Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Superfine Touch 1-weight 7'6" Fly Rod—Full Flex

2⅛ oz. 7'6", 4-piece, Full-Flex Fly Rod for 1-wt. line.Venturing into the backcountry in search of a hidden alpine lake or crystal-clear stream can often reward you with a stunning fishing experience, full of eager little trout and memories you'll always hold close. Take advantage of your next angling adventure with the Superfine Touch 761-4, a compact, Full-Flex rod that has just enough length to effectively manage your line, but remains short enough to use in-and-around cover. Highlighted by its dry-fly casting and ultra-smooth presentation, the Superfine Touch 761-4 makes each fish feel like a trophy and makes any fishing trip complete. Made in Manchester, Vermont, USA.
Average Customer Rating:
5 out of 5
5
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (19 reviews)
5 stars
19
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
19 of 19(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Stories:
Customer Reviews for Superfine Touch 1-weight 7'6" Fly Rod—Full Flex
Review 1 for Superfine Touch 1-weight 7'6" Fly Rod—Full Flex
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
smooth,
July 19, 2014
By: FlyFishingFool
"This rod casts like a dream. Well balanced. Fantastic!"
Review 2 for Superfine Touch 1-weight 7'6" Fly Rod—Full Flex
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Rod,
March 18, 2014
By: oldflyfisherman
from Thermopolis, WY
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"I have had this rod for 2 years and love it. It casts great and is easy to control. I fish small creeks with this for brook trout and have no more trouble than usual casting 20 to 30 feet even in a gentle Wyoming Zephyr. I have a ranch and carry this with me all the time, whether moving cows or fencing and have not broke the rod case so am impressed with that. I am used to slow rods so this fits me well, but even my grand kids, 8, 5, and 3, can cast it.
It works much better than the rod I am using in the attached photo"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Superfine Touch 1-weight 7'6" Fly Rod—Full Flex
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Outstanding little rod!,
May 22, 2013
By: Neanderthal
from Puyallup, WA
"I bought this gem to fish some of the small mountain streams and creeks here in the Northwest. What a beauty to cast all day and the action of a full flex rod is a wonderful thing."
Review 4 for Superfine Touch 1-weight 7'6" Fly Rod—Full Flex
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
My New Favorite Rod,
May 8, 2013
By: CTTroutBum
from Marlborough, CT
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"I have been fly fishing for three years now and started the traditional way, with a 9ft, 5w. The more I fish, I find myself really enjoying and pursuing small streams for wild brook trout and a 5wt is overkill.
I purchased the 7'6 1wt with the CFO I reel back in January 2013 and have been fishing it for two months now. Between this and my non-Orvis 3w I am in fly-fishing Heaven! This rod will handle almost anything I throw at it. It is perfect for my small stream fishing adventures and has been great at the local ponds. I have caught several 14" & 16" rainbows and brookies on it and it makes blue gilling a blast!
My typical set up includes either a 5w leader and a single dry fly or I’ll put on a 3w leader and fish a dry dropper rig. It’s a little harder to cast the dry dropper rig on a 1w, but it is still deadly. I’ll also tie up some size 14 “baby” buggers, a smaller version of the wolly bugger, and streamer fish for brookies. Regardless of how you use it, this rod is great to fish and adds a little “fight” to even the smallest fish!"
Review 5 for Superfine Touch 1-weight 7'6" Fly Rod—Full Flex
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I do not often fish 1 wt rods...,
October 3, 2012
By: Andestrout
from Patagonia, Argentina
"....but when I do I fish Orvis Superfine!
Stay fishy my friends.
Great rod for the tiny little tributaries of tributaries of Patagonia. Presents flies delicately yet with authority, even with large dry flies."
Review 6 for Superfine Touch 1-weight 7'6" Fly Rod—Full Flex
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Superfine Choice,
October 2, 2012
By: Troutstream
from Ontario
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"I spent the summer of 2012 with the 7'6 1wt. It was a superlative experience all round, balanced with an Orvis CFO 1 reel. A 16" trout on a dry fly closed the season, a great match!"
Review 7 for Superfine Touch 1-weight 7'6" Fly Rod—Full Flex
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
What a sweet rod!,
August 7, 2012
By: flyboy17
"I recently came back from a family trip to Jackson, WY where I got to do a little fishing. I brought along the Orvis Superfine 7'6" 1wt for the small creeks and a 9' 6wt for fishing the Snake. I had the opportunity to fish Flat Creek one windy afternoon (most afternoons are windy there), so took along both rods in case the 1wt couldn't hold up to the wind. No need to bring the 6wt! The little 1wt held up to all but the strongest of gusts and I hooked and landed a few nice native Snake Rive Fine Spotted Cutthroats, the biggest of which pushed 17 inches. The rod was perfect for delicately casting small dries on a small gin-clear creek to big fish, but still had enough backbone to land a big fish quickly without tiring the fish out. This is the perfect rod, and completely disproves the notion that 1wt rods are only "toys" and not for "real fishing". Love this rod!"
Review 8 for Superfine Touch 1-weight 7'6" Fly Rod—Full Flex
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Built to Perfection!,
July 15, 2012
By: noviceflyguy
from eastern PA
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"This rod was the perfect birthday gift and I was able to pair it with the CFO I. It's perfectly balanced and the quality of both rod and reel are phenomenal. The rod casts with pinpoint accuracy and casts well in close with excellent control and accuracy. It feels like the perfect rod and is very much at home stalking the small streams for trout, and panfish in my neck of the woods in PA. Great sensitivity even with smaller fish, but has enough spine for even tougher fish. Awesome job Orvis…such a sweet rod."
Review 9 for Superfine Touch 1-weight 7'6" Fly Rod—Full Flex
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
a pleasure to use,
May 30, 2012
By: twofinger
"to gentleman that are looking for a fly rod for dry fly fishing i highly recommend superfine touch in 7.6 in 1 wt. you will be amaze not only in the way it cast but also in the way in can handle fish from 10-16 in. ttrust me you not be disappointed in this rod at all good luck fishing."
Review 10 for Superfine Touch 1-weight 7'6" Fly Rod—Full Flex
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
February 12, 2012
By: TomF
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"I have fished cane for all of my 52 years of fly fishing. I never expected to purchase a graphite rod. I love the feel of a fine cane rod on the smaller rivers and streams that I frequent. By far my favorite cane rod was a Seven Four Battenkill that I purchased 28 years ago. This little rod has fished all over the country and in Canada.
Unfortunately, the rod was lost by the airline on a trip to the Colorado Rockies and was never recovered. I needed a replacement quickly but unfortunately, the Seven Four is no longer made and my available funds did not allow me to purchase another Battenkill at this time. I had handled the little one weight Superfine in an Orvis store and liked the action, so I decided to purchase it.
I have since taken the rod on a few hikes deep into the Colorado Rockies for the rare greenback cutthroat trout. The rod is perfect for fishing the small greenback creeks and also handled well on the sub alpine lakes, despite the wind.
I arrived at the first sub alpine lake with my new Superfine one weight and began to walk around the lake, starting at the East end. This lake is shallow, probably not more than 15 feet at the deepest. I did not see any trout at all until I got to the West end…the lee side of the lake. As I suspected, most of the trout would be at the side of the lake that the wind was blowing to. The currents created by the wind carries feed to the lee section and this is where you can expect to find the greatest number of trout.
The first trout I saw was in the 14” range. He was suspended and not moving. I hadn’t expected to see a greenback this large and I was nervous as I cast my fly (a size #16 soft hackle with a hare’s ear body). It landed about three feet from him and began to sink. He leisurely swam over and took. I landed and released him and continued my walk around the lake. In about twenty five yards I began to see many fish cruising close to shore. They were in groups of two, three and four and astonishingly, all were in the 14” to 16” range. I did not see any small fish. I got a take on every cast. They did not seem to mind my presence and only scattered if I put my fly line over them. It was incredible fishing, like nothing I have ever experienced.
After a while a strong wind developed, rippling the water to the extent that I couldn’t see or cast to individual fish. But it made no difference. I got a take on every blind cast. In some cases I would lose a fish and another would take before I could get the fly back in. Virtually every cast resulted in a hook up.
The little one weight Orvis rod performed wonderful.
I started off fishing the lake with the one weight line but changed to a three weight and then a four weight as the wind progressively increased. I had taken an Orvis CFO I reel with a one weight line and also a CFO II with two spools loaded with a three weight and a four weight line. The little rod handled the three and four weight lines surprisingly well. In fact, I fished the rest of the trip with the four weight line, regardless of the wind conditions. It’s not a set up for presenting midges, but it worked well and felt much like my dearly departed cane Battenkill.
Catching those big fish on the ultra light one weight rod was a special treat. Most of the fish bent the rod double. I couldn’t have been more pleased with the performance of the Orvis one weight rod. I am developing a strong emotional attachment to this rod."
Review 11 for Superfine Touch 1-weight 7'6" Fly Rod—Full Flex
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great action in ultralight rod,
November 13, 2011
By: Docmag
"Paired with CFO 1 and wonder linE, this out fit provides a most accurate cast and gentle presentation. I use the outfit mostly for bluegill but once or twice a year for spring creek trout.
The set up has a wonderful retro look but cast and works hooked fish like no other ultra light.
"
Review 12 for Superfine Touch 1-weight 7'6" Fly Rod—Full Flex
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great for my little trout fishing,
October 7, 2011
By: BATTENER
"Great rod can't say much more. I have the TXL-F and it is good to though this is a good one"
Review 13 for Superfine Touch 1-weight 7'6" Fly Rod—Full Flex
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The Best Mistake Ever,
September 5, 2011
By: ShootingStar
from Salisbury UK
"I ordered an end of line Superfine, online. I realized that I had made a mistake the next day - the rod was a 6'6", so too short. I emailed Orvis and explained that I really wanted a 7'6" Superfine Touch instead and `asked what I could do. Orvis emailed me back and confirmed that they had upgraded the order. Unfortunately I had specified a 1 weight, not 4 weight. It was too late for Orvis to change again, the rod had been dispatched. Fortunately I live not too far from an Orvis shop and they immediately and without fuss exchanged the 1 weight for a 4 weight.
I am incredibly impressed with the service all round - thank you Orvis.
Now the rod. I had tried a friend's full flex rod (made by a West Coast competitor) and really liked the feel. I chose the Superfine because I have had consistent good experiences of Orvis and their products. I was not let down. The Superfine Touch is a wonderful rod. It looks good at a sensible price. More importantly it handles like a dream. I have used it for nymphing on streams where the length, action and resulting accuracy are ideal for close work. I have also used the rod on small lakes. This rod has incredible punch and reaching power despite the full flex tag.
I can not speak highly enough of my Orvis experience, thank you everyone there.
"
Review 14 for Superfine Touch 1-weight 7'6" Fly Rod—Full Flex
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Superfine = Superb,
August 29, 2011
By: WNYAngler
"Originally bought a Orvis Silver Label 1wt many years back. Loved the rod, and fished it exclusively on spring creeks during the sulphur hatch. Broke that rod on a banner day. Due to the 25 year Orvis Guarantee, they kindly replaced that rod with the new Superfine Touch 7'6 1 wt. Although I miss the old school looks of the Silver Label, the new Superfine Touch is true to the heritage of the name. There is no comparison in terms of performance. Wow. First trout landed on the new rod was an 18" freestone holdover on a light cahill dry. Didn't expect to find a fish like that in July. The Superfine Touch is so light, and the fit and finish is nothing short of exceptional. Thank you for the excellent service, and superb product!"
Review 15 for Superfine Touch 1-weight 7'6" Fly Rod—Full Flex
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A great ultra light,
August 23, 2011
By: Bigbutlight
from Western Australia
"Wow, so light, so accurate and a real pleasure to fish with all day long.....which I have now done twice, caught a nice little rainbow on a red tag wading in a river and notched up 3 yearlings and a perch while battling the wind with small wets at a local dam. Also spotted the biggest trout I've ever seen, I didn't hesitate to put a fly next to him, even though it was gonna be a one sided battle if I nailed him, as the Orvis 25 year guarantee would have replaced a "big trout" smashed 1wt without question (excellent) .....alas, he rose to the fly, refused it and didn't rise again....but I know where he lives!"
Review 16 for Superfine Touch 1-weight 7'6" Fly Rod—Full Flex
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Unbelievable Rod,
May 27, 2011
By: ninjaone
from CA
"Simply put: this is the absolute finest rod that I have ever fished and now am proud to own. The above reviews are spot on and I would highly recommend this product to my peers. Paired with the BBS, the rod feels balanced and its appearance is classy down to the blank wrappings.
At first glance, I was skeptical that an almost weightless rod could have the backbone to handle decent-sized fish. Having completed my first day on the water, I can honestly say that the Superfine definitely has the backbone to launch dries and toss heavy nymphs. Try one of these and you will soon discover how much fun landing a 12" creeker can really be.
My only regret is that I didn't have this rod personalized. Compared to its more expensive competetors, I know that I made the right choice. Thank you Orvis.
"
Review 17 for Superfine Touch 1-weight 7'6" Fly Rod—Full Flex
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The Perfect Rod,
March 28, 2011
By: PoloRossi
from Mendoza, Argentina
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I've been fishing for more than 20 years, I'm also a Pro Fly Fishing Guide for the last 10 years. Last week, I went to fish one of my favorites pocket water streams and also to use for the first time a Superfine Touch 761-4 Full Flex. I've used Superfine rods before but I have to say that this is the best rod I've ever cast and fish in my life, so smooth, so precise, it's just unveliavable. I've fished the whole day with a huge smile on my face, feeling like a child again, enjoying every cast, every trout, every fight...
Do yourselve a favour, let this rod TOUCH your soul...
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Superfine Touch 1-weight 7'6" Fly Rod—Full Flex
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
My new favorite UL fishing rod,
February 13, 2011
By: simonuca
from Santiago, Chile
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"This is by far my best ultra light fly fishing rod, since I lawn cast it I knew that its going to be a no brainer to pick a rod when going to fish for trout on small creeks and rivers. What I love in this rod?:
* The action of this rod
* The aesthetics: unsanded, reel seat, cork handle, wraps colors, line guides, everything is perfect!
* The price range
* The 4 piece configuration
* The graphite rod tube with brass caps
This rod is a joy to cast, its a perfect machine for dry fly fishing in small creeks, it also handles weighted nymphs with ease... even soft winds. It loads right away for short cast, but it has the backbone to make long cast easily. The marketing blabla is true in this case!
This taper is so good, you can feel your nymph bouncing at the bottom of the river, when a fish is hooked you notice every movement it makes. When a fish takes your nymph or dry you notice right away.
Is by far the best investment in ultra light fishing tackle I made in my last 22 years as a fly fisherman, you get what it feels like a 700 dollar rod for just 475!
If you are researching to get a full flex ultra light fishing rod, go for it, you wont regret it"
Review 19 for Superfine Touch 1-weight 7'6" Fly Rod—Full Flex
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Absolutely Best Lil' Rod Ever,
February 8, 2011
By: DFWTroutBum
from Argyle, TX
Good Value: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"I managed to talk my father into buying this rod for me for my 20th birthday... Best gift I have ever received! I paired it up with a CFO I Disc Drag Reel and the Superfine Trout Wonderline Gen 3 Floating Fly Line and I have to say, it was absolute ecstasy to use. I use it at least once a week for a couple hours minimum. I have never had so much fun catching sunfish, bluegill, and trout. If you really want to have some fun, and know how to use a lighter rod, and how to fight a fish on a lighter weight rod, get this rod! I've convinced my friend and father to get one. I've used it everywhere from the Texas hill country, to the glacier fed streams of Montana. Best rod and favorite rod I own, and believe me I have too many rods anyways. Get it and go fishing."