Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Superfine Touch 5-weight 7'6" Fly Rod—Full Flex

2⅛ oz. 7'6", 4-piece, Full-Flex Fly Rod for 5-wt. line.It's completely possible for a soft-loading rod to be both delicate and strong, the type of rod you'd want when you need some backbone but don't want to sacrifice any touch or precision. The Superfine Touch 765-4 is just such a rod. With a strong butt section capable of turning over larger flies and fighting bigger fish, and a Full-Flex action that casts small dries like a dream, it's equally at home on a trout stream as it is a backyard pond filled with panfish and bass. Poppers, hoppers, midges, or streamers, it will cast them all, and let you feel every strike along the way. Made in Manchester, Vermont, USA.
Average Customer Rating:
4.875 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (8 reviews)
5 stars
7
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
8 of 8(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Superfine Touch 5-weight 7'6" Fly Rod—Full Flex
Review 1 for Superfine Touch 5-weight 7'6" Fly Rod—Full Flex
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Rod!!,
September 17, 2014
By: Dankie
from New Jersey
"This rod is great! Perfect balance and good action. You can cast with ease in tight locations with this rod."
Review 2 for Superfine Touch 5-weight 7'6" Fly Rod—Full Flex
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Super touch rod,
August 6, 2014
By: Gips
from Indiana
"My 1st fly rod and it is perfect for the stream that I live on. Small stream with pan fish and small mouth bass. Handles and performs fantastic. Thank you Orvis!"
Review 3 for Superfine Touch 5-weight 7'6" Fly Rod—Full Flex
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
SUPER ROD,
July 30, 2014
By: Nannook
from Baltimore, Maryland
"I've been fly fishing for close to 60 years. Over that period I have used bamboo, glass, and graphite. The majority of the rods were very functional, with only a few of the early graphites that were disappoinying. Of all the rods I have used to date, the Orvis 7.5' Superfine 5 wt Touch Rod is the most accurate, and throws the tightest loops of any fly rod I have ever used. Happily I come to expect that from Orvis products, they have never disapointed me"
Review 4 for Superfine Touch 5-weight 7'6" Fly Rod—Full Flex
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Very Pleased With The Full Flex Rod,
February 10, 2014
By: RSTC
from Medina Ohio
"The first thing you notice is the light weight of this fly rod. It loads up nicely and I was pleased with the distance and accuracy of my casts. This rod really adds to the whole casting experience."
Review 5 for Superfine Touch 5-weight 7'6" Fly Rod—Full Flex
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
My New Favorite,
June 14, 2013
By: TrouterDave
"Two weeks after purchasing this rod I took off for my favorite PA trout stream. I took this rod and my favorite 9' 5wt made by another company. We were to fish the stream for a week and the first morning I started with the 9' rod. It worked well as usual. That afternoon I switched to the new Superfine Touch. I never fished the 9' rod again the rest of the week. The Touch did it all. It was the perfect rod for this stream. I could fish every pool on the stream with it. At the small tree lined pools I could cast very comfortably and hit my target. At the large open pools I could do the same thing and get almost as much distance as with the 9' rod which is a bit uncomfortable in the tree lined pools. Now on my favorite stream the 7'6" 5 wt Touch is my favorite. It is the perfect single rod for the PA streams I fish. On our CO trips I'll take both rods because the 9' excels on bigger water but I'll want the Touch for small to medium water and tighter places. If I could only have one rod I'd go with the Touch. I love it. It casts dry flies, nymphs and up to medium size bead head streamers with the easiest roll casts. If you need a new rod look at this one. You'll never regret it."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Superfine Touch 5-weight 7'6" Fly Rod—Full Flex
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great rod,
September 9, 2012
By: TLObee
"I bought this 12 months ago and have put it to a lot of use. It's a beautiful rod. I've got an old Far and Fine; I really was surprised that this casts better.
It shines with the small, light stuff and fares well enough with the nymphs and splitshot I normally cast. As long as the wind isn't honking, it's the rod I use.
I've gotten into some decent fish with it (half dozen browns/rainbows at 17-20")."
Review 7 for Superfine Touch 5-weight 7'6" Fly Rod—Full Flex
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Its a lucky rod,
June 22, 2012
By: Brooklyntrout
from Woodstock Vt
"Picked up the Superfine 765 and CFO II reel today around noon in Manchester. As usual, Dale and the guys were at the top of their form. Even offered to hold my Springer Jake while I waggled this full flex beauty. Got a leader/tippet in 5x fluorocarbon and a Coper John and Tungsten Bugger and went a tried it out in Woodstock. Second cast tied up with a nice Brown on the John. The flex is amazing and supple to about 8 inches from the base and felt sturdy. Loads like a dream. Saw the 6 ft 2 weight and birthday is coming up kids :)"
Review 8 for Superfine Touch 5-weight 7'6" Fly Rod—Full Flex
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Another Superfine WINNER,
January 11, 2011
By: DaveK
from Concord, New Hampshire
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I've been an Orvis customer for 51 years and this new Superfine Touch is keeping with the heritage of both Superine and Orvis. I own 4 Superfine Trout Bums, 1 Helios and now the new Touch. It's a beautiful rod in all respects and I enjoy full flex rods over all others. Anyone who is looking for beauty and fine craftsmenship will want to fish this rod. I know that my twin brother, Ken will get one soon, he always does.
Thanks to the fishing manager, Dale and associate Bill in the Manchester, Vermont store for their assistance and knowledge.
"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.