Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Pet Portrait

A captivating work of art and a touching way to memorialize a lost companion, these incredibly lifelike pet portraits are hand drawn in Conté crayon—a French technique dating back to the 1700s. Artist Diane Morrow, who's completed more than 2,000 portraits for Orvis customers over the past 20 years, only requires a photograph (or e-mailed image) to create your one-of-a-kind masterpiece. Photo will be returned. Made in USA.
Average Customer Rating:
4.887 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (80 reviews)
5 stars
76
4 stars
1
3 stars
1
2 stars
2
1 star
0
77 of 80(96%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Pet Portrait
Review 1 for Pet Portrait
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Pet Portrait,
June 23, 2015
By: Collette
from Lancaster, NY
"This is the second time that I have purchased the pet portrait and I couldn't be happier.
The artist does an excellent job, our pet's image was captured perfectly.
Having this portrait helps with the grieving process of losing our best friend."
Review 2 for Pet Portrait
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Cherished Piece of art!,
April 23, 2015
By: mellym
from Hartsville, SC
"I can't get over what a true likeness this is of my beloved dog who passed away just recently. I will cherish it always. I wish I could relay my thanks to the artist directly!"
Review 3 for Pet Portrait
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Pefect in every way!,
April 15, 2015
By: mellym
from Hartsville, SC
"I just received my order yesterday and I'm beyond thrilled! I ordered this for myself to have something permanent of my beloved dog who passed away recently. The artist nailed it. I will cherish this piece forever!"
Review 4 for Pet Portrait
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
What a wonderful pet portrait!,
April 14, 2015
By: mcool31
from Groton, MA
"My compliments to the artist for creating such a beautiful portrait of my beloved Labrador Retriever, Molly! This portrait is a birthday present for a family member who is certain to treasure it for many years to come. Thank you for doing such an excellent job! Molly's personality shines and she appears so alive in the picture."
Review 5 for Pet Portrait
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Moved me to tears,
January 29, 2015
By: Domingo
from Bloomingdale IL
"Recently lost both of our cats within the same year, and our female never took a particularly great picture. Ordered the portrait as a memorial of her, and when I opened the package I could not hold back the tears at how beautiful it was. Extremely satisfied with my purchase."
Review 6 for Pet Portrait
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Better than advertised,
December 27, 2014
By: DBretC
from Central, NJ
"Was blown away when the portrait arrived. Better than I had expected. Was a little surprised when it arrived way sooner than expected. Would definitely recommend this to anyone who wants a lasting memory of their pet."
Review 7 for Pet Portrait
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Very Disappointed,
December 3, 2014
By: kjkm
"I purchased this as a Christmas gift for my son. His dog Jake passed away 18 months ago and I thought this picture would make a nice rememberance. Although I received it in a timely manner and it was packaged and shipped very carefully, it does not capture Jake in any way. It just looks like any dog. I am so disappointed that my gift this year is one I willl not be excited to give."
Review 8 for Pet Portrait
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Thanks to the artist,
October 15, 2014
By: ELLIECHOWCHOW064
from Lake Placid NY
"Absolutely an amazing job from the artist. We love our pet portrait. I was so impressed when we opened it up.
Would recommend this product to all pet lovers.
"
Review 9 for Pet Portrait
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I love it,
October 3, 2014
By: KAYAVA
from Chesapeake, VA
"This artist is SO good. The portrait of my dog is nearly identical to the photo I sent. It was also completed very promptly and mailed in a nearly indestructible cardboard tube."
Review 10 for Pet Portrait
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Outstanding - Very Sentimental Picture,
September 17, 2014
By: TripJo
from Dallas, TX
"The artist captured our dogs picture just perfect! And the framing of the picture is a very nice, quality touch."
Review 11 for Pet Portrait
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Completely satisfied,
August 6, 2014
By: Billsd
"Pet portrait was BEAUTIFUL. Very professional. Complete likeness . Plan to have more portraits done."
Review 12 for Pet Portrait
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Very good portrait,
July 15, 2014
By: Rickoh
from Columbus ,ohio
"We purchased a drawing of one of our Setters and it was outstanding and the service was excellent . Highly recommend this product."
Review 13 for Pet Portrait
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Beautifully done,
June 25, 2014
By: Dartexan
"There are no words to describe the joy the portrait has brought to my partner. The artist did an amazing job of capturing our dog's image. Orvis and the company were able to accommodate our requests."
Review 14 for Pet Portrait
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
It's awesome!,
May 27, 2014
By: AMW1492
from Virginia Beach, VA
"This is the first time I've ever written a review on-line. Hopefully that will tell you what a great job the artist did on Ronan's picture.
I had been wanting to find a really nice picture of my pup that showed the life and sparkle in his eyes that I see every day. The artist NAILED it. When I opened the picture, tears literally sprang to my eyes. I will be ordering a second one in the very near future and expect the same excellent results. If you are thinking about doing this but aren't sure about the quality or the price, I would highly recommend you take a chance."
Review 15 for Pet Portrait
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Very Special Purchase,
May 13, 2014
By: funwithdogs
from Crowley, Texas
"What an amazing job the artist did! It was exactly what I hoped for! Thank you so much. We will cherish it always..."
Review 16 for Pet Portrait
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Beautiful Memorial,
May 2, 2014
By: Dingos4ever
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"Kula, our beloved 15 year old Carolina Dog passed away on Easter in 2013, and left a big hole in our lives. We wanted to memorialize him in the best way possible and chose to have his portrait drawn. Diane Morrow, the artist, captured his likeness and exceeded our expectations. We miss him terribly, but we still get to see him everyday."
Review 17 for Pet Portrait
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Rusty,
April 3, 2014
By: NickandRusty1
from NC
"When I first removed the portrait of my mini-Aussie from the packaging tube all I could think of was, how could someone who has never seen my dog capture his spirit all accurately. It is absolutely beautiful!"
Review 18 for Pet Portrait
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Very pleased,
March 4, 2014
By: WillieJ
from Cincinnati, Ohio
"Although the shipping got a little missed up, the end product was great. This was a birthday gift to my husband & a time to remember & honor our beloved black lab Coley. He had cancer & his dealth has left a big hole in our life. The portrait was from a photo & caught his essence. We received a touching note from the artist. Finally, the framing was first class. We were very happy & are grateful to Orvis."
Review 19 for Pet Portrait
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best Value I have ever purchased,
February 13, 2014
By: Sharonjean
from Texas
"When I sent in the picture of our dog I knew he would not be with us much longer. He actually passed away in early January and the picture came today Feb. 13. I am giving it to my husband for our Anniversary/Valentines. I was so afraid I would be disappointed in that it is difficult to really capture the essence of a loved pet. It was absolutely beautiful and looked just like our Kasper. The artist had captured him from the picture I sent perfectly. I am very pleased and can't wait to give it to my husband. He will be touched. I didn't realize it would be as large as it is as it looks small in the catalog. It is really a great size and the frame is very nice. It was packed great and made it through the snow and ice from West Virginia to Texas without a scratch. I would highly recommend this to anyone wanting to preserve the memory of their pet."
Review 20 for Pet Portrait
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent Project,
February 10, 2014
By: jsw797
"Fantastic product! The quality of the product is unbelievable and the artist captured our dog perfectly. Such a great way to remember a beloved pet."