Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product
This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Orvis.

Barbour® Gamefair Jacket

In the best tradition of Barbour, the Gamefair is a mid-length heavyweight coat in Durawax. Just a bit shorter than the Border, it is the perfect length to wear over a sport coat. Clean profile offers two classic Barbour bellows pockets with twin snap flaps. Slash hand-warmer pockets with soft, brushed lining. Three-quarter twill lining in Barbour plaid with vertical interior zip pocket. Zip front with snap storm flap. Accepts zip-in lining for extra warmth when you need it. In olive. 100% waxed cotton. Cold sponge. Imported from UK. Sizes: S(34-36), L(42-44). Classic fit. See size chart for details.
Average Customer Rating:
4.625 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (8 reviews)
5 stars
6
4 stars
1
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
7 of 8(88%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Barbour® Gamefair Jacket
Review 1 for Barbour® Gamefair Jacket
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
mis-sized and different color,
March 9, 2013
By: suomynonA
"After long deliberation for a casual winter coat, I ordered the Gamefair. The description and reviews sounded like it was what I had been looking for. When it arrived, the color was decidedly brown and not olive as described. The lining was also a different color then the photo. I thought perhaps the wrong coat had been shipped, but the label indicated it was indeed the Gamefair. When I tried it on, it was a poor fit. I am 5' 11" and 160# but the medium was much too large, sized for someone much heavier. The length was also awkward, too long for a casual coat and too short for a dressier coat. Not a good length for me. The quality and material seemed good. Disappointedly, I returned the coat for a refund. Back to the catalogs."
Review 2 for Barbour® Gamefair Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Gamefair, fair-game,
January 17, 2013
By: MarkfromFL
from St. Petersburg, FL
"There's a reason why Barbour does what they do for nearly a century, but for this edition namely Orvis customers, and yet the Gamefair passed my muster, therefore no slouch. Consummately rough done-elegantly. Worldly, gentry appeal with a very handsome, dark, rich tone. Versatile piece of foul weather gear that speaks volumes for who, or what you want to be in the worst nature throws at you. Dashing for dressing up, or rugged enough to satisfy the most discriminating taste of an outdoor sport- enthusiast who demands class. Dress it up with an Oxford button down, tie (or not), chinos/khakis/jeans and penny-loafers. You will complete a classic, timeless, scholarly, English countryside gentleman-hunter look. When I think of demographics and style, the jacket smacks of Canterbury, if Britain, or upper-woodsy New Hampshire, if in the U.S. Size runs true, One very large inside portfolio pocket. Numerous, deep outer pockets, ergonomic slash-side pockets for hand warmers, but I don't agree completely with the functionality for warmth, as the liner material runs a bit thin. Although they could have made the slash pockets a tad deeper for medium-to larger hand sizes. They must have refined the wax treatment, because of what I've read, some folks encountered earlier wax treatments with a distinct odor, but with this purchase I haven't found this to be the case. Just a solid, classy foul weather sport coat with durable characteristics and a rugged zipper that will outlast, well, me."
Review 3 for Barbour® Gamefair Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Versatile, stylish and rugged!,
October 6, 2012
By: MidwestChris
from Central Illinois
"I purchased this online directly from Orvis and have to say that I like this jacket a lot. I got more than I expected with it. It is my first Barbour product and I am more than pleased with it.
The Gamefair is billed as a heavyweight jacket with Barbour's Durawax. It isn't as light as a fleece or GoreTex jacket but I don't consider it heavy at all. The wax does smell somewhat and I notice it when I wear it but it isn't that bad.
I chose the XL Gamefair because it fit easily over my sport coat. The jacket looks really good too. The olive is a nice deep color. Even though it is waxed cotton you would think it is unwaxed by looking at it. By that I mean it isn't shiny or waxy at all. Stitching and overall fit is good as well. The zipper must be military grade in its ruggedness.
Sleeves are lined with a type of heavy duty polyester that seems to be rubberized on the outside. The same lining goes along the bottom of the coat below where the cotton liner stops. The wrist closures are light velcro and seemed a bit cheap unlike the rest of the coat but they work fine so no big deal. I would have preferred snaps an some elastic instead of velcro but after a while I didn't notice it anymore.
The coat starts to get too warm for me around 70 degrees. I've worn it in the 30's with no problem at all. This will be a great fall and spring coat. With a liner this will do fine for me during our midwestern winters. It is absolutely impervious to wind and rain.
Upon recommendation from a Barbour stockiest I purchased the Sylkoil hood to go with it. The finish is different but only very slightly. As the stockist said, you will not see a difference after the first rewaxing. Even now I am challenged to see the difference. The Sylkoil hood comes in olive and the cotton liner exactly matches the Gamefair. If you want to purchase a hood this is the one to get.
I also own a Filson raincoat. Hands down the Barbour is the more refined garment. My Filson is terrific for knocking around the field or woods but in no way would it go with a blazer or business casual attire. The Gamefair works for everything although I would give my Filson cover cloth the edge regarding durability in briars and heavy brush.
I am very pleased with the coat and wear it daily - rain or shine. The waxed cotton looks great when I wear it and will only look better with age. The coat is perfect for work and weekends."
Review 4 for Barbour® Gamefair Jacket
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
New Gamefair Jacket,
December 31, 2011
By: DWF43
from New York City - 5th Avenue
"Had to have my Border Jacket repaired and needed another Barbour. Tried on various different models. The objectives were fit and the ability to wear a suitcoat under the jacket..
The Gamefair jacket felt extremely comfortable and was sized exactly right. From what I can see, the quality of build is excellent as well.
"
Review 5 for Barbour® Gamefair Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
gamefair jacket,
December 30, 2011
By: bythesea
from Connecticut
"Bought the jacket for my husband who is 6'3'' and 280 lb. The XXL fits him perfectly. The usual complains, "the sleeves are too short" , "it's tight on my back" never came up and he loves the length of the jacket as well. As I could see the jacket has a generous cut that allows arm movement without restrictions. The jacket also has numerous deep pockets and they always come in handy. I also got the vest that can be zipped in and this one has another handy pocket. I my opinion the jacket and vest together might be a little heavy but my husband said that's something he likes about it."
Review 6 for Barbour® Gamefair Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Worth considering...,
December 3, 2011
By: fletch235
from Hudson, OH
"I was all set on the Beaufort, but being 6'3", I really wanted to try it on at the local Orivs store. I did try on the Beaufort and found it to be shorter than I like. I was very pleased to find the Gamefair. A little different color of green, more like olive drab, but I like it. Length is about 2-3" longer than the Beaufort. Purchased in an XL, fit is true and correct. I bought the pile liner as well in a size 48 and it fits well zipped into the coat. The weight of the coat alone makes it good for spring/fall here, hopefully this will make it a true three-season coat. Very pleased with the staff at Orvis in Cleveland as they were very accomodating and informative."
Review 7 for Barbour® Gamefair Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A heavyweight contender,
April 5, 2011
By: bonbright7
from Long Island, NY
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"In searching for a versatile men's coat that not only looked good, but also could function at a high level, I choose this one above many. The fit feels almost custom made for me and with a light fleece underneath, is ready for any cold and damp Spring day.
Unlike the up to the minute fashions in sports wear for men, this one is clearly a gold standard with a timeless feel to it."
Review 8 for Barbour® Gamefair Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The Great Mistake,
December 25, 2010
By: Barbour
from Washington, DC
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"This jacket was purchased instead of the classic Beaufort, but what a great mistake. The length falls in between the Beaufort and the Border making it very versatile to wear over a button down, but also over a suit or sport coat. Classic look to the jacket makes this a very good mistake to make, I will not be returning it for the Beaufort."