Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Access 5-weight 9' Fly Rod—Mid Flex

2⅜ oz. 9', 4-piece, Mid-Flex Fly Rod for 5-wt. line.Access offers a version of the 9-foot-5-weight fly fishing rod with performance characteristics that are as good as any rod on the market at a price that is hard to believe. It's lightweight and yet has the ability to throw long casts in the wind across big water and fight big fish like no other 5-weight on the market. With its more traditional Mid Flex action, this rod is built with our proprietary tapers and actions developed on Helios by our rod designers, and if you haven't cast this rod yet, make sure you do, as its performance can only be appreciated in use. The Mid-Flex fly rod action allows precise casts and greater sensitivity down closer to the hand for those who like a bit more feel in their casting stroke. All this at the remarkable Access price. Made in USA.
Average Customer Rating:
4.875 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (24 reviews)
5 stars
22
4 stars
1
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
23 of 24(96%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Access 5-weight 9' Fly Rod—Mid Flex
Review 1 for Access 5-weight 9' Fly Rod—Mid Flex
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Incredible Customer Service,
September 12, 2014
By: OrvisFanChappaqua
"I have been fly fishing now for 3 seasons on a beginners rod. I've been thinking to buy an Orvis combo for a while as I envy my buddy's outfit. After a lot of research I decided on the Access outfit. I ordered an Access 8.6ft 4 weight midflex outfit last Friday evening. I forgot to personalize the rod and was a bit bummed about it. The next morning (Saturday) I received an email saying I hadn't specified right or left hand retrieval. If I would like them to load the backing and line on the reel then I should specify which hand. After clarifying this point I asked if I could get my rod personalized? They told me the rod would be delivered out of a store since they were locally out of stock. Personalization could be done on a different outfit if I wanted. I went with the 9 ft 5 weight outfit instead after discussing options with customer service by phone and of course they are personalizing it for me. Even with all the back and forth emails and a final phone call on Monday to work through the final details, I was just sent an email that my outfit was shipped last night and I should have it in hand on Monday (so just 3 days to personalize as they mentioned to me before shipping). I've never experienced this level of customer service in just the ordering process alone. The folks at Orvis were so flexible and patient with me. I can't wait for a very early Xmas present to arrive in time to do some more fishing before the season is over. Thanks Orvis!"
Review 2 for Access 5-weight 9' Fly Rod—Mid Flex
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
New Rod Combo,
September 1, 2014
By: MarkJohnson
"Took this fishing and it performed as booked ..... Excellent .... I would recommend this rod/reel combo to antone that likes quality,"
Review 3 for Access 5-weight 9' Fly Rod—Mid Flex
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great rod for price,
August 11, 2014
By: Simcho
from California
"This rod is amazing, nothing better for price to quality out there! Love my new rod and the experience when in hand."
Review 4 for Access 5-weight 9' Fly Rod—Mid Flex
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
New Toy For The Rivers,
April 30, 2014
By: JNDfromOR
from Alpine, UT
"I purchased this rod to replace a 20 year old clearwater 2 piece 5 weight that I will be retiring with honors. I opted for the Access 9ft 5 wt 4 pc , not that there is anything wrong with the Clearwater. I'm just wanting to get closer and closer to a Helios 2 without breaking the budget. I did comparison casting in the backyard with the Access and the old Clearwater and there is a marked difference both in weight and accuracy.. I didn't think an ounce and a half would be that noticeable. It feels good in the hand and is well balanced with a newer clearwater reel that I purchased before hand. Maybe one day when I win the lottery, I'll buy a Helios 2, but for now, I'm happy with the Access."
Review 5 for Access 5-weight 9' Fly Rod—Mid Flex
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A Fly Rod that shouldn't be over looked,
April 12, 2014
By: Nightrunr31
from Upstate NY
"I am truly overall pleased with the appearance and performance of this rod. The colors seem to give it an old classy look, the hardware seems to be just about right for a rod at this price point. The performance of this rod is what really impressed me. Very light in the hand with a Battenkill BBS3, casts seem almost effortless. I am very pleased with it and has become the best rod I have owned so far. I am not a novice and I am not rich so a Helios 2 was way past my budget, But this Access is a rod that shouldn't be over looked. Try it and you won't be disappointed and just maybe it will become your favorite too."
Review 6 for Access 5-weight 9' Fly Rod—Mid Flex
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Work of Art,
October 21, 2013
By: Vincent1852
from MG Buckinghamshire
"My first impression On receipt of my Work of Art was the packaging, it gets better. The rod case quality is second to none, and then unzipping the case to reveal that each section of which there are four each contained a section of my Work of Art. The quality and workmanship makes this rod an absolute pleasure to own. This in combination with my Orvis real makes this a perfectly balanced combination which I am sure will last me many years and give me everlasting pleasure."
Review 7 for Access 5-weight 9' Fly Rod—Mid Flex
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
value for money,
September 14, 2013
By: pigion
from Wassenaazr Netherlands
"Well balanced rod for souple and large casts.
Length ok, specially when the borders are a bit rough the 15 cm. more is welcome.
"
Review 8 for Access 5-weight 9' Fly Rod—Mid Flex
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Access 5 weight 9' mid flex,
July 16, 2013
By: Kendell
from Oregon
"I bought a access mid flex 9' 5 weight rod and was very pleased at the casting ability it provides for a beginner in this sport. I look forward to many years of using this amazing product."
Review 9 for Access 5-weight 9' Fly Rod—Mid Flex
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Rod breaks--Customer Service Great!,
May 15, 2013
By: JohnCentralPA
from Hollidaysburg, PA
"While fishing a small PA stream, I snagged an underwater root. I gave a gentle jerk to free my fly and snap...my Access rod broke! I called customer service the next morning. I spoke with Patrick. I explained what happened and he was very apologetic. I shipped the rod back on Wednesday and on the following Monday I had a brand new rod on my doorstep. My old rod could not be repaired, so a new rod was shipped immediately! I did not miss a day of fishing. I also learned that your local Orvis dealer will return the rod and save you money on the handling charges....and if you go to your local ORVIS shop they will almost always give you a loaner rod so you don't miss a day of fishing! Great job Patrick..and great job ORVIS! The best customer service around!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Access 5-weight 9' Fly Rod—Mid Flex
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Phenomenal Rod!,
April 8, 2013
By: Troutman94
from Bradford, PA
"I would first like to say that about 6 years ago I started fly fishing with a Cortland Walmart special...However, thanks to my graduation and my mother being so wonderful I received the Orvis Access rod for a gift. I got it the night I walked across the stage and when I saw the quality and the fact that even my signature was on the rod I instantly fell in love. Now, for my purposes this rod has been absolutely perfect. Enough back bone to really whip it out across water, but at the same time enough delicacy to fish for the little brookies that inhabit local streams. The first time I put this rod together and started casting it I almost fainted, thinking now that this must be what a good fly rod feels like. It has now been many months with it and I feel I have tested it to the fullest and I am still just as and most definitely more thrilled to own it than the day I received it. Just the pure quality and the way Orvis stands behind their products is fantastic. This was really a very big upgrade to my past equipment. And last but not least, I will soon be purchasing another Orvis rod or two in the near future and I am sure I will be just as thrilled. This rod has shaped me into the crazy everyday fly fisherman that I have become since receiving it. Thanks Orvis.
Sincerely,
Jordan Packard
"
Review 11 for Access 5-weight 9' Fly Rod—Mid Flex
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Easy Access for a beginner,
January 26, 2013
By: hansthenewbie
from Los Angeles, CA
"I bought this rod to replace my first ever fly rod 5wt 8'6" 3pcs which I bought from a big store brand clearance bin. Anyway, it was very difficult for me as a beginner who never had a casting class to throw those tight loops even in a windless warehouse. However, this Access 905-4 changed everything after just 2 short practice sessions in the park and in my backyard (facing the wind). This rod is very forgiving for any kind of beginner mistakes. I could feel the tip was bending in my back cast, and tight loops in the front cast. It helps me with my backcast timing. I still need some consistency and minor adjustment but this rod is a great helper. I am more confident beginner from now on."
Review 12 for Access 5-weight 9' Fly Rod—Mid Flex
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Technicalities,
September 9, 2012
By: Fishby
from Massachusetts
"I got this rod a couple days ago and have only lawn cast it a little. In this regard it was a good rod. I, not being a highly experienced fly fisherman had no complaints nor great praises. However, being a bit of a specifications freak I decided to measure the rod where I found two areas of concern:
(1) The joints of the rod do not touch by roughly 3/4 inch. This shouldn't prove much of an issue, but makes me feel a little nervous when using the rod.
(2) More seriously, I weighed the rod. It measured in at 2.8oz. or 2.5 ozt. 2.8oz. is 20% heavier than the 2 3/8oz. marked on the rod, and if they were using troy ounces (ozt.) then it should have been marked that way! As this rod is still lighter than my previous rod I cannot speak to how much difference it makes, yet this is slightly disappointing.
"
0 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Access 5-weight 9' Fly Rod—Mid Flex
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
New rod - With my name on it!,
September 4, 2012
By: Frode
from Northern Norway (Bodoe)
"To an aspiring fly-fisher and trout-lover, this rod seems like a perfect all-rounder. I will have to consider a second 3-wt superfine-rouch rod too. Light, responsive and seems to load quite well.
For a small fee, I got my name nicely inscribed too. Not that I really needed that - but now it's clearly mine! ;-) Great feature for a gift.
Rod and tube (which is quite rugged) is 730 grams total. Up till now, I have have used a 9-ft 2-pc rod - which was always hard to carry on my rucksack in "branchy" woods."
Review 14 for Access 5-weight 9' Fly Rod—Mid Flex
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
First orvis fly rod,
August 3, 2012
By: duffey
"I have used my new orvis access 5 wt. midflex fly rod twice & am very pleased with it. It is nice & light & casts beautifully. Excellent buy for the money."
Review 15 for Access 5-weight 9' Fly Rod—Mid Flex
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
What a great buy!,
July 6, 2012
By: Brokenstrawskip
from Hurst, TX
"I purchased an Access 9' mid-flex 5 wt for my annual fly fishing trip with my fishing buddy of 56 years (It was hard to pry the Access out of his hands). With nymphs and dries the Access exhibited great feel and after 10-12 hours on the stream stayed light and effortless to cast. It is now my favorite 5 wt. of the five I currently own. Great product Orvis."
Review 16 for Access 5-weight 9' Fly Rod—Mid Flex
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fantastic Rod,
June 19, 2012
By: CTTroutBum
from Marlborough, CT
"I am half way through my second season of fly-fishing and decided it was time to upgrade from my "beginners 5wt" package. I decided on the Access 9f 5w mid flex outfit and COULD NOT BE HAPPIER! The rod and reel, coupled with the new hydros trout line have been amazing. Over the past few weeks, I have used it for dries to rainbows and browns and poppers to small mouth bass and blue gills and it performed great. I highly recommend this rod and reel package and based on the service I have received, will continue to be an Orvis customer for a long time!"
Review 17 for Access 5-weight 9' Fly Rod—Mid Flex
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great slower action rod,
June 7, 2012
By: phin
from Montana
"I have several Access rods and really like this mid flex five weight because the action is almost a full flex. Hard to find in this era of rocket ship tapers. For small to medium flies and lighter tippets this is the perfect rod. And it handles everything well."
Review 18 for Access 5-weight 9' Fly Rod—Mid Flex
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
New Lucky Rod!,
May 21, 2012
By: AndyE
"This was a surprise gift from my wife just before a guided trip to the West Branch of the Ausable. My wife ended up fishing with it most of the day and landed her first trout on a fly! I got to fish with it the next day and landed a beautiful brown on our local Adirondack creek. That evening we picked up our daughter from her grandparents and she and I were catching sunnys from their pond! Three for Three! Great rod-performed very well-already creating great memories!"
Review 19 for Access 5-weight 9' Fly Rod—Mid Flex
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
April 11, 2012
By: flyboy392
from Hughesville,PA
"These new Access fly pole is so light its like not having anything in your hand. I'm only into my second year of fly fishing but I've learned one thing" If it says ORVIS you can't go wrong. What a great fly rod!"
Review 20 for Access 5-weight 9' Fly Rod—Mid Flex
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
awesome rod,
February 22, 2012
By: mpbfeb
from shaftsbury vt
"I have had my 5wgt accent mid flex 9' rod for almost a year now and i will never own a different rod. I love this rod. AS a matter of fact i broke the tip this past summer. Took it to orvis in manchester as i am lucky enuff toy live 20 miles away. They lent me a helios while mine was being fixed without my even asking. After fishing a bit with the helios i couldnt wait for my rod to be done. The accent in my opinion is the best rod."