Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Superfine Touch 4-weight 8' Fly Rod—Full Flex

2⅛ oz. 8', 4-piece, Full-Flex Fly Rod for 4-wt. line.Walking and wading will always remain an effective and enjoyable way to explore a watershed, especially when the fish, and the stream itself, vary in size. Unbelievably lightweight and undeniably smooth, the Full-Flex Superfine Touch 804-4 makes for an excellent companion when fishing on foot. With enough strength to punch out the occasional long cast, but with a slower action built for the dry fly, it can drift a Parachute Adams down a riffle on the Madison or place a PMD in a rise ring on the Henry's Fork with modern precision and an old-fashioned feel. Made in Manchester, Vermont, USA.
Average Customer Rating:
5 out of 5
5
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (25 reviews)
5 stars
25
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
25 of 25(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Stories:
Customer Reviews for Superfine Touch 4-weight 8' Fly Rod—Full Flex
Review 1 for Superfine Touch 4-weight 8' Fly Rod—Full Flex
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Dry Fly Rod,
October 22, 2014
By: Flyhunter
from Central, PA
"I got this rod for something different, I have a couple of Orvis glass rods and love them but wanted to try a graphite rod. The only logical choice was the Superfine Touch rod. It is a beautiful rod, the craftsmanship is superb. I got the 8 foot rod for fishing dry flies on small cricks and wondered how it would be with nymphs. The first time I took this rod out it made me feel like a professional, I could cast further and lay the line down really soft. I really like the full flex action. As far as fishing nymphs it handled those well also, the largest ones I use are size 14. In two days I caught 22 trout and wonder if I will ever use my other rods. Thanks Orvis for making some really good rods!"
Review 2 for Superfine Touch 4-weight 8' Fly Rod—Full Flex
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Precise, light and comfortable,
September 28, 2014
By: AndrewSmith
from Cheshire, UK.
"I finally got to christen my new SF Touch #4 8ft on the River Dee and really enjoyed it. It's so light you can spend hours standing in the middle of the stream not even thinking about the rod, just the placement. the sweep is nice, slow and predictable and pickup is pretty good even fishing upstream on a fast moving current. I love it... it's going to be my go to rod for most of the Trout and Grayling fishing I'll be doing for some time to come I think. Love it :)
Orvis staff were very helpful, let me test casting it in a field with another of theirs and one of mine for comparison. This rod put a real smile on my face testing and again in the river yesterday with 7 Grayling and a stunning wild Brown :)
"
Review 3 for Superfine Touch 4-weight 8' Fly Rod—Full Flex
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Amazed,
August 3, 2014
By: Ron12
from Butte Meadows, CA
"I was immediately amazed at the flexibility and ease of casting with this 4 weight 8 ' Superfine rod. The second day of use I caught and released 12 good sized Rainbows. This is simply a terrific piece of equipment. I do not have the words to praise it enough. Thanks Orvis for crafting such a Superfine product."
Review 4 for Superfine Touch 4-weight 8' Fly Rod—Full Flex
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
dry fly perfection,
July 26, 2014
By: 2crows
from Ligonier, PA
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
"I picked up the Superfine Touch 4wt 8' with the CFO II reel two weeks ago. I fish a variety of streams for trout so I was looking for a rig that could be flexible from small mountain streams to larger more open water. As far as I am concerned this is the ultimate fly fishing set up. First off, this rod is not the piece of spaghetti one might think. The full flex is great, yet it has a surprising amount of backbone. As far as accuracy goes, you can drop a dry fly on the head of a pin with this thing with hardly a ripple. Its like having a rifle scope mounted on your fly rod. It also handles nymphs really well. It excels at close range yet can throw a fly easily out to 40-50 feet. I had no problems getting a good hook set, which was my one suspicion when considering this purchase. Another nice thing is you get to feel everything when fighting fish, even the small ones. This rod simply does not disappoint."
Review 5 for Superfine Touch 4-weight 8' Fly Rod—Full Flex
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great small stream rod,
June 9, 2014
By: canceleer
from Smoky Mountains, Tennessee
"I use a 8' 4wt rod to fish small streams in the Great Smoky Mountain National Park (TN) and find the rod to deliver a gentle, accurate dry fly in very tight conditions. I cannot recommend the rod highly enough!"
Review 6 for Superfine Touch 4-weight 8' Fly Rod—Full Flex
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
That's it,
May 30, 2014
By: cemi
from Bern
"Thank you Orvis for this fantastic fly rods.I use it on all the rivers in the Swiss, simply amazing."
Review 7 for Superfine Touch 4-weight 8' Fly Rod—Full Flex
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Product,
May 29, 2014
By: wildcatfan62
from NW Indiana
"This is my first "better" rod. Love the feel of the rod. We're not in a trout area, so I fish for bluegill, largemouth and smallmouth bass. The rod has enough backbone that I was able to land a 4 pound largemouth after what seemed like 20 minutes. Love the way the rod casts, I can easily cast a hopper/dropper 25 to 30 feet and a dry to specific fish at the same distance. I'm a new fly fisher, and am really glad I stepped up to a higher quality rod. I think the rod is very forgiving of my casting. Thank you Orvis. Shipping was handled quickly and I was kept informed throughout the process."
Review 8 for Superfine Touch 4-weight 8' Fly Rod—Full Flex
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
fun,
May 16, 2014
By: tookie
"I was looking for a fun to fish dry fly rod. Since I use fast action rods I was concerned the rod was to slow with a full flex action.
After using the rod this spring I found no problem with the slower action and actually came to like the slower stroke.
The rod loads with very little line and presents a dry fly with a light touch. I matched the rod with an Access reel and it is a wonderful outfit.
When you hook a fish the fun really begins, you feel every pull by the fish.
"
Review 9 for Superfine Touch 4-weight 8' Fly Rod—Full Flex
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Just the rod I wanted.,
May 3, 2014
By: Robert24xyz
from Australia
"I would recommend this rod to any fly fisher. I bought this rod for use in small streams. The rod loads really well with just a short line out and it is able to cast a surprisingly long line with little effort and turns over a small fly beautifully. The light weight means it is a pleasure to use all day."
Review 10 for Superfine Touch 4-weight 8' Fly Rod—Full Flex
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Amazing feel,
October 26, 2013
By: JRothschild
"No rod has let me feel the line the way the Superfine Touch does. Ease of mending and subtle fly presentation are what I want in a small water rod, and this one is the best I've ever cast.
I cast the 7'6" at Orvis and found that length lacking in some of the action I love about the 8'.
Without a doubt, the 804-4 Superfine Touch will travel everywhere I go now. It is truly an amazing rod."
Review 11 for Superfine Touch 4-weight 8' Fly Rod—Full Flex
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Love this rod,
October 4, 2013
By: Broseph
from Harpers Ferry, W.V.
"I bought this for east coast bookies but it worked great for Montana big boys also. Very accurate."
Review 12 for Superfine Touch 4-weight 8' Fly Rod—Full Flex
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ultimate dry fly machine,
September 1, 2013
By: Anze
from Slovenia
"I own this rod for several days and I just love it. My other rods are mid to tip flex as I was avoiding rods that were like spaghetti, all around, just not as they were expected to be. This one is different. It is soft, it does what you expect and what you expect from perfect rod ...it forgives bad casting (it happens to me from time to time where all the bushes and trees are all around and you are reacing for just another centimeter), but with this rod, dry fly just fall so softly to the water that fishes just love to grab it...even fishing with nymphs is challenging, but for that type of fishing I recommend tip flex because with full flex you won't feel same as with tip flex while nymphing.
Usage for dry and little nymphs as all day rod- YES
Usage just for nymphing and streamers-NO
And I tested how much power is needed to break a leader while fish is on...I couldn't do it as with my other tip flex rods I really need to be carefull....
I just love this rod:)
"
Review 13 for Superfine Touch 4-weight 8' Fly Rod—Full Flex
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Amazing Rod,
January 25, 2013
By: NNCC
from San Jose, CA
"This is such a perfect rod for dry fly fishing small to mid-sized rivers. Small enough to lay down a delicate 10-foot cast in tight quarters and has enough punch to lay out a 50-foot cast to the other bank. It also handles big fish like a champ and is sensitive enough to make those 6-inch fish feel much bigger than they actually are. I have this matched with a CFO reel and I'm pretty sure my toothbrush is heavier than this whole rig. Awesome!"
Review 14 for Superfine Touch 4-weight 8' Fly Rod—Full Flex
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best Dry Fly Rod Ever,
June 20, 2012
By: chucksgonfishn
from Northern California
"When I cast my Superfine Touch it feels like a good dream where I remember nothing, but my smile was ear to ear. When I am battling a fish I feel challenged, yet in control. Hats off to Orvis for this one. I own and have owned many full flex rods. Without thinking, I grab my 8' 4wt every time I'm in a rush to get out for the hatch."
Review 15 for Superfine Touch 4-weight 8' Fly Rod—Full Flex
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Astonishingly nice at small water distances...,
June 9, 2012
By: TroutUnderground
from Mountains of Northern California
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"Right out of the tube, the rod was something of a revelation — it felt like the love child of a toothpick and my bendy, you’ll pry-it-from-my-cold-dead-hands small-stream bamboo rod.
The 8′ 4wt Superfine Touch feels extremely light in the hand, and in fact it largely disappears over the course of a day.
Because it has so little mass, you don’t feel the rod loading when you’re only casting a leader (that’s because it’s not loading under so little weight), but after just a couple feet of fly line escapes the tip guide, the feel in your hand builds rapidly.
And yes, the Orvis Superfine’s light tip *did* cast just a leader. In this instance it seems the marketing is true; the Superfine Touch fishes beautifully at close range, yet will reach out a little distance if needed.
It's seen a lot of use on everything from meadow streams you can jump over to streams I couldn't wade through, and landed a lot of trout. Speaking as a small stream fanatic, I can say that Orvis has returned a certain amount of sanity to rod design -- they've built a fly rod designed to fish well at ranges people actually fish at on smaller rivers and streams.
I'm not in love with the gold reel seat and guides, but otherwise I have nothing critical to say about this rod."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Superfine Touch 4-weight 8' Fly Rod—Full Flex
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Lovely Rod,
April 23, 2012
By: Chris195
from Kent, United Kingdom
"I would recommend this rod to anyone, I bought this as I have been fishing a small stream this season, I just love the way this rod loads with just a short line out, it casts a surprisingly long line with little effort and turnes over a small fly beautifuly
this rod will make you a better caster guaranteed I have six Orvis rods and this is my favourite by far, Just wonderful
"
Review 17 for Superfine Touch 4-weight 8' Fly Rod—Full Flex
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A finesse aficianado's dream,
April 23, 2012
By: coldandclearwaters
from San Jose, CA
"The rod is an absolute dream for roll casting and single hand spey casting in close quarters. Overhead, side-hand, and underhand casting is very sweet too. Coupling this rod with a click and pawl reel, Hydros 3D trout line, and furled leader make it an awesome close-to-mid-quarters setup that's really hard to put down in the stream, on the lawn, or at the casting ponds."
Review 18 for Superfine Touch 4-weight 8' Fly Rod—Full Flex
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
8ft 4wt Superfine,
March 28, 2012
By: OhioTroutbum
from Dayton, OH
"I have had this rod out on the water every day since i received it. I love it. The fit and finish are awesome. The full flex action is a joy to cast and the light weight makes it an all day rod. Definetly my new go to rod. The only minor complaint i have is that the label on the rod tube is just a sticker and is not stock on well. Other than that another great Orvis product."
Review 19 for Superfine Touch 4-weight 8' Fly Rod—Full Flex
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Awesome Creek Rod,
December 29, 2011
By: noblejohn
from Chicago, IL
"I had a chance to use this rod in a few creeks. It was great. I used it with a large arbor reel and it was super!
Very responsive and I really like the full flex."
Review 20 for Superfine Touch 4-weight 8' Fly Rod—Full Flex
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Wonderful Rod,
September 27, 2011
By: ArtH
"I received my Superfine Touch 804-4 Full-Flex Fly Rod this week and love this rod. This rod is a true 4 weight and unlike many new graphite rods does not need to be over-lined to flex properly. The rod casts effortlessly and with precision. Caught an 18" male brown on my first time out with the rod and it handled the fish with authority. Dreaming of taking this rod to Montana to fish a spring creek or two in Paradise Valley."