Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Waterfowler SonicSeam Wader

Hunting gear that solves problems are cherished pieces of equipment. The new patented SonicSeam® breathable hunting wader is just that. The boot is an integrated lace-up boot with a felt liner that keeps feet warm and is secure in even the worst boot-sucking mud. The boots have a speed-lace D-ring system that makes them quick and easy to cinch down. The boot features our exclusive EcoTraX outsole for great traction and it won't collect snow or ice like a felt-sole boot. The sole will accept our screw-in PosiGrip studs (2G09)when additional traction is desired in snow, ice or mud. The new SonicSeam technology eliminates sewn seams that can abrade and ultimately fail. Front chest hand-warmer pocket with zippered pocket for additional shells or calls. Wader belt included. In Advantage® Max-4 HD camouflage. Imported.
Average Customer Rating:
4.406 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (32 reviews)
5 stars
21
4 stars
8
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
2
29 of 32(91%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Stories:
Customer Reviews for Waterfowler SonicSeam Wader
Review 1 for Waterfowler SonicSeam Wader
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I've got these waders' back,
September 22, 2014
By: SamLincoln
"Unbelievably comfy and breathable. The first day I used these was a below freezing day in the marsh, an unexpected climate for early fall, and the held up great. Under regular circumstances ( with other waders) U may have underdressed, but these waders kept me toasty warm. Great flexibility, great breathability, and suburb functionality. They take a few extra seconds to put on due to the felt liners in the boots, but it is well worth it. Size them correctly to your foot, and no muck, mud, or marsh will ever cause your feet to slosh around, and they'll stay toasty all day! Best waders I have ever owned"
Review 2 for Waterfowler SonicSeam Wader
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
September 9, 2014
By: spgtky
from Va
"Great waders. And superior customer service. Would recommend these to anyone who waterfowl hunts."
Review 3 for Waterfowler SonicSeam Wader
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Sonic Solution",
May 20, 2014
By: TNducks
from Signal Mountain, TN
"After reading through nearly all of the reviews on other brands of breathable waders offered, I decided to try the Sonic seam. They are priced higher than most but well worth it. I have now hunted waterfowl in them for two seasons and I love them. They are very comfortable and true to size. Plenty of room allows one to bend over or squat down with out getting too tight. The boots are really comfortable and also really warm. Orvis, thank you once again for a superior product! As long as you are making them, i will continue to use them and recommend them to others.."
Review 4 for Waterfowler SonicSeam Wader
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Sonic Seam Waders,
February 11, 2014
By: justmyopinion1905
from Alabama Delta
"Let me start out out by saying do your research. Then purchase the best waders based on your research you can afford. The sonic seam waders that I purchased was based on research and reviews by others and I was not disappointed by my purchase. The waders performed flawlessly had not the first leak. I did have a problem with the felt inner when I open the box. The seam on the right liner had not been sewn and the seam was separated. I called Orvis and they sent me a new pair over night. GREAT SERVICE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! I love the lace up boot it never once tried to pull off while hunting in the LA (lower Alabama) mud we hunt in. I wear a size 10 shoe and it fit perfect. If you need to wear extra thick socks with the felt liners I would suggest getting one size larger then you wear. The one thing I should have purchased with the waders is the under wader fleece suit and I will purchase it before next season. I gave the waders four stars because I think there is room for improvement with anything that is made. I would also suggest you use a boot horn to assist with removing your waders. Also I found that you can put a rope under your heal to help with putting your waders on, this way you are not pulling on the seams. All in all great product and would recommend it to all."
Review 5 for Waterfowler SonicSeam Wader
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Waders,
February 4, 2014
By: Dreilly
from Texas
"These are very comfortable waders. The wool booties that pull out are really nice and make these easy to put on."
Review 6 for Waterfowler SonicSeam Wader
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Good product, one problem,
January 30, 2014
By: JordG
from Raleigh, NC
"I was in the market for a pair of breathable waders to replace my neoprene waders that had finally bit the bullet. I did a lot or research ahead of time on this product, and in particular the sonicseam tech and the breathability of their waders. After 1 season, I am very pleased with both those items.
However, after a cold January in North Carolina, one item to note for any prospective purchasers is the tendency of the boots and laces to freeze. Now, it is not huge problem if the laces freeze while you're hunting, as the hunt is already over and you can take some time to thaw them, but the actual boots themselves are constructed of very flexible neoprene, and if they are left somewhere cold overnight or during the day between hunts, the boots themselves will freeze, and you will not be able to get your foot back in the boot until they thaw (neoprene needs to stretch while you slip them on). This can be a problem if you are suiting up to go hunt and are on a schedule. Just wanted to pass this along to anyone else that might not have considered that point."
Review 7 for Waterfowler SonicSeam Wader
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great Wader,
January 16, 2014
By: Duck4dinner
from San Joaquin River Delta, CA
"Very durable for a breathable wader. Bought these for my father after I had used mine for 3+ seasons (and am still using them) without failure. For comparison, all previous breathables would only last me +/- one season before developing leaks. My only complaint is the boot's footprint is very wide, but you get used to it after awhile."
Review 8 for Waterfowler SonicSeam Wader
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Solid Investment,
January 4, 2014
By: FowlPlayTejas
from TX
"Just finished challenging these waders for over two weeks, hunting Geese in milo in west Tx, ducks in rice in south Tx, and ducks in the bay in Tx. Temps across hunts ranged from 18 to highs in the 40s...winds from 8mph to 30mph gusts. These waders are plenty warm with a good pair of UA longs and Fleece. Worked for 2hrs setting decs on goose hunt never got uncomfortable, sonics are truly breathable. The sonics are extremely lightweight and easy to move in. Boots are very comfortable and booties are very warm with just a thin pair of wool socks. Feet never got too hot nor did they ever get cold in these boots. Only reason for 4 instead of 5 stars is due to additional time needed to test durability (though I'm impressed so far), lack of d-rings for accessory attachments, and I would prefer the boots lacing to be a few inches higher, i.e. Wish the boots final lace was on the shin vs just above the high ankle. Overall I am sold on these waders and will never go back to bulky Neos. Time will tell regarding true durability but I am extremely impressed so far. Thank you Orvis and I hope you continue to push quality and innovation like this into the Waterfowl market....we need it!"
Review 9 for Waterfowler SonicSeam Wader
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
GO AHEAD YOU DESERVE IT!!,
December 25, 2013
By: SCDUCKMAN
from Columbia,SC
"Yes, these waders are expensive. But having made many duck hunting purchases, this may be the best purchase I ever made. I was looking for a pair of light weight waders to replace my heavy 1600gram neoprene's. We do most of our hunting on public water. I work harder than most to get away from the "High Baller's". This requires a lot of walking and wading. At 47, these waders are very light weight and boots are very comfortable. After several local hunts and a week in Arkansas pit blinds, believe me, these waders are SCDUCKMAN APPROVED. GO AHEAD YOU DESERVE IT!!"
Review 10 for Waterfowler SonicSeam Wader
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
the best quality ! camo waders,
December 7, 2013
By: skeeto
from weymouth mass
"i have used oris products for years . for hunting fishing and competive shooting . you just cant find better products anyware .and a unmatched return if the product failes ."
Review 11 for Waterfowler SonicSeam Wader
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best In Class,
November 9, 2013
By: DJCW
from Seattle, WA
"Used these then lent them to a friend... He loved them so much I got him a pair. Worth every penny! You can fool only yourself and go cheap with waders..."
Review 12 for Waterfowler SonicSeam Wader
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Waterfowler SonicSeam Wader,
January 30, 2013
By: DuckSausage
from Ft. Worth
"Great wader for all seasons in Texas! Just wish the wader were waist to chest, like the previous. The felt liners should be a little larger as well. Still the best wader you can buy, as well as warranty on the planet."
Review 13 for Waterfowler SonicSeam Wader
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best Hunting waders,
January 28, 2013
By: mercer
"On my 5th pair of this Orvis waders and i cannot say enough about them. Great for early or late season. Awesome for walking in up creeks or thru the marsh."
Review 14 for Waterfowler SonicSeam Wader
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Wishing for a Stout Size,
January 19, 2013
By: huntwithdogs
"With my body size, I wish they had a "Stout" size available. I would buy these in a heartbeat if they had a size that would fit me. They need an XL Stout version"
Review 15 for Waterfowler SonicSeam Wader
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Perfect Waders,
January 14, 2013
By: KYhorseman
from Lexington, KY
"I bought a pair of these in early 2012 when they went on sale after our season was over. When I used them this year for the first time, I was worried about the size of the boot as it looked HUGE on my feet. As it turns out, these fit perfectly and the large size of the sole makes them unbelievably stable. The lace up boots wear like bedroom slippers as there is no rubbing on the shins. I have walked miles in these in shin to knee deep muck without any problems. Highly recommend these as the fit is perfect and I can put them on in the house, then drive to my hunting spots and walk in easily. Breathe perfectly. These blow away the competition as I have tried all the big names in breathables. Thank you Orvis!!!!!"
Review 16 for Waterfowler SonicSeam Wader
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great product!,
December 29, 2012
By: DuckhuntingTexasstyle
from Abilene, TX
"These are the first breathable waders I've owned. I love the fact that they can hunt early season cool and comfortably and late season you fleece up under them and stay warm and dry. The only problem I've had with them is the laces collect burrs. Nothing major. I replaced the laces with nylon decoy line. They are also more rugged than expected. Walking trails around trees to get to the blind doesn't bother them. I may never go back to neoprene waders."
Review 17 for Waterfowler SonicSeam Wader
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great Waders,
November 29, 2012
By: waterfowler541
from Oregon
"I have been trying to find a nice pair of waders for waterfowl hunting for a long time now and think I have found them. The sonic seam waterfowler waders are great for all day hunting, they are lightweight and comfortable in the boot. I would have given them five stars but I would like to see some D-rings on the front to clip on shell holders and other accessories. I would also like to see some padding in the knees. Still these are very nice waders and the Orvis warranty is good piece of mind."
Review 18 for Waterfowler SonicSeam Wader
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
No Good!!!,
November 28, 2012
By: YamaJet
from California
"Wore these almost $400 waders exactly 5 times, 4 of those time were boat in hunts with NO walking!! The 5th hunt( a 200 yard walkin) as soon as I hit the water the boot area in both feet leaked to the point of soaking the liners. Very poor customer service as they would not send me a new pair or refund me money even though they tell you 100% money back gaureentee.. I now am in the middle of duck season with no waders. Do not buy these!!!!"
Review 19 for Waterfowler SonicSeam Wader
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great waders,
October 31, 2012
By: Mesully
from Everett Washington
"I was tired of leaky seams and having to buy waders every season so I bought these.
These are sturdier than other breathables and the boots are very warm.
I am very pleased so far!
"
Review 20 for Waterfowler SonicSeam Wader
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
still missed the mark,
October 26, 2012
By: Name146
"Felt needs to be sewn into the boot - the removable felt liners are a pain, should be able to slip on the boots with no effort. i spent nearly 10 minutes fussing with the liners before i finally got my foot in the boots. i didn't want to have this problem EVERY time so i returned them."
Response from Orvis:By Orvis Customer Service TeamNovember 1, 2012
We thank you for your feedback regarding the Waterfowler SonicSeam Wader. The removable felt liners for these waders are not sewn in for several reasons. Having a removable felt liner allows them to dry separately from the wader, and dry completely on all sides. We recommend putting the felt on your foot first, then stepping into the wader to put the felt in place. As always, we appreciate your feedback and offer a 100% satisfaction guarantee on all of our products.