Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Access 5-weight 9' Fly Rod—Tip Flex

2½ oz. 9', 4-piece, Tip-Flex Fly Rod for 5-wt. line.Access offers a version of the 9-foot-5-weight fly rod with performance characteristics that are as good as any rod on the market at a price that is hard to believe. It's lightweight and yet has the ability to throw long casts in the wind across big water and fight big fish like no other 5-weight on the market. With its modern Tip Flex action, this rod is built with our proprietary tapers and actions developed on Helios by our rod designers, and if you haven't cast this rod yet, make sure you do, as its performance can only be appreciated in use. The Tip-Flex action is excellent for big water and big trout at the remarkable Access price.
Average Customer Rating:
4.333 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (18 reviews)
5 stars
13
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
2
1 star
1
15 of 18(83%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Access 5-weight 9' Fly Rod—Tip Flex
Review 1 for Access 5-weight 9' Fly Rod—Tip Flex
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Awesome rod,
July 30, 2014
By: WaltS
from Chelmsford, MA
"This rod is truly amazing in my opinion. I purchased the entire outfit and could be more pleased.
Buck in Virginia customer service helped me select the right outfit based upon my ability & type of fishing I did. Buck was truly awesome !! Great customer service...great product!!
"
Review 2 for Access 5-weight 9' Fly Rod—Tip Flex
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
good rod bad reel seat,
June 24, 2014
By: Koop34
from Battenkill NY side
"Reel seat broke during a long cast on the Battenkill. Very surprised at the cheap construction of the most important part of the rod. Does cast far and great on big fish but wouldn't buy another access because of the reel seat."
Review 3 for Access 5-weight 9' Fly Rod—Tip Flex
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
A quality, versatile rod,
November 4, 2013
By: Rookhawk
from Chicago, IL
"A great rod, especially as a first rod for a new caster that needs versatility. It casts like a rod much more expensive but they get the price down by using a simple reel seat. Amazing warranty too!"
Review 4 for Access 5-weight 9' Fly Rod—Tip Flex
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Good Service,
September 30, 2013
By: Rockbreaker
from Northern, NH
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"After breaking the tip of my Access rod I sent it to Orvis in Manchester VT. A week later I received a new rod and rod case, no questions asked. Now that's service! This is an outstanding rod, the tip flex is the one I prefer. Sitting in a canoe, the tip flex rod gets the fly out to the fish with less effort."
Review 5 for Access 5-weight 9' Fly Rod—Tip Flex
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
quality is not there,
May 15, 2013
By: carper
from Baltimore MD
"i received this rod per warranty replacement of a trident tls which i loved. the rod casted fine and had a nice feel. i don't like the ferrules or carbon fiber insert the wrappings are shoddy, and when casting you can hear a creak from the first ferrule connection after 3 months of service the butt cap fell off while hiking in to a gorge to fish, my rod was not strung up and the single uplocking reel seat loosened to the point of my reel falling off lost to the woods forever. it is not orvis's responsibility to replace my reel and i would never ask them too. Orvis rods were made with quality before, this rod is simply not up to past standards and for a rod nearing 400.00 dollars that is simply not acceptable. i will be upgrading as soon as possible i would urge any interested in this rod to save some more money and purchase a helios or h2. if this is to be an entry level rod which is what fit and finish suggest it needs to be priced accordingly. that said the customer service has been top notch as always, thank you for the quality of your customer service but the same cannot be said for the rod in question"
Review 6 for Access 5-weight 9' Fly Rod—Tip Flex
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
access,
April 29, 2013
By: longboots
from Norfolk. UK
"Brought for stillwater trout fishing and browns on small rivers and streams very happy with rod, but it snapped at the bottom spigot the other day while playing a small trout. I am sending it in for repair as I still love this little rod and hope that the customer service / rod repairs service is as good as there sale's service. I would still recommend orvis to all the pupils that I teach to fly fish."
Review 7 for Access 5-weight 9' Fly Rod—Tip Flex
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I like it better than the Sage One,
March 24, 2013
By: ekummerdc
from Williston, ND
"I was at a fly shop trying out rods. I was trying out the Sage One, and it was okay.... Then I picked up this rod, and om my! the feel and ease of casting was so much more than the Sage One I was dumbfounded! The Sage One goes for $775, and the Access $395. And I would pick the Access any day! Later I compaired it to the Winston Boron IIIx. Again I'd take the Access any day, The Helios is even better. I like a fast rod, and Orvis has it! I feel sorry for Orvis' competitors cause they aren't making it easy on them."
Review 8 for Access 5-weight 9' Fly Rod—Tip Flex
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
best fly rod I'v ever owned,
March 21, 2013
By: backpack
from Missoula,MT
"I'v fly fished for years(dry fly). This year I decided to learn how to fish with nymths, so I needed to purchase a new fly rod. The Orvis dealer had in mind my budget and helped me select an Access 9' 5 wt. tip flex.Second time out Nymthing, and I cuaght a 23" rainbow. My rod handled better than I could have ever imagined. Feels so good in my hand, never had a fly rod that felt so good .Wish I could have afforded the helios 2, but I am not disappointed at all with the Access fly rod. Great job Orvis!"
Review 9 for Access 5-weight 9' Fly Rod—Tip Flex
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Loads beautifully,
September 3, 2012
By: MattL
from Winooski, VT
"Coming from a 5 wt 8'6" Clearwater that I had issues with, I noticed right away that this rod - although weighing 1/2 oz less felt heavier in my hand than my old Clearwater. I'm assuming it's because of the 6" length difference, but the difference is noticeable. That being said, the rod overall feels lighter than most, and I didn't appreciate the rod fully until I began casting it - WOW! Just like my 7 wt 10' Hydros, it loads beautifully and has improved my casting in every way imaginable. I haven't landed many (big) fish with it yet, but it throws big weighted conehead buggers and bunny leeches with ease. It also has no problem with tandem rigs as well. Beside it feeling a bit heavier in hand than the less expensive Clearwater, I'm absolutely satisfied with the rod and can't wait to catch some big Fall bruisers here in VT, including steel on some of the smaller rivers."
Review 10 for Access 5-weight 9' Fly Rod—Tip Flex
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
THE BEST TIP FLEX FOR THE PRICE,
July 23, 2012
By: MWells10EC
from Knoxville, TN
"A very light weight rod for the price, feels great in hand and cast very nice. I will be getting a 10' Tip Flex next."
Review 11 for Access 5-weight 9' Fly Rod—Tip Flex
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great all around rod,
June 7, 2012
By: JPinAR
from Arkansas
"This was my first fly rod purchase. I settled on this after much input from online research and a friend of mine who is an Orvis endorsed guide. I'm able to fish multiple flies and fly sizes with this one rod. It has the perfect amount of back bone for longer casts but is also delicate enough to fish for wary trout. Great multipurpose choice!"
Review 12 for Access 5-weight 9' Fly Rod—Tip Flex
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Go to rod,
May 2, 2012
By: provoriver
from Pleasant Grove, Utah
"I own a Helios, Hydros, and now a Access. decided I wanted to give it try and know I end up grabbing it more than any other rod. Great feel, great response, and casts like a beauty! Price is right too!"
Review 13 for Access 5-weight 9' Fly Rod—Tip Flex
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Punches far above its weight!,
April 12, 2012
By: Coat4allweathers
from Kent, England, UK
"Im planning a day on the Test with a friend and sought the advice of the keeper for the weight and length required. Next, the advice of Terry in the Orvis, Chichester store to fulfil these requirements. The result was the Access 9', five weight, tip flex. What a fantastic find! Thanks gents!
I took it to my syndicate trout lake that same afternoon and the action caused the line to zip thro the rings. I would not say it was a tip flex as described by my two other popular American rod manufacturers, more of a middle to tip, but what a rod. Very sensitive tothe gentle take once you've put that long line out to cover the maximum amount of water. It's happy with large lures and the tiniest of wets and dries. The subtle flex beds the hook nicely and easily handles the 3 to 4 pounders in the strike without cracking the cast. Light as a feather and I've matched it with the Battenkill Trout Large Arbour II which balances it beautifully. I hope my rod doesn't break because it's my rod of choice on Stillwaters at the moment and cannot wait for May on the Test. I just want to know where the corners have been cut to warrant the very competitive price because I really can't find any! ORVIS, NEVER NEVER withdraw this rod from your lists, it's got everything!
"
Review 14 for Access 5-weight 9' Fly Rod—Tip Flex
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Value/Great Customer Service,
June 29, 2011
By: ritterbunch
from Fayetteville, AR
"I think this rod is one of the best values out there. It is comparable to anything in its price range and I liked the color scheme better than some others. Customer Service was the deal maker-I've broken 3 Orvis rods over the years due to my carelessness, and I have been very pleased with the repair/replacement policy. I also had a very pleasant experience with Orvis Live Chat service. I used it to ask a question about product availability and the rep ended up offering to take my order during the Chat session--very handy."
Review 15 for Access 5-weight 9' Fly Rod—Tip Flex
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Happy so far...,
June 19, 2011
By: ncausable
"I went in thinking about getting a Clearwater and left with access. I knew little about the Access, but after a weekend in the Smokies Im happy with the performance. I hope I dont run into a similar problem as the other review. Iam a loyal customer of Orvis, but after having a rod break with TFO I had no problems fixing it (even with me having one piece of the rod!). The only thing that would turn me away from Orvis would be if they wouldnt repair it. I was so happy with the purchase and know how durable and reliable there rods are I didnt think to ask about the warrenty, but lets hope I dont have to worry about it!"
Review 16 for Access 5-weight 9' Fly Rod—Tip Flex
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Disappointed,
May 17, 2011
By: pj20
from Berkshires, MA.
"I am a loyal orvis customer and recently needed to upgrade to a new rod. I purchased the access 9ft 5wt tip flex rod and fished it the same day on a medium sized river and was pleased with its performance. However, the next day I fished a large stream. I was swimming a streamer in a deep pool and suddenly the fly stopped so immediately set the hook. Upon doing so the rod broke at the ferrels in two places. I was shocked and saddened by having this rod fail on me. I have never seen or had that happen to me before. I took it back to the store and purchased a Hydros. I have to admit that I am now hesitant to set the hook when fishing bigger flies down deep. The rod I initially replaced was a two piece rod. I have to wonder if the 4 piece rods are less durable. I know the technology has come a long way and more and more companies are switching to offering only four piece rods in this size but this event has raised questions in my mind. It is possible that I just got the one defective rod in the bunch. Hopefully the Hydros will last longer."
Review 17 for Access 5-weight 9' Fly Rod—Tip Flex
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
so far so good,
May 10, 2011
By: Johnrpa
from Bushkill, PA
"I have only used this rod a few times so far and so far, i love it. I am heading out to Colorado for some trophy trout fishing so that will be the real test. This rod casts much easier than my previous rod and is very reactive. It is taking me some time to get used to how reactive the rod is compared to my other rod which means i have missed some fish since i am yanking the fly right out of the fish's mouth but that is not at all a complaint."
Review 18 for Access 5-weight 9' Fly Rod—Tip Flex
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
really great rod!!!!,
December 5, 2010
By: carpman59
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I got this rod as a replacement for my broken Silver Label TL. I am totally amazed at this new rod. I was'nt expecting the level of performance that a rod this light managed to somehow deliver. I spent the day fishing it in the gunnison gorge and was completly blown away. It felt as light in the hand as my 8' 3wt but was an absolute cannon of a rod. It cast everything from heavy wooly buggers to midge dries with total control and an ease that was nearly unbelievable. I have to take my hat off to Orvis for not only the fantastic engineering that went into the creation of this rod but also that the finish and styling of the rod is absolutely flawless. I still can't believe that this kind of performance and styling is available at a retail price that is such a bargain. i truly feel that the Essence outperforms rods that are several hundred dollars more expensive. Once again kudos and thank you for an absolutely fantastic rod."