Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Access 5-weight 8'6" Fly Rod—Mid Flex

2⅜ oz. 8'6", 4-piece, Mid-Flex Fly Rod for 5-wt. line.For years the 8-foot 6-inch 5-weight was the best-selling fly rod model in the Orvis line and the new Access version continues that tradition of excellence in this model. The simple combination of medium length and medium weight makes it the most versatile fly rod ever built. From small streams, to large rivers, from trout to bass, this fly rod can handle it all. Access's new proprietary tapers and actions developed on Helios by our rod designers only add to the versatility of this rod, giving it the power to present larger flies and wonderful lightweight sensitivity to fight smaller quarry. Recommended by our schools as the perfect first fly rod, the 865-4 remains the single best all around fly rod on the market today and at this incredibly new price to performance ratio, this might be the best all-purpose fly rod on the market. Made in USA.
Average Customer Rating:
4.636 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (22 reviews)
5 stars
17
4 stars
4
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
1
21 of 22(95%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Stories:
Customer Reviews for Access 5-weight 8'6" Fly Rod—Mid Flex
Review 1 for Access 5-weight 8'6" Fly Rod—Mid Flex
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Purchased for 8 yr old Grandson,
April 3, 2014
By: Gene95
from Rogers, Ae.
"The 5 wt Access Rod and Reel were purchased for my Grandson. I am teaching him to fly fish. I use all Helios 2 rods and love them. It's been a short time that he has been using his new outfit but he says he loves it. My only complaint is the reel case is much too hard to put on and off. It's too small I've given him one of mine. I won't tell you the brand name."
Review 2 for Access 5-weight 8'6" Fly Rod—Mid Flex
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Buy it!,
March 24, 2014
By: OntarioFlyOutfitters
from Rochester, NY
"A well designed fly rod light enough to cast all day with the durability you come to expect from Orvis. Great medium action with this rod making your casting experience a dream. Love the color of the rod paired with the gold hydros reel. Buy it!"
Review 3 for Access 5-weight 8'6" Fly Rod—Mid Flex
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent outfit,
October 21, 2013
By: Santtu
from Finland
"I purchased online Access rod and reel outfit couple of years ago. Delivery was fine and the customer service is best in the world.
My first fishing trip was a pretty disapointment... I lost my first trout, because it was bigger than the feel in my arm ( my previous rod was full flex)
Nowadays the Access is like an extension of my arm. Really smooth and accurate. Great rod!
"
Review 4 for Access 5-weight 8'6" Fly Rod—Mid Flex
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
5 wt Mid flex Rod,
July 2, 2013
By: Michi
"A very nice rod. Great finish and look. Most importantly, it cast really nice. One little thing to improve is that the product page should show a picture of the assembled rod to illustrate how the joints should look. It took a while to figure out they don't close all the way but leave a gap."
Review 5 for Access 5-weight 8'6" Fly Rod—Mid Flex
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
A Fine well balanced rod,
May 21, 2013
By: Becassine
from Lake Champlain NY
"I had a similar Orvis rod in tip flex and got this mid flex rod for more power and eas of longer casting. It functions exactly as predicted and in a fine product"
Review 6 for Access 5-weight 8'6" Fly Rod—Mid Flex
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Caught my biggest trout in Australia,
April 22, 2013
By: Chaister
from Brisbane, Australia
"I bought this rod and the Access III outfit as a treat to myself after a tough work year. It been nothing short of excellent and I've landed my biggest brown trout in Australia at 5 pounds with it. I've landed others at the 3-4 pound mark also. I have a recurring injury to my right hand and the lightness of the rod balanced with the reel means I can cast this rod all day and not feel tired. Great price and perfect outfit! Thanks to the guys at Orvis!"
Review 7 for Access 5-weight 8'6" Fly Rod—Mid Flex
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great rod!,
April 18, 2013
By: Chet22
from Washington, DC
"First off, I can't say enough nice things about Orvis' customer service. They go out of their way to make sure you are happy with their products and their service.
Unfortunately, my Streamline rod broke. Very odd, but Orvis offered me the opportunity to upgrade my rod. I opted for the Access 5-weight 8'6" Fly Rod—Mid Flex. I've been using it this spring for the annual shad run on the Potomac and Rappahannock rivers.
It's a beautiful rod. It's light and very well balanced. I find the handle very comfortable. It can handle sinking line without an issue and has plenty of backbone to fight those feisty shad. I'm very happy this rod."
Review 8 for Access 5-weight 8'6" Fly Rod—Mid Flex
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
awesome rod,
February 14, 2013
By: mpbfeb
from shaftsbury vt
"I love this rod! I bought my acsess 8' 6" 5wgt mid flex two years ago. I really cant tell you how happy i am with it. Broke the tip(my fault)and orvis loaned me a helios while mine was fixed and liked my acsses much better. Great rod. Great price"
Review 9 for Access 5-weight 8'6" Fly Rod—Mid Flex
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
High Quality for a great price,
December 31, 2012
By: JustCARF
from Chicago, IL
""Felt worthy of upgrading from my first fly rod to a higher end one. So, I chose the Access 8'6" - 5 weight combo. I was hesitant on paying that much for a combo at first, but after my first cast I turned and looked at my girlfriend, and said "Wow - worth every penny I paid for it."
Review 10 for Access 5-weight 8'6" Fly Rod—Mid Flex
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A lot of technology for not too much cash,
November 14, 2012
By: DClark
from Winston-Salem, NC
"I bought the Access rod in an (865-4) configuration as a mid-weight rod to fish NC streams and rivers with the occasional inland costal waters here and there.
I considered a more expensive rod, but kept coming back to the Access.
I'm glad I did as I love this rod. Its got the power to get line out when I need it, but the finesse to handle tight spots in the brushy streams of NC.
Maybe, i'm missing something, but this rod performed great and I had the money to buy another.
If you're at the other end of the scale and thinking about the clearwater line - id go with the Access.
I bought my son a clearwater rod to learn with, and after using it a half dozen times I tend to like the Access better. It casts better and feels better in the hand. Its just a better performing rod all around.
Nothing wrong with the clearwater, but again, for the money, this is a great rod you can be proud to use. With the money you save you can buy 2 to boot."
Review 11 for Access 5-weight 8'6" Fly Rod—Mid Flex
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Versatility and Quality,
September 6, 2012
By: PaGlen
"I bought this rod hoping that I could bring it on any trip and know it could handle a small stream or a large tailwater river.The rod can do just that, because of its 8'6 height.It can also however handle large rivers of the back bone this rod has.Overall I'm very happy with my purchase and know that I can truly fish for trout in almost any body of water."
Review 12 for Access 5-weight 8'6" Fly Rod—Mid Flex
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Wow!,
August 21, 2012
By: CARF
from Chicago, IL
"Felt worthy of upgrading from my first fly rod to a higher end one. So, I chose the Access 8'6" - 5 weight combo. I was hesitant on paying that much for a combo at first, but after my first cast I turned and looked at my girlfriend, and said "Wow - worth every penny I paid for it.""
Review 13 for Access 5-weight 8'6" Fly Rod—Mid Flex
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
great rod, great price,
July 31, 2012
By: nevek
from Gloucester, MA
"bought the 8'6" mid flex 5wt to replace my first 5wt. feels great in the hand and casts great. went on a business trip to Montana with my boss who does not fly fish. he used another companies high end rod on a float trip. I gave him this rod to use on an afternoon stop we made after some meetings. He was casting well in short order. He commented afterwards how much he loved the rod and how much more enjoyable it was to use than the other rod from the float trip. Highly recommend this rod."
Review 14 for Access 5-weight 8'6" Fly Rod—Mid Flex
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Well finished rod,
June 28, 2012
By: Sixmile
"Liked the rod but feel that the cigar shaped handle is not as good as the traditional handle.The traditional handle allows a more relaxed hand hold. I have used a Hardy rod up to now & it will take a while to get used to the Orvis.Both rods are similar in action but the Hardy in my view has a slightly nicer action."
Review 15 for Access 5-weight 8'6" Fly Rod—Mid Flex
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Access Rod is outstanding !,
May 2, 2012
By: Michael12955
"This is the best casting, most responsive, and most sensitive 5wt fly rod I've ever owned ! I think there will have to be a 4 weight Access in the rack in the near future. Thank you Orvis for going beyond the call !
Michael"
Review 16 for Access 5-weight 8'6" Fly Rod—Mid Flex
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Access Rod,
March 15, 2012
By: four
from st joseph, missouri
"Super quality. Very light weight and easy to handle.
Would recommend to anyone needing a new rod.
"
Review 17 for Access 5-weight 8'6" Fly Rod—Mid Flex
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Awesome Rod,
January 5, 2012
By: Castaway
from North Ga
"The rod is great. Cast like nothing else. I wanted a rod that can do everything and it has lived up to that. Great trout rod!"
Review 18 for Access 5-weight 8'6" Fly Rod—Mid Flex
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Beautiful Rod,
December 30, 2011
By: AJP04
"I purchased this rod for myself. I am just starting fly fishing after converting from bass fishing. I wore through a cheap learner setup and decided to get something of quality. I had it personalized and it looks and feels great. I can't wait to get on the water. I would recommend this and other Orvis products to anyone."
Review 19 for Access 5-weight 8'6" Fly Rod—Mid Flex
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Wow-What a Rod!!!,
December 26, 2011
By: Urbanamom
"I just recieved this rod from my son and husband for Christmas. I gave them a hard time for spending this much money on a rod.. until I fished with it today... This rod is amazing!!! I too was skeptical about this rod but after fishing with it, I will never go back to my other rods!!! Smooth casting, awesome fly delivery, even in the wind and lightweight...I never thought of spending this much money on a rod but I am totally amazed and love fishing with this combo!!! Thanks Orvis for making a great recomendation to my husband!!!"
Review 20 for Access 5-weight 8'6" Fly Rod—Mid Flex
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
WOW!,
November 6, 2011
By: FlyGuy304
from WV
"Never really understood what a GREAT fly rod was until I fished with an Orvis setup! The Access is accurate, smooth and perfect! Great rod for beginners and seasoned fisherman alike! Super light and a very responsive."