Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Access 4-weight 10' Fly Rod—Tip Flex

2½ oz. 10', 4-piece, Tip-Flex Fly Rod for 4-wt. line.If line control is important to your style of fishing, then the 10-foot rod offers an extra foot of reach for precise nymphing or greater mending capability with dries. In highly technical waters where the fish are picky and presentations need to be precise and absolute, the Access 104-4 offers an incredibly lightweight rod built with our proprietary tapers and actions developed on Helios by our rod designers. This 10-foot rod is also a great rod for float tubers and pontoon anglers, providing the extra length to keep the back cast up off the water. If you're looking for a rod to give you that extra edge, the Access 104-4 offers incredible performance at an unheard of price. It is a specialty rod, but one that is proving more and more popular with anglers looking for that little something extra in presentation.
Average Customer Rating:
4.333 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (9 reviews)
5 stars
6
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
1
8 of 9(89%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Access 4-weight 10' Fly Rod—Tip Flex
Review 1 for Access 4-weight 10' Fly Rod—Tip Flex
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
great rod,
May 5, 2014
By: dfishmolar
from Hudson Valley, NY
"Great rod for nymphing. Perfect taper and weight for east coast streams."
Review 2 for Access 4-weight 10' Fly Rod—Tip Flex
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great all around rod,
November 25, 2012
By: westbrancher
from Hancock, NY
"I got this rod mid-season for all around use on the West Branch of the Delaware, primairly with dries. I was using a 10' 5 wt of another popular brand and the Access 4 weight did everything the 5 did but better and was lighter. These rods are much better than the 10 footers of just a few years ago, especially the 4 due to overall weight. Plenty of backbone for turning over long, 14+ ft leaders and it's length helps manage line. A very nice big-river rod at a great price."
Review 3 for Access 4-weight 10' Fly Rod—Tip Flex
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
ACCESS 10 FT. 4-WT. ROD,
May 23, 2012
By: KODAFLY
"THE ROD WAS NOT BALANCED, IT WAS TOP HEAVY AND REQUIRED CONTINUOUS EFFORT WITH YOUR WRIST MUSCLES TO CARRY IT ALONG THE WATER. I EXCHANGED IT FOR THE ACCESS 9 FT. 4-WT. AND PROBLEM SOLVED."
Review 4 for Access 4-weight 10' Fly Rod—Tip Flex
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great rod,
April 7, 2012
By: JCHDGuy
from Sullivan, Missouri
"I bought this rod about a month ago to replace an 8'6" 4wt rod. Mark at Orvis sold me on this for my style of Trout fishing. He was absolutely correct in his recommendation and it has rapidly become my favorite rod. I absolutely love it. I've also used it for drys and works great there as well. I've gone to using 12' leaders with this rod and I'm catching more fish."
Review 5 for Access 4-weight 10' Fly Rod—Tip Flex
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
great rod,
March 2, 2012
By: nevek
from Gloucester, MA
"i bought this rod for nymph fishing, but like it so much I use it with dries as well. I have used it most in Maine for brookies and salmon, but it alos works great for river smallmouth. I took out west to fish the Green river tailwater and it worked great from both the drift boat and shore. the extra length allowed for easy mending. It's light enough to use all day."
Review 6 for Access 4-weight 10' Fly Rod—Tip Flex
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Deadly Nymphing Weapon,
December 19, 2011
By: villo1980
from Colorado Springs CO
"I have had this rod for less then a year and I love it. I would compare this rod to a sniper rifle for the US Army. Czech Nymphing has been my primary use but I have also used this rod for short and long line nymphing and I have even thrown dries with it. I have caught fish using all the methods mentioned above. light in the hand and durable, I too was alittle skeptical of the reel seat, but it has made it through a fall in Cheesman Canyon, CO with no problems. My wife actually broke the tip a month otr so ago while trying to czech nymph. Not sure if she caught a fish or boulder. Either way a sent it back to Orvis after taling to custoner service. I had my sniper rifle back in less then six weeks. Outstanding rod , outstanding service. Oh yeah, I forgot to mention in my Helios post that I own three Orvis Rods, not two."
Review 7 for Access 4-weight 10' Fly Rod—Tip Flex
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Access 10ft 4wt,
September 30, 2011
By: Kingpin
"Great value, very light and is actually tippy for such a long rod, much nicer to cast or fish with than my previous 10ft'er which was very slow and sloppy.
The rod looks nice, rings are fit for purpose, there is a very slight curve in the tip section which could be caused by spine pull but not enough to bother me, cork is good at this price point, the only downside for me is the reel seat which I think could have been much better engineered, it really is a compromise and clearly built to a cost, I would have willingly paid an extra £20 or £30 for a machined variant, it would have made a 5 star tool, and at a price worth paying for what is a fine rod.
Regs, K..
"
Review 8 for Access 4-weight 10' Fly Rod—Tip Flex
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
fun rod,
September 17, 2011
By: phin
from Montana
"This has quickly become my favorite rod, and I own more rods than I would ever admit to my wife. I bought it for nymphing but found it is great for dries, also. The extra length is great for mending and reach casts. And it roll casts very well. Still light in the hand. I use it more as a five weight than a four - it is great in the drift boat.
Just ordered the same rod in a five weight. Wish they had a 10 foot three and six weight. A mid flex sounds nice, also."
Review 9 for Access 4-weight 10' Fly Rod—Tip Flex
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Like It,
June 9, 2011
By: HarveyMac
"I bought an Access 104-4 as a treat to myself and while I am delighted with the rods performance and quality I would make one small critical observation. I am concerned that my Battenkill Mid Arbour reel does not seat well, as it only enters the fixed front part of the reel seat by about 3/16th of an inch. I had anticipated that the reel which I use on another rod would have also fitted this one. Looks like I will have to save up for an Access Reel to get a proper fit."