Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Superfine Touch 4-weight 9' Fly Rod—Full Flex

2⅜ oz. 9', 4-piece, Full-Flex Fly Rod for 4-wt. line.Even on large, rolling rivers, a perfect presentation and excellent drift can separate your fly from the rest, making it nearly irresistible to even the most wary of trout. With a full 9-foot reach and a surprising bit of power built into its 4-weight frame, the Superfine Touch 904-4 is a versatile, lightweight, Full-Flex rod that excels with the dry fly on streams both large and small. Double dry rigs turnover with little effort, and mending has never been easier with a rod this smooth. It's a perfect dry-fly rod, designed for anglers who value a relaxed action and just a little extra reach. Made in Manchester, Vermont, USA.
Average Customer Rating:
5 out of 5
5
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (11 reviews)
5 stars
11
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
10 of 11(91%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Superfine Touch 4-weight 9' Fly Rod—Full Flex
Review 1 for Superfine Touch 4-weight 9' Fly Rod—Full Flex
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Superfine touch fly rod,
May 9, 2014
By: fortworthjack
from Fort Worth, TX, USA
"I've never used a full flex rod and wanted to try one. Casting is easier than I would have thought and dealing with the wind is less of a problem than I've been led to believe. The rod action is smooth and casting is virtually effortless. At 30-40 feet, on calm days, this is the rod for gentle presentations in my hands. Love it."
Review 2 for Superfine Touch 4-weight 9' Fly Rod—Full Flex
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
An exceptional purchase, as always,
January 3, 2014
By: fsilva52
from Portugal
"I usually fish with very small flies on a very light tippet (7 to 9x). The full flex feature of this rod protects the light tippet and no break-offs. I already own a 8' 2wt Touch and it is the best Small Stream rod I have ever used. I love it!"
Review 3 for Superfine Touch 4-weight 9' Fly Rod—Full Flex
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Terrific Touch,
December 27, 2013
By: Otch
from Grosse Pointe Farms, Michigan
"I originally passed on this rod in favor of a Helios 3. Then my wife went into my local Orvis store, where I am friends with all of the staff, and my buddies sold her this 4 wt. as an anniversary present for me. It turns out I absolutely love this rod. It delivers the lightest dry fly without a ripple. It turns over like a dream. I would highly recommend this rod."
Review 4 for Superfine Touch 4-weight 9' Fly Rod—Full Flex
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
My favorite rod,
December 25, 2013
By: TDJP
"This is definitely my favorite rod in any category. I love the action: it's "full" as stated of course, but it isn't noodly and it is very accurate. As a result of its action and my casting style it is far better at range than even advertised (although it is best under 30 or 40 ft). But I would say I can reliably cast it 60 without much effort. The line that comes with it is very nice and aids with casting. Lastly, the finish on the rod is gorgeous - my favorite finish in the Orvis line. Very elegant rod in every respect - but no less powerful for it."
Review 5 for Superfine Touch 4-weight 9' Fly Rod—Full Flex
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
904-4 Superfine,
July 28, 2013
By: PAFFF
from Mansfield, PA
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"Orvis has done it again! An excellent rod. Bought it for some medium to larger rivers in the area. The rod is silky smooth and and for a 4wt casts at great distances with ease. Not to mention the gorgeous looks of the rod. Rolls tandem dry rigs over perfectly and makes the fight on big browns even more exciting. Only had the rod for about 2 weeks and already landed multiple wild browns over 20". I love the rod and can't seem to put it down!"
Review 6 for Superfine Touch 4-weight 9' Fly Rod—Full Flex
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
904-4 superfine touch,
June 4, 2013
By: WindKn0t
from Reno Nv
"Bought this 4wt superfine for smaller fish on smaller waters. The rod, i love! the Superfine 4wt line, i hate.... Well, i hate it for my style and application.
Up close, this line does not cast well and simply does not have the weight to mend or roll cast. Get about 15 feet out and it casts well and presents well, just don't try to roll cast.
I swapped out lines to the Hydros 4wt 3D, and this combination is AQSOME. the line will literally FALL through the guides. It does not present with the delicacy that the superfine line did, but hey, there has to be a rub, right???"
Review 7 for Superfine Touch 4-weight 9' Fly Rod—Full Flex
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Superfine=SuperAwesome,
October 8, 2012
By: Anonymous
from Erie, PA
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"The Orvis Superfine Touch rod is absolutely amazing, I loved it from the very first cast…First things first… the rod is absolutely gorgeous… hands down one of the sexiest rods I have ever picked up in my life. I have used the rod a half dozen times and it handled 16 inch browns/rainbows and a couple 14in smallmouths with ease… I have caught some natives however, and you can still feel the fish fight. It casts just like it says so smooth and relaxed between 15’ to I would say 40’, and the presentation is delicate and accurate. I love this rod and I’m looking forward to purchasing from Orvis again in the future."
Review 8 for Superfine Touch 4-weight 9' Fly Rod—Full Flex
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Not what it used to be, but still the finest.,
August 3, 2012
By: SamdB
from Western Australia
"I have started fishing the full action Orvis rods way back in the early 80's - two of may favourites are a Western 2# and a 1# that weighed less than an ounce. My two new Superfines are a chip of the old block, but they just are not finished as the old ones were finished - small things, but it is noticeable. However, as I expected, they are a dream to cast - not super fast stiff sticks with no finesse like some of the very expensive lightweights from the west coast. A sheer joy to have and to use."
Review 9 for Superfine Touch 4-weight 9' Fly Rod—Full Flex
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This is an awesome rod!,
April 23, 2012
By: 4tlix
from Durham,NC
"I shopped all the 9ft 4 wt full flex rods I could find and found prices in excess of $700 but none could match the feel of this rod. I was using an older 71/2 ft 4 wt Winston full flex and this rod has better touch and more delicate presentation. The extra length offers better distance and faster line pick up and this rod has more backbone for larger trout. I fish the steams and rivers in Western NC and Eastern TN and this is my #1 choice for any water. It casts size 24 midges, size 8 streamers or anything between with great feel. It loads easily and has enough power to cast into a stiff breeze. I still take my other rods but they rarely leave the Jeep. This is a rod any serious fisherman must have. It's a great value when compared to the few other choices in this size/wt."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Superfine Touch 4-weight 9' Fly Rod—Full Flex
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
full flex,
January 13, 2012
By: fishcentral
from portland ,or
"I have used 80's full flex orvis rods since 81 when i made my first rod - a 9'6" 3 pc. orvis osprey in 6 wt. living out west - oregon coast i used this for steelhead .along with trout and loved it .
I have been trying the newer rods and some old for a 4 wt. right now i have a 9' 4pc. 85 5 wt spring creek full flex orvis and a 9'3" 2 pc. 86 spring creek rod and just had a custom built 9'6" 3pc 6 wt. orvis osprey built for me this summer by orvis . I have actually been trying sage rods for a 4 wt. first i bought a sage LL and sp , and even tried a z-axes . what these rod makers did was put very soft tips on a very fast but section making all these rods seem "jointed" i really dislike this jointed feel when casting . when you go for distance it feels the tips are going to brake because they are just to soft ! this is one thing i have always loved about orvis full flex rods is the progressive taper through the blank making it feel better then any other rods i have ever cast .
when reading reviews on the new super fine touch rods i was scared they went to this "soft tip" strong but rod . well after testing the 904-4 i was quite happy with the taper the old full flex feel with power was amazing , when i pushed this rod to 70 feet nothing felt weak on it . after reviews saying it was great from 15 to 40 feet i didn't think it would feel good at long range - i was wrong - i have always been able to cast long with pull flex orvis rods - over 80 feet - and this rod was no exception . i have tried many new model rods and nothing comes close to the feel of this rod in hand while casting . i always wanted a full flex with a little more power with the same feel of the old and this does it hands down . i also compared it to a access and only did two cast with the access rod - i just can not come to like a mid flex or tip flex rod no matter who makes them . thanks orvis for bringing back the old and making it with the new !
Also the wrapped graphite blank is a tighter wrap then the older 70's and 80's full flex rods but still has that spiral wrapped look . you can't go wrong with this rod . the new sage ZXL is over $600 and i don't even need to test it after casting the super fine touch - I just know that for me no one could make a better felling rod then this one ."
Review 11 for Superfine Touch 4-weight 9' Fly Rod—Full Flex
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
So Smooth!!!!!,
May 14, 2011
By: JASTrout
"I happen to be at our local One Fly Contest on legendary Spruce Creek in State College,PA and as is usual the Orvis Rep was there with his wares. I had read about longer Superfine Touch rods, and this rod was among all of the Helios, Access, etc. First cast, I was trying to sneak it back to my car. Simply a fantastic, soft smooth as silk casting rod. It reminded me of the original Scott G 904, but better looking and in a 4 piece. This is a must purchase."