Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product
This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Orvis.

Barbour® Down-Filled Waxed Gilet

Repel the elements and stay warm in the cold rain with this classic Barbour lightweight 4-oz. waxed cotton vest in an antique finish. This men's down insulated vest is excellent for layering or stand-alone wear. Fully lined and filled with down insulation for superior warmth. 4" box pockets and lower bellows pockets with side zip entry. Waxed cotton. Pure cotton lining. In black. Duck down. Cold sponge. Imported.Sizes: M(38-40), L(42-44), XL(46-48), XXL(50-52). Contemporary Fit. See size chart for details.
Average Customer Rating:
4.288 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (52 reviews)
5 stars
27
4 stars
17
3 stars
5
2 stars
2
1 star
1
45 of 52(87%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Barbour® Down-Filled Waxed Gilet
Review 1 for Barbour® Down-Filled Waxed Gilet
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Two Thumbs Up for Barbour Vest,
January 16, 2014
By: sous
from Jamestown, NC
"I and several family members have owned Barbour products. Among those are Ladies Barbour quilted jackets, oil cloth coats, and vest. We have always been pleased with the quality, style, fit, and durability of the products. Our most recent purchase of the Barbour vest met the high standards that were realized on previous products."
Review 2 for Barbour® Down-Filled Waxed Gilet
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Perfect men's vest,
January 16, 2014
By: Ddipas
from New York, NY
"I bought this as a gift for my husband. He had been looking for a down vest for a while,so we have seen a lot of them. This gilet is perfect. The style is distinctly masculine, the fit is slim and flattering while still being warm and roomy enough for layered clothing underneath. The down fill is dense without being uncomfortably heavy. Also got the scarf that matches the lining - very soft. Can't say enough about this great vest!"
Review 3 for Barbour® Down-Filled Waxed Gilet
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Warm and Beautiful,
October 15, 2013
By: PipOfVT
from Columbus, NE
"It surprises me that some people seem to think this is an overly trim modern cut vest. I am somewhat athletic, but by no means "skinny", standing at 5'8" and weighing 175 lbs. I wear 38" chest jackets on average. I ordered the Medium vest, and the width is perfect for layering a sweater under it.
The vest is just as beautiful as I expected. I biked to work this morning in 40 degree overcast weather with 20 mph winds. My core was completely warm, and I would have been entirely comfortable had I wore gloves.
The pockets are deep and soft, and the fabric lining and corduroy collar are so comfortable. The diamond pattern is attractive and the olive color is perfect. My only complaint is the main zipper seems quirky, and I can’t quite seem to figure it out. When I get it almost all the way unzipped it stops at the bottom, and I have to fiddle with it a bit to get it undone. The insulation is 55% down and 45% feather. I find it odd they don't seem to list the fill power anywhere. Also at this pricepoint it would be nice if the product was made in England and not Vietnam."
Review 4 for Barbour® Down-Filled Waxed Gilet
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent Barbour Vest,
September 28, 2013
By: FarandFine
from Alexandria, VA
"I purchased mine for cold water fishing worn over chest waders. Excellent vest with sufficient warmth and big front pockets (less than a dedicated fly vest, OK with a lanyard). Nice off the water, as well."
Review 5 for Barbour® Down-Filled Waxed Gilet
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Very fine garment,
September 24, 2013
By: Nellieandgeorge
from Virginia
"I am very pleased with this product. It is comfortable and good-looking. The original price was quite high, but on-sale plus an additional 20 percent off made it affordable. Some of the on-line reviews were misleading -- especially those that talked about how tight the vest was. I ended up ordering several sizes because of the reviews, though in the end stuck with my regular size."
Review 6 for Barbour® Down-Filled Waxed Gilet
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sizing,
June 29, 2013
By: PhiSig
from Richmond, VA
"Bought from Short Pump Orvis, I am 5 10 170 and normally wear a 40 in the Bedale and Beafort and was worried I would be between the large and medium, and the Medium fits perfectly."
Review 7 for Barbour® Down-Filled Waxed Gilet
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Nice and comfortable,,
January 30, 2013
By: Gurreballe
from Norway
"iIndoors and and outdoors. The waxed cotton is sparsely waxed, I would not know how to re-wax it properly. It may be water-repellent, but probably not water-tight. I bought a size XL. I am broadshouldered and wide around the chest, 173 cm's tall, rather short in the torso. The XL is a tight fit."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Barbour® Down-Filled Waxed Gilet
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Warm & Dry,
January 17, 2013
By: AllenW
"This is a sharp-looking vest that is also warm and water-resistant. I'm very pleased with the style and color.
I can normally wear either L or XL -- ordered this in XL and it is snug, which is OK and they said it would be, but if you like things loose order a couple sizes up.
"
Review 9 for Barbour® Down-Filled Waxed Gilet
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Bad bottom Zipper,
January 12, 2013
By: 9009
from Salem, MA
"The bottom zipper pull jambs as the bottom of the zipper protrudes from the pull. So the top zipper pulll cannot just unzip the vest without struggling or pre-adjusting the bottom zipper pull. Bad design. Needs correction. I am considering returning this expensive product for this reason. I purchased a Barbour inner vest for my Barbour coat on the same day. That hangs loose in the barbour coat and it is a bit of a struggle to get ones arms through both the vest arm hole and the jacket sleeve without serious pre-alignment."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Barbour® Down-Filled Waxed Gilet
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Nice but boxy,
January 11, 2013
By: h2oys
"A medium was a very tight fit and when I tried a large, while it fit in the shoulders, it was way too big across my belly.
My wife & teen daughter told me it looked "boxey".
If you can get the right fit, the quality looks to be outstanding, but given the fit for my particular build, I reluctantly returned the vest."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Barbour® Down-Filled Waxed Gilet
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Buy one size larger!,
January 9, 2013
By: RetreiverDad
from Maryland, USA
"Barbour products are most excellent. However, this gilet runs a size smaller. So if you wear a large, order an XL, and you won't have to return it."
Review 12 for Barbour® Down-Filled Waxed Gilet
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great gilet/vest,
January 7, 2013
By: Capi
from Northern Shenandoah Vally
"Another high-quality item from Barbour. I bought one for myself last year and got this one for my son-in-law. It is warm, comfortable and stylish. The only caution is sizing - these seem to run a bit small. I wear a size 44 jacket and needed to get the XL versus L to have freedom of movement."
Review 13 for Barbour® Down-Filled Waxed Gilet
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The Gillet is Awesome,
January 3, 2013
By: kdflys
from Bozeman, MT
"My husband has been wanting this vest for a long time. This year he finally broke down and told me he wanted it for Christmas. He hasn't taken it off since he got it. He wears it everywhere and he loves it.
You can't go wrong with Barbour products and this one is definitely a winner.
"
Review 14 for Barbour® Down-Filled Waxed Gilet
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best gift purchase ever!,
January 1, 2013
By: lovemyfamily
from Lexington, SC
"I purchased this high quality vest for my step father who mentioned that he would like a down vest for Christmas. In comparison to other vests out there it looks great on...unlike the "puffy" ones out there that make you look like a blimp! Very stylish and functional as well as well recieved by tthe gift recipient. He loves it and wears his new Orvis gilet with great pride ;)"
Review 15 for Barbour® Down-Filled Waxed Gilet
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Style, Warmth, Durability,
December 30, 2012
By: Andypants
from Denver, CO and Nisswa, MN
"I have been looking at this waxed down vest for sometime. It is rather expensive, hence why it took me so long to acquire one. Thankfully, I was fortunate enough to receive one for Christmas this year. I couldn't be happier! It is incredibly warm and has a great looking fit. I would recommend going a size larger than your suit size, as when you're wearing this you probably have a few layers on underneath. I am 6'4" 210 and I was presented with a large, but soon realized I needed an XL. Good thing there is an Orvis store here in Denver so swapping it out was incredibly easy."
Review 16 for Barbour® Down-Filled Waxed Gilet
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Christmas Gift,
December 29, 2012
By: CharlestonElizabeth
from Charleston, SC
"I recently bought this as a Christmas gift for my husband. It was his favorite gift! It is the perfect weight for a southern winter. We did our research though and ordered a size up from his normal size. Glad we did. It is a perfect fit!"
Review 17 for Barbour® Down-Filled Waxed Gilet
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
We love Barbour,
December 28, 2012
By: JB41
"Wdould have given it a five, but it is a down /feather fill. I did not read the small print. Just assumed down was down.
Barbour is worth it. My first is now thirty years old. Has been to England for refurbishing and still is a favorite. It is ankle length. My three short jackets...two for horses, one for good....are first choices , always."
Review 18 for Barbour® Down-Filled Waxed Gilet
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Expectations Met,
December 8, 2012
By: TheNewYorker
from Harvest, AL.
"Out of the box the Barbour Down Vest was as described. The construction quality was very good. The fit was as described. I typical wear a medium (5'10 and 165) but reviews indicated order a size larger. I ordered a large and fits very well. The vest was a little pricey, like all Barbour products."
Review 19 for Barbour® Down-Filled Waxed Gilet
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
SIZE PROBLEM,
December 5, 2012
By: BRUNO54
from PAISLEY
"PRODUCT GREAT!
SIZES LUDICROUS!
I AM NORMALLY AN XL/L ON CLOTHING BUT HAVING READ THE REVIEWS I ORDERED AN XXL WHICH WHEN CAME WAS STILL TOO SMALL.
BARBOUR REALY NEED TO REVIEW THEIR SIZING.
TO BE FAIR ORVIS ACCEPTED THE RETURN (NO LARGER SIZES) BUT I STILL HAD TO PAY TWO SETS OF POSTAGE CHARGES FOR NOTHING.
DISAPPOINTING AS I DID LIKE THE PRODUCT.
"
Review 20 for Barbour® Down-Filled Waxed Gilet
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Buy,
November 30, 2012
By: Kirkd2
"always like the look & feel of Barbour.
Especially like the high collar and zipper with with two "pulls" the bottom one makes sitting in the car and getting in and out easier. Perfect for layering."