Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Superfine Touch 3-weight 7'6" Fly Rod—Full Flex

2⅛ oz. 7'6", 4-piece, Full-Flex Fly Rod for 3-wt. line.Quite possibly the ultimate small-stream dry-fly rod. From snobby spring creek rainbows to hyper-aggressive high-elevation brookies, the Superfine Touch 763-4 was designed with trout bums in mind. Smooth loading with a slow, Full-Flex action, it's a laid-back rod that packs enough punch to make all the casts, is long enough to provide effective line control, yet doesn't require much room for a backcast. Perfect for backcountry boulder hopping, early morning trico hatches, and everything in between. Made in Manchester, Vermont, USA.
Average Customer Rating:
4.81 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (21 reviews)
5 stars
19
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
0
20 of 21(95%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Superfine Touch 3-weight 7'6" Fly Rod—Full Flex
Review 1 for Superfine Touch 3-weight 7'6" Fly Rod—Full Flex
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Very nice 3wt rod!,
June 4, 2014
By: Quimby
from South Dakota
"I LOVE this little rod and reel. My wife and I just returned from our annual trip to the Black Hills fly fishing. This set up was perfect for their small streams and handled some nice 14-16 in Browns nicely and casts tiny drys like a dream. I let my wife use my new rod while was untangling a train wreck. Hers is on order! Good job Orvis!"
Review 2 for Superfine Touch 3-weight 7'6" Fly Rod—Full Flex
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Lovely rod but not very durable,
May 27, 2014
By: GraylingChaser
from Two Rivers, AK
"First, the good: this rod is absolutely lovely to cast and the aesthetics are excellent. It's a beautiful rod.
That said, I've now broken it twice. On Arctic Graylings, no less. I've never broken another rod so I don't think it's just me. Here in interior Alaska our fishing season is short and intense and to go without a rod for a few weeks puts a big bite into the season. I also don't want to risk breaking it again on the river. So, I'm not going to be getting it repaired this time, and will be fishing another manufacturer's rods.
It'd be a nice rod if it weren't so fragile."
Review 3 for Superfine Touch 3-weight 7'6" Fly Rod—Full Flex
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Precision casting,
May 26, 2014
By: Jefft
from Rhode Island
"If you fish small streams, drop everything and get this rod. The Superfine Touch is the best rod I have had the pleasure of owning. Not only can you get to those tight spots, when you hook a fish, you are totally connected with the fish. If extra distance is needed, this rod will throw a line 40 feet or more. Any experienced fly fisherman will agree that presentation is the most important element in casting and the Superfine excels in this category."
Review 4 for Superfine Touch 3-weight 7'6" Fly Rod—Full Flex
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best small stream rod ever,
January 21, 2014
By: Rowens967
from Ringgold, GA
"This rod is absolutely fantastic for what it's designed to do. In small streams and rivers it roll casts beautifully, using it's full flex technology to the advantage of the fisherman. Beautifully crafted rod."
Review 5 for Superfine Touch 3-weight 7'6" Fly Rod—Full Flex
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great rod!,
January 20, 2014
By: Andrssonevn
from Baltimore, MD
"I couldn't be happier with this rod. It's perfect for dry flies on small stream. I love chasing brookies on mountain streams and this rod paired with the CFO reel is perfect."
Review 6 for Superfine Touch 3-weight 7'6" Fly Rod—Full Flex
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Orvis Fly rods,
December 31, 2013
By: RoteFreiherr
from McCaysville GA
"Purchased this fly rod for my fiancé with the gift personalized for a small fee. She is very excited for us to take lessons from the local Orvis store."
Review 7 for Superfine Touch 3-weight 7'6" Fly Rod—Full Flex
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Wonderful rod,
November 18, 2013
By: Lars1y
from Greenville, SC
"Received this rod as a gift. Partnered it with a Battenkill1 reel and Hydros Superfine line. What a combo. The rod casts extremely accurately, and combined with the line and reel weights a quarter of what my 9 foot 4wt nymphing rod and 5wt multi-purpose rods weigh! I have a new favorite! Thanks Orvis"
Review 8 for Superfine Touch 3-weight 7'6" Fly Rod—Full Flex
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Superfine 7'6"3 st.,
April 29, 2013
By: Bionicsjw
from Hampton, VA
"I bought this rod last year and took it to Boulder Creek. It was perfect. I also used this rod on the trout streams of western Virginia. It hs become my favorite freshwater rod. I paired it with the Hydros Reel and I thought it had better balance than the Battenkill."
Review 9 for Superfine Touch 3-weight 7'6" Fly Rod—Full Flex
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Rod!!!,
December 28, 2012
By: MSas789
"I Bought this rod for my significant other and he is in love how light weight it feels and the way it flexes with your every move! I would highly recommend this rod to any fly fisherman it is a great gift."
Review 10 for Superfine Touch 3-weight 7'6" Fly Rod—Full Flex
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fantastic...just fantastic.,
August 14, 2012
By: SparseGreyDusty
from Clinton, NY
"Went down to Manchester to the Orvis shop with my dad to buy a couple new rods & reels. I had my heart set on the 6' 2-weight Superfine, but totally fell in love with the 7'6" 3. Paired with a CFO I reel, this rod casts beautifully. Perfect amount of backbone with flex you can feel in the grip."
Review 11 for Superfine Touch 3-weight 7'6" Fly Rod—Full Flex
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best in class!,
August 1, 2012
By: DSmith
from Sweden
"This is the best rod I've ever tried, and I've tried them all!
I only dry flies, emergers, soft hackles and smaller nymphs, pupaes and larvaes and this full flex rod from Orvis is the anwer to perfect and delicate presentations.
This rod together with the Orvis Superfine fly line is a dream to cast with!
I use the 3 weight on small creeks and streams. Now I'm going to save some money and buy the 5 weight too, for bigger streams and bigger trout.
If you fish trout, this is the rod for you!"
Review 12 for Superfine Touch 3-weight 7'6" Fly Rod—Full Flex
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Old School meets New School,
June 4, 2012
By: Japhy
"What a wonderful rod. Old school in the sense that it has a relaxed, slower casting style.....New school, because it does so with graphite and at such a light weight.....a highly tuned little instrument. Can cast small weighted nymnphs and emergers quite nicely.......dries however are where this thing is a dream. Handles small to mid sized trout well. Lots of feedback and tippet protection. If you enjoy small stream golden or brook trout type fishing in reasonably close quarters.....this is your rod."
Review 13 for Superfine Touch 3-weight 7'6" Fly Rod—Full Flex
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Instant satisfaction,
May 24, 2012
By: Roccster
from Sweden
"I got the opportunity to try this rod at a demonstration day by our club water. I was looking for a lighter rod for those smaller waters and greeks. Orvis was the first rod i tried and for the first time since I started fly fishing I was casting with a rod that just performed exactly as I wanted. Often when trying rods I havent cast with before I feel you need some time to get familiar with the rod. This was not the case with the Superfine Touch.
This rod just worked. Even though its a light rod, and shorter then Im used to, I could match the lenghts of my overhand cast to my class 5 rod. Roll casting is wonderful, and here I really felt the difference between this and my other rods.
Also, managing very short line is no problem, and you can basicly fish with just the leader where needed.
Since my purchase I have used it in reservoirs and creeks. I have cought several trouts on it already, where two have been good pieces over 2lb, and fighting fish with it is just a dream. The full flex really helps in keeping the tippet from breaking and to get the fish tired fast.
I fell in love with this rod the first time i tried it, and with the Hydro Superfine fly line its just an amazing setup.
Also tried the Helios 2wt but that rod didnt come close to this wonderful piece!"
Review 14 for Superfine Touch 3-weight 7'6" Fly Rod—Full Flex
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
TOPS,
April 22, 2012
By: Carrera911
from Maine
"I have two Helios rods which I like a lot. I bought this rod to use on "small waters" and couldn't be more pleased. I love the way it casts and handles overall. A great small waters rod!!!!!! Used most recently on Canyon Creek, AZ."
Review 15 for Superfine Touch 3-weight 7'6" Fly Rod—Full Flex
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fantastic rod!!,
December 3, 2011
By: CWL14
from Greenfield, MA
"I received this rod as a gift for all the small stream fishing I do. This rod is amazing. It allows for precise presentation in tight quarters but also has no problem giving you great distant casts. As delicate as it is, it is also very strong and I have used it in bigger water as well.
I have primarily been fishing nymphs with it so far, but I cannot wait for dry flies. It will allow for delicate, exact presentation.
Thanks again for another top quality product!!"
Review 16 for Superfine Touch 3-weight 7'6" Fly Rod—Full Flex
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A Real Dandy,
September 26, 2011
By: PuertoPainter
from Peoria, IL
""Super Fine Touch" pretty much says it all. It's SUPERbly built., FINEly detailed, and has a wonderful casting TOUCH. My wife and I are relatively new to the sport of fly-fishing and about 6 years ago purchased matching Orvis 5 wt, 9' Clearwater Classic series rods and Battenkill reels. These have served us well for most of our fishing needs, but recently we have begun exploring the opportunities of fishing small streams. I decided to add a 3 wt to our arsenal, and with the expert advice of one of Orvis's technical advisors, settled on the 763 Touch with CFO reel. I purchased this just before a recent trip to Colorado with the understanding that I could return it within 30 days if not completely satisfied. After the first hour of fishing, I told my wife there was no way it was being returned. Then I made the mistake of letting her try it and now she won't give it back! It looks like one of us will be getting a Superfine Touch for Christmas."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Superfine Touch 3-weight 7'6" Fly Rod—Full Flex
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Rod,
September 25, 2011
By: Skysoldier
from Washington
"I picked up a Superfine Touch 763-4 after casting multiple other brands / lenghths to use as my small stream rod and I could not be happier with it's performance. This rod is a real pleasure to cast and does a great job handling the Cutthroat and Rainbow Trout in my local streams."
Review 18 for Superfine Touch 3-weight 7'6" Fly Rod—Full Flex
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Wonderful,
June 12, 2011
By: FeatherFly
from Northern California
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"I recently purchased this rod to fish small mountain streams. The first time I took it out to a nearby backyard stream I was blown away. It is the perfect set up for tight spaces requiring precision. The feel and speed are perfect. I was able to cast in tight quarters 10-15 feet and just as easily cast to precise spots several times further.
The feel of this rod made even the smallest trout a kick to hook. Three hours and 20+ fish later I love this rod. :)"
Review 19 for Superfine Touch 3-weight 7'6" Fly Rod—Full Flex
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great rod,
May 24, 2011
By: Flyfisher87
from Charlotte, NC
"I brought my 3 wt. home last week and I am so pleased with the purchase. It is a fine piece of equipment and worth the couple of months I waited to purchase it. The quality is second to none and it casts like a work of art. I know a rod does not make an angler, but this rod will make an artist of a caster when fishing small waters. I tried a Winston and a Sage TXL and chose the Superfine Touch over both. It was a great decision.
I highly recommend this rod."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Superfine Touch 3-weight 7'6" Fly Rod—Full Flex
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
exceeded my high expectations,
April 10, 2011
By: tenn
from gatlinburg, tn.
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
"after much research i purchased this rod for the small streams of east tennessee mountains and i couldnt be happier. it is easy to cast in short tight spaces and has plenty of backbone for the occasional larger trout here. good looks great feel!"