Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product
This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Orvis.

Blaze Packer Hat

A blaze hunting fedora hat in the style of the great outdoor sportsmen of a bygone era. A great alternative to a ball cap. Lightfelt™ crushable hat with leather trim. Adjustable cotton sweatband. In blaze orange. Made in USA.Hat sizes: S/M(6¾-7¼), L/XL(7⅜-7⅝).
Average Customer Rating:
4.786 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (56 reviews)
5 stars
47
4 stars
7
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
0
54 of 56(96%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Blaze Packer Hat
Review 1 for Blaze Packer Hat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
crushed hat,
May 5, 2014
By: smitty1999
from ont
"the hat is all one peice and hasbeen chrushed several times and still keeps it shap. The ajustable fit is a nice feature so the hat fits perfectly all the time."
Review 2 for Blaze Packer Hat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Dreamsicle,
March 26, 2014
By: DLOB
from Findlay, Ohio
"Love the color which matches one of my colllector cars ......very comfortable too"
Review 3 for Blaze Packer Hat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
nice hat,
March 22, 2014
By: DLOB
from Findlay, Ohio
"great color....have had many complements.....fits well especially with the adjustable band"
Review 4 for Blaze Packer Hat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Very stylish and super cool,
January 28, 2014
By: Stabu
"I used it on a pigeon hunt recently and it worked great. It gives just the right shade for your eyes and really shines in your fellow hunters, so reduces risk of accidents.
i got very positive response in urban settings as well."
Review 5 for Blaze Packer Hat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
My second great hat,
January 15, 2014
By: NorthwoodsBirdHunter
from NH
"The blaze orange fedora is my favorite hat for bird hunting, replacing the one that I bought several years ago. The rugged grouse caver finally wore out the old one,"
Review 6 for Blaze Packer Hat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Hunter's wife,
January 6, 2014
By: WifeofHunter
from Rogersville, TN
"Ugliest hat I have ever seen but he loves it. Bright orange!!!! Being from TN I love ORANGE but REALLY??? He is happy so I should be? He says it fits great (has a big head) and will keep him from getting SHOT in the head, again I should be happy!"
Review 7 for Blaze Packer Hat
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Good, but not as forgiving,
January 3, 2014
By: Rookhawk
from Chicago, IL
"I bought the pack able fedora (not in blaze) and had great results so I bought this hat that appears to be similar but in blaze orange. They are very different.
The blaze fades over time which is a problem and it permanently logs it's shape and stiffness after getting rained on once. The inside of the hat has a liner that is multifit adjustable.
If you need blaze, the hat is okay. If you want a lifetime hat that doesn't need to be orange, get the pack able hat that is far more durable and color fast."
Review 8 for Blaze Packer Hat
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
What a colour,
January 2, 2014
By: chasemeoverthehill
from Wokingham
"A wonderful hat in a vibrant orange that has already got me a wealth of complementary comments, quite a beacon on your head!"
Review 9 for Blaze Packer Hat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Superb,
November 18, 2013
By: twal1076
from Birmingham England
"I must admit i was rather apprehensive about buying such a loud coloured hat but when it was delivered i was over the moon, it looks great and the quality is superb"
Review 10 for Blaze Packer Hat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
outstanding,
October 13, 2013
By: oscae
from Somerset
"top quality felt with adjustable headband, great fit ,and nice and warm.The blaze colour certainly is bright and enables my wife to find me instantly in a crowd,but more importantly, great for safety,no chance of being run over at night whilst walking your dogs etc"
Review 11 for Blaze Packer Hat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Hat,
September 13, 2013
By: madjackmcmad
from Bristol.
"Beautifully made hat, i will need to get uesd to the colour but that was my choice! Great quality product and excellent service from Orvis themselves. Recommended! Phil."
Review 12 for Blaze Packer Hat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Stylish, yet practical,
August 26, 2013
By: Troop35
from Duluth,MN
"Loved this hat for years, last one finally faded to a dull orange, so I replaced it for safety reasons."
Review 13 for Blaze Packer Hat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Hard To Find,
May 14, 2013
By: Skeeter4
from Champaign, IL
"I have looked at this item for a year, believing that when a particular event took place, this was the perfect gift, and it would be appreciated by the recipient. That was definitely the case. The color made the sale. The color made the gift."
Review 14 for Blaze Packer Hat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Missouri Maverics Fan,
February 5, 2013
By: mickeysdragon
from Lees summit, MO
"Purchased the hat to wear to the hockey games and I received allot of compliments."
Review 15 for Blaze Packer Hat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"best red hat" ever,
January 22, 2013
By: drbig
from encinitas, ca
"thanks to the adjustable head band, i'm able to keep this wool beauty, and save return shipping charges.
made is usa is icing on the cake
"
Review 16 for Blaze Packer Hat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Awesome Fedora,
December 28, 2012
By: TurboDave
from Rancho Cucamonga CA
"Adjustable headband is a great idea to ensure comfortable fit. The style is excellent and the Red color is vivid.
I wear the hat on numerous outdoor adventures and I have many of my friends asking where I bought it. Great product !
"
Review 17 for Blaze Packer Hat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great hat,
December 27, 2012
By: Gundog
from Grand Rapids, MI
"I bought this hat for myself a few months back. The first time I wore it we were out in 30 degree tempuratures for about three hours. Despite not having anything to cover my ears, they were never cold. I especially like the stylishness and, believe me, you'll be visible! Liked it so much I gave one to my Dad for Christmas. Very good material and construction at a reasonable price."
Review 18 for Blaze Packer Hat
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Fading and staining,
December 22, 2012
By: USFSHiker
from Southwest Virginia
"Good hat for use when hiking - nice bright blaze color makes you stand out. Get it wet, and it stains a dark color where each drop hit. Also looses about half of its color over the course of a few months. Wish the color was a bit more stay-fast."
Review 19 for Blaze Packer Hat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Hat when you Need Blaze Orange,
December 3, 2012
By: TownandcountryinPA
from Lancaster, PA
"I used this on a Kansas whitetail hunt this November and will use it again on a pheasant hunt over New Years. Great quality and finish. The adjustable headband works very well, I was able to snug it on in the wind and over a balaclava when it got cold. The material sheds dirt and debris and isn't scratchy. The wide brim is great for sun and rain. It packs well and comes back into shape without a problem. There are times when a ball cap or watch cap are useful but this is my new "go to" hat for other times when orange is required."
Review 20 for Blaze Packer Hat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Santa's Perfect Casual Hat,
November 26, 2012
By: SeattleSanta
from Ballard, WA
"I'm a professional Santa and most of the year look the part. This hat goes perfect with my casual attire.
Thanks
No coal in your stocking this year
"