Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Streamline Fly-Fishing Outfit 905-4

A fly rod and reel combo at a great price for the beginning angler that will handle any freshwater situation from ponds to big rivers. 9' 5-weight Tip-Flex rod is a great all-around performer and can handle small dries to big streamers. Clearwater® III Reel. 150 yards of 30 Dacron® backing. A 90' weight-forward 5 chartreuse floating line and a 9' 2X leader. Also includes a carrying case and The Orvis Guide to Beginning Fly Fishing. Just add a fly and they're ready to fish.
Average Customer Rating:
4.375 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (16 reviews)
5 stars
7
4 stars
8
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
14 of 16(88%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Streamline Fly-Fishing Outfit 905-4
Review 1 for Streamline Fly-Fishing Outfit 905-4
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Up to standard,
April 3, 2014
By: bergers
from North Yorkshire
"Bought as a standby for my other Orvis rods.
Would certainly recommend as the ideal rod for a newcomer to Fly Fishing
"
Review 2 for Streamline Fly-Fishing Outfit 905-4
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
nice beginer setup,
October 22, 2013
By: littlefish
from Atlanta, GA
"This is a great beginner setup. I wanted to see if Fly fishing was something I wanted to get into and this setup was the right price and the right gear."
Review 3 for Streamline Fly-Fishing Outfit 905-4
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
poor cork,
October 6, 2013
By: gardener100
from norfolk uk
"hi,
I bought an orvis 8'6" 5# outfit for general fishing, I caught a lot of fish with it, trout to 6lb and carp to 20lb 3oz.
I was cleaning the rod after a trip and found to my dismay and disappointment that the cork was peeling off the hand grip, it turns out the handle was made from composite covered in a very thin cork tape.
this is poor orvis. I have rods ranging in price from £20 up and they all have a handle made from solid cork rings, as a premium brand here in the uk this is not what I would consider acceptable, it is sharp practise at the very least.
as I liked the rod I have bought a real cork handle reamed to take the reel seat, and have removed and replaced the cork, and put the seat back, I am planning to take it fishing again soon. the cost of replacing the cork handle was £20.
if you bought cork handles by the 1000 it would cost peanuts.
as a premium brand looking to use the streamline to introduce your products to newcomers to fly fishing this kind of experience is not going to help.
I have a fair bit of orvis kit, so I know what your gear is usually like, other people may not.
thanks."
Review 4 for Streamline Fly-Fishing Outfit 905-4
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Good rod clunky reel.,
October 1, 2013
By: Bramblebush
from Surrey, England
"The rod is a tad too long but with a marvellous action which flatters us beginners, but the reel is not up to the company's name."
Review 5 for Streamline Fly-Fishing Outfit 905-4
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Fly rod,
June 20, 2013
By: rlovering1
"Of good quality and nice. Great product for a beginner."
Review 6 for Streamline Fly-Fishing Outfit 905-4
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
works for me,
June 16, 2013
By: iq600
from dut.cty-NY
"easy to cast excelent for beginners good value.the reel click is really loude & is anoying,but no reviews on it"
Review 7 for Streamline Fly-Fishing Outfit 905-4
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
My Husband LOVES IT,
November 29, 2012
By: WIFEGONEFISHING
from Washougal, WA
"This is a great product, and my husband is very satisfied with this product. My brother recommended it for me ,clearly I do not personally know very much about fly fishing poles.It was a definite success!! Let's go get the BIG ONE."
Review 8 for Streamline Fly-Fishing Outfit 905-4
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Amazing package,
July 19, 2012
By: Rainbowking
from Ketchum, Idaho
"I was going to Idaho to fish some of the best rivers in the U.S. and I needed a rod that would be easy to do but enough power to get nice trout. This rod performed really well and ended up catching fish from 7in all the way up to 20in with no problem. This is a spectaculer that doesn't hurt my wallet. Thankyou Orvis"
Review 9 for Streamline Fly-Fishing Outfit 905-4
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Outstanding Starter Kit,
June 27, 2012
By: PopMo
from Ridgecrest, CA
"As a late started in the world of fly fishing, I chose the Streamline Fly-Fishing Outfit 905-4 for my first rig. It performed well right out of the package and after an hour with guide we were on the stream. The streamline handled the day with sensitivity and ruggedness to land 8 to 18 inch trout. It performed well using both wet and dry flies. It packs well and assembles quickly which is nice whether heading out to practice or to spend the day working the water and it did not kill the wallet. Thanks Orvis."
Review 10 for Streamline Fly-Fishing Outfit 905-4
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
fly fishing kit,
August 16, 2011
By: Anonymous
from Susan, Bellevue, Washington
"What a great kit. This is just what I needed to get started in a well equipped way to fly fish trout in our beautiful Pacific Northwest rivers. This and the beginning class have given me the confidence I needed to get a good start in this neat sport!"
Review 11 for Streamline Fly-Fishing Outfit 905-4
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great price for starter setup,
August 11, 2011
By: fish4brandon4fish
from San Diego, CA
"This setup is perfect for a beginner to get introduced to fly fishing. Everything works well."
Review 12 for Streamline Fly-Fishing Outfit 905-4
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great Value,
July 12, 2011
By: mvauga
"Great value for the introductory fly fisherman. Rod and reel are basic but good quality, and the case and how to fly fish book are a bonus. Overall, this is a great deal."
Review 13 for Streamline Fly-Fishing Outfit 905-4
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great XMAS gift,
May 26, 2011
By: millershootsply
"My wife bought the Streamline rod\reel combo for Christmas. It is a 5 wt. 9' rod. This is the first fly rod I was able to cast. I suggest buying this combo instead of the big store's deals. It is so nice to have equipment that works so smooth and easy. Thank you ORVIS for providing a great product for us starters."
Ratings-Only Reviews for Streamline Fly-Fishing Outfit 905-4
Based on the average of (3) ratings-only reviews
Overall Rating: 
3.7 / 5
3.7 / 5
Would recommend? Yes 2 out of 3