Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product
This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Orvis.

Silver Label Classic Wader

This is the wader which started the era of breathable fly fishing chest waders, an Orvis exclusive and original. Fabric is our durable, yet soft-brushed microfiber polyester that is breathable and extremely comfortable. Knees are double-reinforced for puncture and abrasion protection. Booties are anatomically shaped for left foot-right foot comfort and are made of high density neoprene that offers complete resistance to abrasion and compression. Attached, neoprene gravel guards will never get lost. Adjustable suspenders have "reversing" buckles, which allow the suspender to serve as a belt when the wader is rolled down to a "waist high". Suspenders, adjustable wader belt and repair kit included. Comes in a handy stuff sack. Fly fishing chest waders in silver gray.
Average Customer Rating:
4.412 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (17 reviews)
5 stars
11
4 stars
4
3 stars
0
2 stars
2
1 star
0
15 of 17(88%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Silver Label Classic Wader
Review 1 for Silver Label Classic Wader
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Good value waders,
May 7, 2013
By: Rybo
from Sheffield, S Yorks
"I bought these in Orvis' most recent sale as a backup for when travelling. I have two other pairs of Orvis waders, both of which were much more expensive. They are very good, and I guess I was expecting some slightly lower quality of finish or construction since the Silver Labels are much cheaper, even without a reduction. But they are VERY well made and finished and perform just as well as the other waders so far. One small drawback is that they are quite tight and restricted around the knee if bending or sitting, and the neoprene gravel guards are a bit too short and tight when attached to the front lace of one's boots. You could of course use a lace closer to the ankle to reduce this stretch, but I shall watch out for damage here. However, these are minor issues as the waders perform well in use, and are very well-made at a very good price. Recommended."
Review 2 for Silver Label Classic Wader
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Waders,
October 26, 2012
By: bucketshop
from Kitchener, ON Canada
"Great Waders. I put them to the test yesterday fishing the Saugeen River in Southern Ontario near Walkerton. They are tough, fit great, and good looking! They also like Steelhead…. Thanks Orvis."
Review 3 for Silver Label Classic Wader
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Could Be Better,
October 17, 2012
By: Muzzman
from Scotland
"Dear All,
I have owned these waders for a year, so feel this is a good time to share my thoughts:
Positives
1. Good high density neoprene feet that have remained leak free.
2. Nice fit, I'm 5'11" and the large fits very well.
3. Smart appearance.
Negatives
1. Stitching came apart on one of the straps where it joins with the wader.
2. Neoprene gavel guards developed a hole at junction with lace hook. Required aquasure to fix.
3. The waders have developed a leak in the crotch. Inspection reveals that some delamination of the material has occured. Not sure if this will repair well or not. I would have expected better given Orvis's reputation and the limited number of times I have used these waders.
4. The doulbe layer of material in the lower leg is better described as a loose sleeve of additional materail i.e. the two layers are not bonded like other waders normally are.
In conclusion, these waders could be a lot better if more care was taken with regard to quality control and some additional reinforcement was provided in the crotch and gravel guards. Ultimately a pair of waders that start to leak after one year of light use is not acceptable in my opinion.
Hope this helps.
Regards,
Muzzman"
Review 4 for Silver Label Classic Wader
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Best buy wader,
October 6, 2012
By: FishBumNC
from Western NC
"Great wader for the price, I previously had a pair of Simms free stones which are good but I needed a new pair after a few seasons. These orvis waders are almost identical in design and cost about a thurs less. I'm 6'0 and 165 and the medium long fit me great."
Review 5 for Silver Label Classic Wader
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best wader ever,
October 5, 2012
By: klausrk
from odense
"This is by far the best wader, i have ever owend. They fits like a dream, and the adjustable suspenders works well, when used in roll-down mode."
Review 6 for Silver Label Classic Wader
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Waders!!,
May 16, 2012
By: firstfabba
from Missouri
"Misplaced my last set of waders during a move last Fall. Decided to spend a little more money and buy a nicer pair of waders and my first Orvis waders. I could tell when I tried them on at home that they were going to be great. Have only fished in them one weekend, but the fit is excellent. Room to move in all the right places. They dry quickly and are obviously very well made."
Review 7 for Silver Label Classic Wader
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
great wader-better company,
May 15, 2012
By: nugget106
from Georgia
"I had a pair of silver labels for about 4 years. Comfortable to wear and very durable. Had a seam leak, contacted the GREAT customer service department. Sent them back expecting a repair and received a new pair. Awesome job Orvis!!!!"
Review 8 for Silver Label Classic Wader
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
March 24, 2012
By: Vicomte
from Maryland
"Lightweight, breathable and rugged, and you can't beat the guarantee and the customer service. However, my current pair will be my last---they stopped making them in mustard ! Nothing said "Eastern Dandy" like those mustard waders---and though I am a native of the West---I enjoyed the feather ruffling."
Review 9 for Silver Label Classic Wader
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value,
January 6, 2012
By: NorcalJohn
"Comfortable, sturdy and very reasonably priced for the level of quality. A real value!"
Review 10 for Silver Label Classic Wader
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Hard to beat!,
January 3, 2012
By: TheDudeMan
from Asheville, NC
"I am officially on my third pair of silver labels and I could not be more pleased. I owned two pair of silver label II's and just retired my first pair, purchased in 2004. Being a guide, I am in these waders 4-5 days a week and have been more than satisfied with the performance. On top of an excellent product, the warranty is great and hassle free. I had to send a pair back due to a leaking seem and had a new pair in less than a week. No questions were asked! Great job Orvis for a great product and great customer service."
Review 11 for Silver Label Classic Wader
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent product,
October 25, 2011
By: Jonn
"These are the first pair of waders that I have purchased that actually are very close to fitting. I have a very short inseam and every pair of waders previously were very long in the inseam and caused problems over time. I am hoping these waders will last over the long haul and the fit is excellent."
Review 12 for Silver Label Classic Wader
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Orvis really makes a big and tall wader!,
August 29, 2011
By: Rookhawk
from Chicago, IL
"They fit! I've worn these for several years fishing streams in the SE. Comfortable, cool, and very packable.
If you're very tall, the long length may be the perfect answer for you."
Review 13 for Silver Label Classic Wader
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
June 15, 2011
By: almeolepal
"I don't feel I should be placing a review as I didn't actually use the product.
Although my measurements were within the size parameters listed, the waders supplied were far too big so much so I could virtually have had somebody in beside me.
Although I did like the style, material etc. I declined to order a different size as I couldn't be sure what would fit and didn't want to have to pay two way postage of £17 again.
Unfortunately I can't recommend this due to the sizing issue.
"
Review 14 for Silver Label Classic Wader
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Not wet yet,
May 11, 2011
By: Anonymous
"This is my third pair of Silver label waders from Orvis. My research concluded that this is the best wader feature by feature at this price point. My previous Silver label waders all developed leaks, 1 pair was clearly my fault the second not so sure, got heavy use but seams leaked. This pair has not gotten wet yet but my expectations are they will meet all my needs."
Review 15 for Silver Label Classic Wader
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
May 4, 2011
By: BKill
from Upstate NY
Good Value: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Appearance: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
"First, I'm a big guy and the XXL fits just as it should. Unfortunately, the first pair of SL Classics I received were not the correct size. I ordered XXL, and while the packaging read XXL, the waders themselves were marked XLL (extra large long). Not a fit. This is not, however, a reflection on the waders themselves.
The new SLs are very similar to the oldest incarnation of the SL wader with one significant improvement. The extra covering over the knees is not sealed along the bottom, and this allows water to drain freely. The old version of the waders retained water below the knees, and while it would drain, it did so very slowly. I am pleased.
I cannot imagine why someone would pay two or three times the price of the SL Classics for a set of waders. These are far and away the best value on the market. I say that having owned many different waders, including Orvis Pro Guides and Simms G3s."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Silver Label Classic Wader
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Waders,
April 5, 2011
By: HolyWater
from York, PA
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
"t am an avid fly fishing nut - having fished all over this great country I have abused my Silver Label Waders for 6 years. They are full of briar and hook pulls and still do not leak! 2 years ago I purchased a spare pair but cannot give up my lucky old Silver Labels. I have a short inseam and a 38" wast and the large/shorts fit me perfectly. If you want great breathable waders without the GorTex price with all the GorTex performance then these are the waders for you!!!!!!"
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Ratings-Only Reviews for Silver Label Classic Wader
Based on 1 ratings-only review
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Would recommend? Yes 1 out of 1