Orvis Ratings and Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Orvis.

Sedgwick Bridle-Leather Ranger Belt

Known for tanning the finest saddle leather in the world, J&E Sedgwick & Co. Ltd. in West Midlands, England, crafts the leather we use in this distinctive belt for men. Sure to become even more handsome over the years, our Ranger Belt features a solid brass end-bar buckle for durability and enduring good looks. Double leather keepers. Leather belt for men in brown. 1¼" wide. Made in USA of English leather.Even waist sizes 34, 38. Order one size larger than pants size.
Average Customer Rating:
3.789 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (19 reviews)
5 stars
8
4 stars
3
3 stars
4
2 stars
4
1 star
0
12 of 19(63%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Sedgwick Bridle-Leather Ranger Belt
Review 1 for Sedgwick Bridle-Leather Ranger Belt
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Now it is right,
October 22, 2013
By: DrRon
from Shaker Heights, OH
"This ranger belt in a hard and shiny finish is what I thought I was purchasing when I ordered one previously. That one had more of a mat finish but this version is more fitting for dressier casual wear. Very good product!"
Review 2 for Sedgwick Bridle-Leather Ranger Belt
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Nicely Crafted Belt,
October 21, 2013
By: Baysider
from Annapolis MD
"The belt looks exactly as it is pictured and is well made. Unfortunately its sizing is not a wearable size. I wear size 34" waist pants, I purchased a size 36" belt as I normally do. For some reason, while the belt is technically the same length as my other belts, it barely fits me and I must use the last belt hole, which makes it not work as intended like a Ranger belt. I will be returning it. Hopefully they have a 38" in stock. I gave it a 2 star rating for this reason."
Review 3 for Sedgwick Bridle-Leather Ranger Belt
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
average item for a high price,
September 14, 2013
By: harby
from bexhill on sea GB
"as this belt is marked on the reverse made in USA there is little indication that it is actually made of sedgwick leather.of good construction at a high price.take,s a long time for a delivery."
Review 4 for Sedgwick Bridle-Leather Ranger Belt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality,
May 16, 2012
By: Dooda
from Rye East Sussex
"This belt is very well made, it is very supple and does not require " breaking in" I found it was comfortable on the first wearing and is smart on jeans to smart. Im very pleased indeed. Order one size bigger than trousers."
Review 5 for Sedgwick Bridle-Leather Ranger Belt
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
May 13, 2012
By: stuarts
from Barnsley UK
"Size a bit misleading.
I buy Orvis 42" waist trousers, but should have bought the 44" version of this belt to fit well. Will have to shed some inches.
"
Review 6 for Sedgwick Bridle-Leather Ranger Belt
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Tradtional Belt,
January 27, 2012
By: Mlam
from Arizona
"I am pleased with the quality of this traditional design. Note: it will NOT accommodate a change of buckles, as many ranger belts will. And, I was NOT pleased with the packaging. The belt was sealed into a plastic bag, which permitted the wax on the finish to "bloom" just as chocolate does when subjected to humidity. I will need to hand buff the leather before giving it to my husband. A felt bag would have been perfect."
Review 7 for Sedgwick Bridle-Leather Ranger Belt
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality and Elegance,
January 10, 2012
By: Anonymous
from Kailua, HI
"Not the cheapest belt you will find at Orvis but this belt is made from quality leather and well constructed. Elegant for travel, evening, office. This was a great gift, much appreciated by my husband!"
Review 8 for Sedgwick Bridle-Leather Ranger Belt
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
disappointing gift,
January 2, 2012
By: pipesandpedals
from Dayton, OHIO
"First off, I love Orvis! However, I
purchased this belt for my husband
as a Christmas gift. I knew it might
be one size too small but it is two
sizes too small. We both love the
style but when it came, it had a
white substance all over it. I will
be returning it to try again, but could
someone look at the product to see
if it is in mint condition?
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Sedgwick Bridle-Leather Ranger Belt
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Get the sizes right,
December 23, 2011
By: longbeaux
from Montana
"Good quality, but the belt arrived marked as size 38, but is actually a size 36. Second time this has happened."
Review 10 for Sedgwick Bridle-Leather Ranger Belt
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Nice belt but,
November 19, 2011
By: Scarter176
from Fort worth Tx.
"After 12 months this belt lost the dye in places. I like the belt but the quality of the color is not good!Kind of expensive for this to happen."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Sedgwick Bridle-Leather Ranger Belt
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Disappointed,
July 9, 2011
By: ganonlad
from England
"After spending over a £100.00 on a belt I thought it would last a life time, but no, after very little ware over the last three years the holes on the belt have split and it now look unsightly"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Sedgwick Bridle-Leather Ranger Belt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
On the money!,
June 28, 2011
By: Lawguy
"Excellent product. Beautiful leather and workmanship, great attention to detail, stictching of high quality....looks great with Orvis khakis. Good idea to order a size up from waist size (e.g., waist 34, order a size 36)."
Review 13 for Sedgwick Bridle-Leather Ranger Belt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best Belt I've Ever had the Pleasure of Owning!,
June 15, 2011
By: bluesb4sunrise
from Minneapolis, MN
"I have had this belt for over 25 years and it has softened, self-conditioned and developed a nice patina over the years. And now I am the proud new owner of another brand-new Sedgewick Ranger Belt! The only problem is that the other one is still perfectly functional (though admittedly a bit worn) ... so, one with jeans and one for a more formal look?"
Review 14 for Sedgwick Bridle-Leather Ranger Belt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
good construction,
May 7, 2011
By: bellaireroad
"I am giving this belt 5 stars but a negative rec - because I had to send it back. The belt is well made, and the leather is top notch.
The problem I had is that the buckle and belt loops are not removable. I use a custom silver ranger buckle set- and all Ranger belts I've owned in the past have rivits that screw off to allow changing out the buckle.
This feature is pretty much standard down here in Texas,,,therefore I wouldnt recommend it to a friend. If you are not planning on changing the buckle out...you will be happy with it. Be sure to order bigger than your waist size. The ranger belt overlaps on itself, and is not measured like normal belts"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Sedgwick Bridle-Leather Ranger Belt
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Too small,
January 1, 2011
By: HappyinChicago
Good Value: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Features: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Appearance: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
"I ordered this belt in a larger than normal size, but it was still too small. And there is so much going on around the buckle, that it wouldn't fit between my belt loops. The inside loop seems like it will be uncomfortable as well. It looks nice, but I will be returning it for another model."
Response from Orvis:By Orvis Service TeamJanuary 9, 2011
Orvis Customer Care contacted this customer to apologize that this belt did not meet his expectations. We thanked him for this valuable feedback and will gladly refund the purchase for this item. You can always shop with confidence at Orvis—everything we sell is backed by our unconditional 100% satisfaction guarantee.
Review 16 for Sedgwick Bridle-Leather Ranger Belt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Finally Found,
December 31, 2010
By: Cordless
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I have finally found a ranger belt that meets my quality desires. The belt is dramatically better than the ranger belt offered by competitors. Orvis "nailed" this one!"
Review 17 for Sedgwick Bridle-Leather Ranger Belt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Belt,
January 27, 2010
By: MiddleAged
from Seattle, WA
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Very well made belt. Many western sytle belts have a very thick buildup of layers making them uncomfortable. This one is well designed to be comfortable and at 11/4" the increased thickness fits through all my belt loops. It's hard to find a quality belt made in the USA and this one will last a long long time. Worth the cost."
Review 18 for Sedgwick Bridle-Leather Ranger Belt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Some further advice,
April 23, 2008
By: RPGinTsukuba
from Tsukuba, Japan
"If you are considering this belt and you wear 2 different sizes of pants (e.g. sometimes 34 and sometimes 36) then you need to calculate the next size up from the larger pair size, not the smaller pair size. Remember that a ranger belt, unlike a garrison belt, for instance narrows out near the buckle so it is not possible to do any adjustment once you have given a size (other than exchange it)."
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Sedgwick Bridle-Leather Ranger Belt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Rugged and dressy,
February 7, 2008
By: RickF
from San Francisco Bay Area
"This is a high quality, well constructed belt, worth the extra $50 to $70 you need to pay compared to many of the other belts offered by Orvis. You definitely need to order one size larger than your waist size though otherwise this belt will not fit. It works great with jeans when dressing down or with khakis when you are dressing up a bit. I think the adage "you get what you pay for" certainly applies to this fine piece of workmanship."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.