Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product
This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Orvis.

Camel Hair Jacket

Unbelievably soft to the touch, lightweight camel hair with a smidgen of wool makes this the most luxurious jacket we offer. Feminine one-button style with notched lapel, besom flap pockets, and leather shank buttons on front and cuffs. Fully lined. In camel. Dry clean. Imported.Petite sizes: 8, 12, 16; about 24" long.
Average Customer Rating:
4.175 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (40 reviews)
5 stars
25
4 stars
6
3 stars
3
2 stars
3
1 star
3
32 of 40(80%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Camel Hair Jacket
Review 1 for Camel Hair Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Purchase,
November 25, 2012
By: mornrose
"Beautiful Jacket - lovely to wear and looks really good dressed up or down."
Review 2 for Camel Hair Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent purchase,
October 23, 2012
By: katyP
from Powys, Wales
"Lovely fabric, good fit with sleeves of the right length for me and feels really good to wear. I shall get a great deal of use for the jacket and it has been much admired."
Review 3 for Camel Hair Jacket
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Disappointing,
October 22, 2012
By: Ongarbridge
from Near London
"Well cut and good looking but material disappointingly thin and insubstantial. I guess it came from an elderly camel.
Orvis, you can, and generally do, do better.
"
Review 4 for Camel Hair Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Soft as baby hair,
October 20, 2012
By: silverladysp
from Skegness UK
"When you do things well, you do things well! I bought this jacket in your sale, and it arrived with beautiful hanger, protective Orvis bag and seriously good packaging. It is truely lovely, fits like it was made for me, and will be a staple in my wardrobe for years to come. Thank you Orvis."
Review 5 for Camel Hair Jacket
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
a classic jacket,
October 17, 2012
By: anchoress
from Essex UK
"The fabric is beautiful and soft, and the jacket well-tailored with a pleasing shape. I bought the size 8 petite (I am UK size 12) because I wanted to be sure I could fit a lightweight jumper underneath and to give room for rather chunky upper arms. The fit of the sleeves is fine, but it is rather large in the body. Overall a purchase i am very pleased with."
Review 6 for Camel Hair Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This is such a beautiful jacket....,
October 16, 2012
By: GinSling
from Durham
"I purchased this jacket a few years ago in a larger size and I absolutely loved it. The downside to losing weight was that my lovely Orvis jackets (I had others) were too big so I gave them to a very grateful friend. When I spotted this on your website I couldn't wait to order it, and I love this one too."
Review 7 for Camel Hair Jacket
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Beautiful quality,
October 14, 2012
By: Garten
from Kent, England
"Delighted with the lightweight material which is warm and soft. Very well cut, although it is loose around the waist so I will need to have the button moved. The colour is versatile and I'm enjoying wearing this lovely jacket."
Review 8 for Camel Hair Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
a classic,
February 15, 2012
By: coppa
from essex.uk
"this is a classic jacket. simple style and good quality fabric. 2 button fastening would be better but still a lovely jacket."
Review 9 for Camel Hair Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
gorgeous,
February 6, 2012
By: szuz
from new jersey
"I was delighted with this jacket which I purchased for my daughter who is beginning her work as a law clerk. It is beautifully styled, the fabric is high quality, and the 4P fit her perfectly. I would not change a thing about it. I would love this jacket in a navy blue cashmere!"
Review 10 for Camel Hair Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent wardrobe staple,
January 31, 2012
By: Morgo
from NJ
"Well constructed, hard to find jacket for 3 seasons that goes with everything! Lined well - good quality."
Review 11 for Camel Hair Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The best fit,
January 30, 2012
By: DDDinah
from Oklahoma
"This is one of my favorite purchases from Orvis!! It looks great - fits super. I usually wear a small in Orvis clothes but I have long arms and I ordered a size 10. It is beautiful, soft, wears well, and my husband loves it on me. I have been looking for a camel blazer and I was delighted when I saw it in your catalog. Thank you!!"
Review 12 for Camel Hair Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best Fit Ever,
January 22, 2012
By: Oldfarmer
from New Mexico
"I have wanted a jacket like this for a long time, and I hesitated ordering it from a catalog - afraid it wouldn't be the quality I'd dreamed of. But it is, and the fit, style and quality is absolutely amazing. Orvis delivered wonderfully."
Review 13 for Camel Hair Jacket
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
A Major Disappointment in Style,
January 17, 2012
By: 85nshort
from Eugene, Oregon
"I have always enjoyed wearing classic tailored jackets, i.e. Pendleton, and thought this would be an ideal purchase. However, due to deeper tucks in the front and back of the garment than in previous jackets I've treasured, this jacket flared out at the hips, accenting my inherited generous derriere . The cinched-in look so popular now -- it's all wrong for some of us! I am dismayed at the almost universal short skimpy jackets on the market today -- cinched in at the waist with bosoms in peril of flipping out. Do we all have to look like we couldn't afford enough material to cover us?"
Review 14 for Camel Hair Jacket
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Almost there...,
January 12, 2012
By: aclasc1
from Chestertown, MD
"I have been looking for a camel jacket for years, and was thrilled to finally find one that has classic lines and looked long enough. Both of these are true about this jacket, but I was very disappointed to see that one of the front darts is stitched sloppily. For this amount of money, the garment should be perfectly tailored. I will be returning it."
Review 15 for Camel Hair Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Camel hair jacket,
December 30, 2011
By: sovereign
"I am extremely pleased with my jacket and have had no problems with it. I like the fit and the quality is very high."
Review 16 for Camel Hair Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
camel hair jacket,
December 29, 2011
By: medford
"It is comfortable. Warm but light weight. It goes almost everwhere and is easy to pair up with pants and skirts of various colors. I truly enjoy it."
Review 17 for Camel Hair Jacket
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Defective Product,
December 23, 2011
By: SammyG
from Annapolis, MD
"I am disappointed in the Camels Hair Jacket, because the back of the Jacket seems to have an imperfection or defect and will unfortunately have to be returned after Christmas."
Review 18 for Camel Hair Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Beautiful jacket,
December 18, 2011
By: lowaron
from Bell, Fl
"This jacket is a quality classic piece that fits in any wardrobe. It is exactly what I expected in fit and quality. Lightweight, well made, lined, nice buttons with 3 buttons on the cuffs makes it work with suit pants or skirt or even jeans - just awesome!"
Review 19 for Camel Hair Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Classic Quality,
November 10, 2011
By: Erinna
"The camel hair jacket is made of the finest material (actual camel hair) and is reminiscent of garments and styles of decades past, when clothing lasted for years and years, outliving fashion trends and deterioration of the fabric."
Review 20 for Camel Hair Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
BEAUTIFUL JACKET,
October 28, 2011
By: LumsMum
"This jacket is beautifully tailored. I especially love the long lapels - very figure flattering. Wonderful soft fabric and very nice lining. I did size up one size, but no worries."