Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Access Switch 8-weight 11' Fly Rod—Tip Flex

5½ oz. 11', 4-piece, Tip-Flex Fly Rod for 8-wt. line.Built with an extended switch grip and all the technology developed in the past few years with Helios, the Access 118-4 Switch is just the ticket for big steelhead, low water Atlantic salmon, and striped bass off the beach. This great new fly rod offers extended reach, lightweight casting ease and terrific mending capability to give the everything you need in one rod to be successful for big game fish. You can cast this rod all day on a salmon river, or all night on a striper beach without fatigue. You can go from one-handed casting to two-handed casting to reach out a little further. Mending in a river or tidal current has never been easier and at this price buying a fly rod has never been easier as well.
Average Customer Rating:
4.077 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (13 reviews)
5 stars
8
4 stars
1
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 star
1
10 of 13(77%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Access Switch 8-weight 11' Fly Rod—Tip Flex
Review 1 for Access Switch 8-weight 11' Fly Rod—Tip Flex
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
GRILSE ROD,
November 4, 2014
By: SALMOFEROX
"This is a beautifully crafted light yet powerful rod. Perfect for Icelandic and any Atlantic Grilse.
Sadly the publicity photo implies that it comes with two butts. A short, for single handed use and a long one for two hands. It does NOT. There is one long butt. Nevertheless a fine rod at excellent value.
"
Review 2 for Access Switch 8-weight 11' Fly Rod—Tip Flex
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great entry into two-handed fishing,
July 19, 2013
By: MrBill
from Anchorage, AK
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
"The Access Switch 8-weight is a perfect rod for those wanting to get into two-handed/Spey fishing. The price point is great with excellent performance. And you can use it for conventional single-handed casting as well. I paired it with a Hydros V reel and Airflo Skagit Switch 510 grain line and a T-14 sink tip. Great combo. Slayed the sockeyes last Saturday swinging flesh flies. Out fished the others in my group 2-to-1."
Review 3 for Access Switch 8-weight 11' Fly Rod—Tip Flex
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Amazing,
April 11, 2013
By: Dooby51
from Hackettstown NJ
"This fly rod and outfit combo is the most comfortable I've ever fished with and the salmon steelhead line is by far the greatest for mending and I couldn't be happier"
Review 4 for Access Switch 8-weight 11' Fly Rod—Tip Flex
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Just the job,
November 19, 2012
By: Frankthesurf
from Llanarmon Yn Ial, Near the River Dee, North Wales
"Despite being told by the 'old school' that this rod would be too short for salmon fishing I showed them the way with a nice 12lb fish on my second outing.
I am using an Orvis Switch line which matches up prefectly with this rod. It throws a line excellently, mends well whether with or without a sinking tip added.
"
Review 5 for Access Switch 8-weight 11' Fly Rod—Tip Flex
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Good Rod... Bad reel seat!,
October 27, 2012
By: Ace3
"Love the action on the rod. I'm not a big fan of fast/stiff tips... but this one feels great. Finish on the rod is good. However, the reel seat does not quite fit one of my reels (Hardy). If you get this rod... check that the reel you get fits correctly!"
Review 6 for Access Switch 8-weight 11' Fly Rod—Tip Flex
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Broke on fist Fish,
September 17, 2012
By: Anonymous
from Upstate NY
"Will not buy this rod, fair price but hooked 1st fish and snap after 2nd section. Talked to 3 other fisherman and the same thing happened to them in the same place. FLAWED!!!"
Review 7 for Access Switch 8-weight 11' Fly Rod—Tip Flex
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A Steal for a Switch Rod,
March 1, 2012
By: NNCC
from San Jose, CA
"For the money, there is no better rod out there. While I was a little hesitant to buy one at my local shop, since Orvis is best known for amazing single-handed rods, I gave it a try (knowing their amazing product guarantee). I have to say, this mid-fast action switch rod is a dream to cast. Paired up with an Airflo compact skagit head and Orvis running line, it is effortless to launch your line 90 feet+. The best part about it is how comfortable it is to high-stick nymph and how easily it mends long casts. Bravo, Orvis!"
Review 8 for Access Switch 8-weight 11' Fly Rod—Tip Flex
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Low Quality Components,
January 30, 2012
By: tshock
from Northern Wisconsin
"The other reviewers forgot to mention that the reel seat on this rod is not built for big reels or tough duty. The rear hood that uplocks the reel is thin aluminum and does not give you that sense of security when tightening down the reel. I also own the Helios switch and the reel seat on it is much more durable. It's a shame because the blanks are similar---the same weight in fact---but the Access is much less useful due to the cheap reel seat. If Orvis could change/repair this issue, the Access would get 5 stars. As is, I wouldn't recommend this rod."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Access Switch 8-weight 11' Fly Rod—Tip Flex
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
11/4/8 access its just ok,
August 25, 2011
By: clousered
"Frist off my lamson guru reel seat did not fit in the seat of the rod, I made the choice of sending back the reel, wish I hadn't . bought a hydros reel V, looks pretty but its no lamson, the machine finish on the lamsions are much tighter and percise. Dont be fooled by the 8wt its more like an 8wt singel hand rod or a 6wt spey. orvis should have a grain widow chart so you can have a better idea of how to line the rod, and if its the rod you realy want. I thought It would be a no brainer buying the Orvis switch 8wt line another mistake. 8wt switch line was too heavy 450gr and the head is too long for switch casting, a waste a 80$. I then bought the Beulah elixer 7/8 switch line with a 400gr 20 ft head using an airflow poly leader , now we're in the ball park. the shorter lighter head was better at doing both styles of casting, and doing them well. I think Echo, Miser and Beulah have the switch and spey rods down to a science with grain and line charts plus time. The only reason I bought an Orvis was the fact that there was a dealer right down the street from me and they just whent out of buisness. Gee Don't I feel stupid.
Dan"
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Access Switch 8-weight 11' Fly Rod—Tip Flex
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fastest line in the west,
June 20, 2011
By: nmoon
from Portland, OR
"Picked up the rod last week after originally going to get a single handed 8wt rod, walked out with the switch rod. So glad I did. The ability to do much more with the line was a matter of about 2 hours on the water and it all started to click and make sense on how to cast..
The other added benefit is then grab your 3wt or 4 wt setup and everything improves, line management, roll casts, everything. I know it will be many many thousands of casts before I truly master the art of the Switch rod but I know the Access will be with me from newbie to master.
Build quality is great, rod sections seem a bit "too" tight but I imagine that spey casting puts tremendous torque on the rod so maybe the tight fit a good thing.
Oh, and the staff as always at Orvis is first rate. Super helpful.
"
Review 11 for Access Switch 8-weight 11' Fly Rod—Tip Flex
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
January 29, 2011
By: BKill
from Upstate NY
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Appearance: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
"Great rod with a great price tag. I've fished the Helios 118 and the Access 118 ... the Helios is a great rod, but for the money you cannot beat the Access. Fished with both a Great Lakes nymph rig, and a 10' sinking Skagit tip ... did well with both."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Access Switch 8-weight 11' Fly Rod—Tip Flex
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Amazing...,
December 3, 2010
By: BrianR
from Beaverton, OR
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"The title sums it up in one word. This rod is an awesome piece of equipment for a great price compared to other switch rods available. It cast effortlessly all day paired with a 36' 400gr head and 10ft. sinking leader spey casting in tight quarters. Paired with my Battenkill Mid Arbor, it had the power to land a 13lb hatchery buck I caught today! Simply amazing rod!"
Ratings-Only Reviews for Access Switch 8-weight 11' Fly Rod—Tip Flex
Based on 1 ratings-only review
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Would recommend? Yes 1 out of 1