Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Access 8-weight 9' Fly Rod—Tip Flex

3⅛ oz. 9', 4-piece, Tip-Flex Fly Rod for 8-wt. line.The most versatile and best-selling of all the saltwater rods. The Access 908-4 will handle stripers, reds, bones; it can pull big bass out of the weeds in freshwater, throw big flies, catch snook, bluefish, albies, and bonito. If you're looking for your first big game rod, this is the model you want. If you're looking to do it inexpensively, then this is definitely the rod you want. All the performance of our higher priced rods, but at half the price. Made in USA.
Average Customer Rating:
4.667 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (9 reviews)
5 stars
8
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
0
8 of 9(89%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Access 8-weight 9' Fly Rod—Tip Flex
Review 1 for Access 8-weight 9' Fly Rod—Tip Flex
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Very Versatile,
September 30, 2013
By: ATango
from Philadelphia, PA
"This really is a great rod. When assembling the pieces, it doesn't look as though they fit properly but rest asured, they function perfectly. I use my 8 wt in the surf for stripers, blues and flouner, on lakes for bass and on the tributaries for Kings and Cohos.
You won't be dissapointed."
Review 2 for Access 8-weight 9' Fly Rod—Tip Flex
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
bass buster,
December 5, 2012
By: bowdoinsqare
from wrentham ma
"this is simply the best casting lightest 8wt ever better in my hand than the hydros or sage xi3"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Access 8-weight 9' Fly Rod—Tip Flex
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Rocket Launcher,
September 18, 2012
By: Evilgeologist
from Richmond, VA
"Received my Access Outfit yesterday. Got home, threw together a leader, tied on a Sneeky Pete, and headed for the local pond. This rod is a rocket launcher! Casting to ~ 80 feet was no problem. Hooked up with an ~ 6lb largemouth right at dark. I can see lots of time on the waterwith this rod in the future!"
Review 4 for Access 8-weight 9' Fly Rod—Tip Flex
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Rod, Great Price,
August 16, 2012
By: WCfisher
from British Columbia
"The Orvis Access 8wt tip flex is an excellent rod. Very light for an 8wt but still has the backbone to chuck big weighted flies and heavy sink tips."
Review 5 for Access 8-weight 9' Fly Rod—Tip Flex
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Rod - Get One!,
July 30, 2012
By: PortsmouthMark
from Portsmouth, NH
"As a long time fresh water fisherman (and long time Orvis owner) I had never fished salt water with a fly rod before but I have to tell you this rod casts like a dream. I love the feel, feedback, and responsiveness of this rod. It will handle some very large weighted flies just as well as some of the smaller ones. I am looking forward to many, many years of enjoyment with this and also to take this for my dream trip - Bonefishing on the flats."
Review 6 for Access 8-weight 9' Fly Rod—Tip Flex
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Out of the park,
May 20, 2012
By: Redfishaholic
from Lowcountry, SC
"Orvis didn't just hit a home run with this rod, the knocked it clear out of the park! Most rods in this price range are not true fast action or are heavy and stiff, but the Access 908-4 tip is extremely light and very fast. This rod sings in the hands of an angler that knows how to cast. Distance and tight loops are accomplished without using a lot of force. Blindfolded it would be tough to tell the difference between the Access and the Helios, it's just that good. One warning however - a rod this fast is not forgiving like a mid flex so not one to learn with. Finally, what do the top 8wt offerings from sage, scott, g-loomis, etc have in common? They all weigh more and cost hundreds more than the Access and simply cannot outperform it."
Review 7 for Access 8-weight 9' Fly Rod—Tip Flex
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
access 9',
April 17, 2012
By: Molly2010
from Canada
"I am not pleased with the way the rod goes together. I thought it would be a better fit between the pieces. I hhave not used the rod yet, but hope it is the rod that I was told it was. Time will tell."
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Access 8-weight 9' Fly Rod—Tip Flex
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Worth every penny,
December 24, 2011
By: mrflyfishingak
from america
"This rod and reel showed me what real quality was like. Other rods and reels for the same price and even more cannot beat orvis rods. I was amazed of how good it was to cast and the reel preforms great. Plus it looks very professional."
Ratings-Only Reviews for Access 8-weight 9' Fly Rod—Tip Flex
Based on 1 ratings-only review
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Would recommend? Yes 1 out of 1