Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product
This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Orvis.

Superfine Touch 2-weight 8' Fly Rod—Full Flex

2½ oz. 8', 4-piece, Full-Flex Fly Rod for 2-wt. line.On a glassy, calm pool, with fish that have seen it all before, having a soft presentation and a lifelike drift is imperative. Even on the smallest of streams, sometimes a 7-foot rod just won't do. That's where the Superfine Touch 802-4 excels. It's long enough to make all the casts and deftly control the line, yet lightweight and delicate enough to fish spring creeks and size 24 dries. High-stick through a riffle, then head upstream and drift a Griffith's Gnat down the slickest of water. With its Full-Flex action, you will feel every movement, from the fly all the way to the tips of your fingers. Made in Manchester, Vermont.
Average Customer Rating:
4.889 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (9 reviews)
5 stars
8
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
9 of 9(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Superfine Touch 2-weight 8' Fly Rod—Full Flex
Review 1 for Superfine Touch 2-weight 8' Fly Rod—Full Flex
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Superfine Touch is the way to go!,
November 26, 2014
By: Rick1NFF
from Louisville, KY
"Being a fairly new fly fisherman after years of conventional fishing, I am starting to better understand the nuances of different fly rod actions, weights, lengths, and their appropriate applications. After starting with a "general purpose" 9' 5wt medium fast rod and having mostly smaller streams near me, I have realized that a little lighter weight, shorter, full flex rod is better suited to these conditions.
The full flex action of the Superfine Touch series is perfect for these types of waters where typical casts are 10'-30'. I have now built an arsenal of these rods from 1-5wt in various lengths depending on the conditions. This 8' 2wt is great for calm days and can easily handle the 10"-15" rainbows that frequent these streams. The 8' length is short enough for when the area is tight, but still long enough to mend line well. Even seems to be enough rod for nymphs.
My all around favorite rods for these waters so far are the Superfine 8' 4wt and 8 1/2' 3wt, but adding this 8' 2wt along with an 8 1/2' 5wt and an awesome little ultralight 7 1/2' 1 wt pretty much covers the spectrum of any conditions on these streams.
If I could only have 1 rod for this type of water, it would likely be the 8' 4wt, but if you can have several and like ultralight fishing, this 8' 2wt is awesome and seems to have plenty of guts to handle decent sized fish and land them quickly. Not to mention the sheer fun of a 10"-15" rainbow on this size rod! You won't regret having one of these."
Review 2 for Superfine Touch 2-weight 8' Fly Rod—Full Flex
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent decision,
October 22, 2014
By: MaxFly59
"I'm a beginner.
After getting skunked by the well educated fish on the Swift in MA I bought a 2wt on the recommendation of a friend. First day out, fishing #24 - #30 dries on 8X tippet hooked 8 and landed 2. None broke the tippet. All spit the fly right near the end. I didn't have faith and was too wimpy on my hookset,
I
"
Review 3 for Superfine Touch 2-weight 8' Fly Rod—Full Flex
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Superfine - Superfun,
August 4, 2014
By: JackLN
from Avon CT
"I've fished streams with ultralight spinning gear for more than 50 years. I started fly fishing about 7 years ago and have always felt that the spinning gear allowed me to experience a better fight, especially from smaller fish.
The tide has turned. My Superfine Touch 8ft 2wt makes a 12" trout feel like a trophy. It's all about fun.
"
Review 4 for Superfine Touch 2-weight 8' Fly Rod—Full Flex
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Orvis 802-4 Full Superfine Rod,
June 4, 2013
By: WindKn0t
from Reno Nv
"I was skeptical at first. A 2 wt rod in windy Nevada.... Well, the first cast set all my worries to rest. This rod is wonderful! With the Superfine 2wt line, it casts like a dream, even against somewhat gusty winds. If you need more, re line it with Hydros 2wt for more oomph!
I love this rod and it's gentle presentation. It is my go to rod for small streams and ponds. As for hooking bigger fish, i've landed 10 inch trout without hassle and did not overplay it."
Review 5 for Superfine Touch 2-weight 8' Fly Rod—Full Flex
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Smooth, accurate, elegant.,
January 1, 2013
By: JNazal
from Santiago, Chile.
"This rod has become my favourite rod for spring creeks and small rivers. Perfectly manufactured, beautiful cast and performance. I totally recommend it.
Do not even think casting this rod under windy conditions.
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Superfine Touch 2-weight 8' Fly Rod—Full Flex
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Superfine Touch,
November 12, 2012
By: Jasper1
from Lichfield, Staffordshire, UK
"This is an excellent rod. For an 8'6" rod, 2 weight, it combines precision of casting with the excitement of really 'feeling' the fish all the way to the net. It weighs only 2oz, which is also remarkable. This rod was intended to be a somewhat indulgent addition to my collection - one that I would only use now and again, but already it has become a firm favourite."
Review 7 for Superfine Touch 2-weight 8' Fly Rod—Full Flex
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Smooth Performance,
June 11, 2012
By: rsagebrush
"I have a custom made 8' 2wt Touch and it is the best brookie rod I have ever used. I have some very good small stream sticks but some of those will be up for sale soon as this rod completely blows the doors off them.
Lays the line (2wt Superfine Hydros) down like a whisper and makes an 8" seem twice a big. Handles small to large dry flies. I don't think it would handle wind well (it is a 2wt) but under canopy streams it is about the best rod I have ever used. Kudos to Orvis for the design work. I do not like the bling on the Orvis made rods though, so I will take mine custom made and simple please!
I think I will be trying many more of these Touch rods in the near future.
"
Review 8 for Superfine Touch 2-weight 8' Fly Rod—Full Flex
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Superfine Touch, 8', 2wt,
February 7, 2012
By: Dale49
"Used the rod today for the first time. Fished a medium size wild trout stream in southcentral PA.
The rod handled like a dream!
I was fishing very small flies on very light tippet (7 to 9x). The full flex feature of this rod protected the light tippet and no break-offs. Several of the fish approached 17 inches and never felt that the rod bend was an issue.
I also felt that my casting accuracy improved with this rod. I found no issues with this rod. I also did not feel arm weary using this light rod.
Can't wait to use it again."
Review 9 for Superfine Touch 2-weight 8' Fly Rod—Full Flex
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Super Fine,
July 4, 2011
By: Jakey
"Does what it says on the tin, lovely action, delicate presentation, casts smoothly and a reasonable distance when required. Any gripes? Whilst I like the look of the rougher, unsanded blank, it does seem to catch the leader more, and means that the tippet no longer "slides off" on those occasions when it pings backs and wraps around the rod. Minor quibble, but you usually have to unwrap it by hand rather than shake it out"