. The inside has a krinkly material that makes noises."
Review 11 for Floppy Critters
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
December 28, 2012
By: Darbykd
"This lasted exactly thirty seconds before the face was torn open and the stuffing came out. Not recommended"
Review 12 for Floppy Critters
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best Critter Ever,
December 28, 2012
By: StevenMichael
from New York, NY
"I purchased this fine squirrel for my hound, Lou Lou as a Christmas gift. She was so delighted with it, played with it, and slept on it like a pillow, real quality gift. A GREAT purchase!"
Review 13 for Floppy Critters
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Christmas Gifts,
December 28, 2012
By: AJ01923
from Boston, MA
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"My dogs (35 & 45lbs) couldn't tear through the wrapping paper quick enough. After a week these toys have been played with and are fully intact. Would recommend and will be buying more in the future."
Review 14 for Floppy Critters
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Fun toy,
December 28, 2012
By: Jazzabby
from North Kingstown, RI
"Our setters love this toy. It's tough enough to take a little tug of war! The crinkly tail on the squirrel is popular with the girls as well! Hard to find dog toys that last more than a few hours but this toy has some durability to it. Thanks Orvis!"
Review 15 for Floppy Critters
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Dog Lovers Delight,
December 28, 2012
By: FriscoMimi
from New Braunfels, TX
"Durable, whimsical and just plain FUN! That was our take on this product as "Lucy" played with her new toy.
We enjoyed watching her play as much as she enjoyed playing!"
Review 16 for Floppy Critters
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Gift,
December 24, 2012
By: sashie
"I sent this toy to my sister for her puppy. So cute and well made."
Review 17 for Floppy Critters
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
squirrel,
December 15, 2012
By: bobsey
from California
"the squirrel had no stuffing in the body which makes it look weird. I'm sure the dog recipient won't care but its owner probably will!"
Review 18 for Floppy Critters
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Both my Vizsla's love it,
December 15, 2012
By: Bookmind
from Lake Forest,Ca.
"My dogs love any toy I purchase from orvis the toys are super strong and last along time."
Review 19 for Floppy Critters
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Too big for me!,
December 12, 2012
By: TrixieTheWienerDog
from Pacific Northwest
"I bought this squirrel for my miniature dachshund. I didn't pay attention to the size and it is almost as big as she is. I plan to give it to her for Christmas so we will see if she likes it or not."
Review 20 for Floppy Critters
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Floppy Flopped,
December 10, 2012
By: James1965
"Our 6 year old GSD loved the squirrel, for the 30 minutes that it took her to shred it."