Orvis Ratings and Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Orvis.

Access 7-weight 10' Fly Rod—Tip Flex

3¼ oz. 10', 4-piece, Tip-Flex Fly Rod for 7-wt. line.Steelheading techniques require length for tactics, coupled with power to handle the fight with these powerful fish. This Access 107-4 gives you everything you need at a more than remarkable price. Built with our proprietary tapers and actions developed on Helios this rod offers extra length for mending, strength to handle weighted rigs comfortably and the power to turn those steelhead and keep them and you out of trouble. If steelhead are your passion, the Access 107-4 will be your best friend. When you look at the price to performance ratio it might take the place of your best friend.
Average Customer Rating:
4 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (7 reviews)
5 stars
5
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
1
5 of 7(71%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Access 7-weight 10' Fly Rod—Tip Flex
Review 1 for Access 7-weight 10' Fly Rod—Tip Flex
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Rod,
November 3, 2014
By: flymax
from Northern New York
"This is the fourth Access rod I have purchased. They are a great value for the money, light weight, nice tight action, and of course look great. I will be using this one for landlocked salmon and steelhead."
Review 2 for Access 7-weight 10' Fly Rod—Tip Flex
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Over priced... Over rated,
December 20, 2012
By: pkgerlach
"I am on my third access rod. Broke at the second ferrule. First time, practice casting first week after purchasing. Second time, on the stream Steelhead fishing. Yes Orvis repaired the rod, but it should not have broken to begin with. Very dissapointed with the product."
Response from Orvis:By Orvis Customer Service TeamJanuary 2, 2013
Thank you for your feedback regarding this product. Based on your experiences with the Access 10' 7-weight, we looked into the breakage rates for this particular model. This rod has an overall breakage rate of less than 7%, and the majority of these breaks occurred in the tip section. Based on standard rates across all Access models, there's nothing out of the ordinary for this rod. We apologize for your inconvenience and want to assure you we take great pride in the craftsmanship of each and every fly rod we produce. Your feedback will only help us continue producing the finest fly rods in the world. As always, we offer a 100% satisfaction guarantee on all of our products.
Review 3 for Access 7-weight 10' Fly Rod—Tip Flex
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The extra yards,
May 18, 2012
By: WoolyB
from Weston CT
"This rod with the class five sink tip added ten yards to my cast. Great stipper combo."
Review 4 for Access 7-weight 10' Fly Rod—Tip Flex
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Rod!,
February 24, 2012
By: JimInNh
from Manchester, NH
"I bought this for the 2011 Steelhead season. But I first had a test run on some NH lakes region salmon. Woohoo! The rod telegraphs the fight right to your hands and has the right length and reflex to maintain hookups when those salmon took to acrobatics. The sensitivity of this rod allows you to feel the ticking of the fly as it bounces over the rivers bottom.
I like the fact that this rod is so light! At the end of the day I feel that my arm is still fresh
Well, November at Salmon River NY was the real proving grounds for my new rod. I had already vetted it on salmon. Now was another challenge. This steel-head rookie was worried that I'd bought too small a rod for NY, but my fears were not long lived.
The first day proved to be quite exciting with 5 hookups with 5 fish landed (thanks to good coaching from the veterans in our club). The rod handled the fish well, plenty of backbone and yet sensitive enough to feel the bottom.
In the next two days I had many other hookups with the normal 30% hook-up to landing rate as the other guys, with fish running from 8 to 13 lbs and some a lot bigger that broke off!
Nothing can quite prepare you for the explosive power of those river steelhead, I'll be out there again with my "lucky rod". I'll be the one with the big (ear to ear) grin on his face ;-)
The rod's fine aesthetics were complemented with my veteran battenkill reel filled with 7wt line.
I bought the rod at Manchester VT. store which made the purchase more special. The folks there are great and very helpful.
Thanks Guys"
Review 5 for Access 7-weight 10' Fly Rod—Tip Flex
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Access 107-4,
January 5, 2012
By: rkupe
from PA
"Nice light weight and good distance with casts. Reel seat will not hold my Hydros V reel still no matter what. Used for one fall/winter steelhead season and the glue came off of my butt cap. I think more effort could be put into reel seat. The rod itself was very nice."
Review 6 for Access 7-weight 10' Fly Rod—Tip Flex
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
July 12, 2011
By: BKill
from Upstate NY
"Almost as light and very similar in feel to my Helios 107-4, but at a fraction of the cost. This is a fantastic stick for Great Lakes steelhead, carp, streamers on a sink tip .... very versatile. You will not be disappointed."
Review 7 for Access 7-weight 10' Fly Rod—Tip Flex
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Access 107-4,
April 25, 2011
By: Agiclone
from Derbyshire, England
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"An excellent rod at an unbelieveable price. I find it slightly softer than it's tip-flex rating would suggest and it roll casts better than I was expecting but nevertheless still casts a tight loop and achieves excellent distance (35 yards+). My only very minor complaints would be I would like to see a hook keep on all rods as standard and I prefer matt finish rods."
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.