Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Superfine Touch 5-weight 9' Fly Rod—Full Flex

2½ oz. 9', 4-piece, Full-Flex Fly Rod for 5-wt. line.For any situation that requires a fly thrown with precision and delicacy, the Superfine Touch 905-4 is the ultimate trout rod. From tiny mountain streams no larger than a trickle to expansive western freestone rivers, this rod can—and will—handle any water and any dry fly, from a size 22 Disco Midge Larva to a size 4 Stimulator. The perfect rod for any self-professed trout bum, its soft, relaxed action jives well with midmorning coffee breaks and its lightweight design allows you to fish through nightfall, whether you can still see your fly or not. Made in Manchester, Vermont, USA.
Average Customer Rating:
4.75 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (8 reviews)
5 stars
6
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
8 of 8(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Superfine Touch 5-weight 9' Fly Rod—Full Flex
Review 1 for Superfine Touch 5-weight 9' Fly Rod—Full Flex
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Simply amazing,
September 16, 2014
By: dasbeak
from Park City,UT
"I got this rod a week ago I've fished it 4 times now and it's truly amazing. You can put the fly right where you need it with a simple cast. This was my first full flex rod and I couldn't be happier really fights big fish well I have thrown streamers, nymph rigs, and drys can throw it all with no problem"
Review 2 for Superfine Touch 5-weight 9' Fly Rod—Full Flex
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
very happy,
May 28, 2014
By: bwjohn
from Utah
"I have only casted this outfit in the yard, but very happy. I love the full flex and the feel that I get from this rod. I gave it 4 stars, b/c I haven't actually fished it yet, but I am sure that I would give it 5 stars once I start using it.
Brandon"
Review 3 for Superfine Touch 5-weight 9' Fly Rod—Full Flex
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Here fishy fishy,
April 3, 2014
By: Natfuel
from Central, PA
"This rod will be my go to for dry flies. I am so used to my faster T-3 and Hydros rods i really had to take some time to slow things down to get this rod to load and unload right. BIG differance between this rod and faster action rods. Once you slow your cast down though you cant get anymore accurate with your cast. I planned on purchasing the outfit but orvis pairs this rod with there new battenkill reel so i purchased the access reel in gold to compliment its looks. I dont know why orvis didn't think of that, the gold on this rod looks great. This will be a favored rod for years to come. If your considering a superfine touch just remember that they are a slow action rod and if you've never tryed one do yourself a favor and cast one before you buy, you might love it (i did) or you may not like it. Big thanks to Slate run tackle's Tom Finkbiner, he really went above and beyond to help me on my purchase."
Review 4 for Superfine Touch 5-weight 9' Fly Rod—Full Flex
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
My best dry fly rod ever,
February 24, 2014
By: Olejohan
from 7234 lER Norway
"I have just gor my Superfine touch # 5 fulle flex rod. It is a bit early in the season here, but I have tested the rod on the Nidelv river. It casts like e dream, and I have used all the casting strokes I know of. It is light, responsive, well balanced and extreamly accurate. I used a Hydros weight forward #5 on a Battenkill reel and the whole outfit worked fantastic well. I am looking forward to the rest of the early part of the season now with stonefly and caddis hatches. The superfine touch will be the main companion, delivering the dry's like swandown on the water. Just lovely."
Review 5 for Superfine Touch 5-weight 9' Fly Rod—Full Flex
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Surprise Power,
May 13, 2013
By: Superfiner
from Bend, Oregon
"I had an old Far and Fine, and loved it's power and lightness. I decided to try to recapture that feeling with the Superfine Touch, so I purchased a 9' 5wt. I am completely amazed with it's light weight, soft tip and strong butt. This rod shoots line for long casts and when you hook up, you have the fun of a lively rod with enough backbone to fight large trout. I am seriously thinking about getting another as either a backup or to have it strung with a different line while lake fishing. If you liked the Far and Fine, you will love the Superfines."
Review 6 for Superfine Touch 5-weight 9' Fly Rod—Full Flex
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Superfine Trout Fly Line.,
July 8, 2012
By: FireFly2
"Having owned 2 Far and Fines for 20 + years, both 7'9" rods, I decided maybe a 9' rod might go better in my canoe. Went to my local Orvis retailer where Jamie showed me the 9' Touch rod. The rod felt limber, close to my old rods. Rod works great in my canoe. Seemed a little stiff, being 9', but soon got the sync going. Was not long before I was throwing Wooly Buggers 70'. Good rod."
Review 7 for Superfine Touch 5-weight 9' Fly Rod—Full Flex
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A great ROD,
March 11, 2012
By: SLeMANS
from Ontario Canada
"I purchased the #865 Mid Summer last year after testing on the Lawn across from the Store.
It was much better in actual use, byond my expectation.I love the full flex and power of the Rod.....It did not take very long to get used to the casting action as WE have an earlier version: Superfine Mid-Flex that we have been using for over 5 yrs. I'm getting the new Hydros line for this year. I have only used it for stillwater so far... Love IT. SL , Toronto
"
Review 8 for Superfine Touch 5-weight 9' Fly Rod—Full Flex
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Superfine Touch a real WINNER,
December 29, 2011
By: DaveK
from Concord, New Hampshire
"When Dale Robinson (fishing manager in Manchester Vermont) told me that that the Touch now was available in a 9 foot, 5 wt. I just had to have it. I love full flex rods and the Superfine Trout Bum series didn't have a 9/5. I fished this rod over 4 days on the upper Connecticut River in Pittsburg, New Hampshire. Many trout were caught and it was a pleaure to fish."