Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Pet Portrait

A captivating work of art and a touching way to memorialize a lost companion, these incredibly lifelike pet portraits are hand drawn in Conté crayon—a French technique dating back to the 1700s. Artist Diane Morrow, who's completed more than 2,000 portraits for Orvis customers over the past 20 years, only requires a photograph (or e-mailed image) to create your one-of-a-kind masterpiece. Photo will be returned. Made in USA.
Average Customer Rating:
4.905 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (63 reviews)
5 stars
60
4 stars
1
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
0
61 of 63(97%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Pet Portrait
Review 1 for Pet Portrait
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Rusty,
April 3, 2014
By: NickandRusty1
from NC
"When I first removed the portrait of my mini-Aussie from the packaging tube all I could think of was, how could someone who has never seen my dog capture his spirit all accurately. It is absolutely beautiful!"
Review 2 for Pet Portrait
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Very pleased,
March 4, 2014
By: WillieJ
from Cincinnati, Ohio
"Although the shipping got a little missed up, the end product was great. This was a birthday gift to my husband & a time to remember & honor our beloved black lab Coley. He had cancer & his dealth has left a big hole in our life. The portrait was from a photo & caught his essence. We received a touching note from the artist. Finally, the framing was first class. We were very happy & are grateful to Orvis."
Review 3 for Pet Portrait
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best Value I have ever purchased,
February 13, 2014
By: Sharonjean
from Texas
"When I sent in the picture of our dog I knew he would not be with us much longer. He actually passed away in early January and the picture came today Feb. 13. I am giving it to my husband for our Anniversary/Valentines. I was so afraid I would be disappointed in that it is difficult to really capture the essence of a loved pet. It was absolutely beautiful and looked just like our Kasper. The artist had captured him from the picture I sent perfectly. I am very pleased and can't wait to give it to my husband. He will be touched. I didn't realize it would be as large as it is as it looks small in the catalog. It is really a great size and the frame is very nice. It was packed great and made it through the snow and ice from West Virginia to Texas without a scratch. I would highly recommend this to anyone wanting to preserve the memory of their pet."
Review 4 for Pet Portrait
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent Project,
February 10, 2014
By: jsw797
"Fantastic product! The quality of the product is unbelievable and the artist captured our dog perfectly. Such a great way to remember a beloved pet."
Review 5 for Pet Portrait
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Wonderful Gift,
January 29, 2014
By: OutdoorsmanChicago
from Chicago
"I bought this as a gift for my wife and I wasn't able to give to her for christmas but it was definitely worth the wait. Because it is so personal it takes a while to get but the artist did a fantastic job and really captured the personalities or our dogs. If you want to give a gift to someone special who loves their dog/s this is the perfect gift."
Review 6 for Pet Portrait
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Well worth the money must have for all pet owners,
January 7, 2014
By: Clydemom
from Georgia
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"This is a wonderful gift for yourself or any pet owner. Extremely realistic totally captures the animal personality. Great way to immortalize your four legged family members. This artist is very gifted totally exceeds expectations and the frame if you get it is absolutely beautiful and made in USA."
Review 7 for Pet Portrait
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Outstanding Picture!!,
January 7, 2014
By: JBTB
"A family pet had to be put down after 14 years. Had the pet portrait done to memorialize him. It was just wonderful and so lifelike....certainly a tribute to our pet and the artisit.
Thank you.
"
Review 8 for Pet Portrait
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best Christmas present ever,
January 3, 2014
By: Bubfintree
"This is a gift I will cherish a lifetime.
The likeness to my pets was amazing,I'll always have them with me.
"
Review 9 for Pet Portrait
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best purchase ever,
January 3, 2014
By: BetieJane
from High Point, NC
"The memory of a pet that has passed on is God's greatest gift. Having a portrait is very different from a photo. A portrait by a talented artist captures the essence, the spirit, of the pet. The pet portraits I've purchased speak to me - through my Goldens' eyes' expressiveness - in a way a photo cannot."
Review 10 for Pet Portrait
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Impressed,
December 5, 2013
By: JHarford
from Huntingdon, PA
"Our two year old pointer-lab mix died this past summer very unexpectedly. It has been very rough on our family. The portrait that was created from a picture of her is awesome. I am sure that when my wife opens the gift at Christmas that she will be more than "over the moon" with joy.
Orvis you ROCK."
Review 11 for Pet Portrait
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best Purchase Ever,
August 24, 2013
By: jpb60
"Incredibly happy with my purchase. Had a portrait done in 2001 and was very happy with that purchase also. Orvis is great to work with."
Review 12 for Pet Portrait
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Simply Put: Outstanding,
July 31, 2013
By: DaleE
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"Some who saw it thought it was a photograph. Very Detailed."
Review 13 for Pet Portrait
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Beautiful portrait,
July 16, 2013
By: Irislady
from Marion, NC
"My beautiful girl is now immortalized in an exquisite portrait. I could not be more pleased with the portrait itself, the framing and the care taken in packing and shipping. I also appreciate the care Orvis took to keep me informed about the progress of the shipping. Thank you so very much"
Review 14 for Pet Portrait
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Oustanding!,
July 10, 2013
By: Svenstible
"Incredible likeness of my pet! It turned out beautifully!"
Review 15 for Pet Portrait
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Perfect - Thank you Diane Morrow,
May 4, 2013
By: dutch0656
from Houston, TX
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
"This is one of the best gifts anyone could give to a friend or family member. I have had so many family and friends commenting on how much the drawing resembled our pet. The detail was amazing. I have included the original photo and the drawing. You decide. Thank you Diane Morrow and Orvis."
Review 16 for Pet Portrait
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Absolutely beautiful - right on!,
May 2, 2013
By: pinkie6431
from East Lansing, MI
"I had the Pet Portrait done for a friend's now deceased dog. It turned out amazing!! It looked just like her dog and was so "right on"!! The pet portrait gave my friend a warm & loving feeling once she saw it - not sad at all... I would definelty recommend the pet portrait to anyone who has a pet living or deceased. The illustrator is awesome!"
Review 17 for Pet Portrait
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Beautifully done,
May 1, 2013
By: Pak6669
from Winona, MN
"The artist did an amazing job of capturing my dog Eddie. It was such a simple process of emailing the photo and what I got in return truly captured everything that made Eddie special to me. Orvis customer service was very prompt in contacting me when the artist had questions. It made me feel like the artist was taking every detail into consideration. I debated on the frame and was glad that I changed my order and went with the frame. Customer Service was excellent in helping me with my change. The frame is beautiful and definitely sets off the drawing. If anyone is on the fence about the frame, I would definitely recommend it--worth every penny! Thank you Orvis and thank you to the amazing, talented artist! We have a wonderful momento of our loyal companion! So happy you offered this in your catalog!"
Review 18 for Pet Portrait
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Spirit captured perfectly,
April 2, 2013
By: suzyq39
from Manchester, NH
"Diane did a wonderful job capturing our yorkie's spirit and the details of his head. We were very touched and pleased with her rendering of the picture we provided. I would highly recommend her for your pet's portrait."
Review 19 for Pet Portrait
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Just perfect,
March 5, 2013
By: Spieldock
"the picture I sent Diane was not my favorite, but she and her wonderful hands returned to me something that I will treasure all my life. Its as if he is in the room with me. She did an awsome job. Money well spent."
Review 20 for Pet Portrait
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent Work!,
February 20, 2013
By: jwe626
from Saint Simons Island, GA
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"I could not be happier with the finished product. Thank you, Orvis, for yet another job well done!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.