Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Superfine Touch 1-weight 6' Fly Rod—Full Flex

1⅝ oz. 6', 3-piece, Full-Flex Fly Rod for 1-wt. line.Some of nature's loveliest creatures are also some of its smallest. With the Superfine Touch 601-3, you can leave the big world behind, find a tiny mountain stream, and focus instead on the vibrant blue halos and ivory-tipped fins of brook trout no larger than your hand. Its super-soft, full-flexing action was specifically designed to cast dry flies with delicacy and let you feel the fighting spirit and big hearts bursting forth from these beautiful little fish. The unsanded blanks and traditional look are an updated nod to years past, and urge you to slow down and enjoy the little things in life. Made in Manchester, Vermont.
Average Customer Rating:
4.556 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (9 reviews)
5 stars
7
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
0
8 of 9(89%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Superfine Touch 1-weight 6' Fly Rod—Full Flex
Review 1 for Superfine Touch 1-weight 6' Fly Rod—Full Flex
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Solid little rod,
June 22, 2014
By: Ziggly
from California
"This rod is great for small trout. Haven't caught any big ones yet, but I'm sure the rod can handle them. Little trout (4-7 inch wild rainbows) feel much larger than they actually are. Great for dry flies, especially to skittish fish. Paired with the 1 weight superfine line, this is a perfect setup for small streams at high altitudes. Very fun."
Review 2 for Superfine Touch 1-weight 6' Fly Rod—Full Flex
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Awesome,
June 20, 2014
By: Kmida
from Notellum Idaho
"Absolutely thrilled with the 1wt outfit. I've been fishing small spring creeks with my orvis 4wt 8'6" and will not be able to go back to the 4wt. The superfine casts beautifully paired with 6x tippet. Really lets brookies show what they can do. Very First cast with this 1wt saw a 12" cutthroat rise and clobber a #16 BWO. Easily one of the funnest fights I've experienced fishing. Thank you orvis."
Review 3 for Superfine Touch 1-weight 6' Fly Rod—Full Flex
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Happy Customer,
May 15, 2013
By: Neanderthal
from Puyallup, WA
"I bought this for a customer for an upcoming trip to southern Utah. I matched it up with a Hydros I reel.
He left work early that day to test out his new (and only) Orvis rod outfit. The fact that he didn't return to work that day told me everything I needed to know. Well that and the large order he gave me the next day!
"
Review 4 for Superfine Touch 1-weight 6' Fly Rod—Full Flex
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Wow what an easy rod to fish,
April 29, 2013
By: Tmobile
from Sheridan wyo
"This one wt casts small dries like no other rod you will ever hold. It lands flies so quietly even skittish fish don't notice. This rod is super light. It can cast surprisingly far. I used it half a day and when I went back to my 4 weight it felt like casting a log. The guy who complained about the reel seat? I love a screw down reel seat. If you fish small streams you will love this rod and the looks are spectacular.?"
Review 5 for Superfine Touch 1-weight 6' Fly Rod—Full Flex
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The Perfect Rod,
March 18, 2011
By: Mibars66
from Alexandria, Virginia
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I took my new Orvis six foot, one weight, Superfine rod fishing this weekend in the Shenandoah National Park. I found this full flex rod to be everything I have wanted in a rod that I use to catch mountain brook trout. It casts beautifully and I love the feel of the full flex loading and unloading in my hand. Its delicate structure made every small size brookie feel like I was hauling in a trophy. The uplocking reel seat is the one feature that caused me to give this rod a try and it has been a rewarding experience. This rod has quickly become my favorite for mountain brook trout streams. This rod is fun to fish!!"
Review 6 for Superfine Touch 1-weight 6' Fly Rod—Full Flex
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
looks nice but....,
March 12, 2011
By: BPR1
Good Value: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"This rod looks and feels nice but I own the previous version Super Fine Trout Bum and it is equipped with a sliding lock ring that holds your reel in place by pure friction fit....something about it is just classic and something you don't get on a lot of other rods."
Review 7 for Superfine Touch 1-weight 6' Fly Rod—Full Flex
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sweet!,
January 7, 2011
By: drummin1
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
"Ditto! I love the traditional cigar grip too with sliding bands, but this rod in-hand, feels great! SUPER light feel and nice, soft action. So i disagree, you CAN tell the difference between this rod and a 6wt, by HOLDING one. A fine offering and a nice addition to any small stream angler's arsenal."
Review 8 for Superfine Touch 1-weight 6' Fly Rod—Full Flex
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
LIke It,
December 29, 2010
By: troutflydave
"I disagree with the previous reviewer about the grip design. I specifically purchased this because the grip design was changed. If it had the cork and ring design, it would be too much like the Ion. I wanted a 1wgt and was looking at the Sage TXL. The Touch was a much better rod for hunting Brookies. The shorter length and slower action was so much better than the Sage. Look and feel is great."
Review 9 for Superfine Touch 1-weight 6' Fly Rod—Full Flex
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Very disappointed in appearance,
December 28, 2010
By: horsesho
"Would someone please explain to me why there is a screw locking seat and standard length grip on this 6' 1 wt. rod? In past years Orvis would have fitted this rod with a duel slide band seat over cork spacer and diminutive superfine grip. You can't tell by looking at the grip/seat if this is a 6' 1 wt. or a 8 1/2' 6 wt.."
0 of 2 people found this review helpful.