Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Access Switch 7-weight 11' Fly Rod—Tip Flex

4⅞ oz. 11', 4-piece, Tip-Flex Fly Rod for 7-wt. line.Built with an extended switch grip and all the technology developed in the past few years the Access 117-4 Switch is a great Ohio and Erie tributary rod, offering excellent mend characteristics for indicators and swinging, and the best all-around low-water Pacific Northwest rod. Steelhead technique has never been easier or more versatile than now with Access' new lightweight switch rod that allows you to fish all day and have the best chance for success at a price that's almost laughably low for the performance. Made in USA. Rod outfit includes:Access 7-weight 11' Tip-Flex Switch RodAccess V Reel - GoldSwitch Line - Yellow225 yards of 30lb Dacron backingCordura rod tube with internal dividers
Average Customer Rating:
3.818 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (11 reviews)
5 stars
6
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
2
8 of 11(73%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Access Switch 7-weight 11' Fly Rod—Tip Flex
Review 1 for Access Switch 7-weight 11' Fly Rod—Tip Flex
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
March 31, 2014
By: Flyjack
"This is a great rod , I went out Sunday and bought the first steelhead of the year on it ."
Review 2 for Access Switch 7-weight 11' Fly Rod—Tip Flex
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Good workhorse switch,
January 2, 2014
By: ChrisSchalz
from Ohio
"A good no frills rod that handles skagit lines very well. Casts well overhead and with spey/skagit techniques. With a 465 gr head it is a total rocket launcher. Good US made rod for the money"
Review 3 for Access Switch 7-weight 11' Fly Rod—Tip Flex
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Top of the Line,
October 20, 2013
By: Karoondinha
from Spring Creek Country, PA
"After spending a few days in Michigan with this rod and others I can honestly say I am impressed with what this rod can do. We had several rods with us but kept fighting over who got to use this one because of how lightweight and easy to cast this stick is. This rod was great for the guys just learning when our experienced guides would actually give it up for a few casts. If you are considering making the switch, this rod is worth it. Easy to cast and light make this a great tool for swinging or nymphing for steelhead."
Review 4 for Access Switch 7-weight 11' Fly Rod—Tip Flex
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
It's a fine rod,
May 17, 2013
By: heo9542
from San Diego, CA
"I am new to switch rods but I have been wanting to try for awhile. This rod is great. I am still working on spey casting,but as for over head casting, if I use a roll cast pick up I can get 100 feet of line out with one back cast. I see reviews of people having problems with the reel seat, I personally have no problem with it. Just as long as you tighten will it hold the reel just fine."
Review 5 for Access Switch 7-weight 11' Fly Rod—Tip Flex
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Over priced... Over rated,
December 20, 2012
By: pkgerlach
"I am now on my third 7wt Access Switch Rod. It snapped on me at the second ferrule, the first week I purchased it. I sent it back and of course it was repaired... Then when Steelhead fishing in it snapped in the same place... This time, I was in the middle of the stream, .. Of course, Orvis repaired it... but it should not have broken in the first place. I cannot recommend this rodt. I am pretty disappointed with this product."
Review 6 for Access Switch 7-weight 11' Fly Rod—Tip Flex
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This Rod is Suh-weeet!,
November 21, 2012
By: NNCC
from San Jose, CA
"Orvis hit a home run with this rod! Extremely lightweight, tons of power, and super smooth action. I use a 450 grain compact skagit and it throws it like a champ, even with a heavy sink tip attached. Using it to high-stick is wonderful and the rod is very accurate on 30-foot casts as well as 80-foot casts.
Reading the other reviews, I have never found the reel seat to be an issue. The Mirage V large arbor that I use on it has always been secure. Maybe Orvis has fixed the issue regarding the flimsy reel seat."
Review 7 for Access Switch 7-weight 11' Fly Rod—Tip Flex
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Poor Reel Seat,
December 12, 2011
By: GTODRIVER
"I purchased this rod only to return it a few days later. Reel seat is poorly designed. Tightening the nut as snug as you can get it and the reel still moves. My old Clearwater rod has a better seat."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Access Switch 7-weight 11' Fly Rod—Tip Flex
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent action,
September 21, 2011
By: RogG
from Ohio
"I have used the rod 4 time and am impressed on the lightness and performance while chasing steelhead.
I have cast both spey stile and regular.
"
Review 9 for Access Switch 7-weight 11' Fly Rod—Tip Flex
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great Switch Rod,
September 21, 2011
By: Bporter
from Flagstaff, AZ
"Light, beautiful, and functional. I plan on using it at Lees Ferry in AZ for big rainbow trout, as well as when I visit the Pacific NW for Steelhead. Great Rod!"
Review 10 for Access Switch 7-weight 11' Fly Rod—Tip Flex
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Access Switch,
May 23, 2011
By: JC2010
"Rod has great action and is easy to cast with two-handed maneuvers. Fairly accurate. Only dissapointment is the flimsy reel seat. Would have been nice to have more solid attachments on that end."
Review 11 for Access Switch 7-weight 11' Fly Rod—Tip Flex
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Weak Reel Seat,
March 10, 2011
By: ebltm
from Massachusetts
Good Value: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Features: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Appearance: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
"The reel seat on Access rods is not strong enough. I suspected this when looking at it, but the salesman convinced me to give it a try. I took the 7 weight switch rod home and tried to mount my reel, but couldn't get a solid mount without actually bending the thin metal on the sleeve. The reel mounts and performs fine on other, similar rods.
I'm returning the rod and will wait to see if Orvis addresses this issue. I like everything else about the rod and I own other Orvis rods, including Helios. I have about 40 years of fly fishing experience."
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.