Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Access 5-weight 10' Fly Rod—Tip Flex

2¾ oz. 10', 4-piece, Tip-Flex Fly Rod for 5-wt. line.Whether using sophisticated Czech nymphing techniques or mending long lines across multiple currents, the Access 10-foot 5-weight Tip Flex is easily one of the most effective rods you will use for tough, specialized presentations. That extra foot gives you the ability to reach out, and the leverage to pick up line on the water and move it unlike any other regular fly rod. Built with our proprietary tapers and actions developed on Helios by our rod designers, the extreme lightweight makes it easy to handle all day and will significantly reduce the strain on your arms when reaching, high sticking, and mending hour after hour. This is a spectacular rod for float tubers and pontoon anglers as it keeps the back cast high and off the water. As a 5-weight rod, it can easily handle even the largest trout and is a must-have rod for big water trout anglers and even light steelheaders. At this price, this is one of the best values in fly rods today. Made in USA.
Average Customer Rating:
4.333 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (15 reviews)
5 stars
10
4 stars
3
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
1
13 of 15(87%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Access 5-weight 10' Fly Rod—Tip Flex
Review 1 for Access 5-weight 10' Fly Rod—Tip Flex
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
what a rod,
October 16, 2012
By: bruce21m
from maine
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"what a fly rod this think can do it all. i have helios 6wt and it now sits in the rod tube. best rod in this price range and is a good as any higher pricer rod."
Review 2 for Access 5-weight 10' Fly Rod—Tip Flex
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I love this rod,
October 11, 2012
By: cblountus
from Northern California
"I overlined it with a power taper 6 weight line and I have no trouble turning over long indicator rigs. At first I had trouble with line tangles, but then I discovered that I had missed a guide. With a long rod like this, it's easy to do! If you love nymphing, this rod is a must."
Review 3 for Access 5-weight 10' Fly Rod—Tip Flex
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fantastic Rod!,
September 21, 2012
By: wydrifter
from Wyoming
"Just had this rod out for its first try and I am happy to report it was great! Used it on the drift boat all day and never got tired of casting! The extra length is great for mending and for casting double-fly nymph rigs as well as streamers. Does it catch fish? Well, no you still have to do your part but I can tell you it does handle 18-20 inch rainbows just dandy!"
Review 4 for Access 5-weight 10' Fly Rod—Tip Flex
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Could do better,
September 4, 2012
By: Fachan
from Argyll, Scotland
"My Access 105 is a replacement for my much loved TLS.
Got to say that after just offer a years use I'm a little disappointed. The action is great, the line its puts out is good and it plays fish very well.....and it has accounted for some seriously big hill loch browns.
The downside is the build quality isn't there - there are pencil marks on the blank from manufacturing that should have been erased before varnishing, the alingnment dots are slighty out which renders them useless and the reel seat is already falling off the rod. Sorry - but not a patch on the old TLS
I'm also curious as to why we can't get a mid actioned 10ft rod?"
Review 5 for Access 5-weight 10' Fly Rod—Tip Flex
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A Joy to Cast,
July 31, 2012
By: RussT
from Ottawa, Ontario
"Was looking for a nice 50th birthday present to myself. Tested this 10 ft 5 wt at the fly shop and was sold.
Used this past weekend for carping in a local pond. Casting long distances (40+) was a breeze, and the extra length gives great leverage.
I love this rod!"
Review 6 for Access 5-weight 10' Fly Rod—Tip Flex
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
This is my fourth Orvis rod,
July 31, 2012
By: Abbner
from Colorado
"I bought the 10' 5wt Access to be a back up to my Helios 10' 5wt. I've fished the Access pretty much every day for the past two weeks and to be honest, I can't see any mechanical difference, as compared to my Helios. I wasn't sure I wanted to step down from the Helios but I also had a problem spending 800 bucks for a backup rod. Orvis hit it on the head with the rod because I love it."
Review 7 for Access 5-weight 10' Fly Rod—Tip Flex
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great but not for me,
July 19, 2012
By: lespaul
from CT
"This is a terrific rod for the angler that tackles big freshwater fish. I thought it was going to be lighter but at 10', it is what it is. The craftmanship was excellent and by no means is this an average rod, it just was too big/heavy for me to cast for hours. Would be great in a float boat though on big western rivers. Great price I might add!!"
Review 8 for Access 5-weight 10' Fly Rod—Tip Flex
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Glad I Made The Purchase,
June 27, 2012
By: CaptainDav
from Newport Beach, Ca
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"Wasn't sure if I wanted the 10' rod or a 9' rod. I knew I was going to use it primarily for light line 3-4# tippet in the surf or Newport Harbor for bass. I was very happy from the first cast at the shop where I bought it.
It cast great and has the back bone to punch a weighted fly into the wind on the beach.
Second trip out I was able to catch a small yet fun Barred Surf Perch, and am looking forward to catching a Corbina.
I do wish that Orvis would have finished the ferrels the same way as they do on the Helios, but that is my only complaint so far.
Thank you Orvis for making a quality product here in the USA."
Review 9 for Access 5-weight 10' Fly Rod—Tip Flex
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Access Rod = Access to Fish,
May 7, 2012
By: Espoty01
from Sacramento, CA
"Purchased the 10' tip flex 5 weight rod and it delivered! Use primarily for nymphing and scored big time on guided trip on Lewiston Lake in Northern CA with 17 Rainbow Trout to net ranging from 8 to 18 inches. Orivs, how about making a 10' tip flex 6 weight Access rod? I'm "hooked" on it!"
Review 10 for Access 5-weight 10' Fly Rod—Tip Flex
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
My 1st Orvis Rod, but not my last,
April 23, 2012
By: JMGross
from Ohio
"I had been looking for a nymphing rod for a couple of months when Orvis introduced this rod. I jumped at the chance of owning one of these and have not regretted it. Works beautifully as a nymphing rod.
The pleasant suprise for me was how this rod casts. It definitely took a few casts to get the feel of the rod as all of my other trout rods are no longer than 9 foot, but after figuring out the sweet spots, this rod casts like a dream, especially at a distance.
The REAL plus for me was when I was out nymphing and suddenly there was a huge BWO hatch on. I quickly changed to my braided leader and put on a dry fly, cast the fly, and was wow'd at the presentation I was able to get.
This is now my primary rod for all small to medium trout applications."
Review 11 for Access 5-weight 10' Fly Rod—Tip Flex
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Accurate Access,
June 6, 2011
By: Brooker
"Incredible feeling an casting is a delight The workmanship of this product is as good as any 750.00 rod that is in production Orvis is getting right with the program of making quality rods for an affordable price point Keep it going Orvis!"
Review 12 for Access 5-weight 10' Fly Rod—Tip Flex
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Poor connection,
March 25, 2011
By: DMJ1
Good Value: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Features: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Appearance: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
"The four pieces do not mate up well at all and throws the balance off of the rod. While it's normal to have a little space between the connections, the gap is over 1/2""
Response from Orvis:By Orvis Customer ServiceMay 3, 2011
Helios, Hydros and Access all share the same basic fit criteria. Helios is a painted ferrule, while Hydros and Access are unpainted. Unlike some older technology, our ferrules on painted and non painted joints are exactly the same. We do NOT use glued in Spigot ferrules, because they do not transfer energy well. Instead the outside of the blank is precision ground to mate perfectly with its adjoining section. The only difference is Helios is ground slightly more to allow for the paint thickness. On a finished Hydros and Access rod, the unpainted gap space between sections is designed to be 1/2". The gap space has no bearing on the action of the rod, its is only for wear. The more a rod is put together, the tighter the gap spacing will become over a long period of time. If there was no gap to account for this, eventually the ferrule would become loose from wear. On the Helios this wear is taken into consideration as well, it is just not visible because the ferrule is painted.
Review 13 for Access 5-weight 10' Fly Rod—Tip Flex
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
great all round rod,
March 20, 2011
By: HMir
from Michigan
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"Used this rod for light saltwater ... paired up with a Mirage III and an Orvis Bonefish line. This setup performed beyond my expectations. The rod is light and powerful and can make 60+ ft casts easily and has a light presentation that wont spook fish. No problem handling any bonefish or even permit. Really fun setup. Wish the reel seat was nicer but thats it. Cast it back to back same reel and line on a 5wt 10' Helios and the Helios has more punch but this rod has more feel of load and I could time a double haul better with it."
Review 14 for Access 5-weight 10' Fly Rod—Tip Flex
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Nice rod,
March 18, 2011
By: PSUflyfisher
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
"I am a long time Orvis graphie rod fan
This is a the exact rod I was hoping Orvis would make it was like they read my mind.
I took a chance and ordered one and boy am I gald I did Orvis has a winner here. I've owned two other 10' rods from other vendors and sold them both either they were too heavy, or not a true TIP FLEX rod. Orvis got this one right, and better yet it didn't break the bankt!!
If your a nymph guy looking for that extra lenght to get the so important drag free controlled drift, or need to throw a mend into a cast this is the rod for you. One problem my Orvis Silver label 9' 5wt is going to be upest about its lack of use this year LOL
I have one small nit pick they could have done a better job on the ferral wrappings no biggie, and it does not affect the performance of the rod."
Review 15 for Access 5-weight 10' Fly Rod—Tip Flex
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Loving it!,
December 24, 2010
By: blkj
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Appearance: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
"Gotta say I love this rod. It's definitely not a all around workhorse but for nymphing or even longer casts requiring nice presentation (over 30ft) its a great rod to have in the quiver. Lined up right it picks up and throws heavy or light nymph rigs beautifully and mends line like a champ. It also throws line well and while playing around with it I found that casting dry's at long distances over 30ft it has a accurate and light presentation. Up close not so much. For a specialized rod this guy lives up to its job and a bit more. My only complaints are with the rod seats which are soft alloy of some sorts and I question their durability over the years and the cosmetics of things such as the guides (which effect the fishing not at all) which have sloppy wrapping and are not what I expect out of a 350 dollar rod."