Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Deerskin and Fleece Shooting Glove

A great cold-weather shooting glove. The windproof Berber™ fleece back holds off the chill to keep you warm, while the supple deerskin palm and index finger maintain your dexterity. Moisture-wicking brushed fleece lining. In walnut. Imported.Sizes: S(8"), M(8½-9"), L(9½-10"), XL(10½-11").
Average Customer Rating:
4.62 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (71 reviews)
5 stars
52
4 stars
13
3 stars
4
2 stars
2
1 star
0
66 of 71(93%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Deerskin and Fleece Shooting Glove
Review 1 for Deerskin and Fleece Shooting Glove
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Winter is coming,
October 6, 2014
By: Mazzy152
from Boston Ma
"Great quality glove. Will be warm and dry for the season."
Review 2 for Deerskin and Fleece Shooting Glove
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great purchase,
March 3, 2014
By: JOT6911
from Wilminton North carolina
"We hunt ducks, deer, quail and doves and I have never been able to find a suitable glove for all uses. Found it now, these gloves are great, flexible, warm and great looking for after the hunt. Would strongly recommend their purchase."
Review 3 for Deerskin and Fleece Shooting Glove
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Deerskin Fleece Gloves,
February 19, 2014
By: Harleydog
"These gloves are the perfect balance between summer/fall shooting gloves and the transition to winter time shooting. The fleece is excellent regarding warmth, and the deerskin allows for grip and the feel that is necessary for shooting. I would highly recommend."
Review 4 for Deerskin and Fleece Shooting Glove
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Not designed for me,
February 17, 2014
By: DPHouston
from Texas
"Returned the first pair of because of bad seams that left excess deerskin at the tips of the trigger fingers. The second pair were cut better in the fingers, but the cuff had a very wide flare that offered no protection to my wrist area. The gloves were warm and offered reasonable trigger feel for a lined glove. I returned the gloves, and Orvis refunded my money."
Review 5 for Deerskin and Fleece Shooting Glove
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
warm and comfortable,
February 14, 2014
By: hoosierboy
from Indiana
"I really like the warmth and comfort of these and have even remembered to bring them with me on the road this winter,something I've forgot to do for at least 2 seasons now. Needless to say they still look like new since I hardly wear them. I've taken them to the range for shooting practice but find them a little thick in the fingers for my pistol's so I'm using them for regular wear.I haven't tried them with my S&W model 36 but they may be perfect for that one."
Review 6 for Deerskin and Fleece Shooting Glove
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
toasty warm,
January 16, 2014
By: brooklyngal
from brooklyn, NY
"great cloves. super warm. very durable. my husband loves them"
Review 7 for Deerskin and Fleece Shooting Glove
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great pair of gloves!,
January 15, 2014
By: Honk
from Clifton Park, NY
"Love these gloves! This is the second pair I have purchased. The first pair lasted over 5 years. They are very comfortable, fit well and look great!"
Review 8 for Deerskin and Fleece Shooting Glove
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great fit - good performance,
January 11, 2014
By: LongIslandHuntAndFish
from Long Island, NY
"I recently used these gloves for a continental hunt in Vermont and the gloves performed great. They are very soft and comfortable. Size is very true. Reloading was easy although as I am right handed that glove is a little nicked up from my semi but not my over under."
Review 9 for Deerskin and Fleece Shooting Glove
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Hunting Gloves,
January 6, 2014
By: HN14HUNTER
from Chicago, IL
"While I have always disliked wearing gloves when hunting with my semi-auto shotgun, these gloves are a pleasure to wear, in terms of comfort, trigger feel and ability to quickly reload my semi-auto shotguns. I wore them on the hunting field on an exceptionally cold Chicago winter day, and they kept my hands warm and didn't hinder my manual dexterity in any way. They are the best."
Review 10 for Deerskin and Fleece Shooting Glove
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fantastic gloves,
January 2, 2014
By: ILPheasantHunter
"I bought these gloves for upland bird hunting in IL and WI. I was a little concerned about durability and warmth, but after having a chance to try them my concerns were unwarranted. I went out in 20 degree, breezy, snowy weather with a couple of buddies. The gloves were incredibly warm (not too hot) and comfortable, and blocked the wind with no problem. I ordered a medium, the same as most of my other gloves, and the size was exactly right....perfect for shooting both my semi auto and over/under. They also proved to be durable as I was able to "test" them in some thorny areas (one very small nick in the leather and no problem with the cloth)---honestly, I wouldn't do it on purpose or often, but I was expecting them to be shredded and they really held up well. Both of the people I was with were wearing other types of shooting gloves, but they weren't nearly as pleased as I was."
Review 11 for Deerskin and Fleece Shooting Glove
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great cold-weather shooting glove,
December 23, 2013
By: HunterJim
from Lancaster, Pennsylvania
"I recently used these gloves for a late season pheasant hunt in White Lake, South Dakota and the glove performed flawlessly. Shotgun use and reloading was easy. When used with a thin glove liner and a hand warmer in each glove (behind the hand in shooting glove and in the palm in the non-shooting gloved hand), my hands were comfortable in 0 to 13 degree weather during blocking and walking, even with the ever-present wind. I would highly recommend these gloves in a non-snow environment. The only complaint is that I do not know how many seasons you will get out of these as the leather is already cracking and peeling a little on the finger tips due to exposure to some wetness when retrieving snow-covered birds from the dog."
Review 12 for Deerskin and Fleece Shooting Glove
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Deerskin/Fleece glove,
December 23, 2013
By: natimage
from Aptos, California
"Looking for a comfortable and warm shooting glove, look no further! This glove does it all."
Review 13 for Deerskin and Fleece Shooting Glove
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I searched,
December 20, 2013
By: mooney52897
from Natick,MA
"Having received a pair as a gift I thought they were the best ever. So I ordered them for each of my grandsons."
Review 14 for Deerskin and Fleece Shooting Glove
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Requested a 2nd pair,
December 17, 2013
By: KathLynn
"My husband loved these gloves and finally wore out his first pair after years of use hunting. Glad they were in stock for Christmas!"
Review 15 for Deerskin and Fleece Shooting Glove
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Bird Hunt,
December 13, 2013
By: moomar
from San Diego, CA
"Took this gloves on a bird hunt. Turned out to be 12 F. Hands stayed warm and was able to shoot with them on. would recommend these gloves for any kind of hunting or shooting activities."
Review 16 for Deerskin and Fleece Shooting Glove
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
SHOOTING GLOVES,
December 10, 2013
By: ZOOM1986
from Birmingham,AL.
"I am not a hunter, but these gloves are perfect for driving on a cold day. The deer skin is soft and definitely has a worn in feel to it!"
Review 17 for Deerskin and Fleece Shooting Glove
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best Hunting Glove I have found,
December 8, 2013
By: DReading
from Riverton, UT
"I have lost a pair, dog has eaten the right hand glove of another pair, and I gave my last pair to my son. I keep buying them because the warm fleece lining, thin leather fingers make this the best hunting glove ever."
Review 18 for Deerskin and Fleece Shooting Glove
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Disappointing,
November 20, 2013
By: opinion13
"Some years ago I had purchased a pair of Orvis deerskin/fleece shooting gloves. They were splendid and as a result received considerable wear. In view of alI the wear, I recently (November 2013) purchased a second pair. In many respects they were the same as my original pair, but the tips of the fingers were tailored differently. In the original pair, the tips were neat and trim, allowing precise movements. The tips in the new pair are rather roughly formed, resulting in clumsy movements. This is disappointing, since my experience with Orvis is that their products are usually top-notch all round."
Review 19 for Deerskin and Fleece Shooting Glove
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Gloves,
November 19, 2013
By: sidebyside
from Alexandria, LA
"I have previously written a review on these gloves but I have now had a chance to try them out in the field. I just returned from a pheasant hunt in Kansas where I put these gloves to the test. These are one tough pair of gloves. I walked through "big grass", briers, and bamboo thickets chasing the birds and the gloves were barely bruised. These gloves are also warm and do not get in the way when shooting. My guide admired them so much I gave them to him upon completion of the hunt. I can not think of a hunter who would not be pleased with the performance of these gloves."
Review 20 for Deerskin and Fleece Shooting Glove
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ok gloves,
November 15, 2013
By: Woodmanforlife
"Have a very old pair of identical gloves that have stood the passage of time and hard use. The seams and fit of the new gloves are not up to that standard."