Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Ventile® Field Pants

Ventile is a remarkable pure cotton fabric so tightly woven it is waterproof. The instant water touches the fabric, the fibers swell and eliminate any penetration of moisture. The result is a waterproof upland hunting pant without the weight of traditional moisture barriers. A double layer of Ventile fabric at the front leg and back calf gives these classic field pants an added ruggedness perfect for temperate conditions. Ventile is the world's sturdiest all-cotton poplin and the dense weaves aids in pushing aside brush and briars. Diamond gussetted crotch for maximum mobility and comfort. Front security pocket. Pure cotton. Washable. Imported. Even men's pants sizes: 32, 44, 46. Inseams plain finished to your order up to 34" with wear-resistant mock leather hem.
Average Customer Rating:
4.176 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (34 reviews)
5 stars
22
4 stars
3
3 stars
4
2 stars
3
1 star
2
27 of 34(79%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Ventile® Field Pants
Review 1 for Ventile® Field Pants
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Performance,
July 15, 2014
By: Jmacky
from Georgia
"Best field pants I have ever had. Lightweight, very water resistant and nothing sticks to them, briers or burrs. Only issue is they could be a little more generous with he cut on the pants to allow room to move and to wear thicker under layer."
Review 2 for Ventile® Field Pants
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great fabric,
January 15, 2014
By: GrouseEnthusiast
from VT and ADK coverts
"Have had a pair for 4 years. Ventile fabric is as advertised - sheds water, dry against skin, comfortable and great at regulating temperature. However, the cut and fit of the pants was bad for me. Crotch too low resulting is rips. If styled like Missouri Breaks pants, would be a winner. Have patched and re patched. Fabric does not hold up to washing well. Still a great pant but wears out too soon."
Review 3 for Ventile® Field Pants
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great pants!!!,
January 13, 2014
By: Dozer1
from KY
"Been researching pants for awhile & finally pulled the trigger. So far very pleased with the pants. Very light , comfortable, and water resistant! Not sure how durable they will be, but I like them and recommend them to anyone interested!! Nice job!"
Review 4 for Ventile® Field Pants
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
my third pair,
December 27, 2013
By: pheasantlover
"I will say, without hesitation, these are the best hunting pants I have owned. They are good for about 3 years of heavy hunting, in any weather, in any cover. In warm weather, I wear no base layer. In colder weather, I add a base layer of mid weight running tights. This year I wore them with tights in subzero South Dakota weather. They are water proof as advertised for about 3 years, then like anything, they lose that capability. As they are lightweight, they will eventually wear through the cuffs and knees. They are no match for barbed wire. Expensive, but worth every penny. I also have the bird-n-lite ventile cloth upland coat that was offered by orvis in the past. I was sad to see it no longer offerred, as I would have replaced that too."
Review 5 for Ventile® Field Pants
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Not what I expected,
April 6, 2013
By: CZuk
from Northeast PA
"By far the lightest, driest, and most comfortable field pants I ever purchased. However, I got one season out of them before they ripped from the crotch through the seat. Unacceptable and very disappointing for Orvis pants. I would have had better wear from a pair of jeans."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Ventile® Field Pants
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
not worth the money,
March 27, 2013
By: Ron18
"Have ventile field coat and love it. Wife has on also. Pants ripped out in a matter of 3 weeks. Was looking forward to taking these to Africa. Buyer beware"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Ventile® Field Pants
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Tough, comfortable, weatherproof,
January 24, 2013
By: VogonPoetry
from Williamsport, PA
"I've only worn these pants a few times, but I'm really enjoying them so far. The fit is comfortable but not too baggy, and the water beads right off the fabric as it's supposed to. Minus one star due to two minor quibbles: one, because the washing instructions specify warm water, and I am generally a "throw it all in together" type when it comes to laundry; and two, I would have preferred zippered pockets in the back or else a larger zippered security pocket in the front."
Review 8 for Ventile® Field Pants
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Pants for a Tall Guy,
January 3, 2013
By: Tallguywife
"Orvis Customer service was very helpful in suggesting this pant could be ordered un-hemmed. Pants fit beautifully and my husband can have a minimal hem still so the pants won't be too short. Love when everything works. Thanks Orvis!"
Review 9 for Ventile® Field Pants
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ventile Pants Not Accurately Sized,
December 26, 2012
By: StagWing
"Beware - the sizing is grossly "off". The size 32 I ordered is in fact a 30. So add two inches to what you normally order and you may have an accurate fit. They may be great pants - I don't know because I'm in he process of ordering a replacement 34 for a 32 waist."
Review 10 for Ventile® Field Pants
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Essential gear,
December 25, 2012
By: Unimpressed
from Hailey, ID
"I bought my first ventile jacket thirty years ago. This is the essential field gear. Waterproof, breathable and indestructible. You can stand in pouring rain or snow in comfort. More breathable than Gore-tex.
indispensable
"
Review 11 for Ventile® Field Pants
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ventile works in Oregon.,
December 15, 2012
By: DMILLER
from Sweet Home, OR
"I try to walk every day, but it rains in Oregon. Ventile breaths and keeps me dry without over heating. Most rain gear is just plain hot when moving in the temps in my area. If it gets cold I'll add longjohns."
Review 12 for Ventile® Field Pants
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Very good pants,
December 15, 2012
By: HMFWIC
from Wausau , WI
"I just ordered my second pair. They wear out slowly. The first is 5 years old, starting to wear, but I bird hunt 35 days a year. The most wear is above the cuffs, and a second ventile layer there would really help. My first repair is getting some weak spots fixed and now I'll have two pair. They are nice and light for warm weather, and I wear light long underwear when it's below freezing."
Review 13 for Ventile® Field Pants
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The ultimate upland pants,
November 21, 2012
By: Pheasantslayer
from Spokane, WA
"This is the 3rd pair of ventile upland pants I've purchased through Orvis. The pants are undoubtedly the ultimate in terms of comfort, breathability, and waterproofness. They are also very abrasion resistant, and will go through any type of brush or terrain. Thorns and stickers do not stick to this fabric at all. I hunt in wet and snowy conditions, and my legs stay bone dry under these pants. I particulary like the suspender buttons, as I hate pulling up wet pants when upland hunting and prefer suspenders to a belt. I have one caution: these pants are not durable, and after a season of wearing and washing them the fabric will start to fray at the hems and develop small terars elsewhere. After a couple hunting seasons, they will be in tatters and need to be replaced. For such an expensive product, this is quite a disappointment, but for me it is still worth it as they are world's above gortex, etc in terms of comfort and function."
Review 14 for Ventile® Field Pants
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Surprisingly Superior,
November 7, 2012
By: Arthur0413
"I purchased these pants to replace two pairs that wore out last year. I was initially hesitant due to the price, but relied on a friend's advice and took the plunge. They're great. I took them to Price County, Wisconsin hunting for grouse - as hard a mission as I can imagine for a pair of hunting pants. They were light, truly branch-proof, very water-resistant and generally great."
Review 15 for Ventile® Field Pants
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A Must,
October 4, 2012
By: GreenPeak
from Dorset, VT
"Ventile is a magic fabric. Buy any piece you can before it disappears. It makes Gortex seem like plastic wrap."
Review 16 for Ventile® Field Pants
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Mens Ventile Field Pants,
September 24, 2012
By: Dweezy
from Atlanta GA
"Paid $15 @ Orvis Warehouse Sale. They are expensive retail but well worth the money even at $298. Based on look and feel these are great. Waterproofing is excellent. A MUST HAVE!"
Review 17 for Ventile® Field Pants
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Disappointed,
April 17, 2012
By: EarlC
"I liked them for awhile, but the crotch ripped out after a couple seasons. For $300 I expected more durability.
My last set of field pants lasted 15 years and cost only $50 (but they weren't waterproof).
"
Review 18 for Ventile® Field Pants
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
These guys are bullet proof!,
February 24, 2012
By: curtis44520
from Cleveland, Ohio
"Just kidding..... They are really tough pants. They wick water yet let my legs breathe easily. What ever you do buy them larger in the waist because they shrink a lot after the first wash. I also recommend using them with suspenders as they can be a little looser in the waist and give better freedom when tromping through the bush. Well worth the price!"
Review 19 for Ventile® Field Pants
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Not as good as prior offerings,
January 23, 2012
By: Terrence
from NC
"My latest pair of these pants disclose quality problems:
1. The ad shows the pants have zippered rear pockets. While this is true on prior offerings, it was not the case with the new arrivals.
2. Worse yet, the latest pants shrink significantly. Washed and dried per instructions, the inseam of the pant shrank 2".
3. Orvis was great-as usual- in replacing the shrunk pants.
4. On the reorder, the pants were purposely ordered 2" longer and then washed and dried. They then shrank to where I wanted them.
Advice: 1. Do NOT dry these pants in a dryer. Just hang dry.
2. It may be best to order these unhemmed so that you can shrink them and then add the inseam reinforcement yourself.
3. These make a great field pant but $300 pants should not have these problems.
"
Review 20 for Ventile® Field Pants
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Not worth it.,
December 6, 2011
By: William1
from Penniac, New Brunswick
"I work as a woodcock/grouse guide in Eastern Canada and I ripped the crotch out of these pants in one season. For the money, I expected more. They were nice while they lasted, but overall I think they are not worth the price."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.