Orvis Ratings and Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Orvis.

Barbour® Ursula Submariner's Jacket

A heavyweight cotton canvas jacket with history: standard issue for the Royal Navy's Submarine Service, the Ursula suit (named for Britain's U-class submarines) was designed to withstand the worst weather nature has to offer. This jacket—faithfully derived from the original suit—puts 8-oz. heavyweight waxed cotton between you and cold, wind-driven rain and spray. Heavy-duty construction, including box-pleated lower pockets that keep contents dry, too. Drawstring hem and adjustable waist belt. Heavyweight cotton canvas jacket in brown. Waxed pure cotton. Clean with damp sponge. Imported.Size: L(42-44). About 30" long in size large.
Average Customer Rating:
3.286 out of 5
3.3
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (7 reviews)
5 stars
1
4 stars
3
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
1
5 of 7(71%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Barbour® Ursula Submariner's Jacket
Review 1 for Barbour® Ursula Submariner's Jacket
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Strong Caution before buying,
November 18, 2011
By: Whitehorsetrading
from Loveland, CO
"...my biggest disappointment with this jacket was that once I received it, I found out it was made in Bulgaria! Deal breaker for me. Orvis was fantastic in helping me return it for a Barbour made in England, which only seems to be the Beauford and Bedale jackets. Also, the buckles are indeed plastic which really cheapened the Ursula. Expected better details in a jacket that costs that much. Had a nice slim fit otherwise."
Review 2 for Barbour® Ursula Submariner's Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fantastic Jacket,
October 14, 2011
By: kpant
from Seattle, WA
"The fact that this design is based on the precursor to the Barbour International ( in this case a submariner jacket) makes this a real gem. You can find some articles about the original Ursula jackets online. Contrary to other reviews this jacket exceeded my expectations. The wax was not too greasy and the plastic buckles don't cheapen the look of this jacket. In fact, every Barbour made recently seems to have plastic buckles, and they all look fine. The belt is nifty but unneccesary and I took it off immediately, The wax finish looks really cool as does the color. Barbour doesn't have too many new jackets this shade of brown I don't think. I highly recommend this jacket."
Review 3 for Barbour® Ursula Submariner's Jacket
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Everything but the buckles....,
September 16, 2011
By: Ihatenicknames
from Cary, NC
"This jacket is what you come to expect from Barbour. The wax is just right, not greasy. You can tell the jacket will get better with age, not worse. And the fit is just about right, not too large/small.
The only issue is the plastic buckles. NO idea why they would use plastic when brass or leather wrap would look better. That being said the buckles do look better than they do in the picture. You won't notice them when the jacket is on, but I do worry about them breaking.
The jacket would be great for fall days, but nothing much colder. All in all I am happy, but will be watching Barbour to make sure this isn't the start of a trend of "cheaping out"."
Review 4 for Barbour® Ursula Submariner's Jacket
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Waxed jackets,
April 9, 2011
By: Phlegmwad
from International Traveller
Good Value: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"This isn't necessarily a review about the Ursula Jacket as I have had an Ursula, Gamefair, Westmoreland Vest and Merton Mac from Barbour as well as Beretta's Waxed Parka Shell and Shooting Coat.
What I would really like to make clear, though is that Beretta's waxed stuff is good, but it is NOWHERE NEAR as TOUGH or as WATERPROOF as Barbour's products. Yes, Barbour's wax is a bit oily and faintly smelly (of wax) whereas Beretta's has no odour, but at least Barbour's products actually do the job they are intended for, whereas Beretta's do leak whenever there is a heavy downpour.
It's a shame I need to write this as I think Beretta have the right copycat idea from Barbour, but they need to get the waterproofing right. Try the high pressure hose test if you have either make of jacket and you'll notice straight away."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Barbour® Ursula Submariner's Jacket
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Cut small,
November 1, 2010
By: fz1pate
from So Cal
Good Value: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Features: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
"Overall good quality jacket. Well finished. Please be aware that this jacket (don't know about other Barbour jackets) is cut small. You will need to order at least one size larger. Also, the arms and shoulders and cut small as well. Anyone who has ever lifted a weight in the gym will probably need to order up one size as well.
Have not had a chance to wear in wet weather, so I do not know how well the oil finish will work out."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Response from Orvis:By Orvis Customer Service TeamNovember 18, 2010
Orvis contacted this customer and thanked him for his honest feedback on the Barbour® Ursula Submariner's Jacket. Orvis customer agents are happy to go over the measurements on any of our garments before you place your order. We want our customers to be happy with all of their Orvis purchases. Please remember: Orvis will happily exchange or refund your purchase if any item does not meet your expectations.
Review 6 for Barbour® Ursula Submariner's Jacket
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
great purchase,
October 20, 2010
By: jacketjunkie
Good Value: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I am extremely pleased with my first Barbour jacket. It totally met with my expectations and I did not experience anything descibed in the other review. The waxed cotton, the fit, and the look/feel are great. I will agree that the buckel ought to be either metal or leather instead of the plastic composite.
I will definitely buy another, either the Sapper or the Beaufighter. It's too bad they discontinued the Cowan Commando jacket."
Review 7 for Barbour® Ursula Submariner's Jacket
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
run away,
October 16, 2010
By: nomad
Good Value: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Features: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Appearance: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
"Well, the photo of this looks outstanding, but it ends there. My expectations were high considering this is a Barbour product., but those expectations quickly turned to disappointment. The online description says this jacket is constructed of oil cloth. It should have read [soaked in oil] cloth. The jacket was wet with oil that got all over my hands and clothes when I unpacked the jacket and tried it on. Secondly, I have been a size Large jacket for 25+ years - length of jacket and sleeves was true, but the width of the jacket is extremely narrow and I could barely fit the jacket on over a t-shirt. Lastly, the waist belt and collar tab buckles appear to be leather-wrapped at quick glance, but are actually made of moulded brown plastic - very cheap looking. Overall, a huge disappointment.."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Response from Orvis:By Orvis Customer Service TeamNovember 9, 2010
Orvis contacted this customer and thanked him for his honest feedback. We are sorry to hear that the fit of the Barbour® Ursula Submariner's jacket wasn't as expected. We let our customer know our customer service agents would be happy to go over specific measurements for any of our garments before he places an order. And, of course, Orvis will happily exchange or refund any item; we want our customers to be happy with all of their Orvis purchases.