Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product
This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Orvis.

World War II Mechanic's Sweater

Warm, comfortable, and easy to move in, our utilitarian sweater is modeled after the sweater GIs wore in the field during the long winter of 1944. Our special foul-weather collar buttons up tight to cut the cold. Knit of pure cotton in a beefy but versatile half-cardigan stitch for maximum flexibility. Zambezi® Twill elbow patches and button placket. Ribbed cuffs, collar, and waist. Pure cotton. Washable. Imported. Sizes: S(34-36), M(38-40), L(42-44), XL(46-48), XXL(50-52).
Average Customer Rating:
4.517 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (116 reviews)
5 stars
84
4 stars
16
3 stars
9
2 stars
6
1 star
1
104 of 116(90%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for World War II Mechanic's Sweater
Review 1 for World War II Mechanic's Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Comfort,
December 11, 2014
By: Brfreddie
from NE Ohio
"Had a rag wool sweater when I was younger that was my "comfort" sweater. I've been looking for a replacement for years and I think this is it. Love it."
Review 2 for World War II Mechanic's Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great fit and looks!,
December 1, 2014
By: gautam
from dallas, tx
"Looks like a keeper - good quality, perfect design and uniquely fashionable. I'll be using this often!"
Review 3 for World War II Mechanic's Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great sweater,
November 26, 2014
By: willnick2332
"This is a great sweater. Very comfortable, very warm, and great looking too."
Review 4 for World War II Mechanic's Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
An excellent sweater,
November 26, 2014
By: MAVB
"As expected from Orvis, the sweater was well-made and arrived without any flaws. It fit to size, but was not overly tight in the shoulders or arm-holes. I was also pleased with its weight and warmth."
Review 5 for World War II Mechanic's Sweater
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Good quality,
November 18, 2014
By: rpi1994
from Western Mass
"The sweater looks great and the quality is good. They need to offer it for tall people."
Review 6 for World War II Mechanic's Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A fine sweater,
November 11, 2014
By: Llilly
from Chicago, IL
"The sweater has a soft, rich texture that retains warmth. The collar is remarkably resilient to wrinkling. Even after being tossed over a chair for several days, it is ready to wear."
Review 7 for World War II Mechanic's Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great looking,
November 10, 2014
By: Junny
from San Antonio, Texas
"Manly look from the past. I only wish I could have Had a gold color."
Review 8 for World War II Mechanic's Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best sweater ever,
November 6, 2014
By: mwhite66
from Sterling, VA
"This is the best three-season sweater ever. Fits great, warm without being heavy, and gets unsolicited compliments. Collar unbuttons and flips up to keep your neck warm when needed. I'm on my third one. The only problem is the loose weave is easy to catch on anything sharp."
Review 9 for World War II Mechanic's Sweater
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
October 22, 2014
By: Soduco
from Franklin, Tn
"The real " McCoy " perfect fit. Looks great with jeans."
Review 10 for World War II Mechanic's Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Sweater,
January 17, 2014
By: AVJersey
"This sweater is great! It was a gift for my husband and he is always looking for something slightly different. This sweater fits the criteria and is weighty, comfortable and looks great on! The cut and style is terrific. Thanks for a great sweater!"
Review 11 for World War II Mechanic's Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Superb Jumper,the best,
December 11, 2013
By: jckglo
from herefordshire
"I cannot believe how superb this Jumper is,,The quality and style is amazing,,,The best purchase I have made,,,Will always go to Orvis first"
Review 12 for World War II Mechanic's Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
WWII SWEATER,
December 7, 2013
By: Jeremy87
"Great sweater. Runs large though. I normally wear a large but I'm returning for a medium."
Review 13 for World War II Mechanic's Sweater
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Super buy,
December 7, 2013
By: Craigster
from Virginia Beach, VA
"This sweater is super cool. Very comfortable and great look. I had 4 compliments the first time I wore the sweater. Only drawback I see is that the material will snag, this is minor. I am very pleased with my purchase and yes the sweater will keep you warm and cozy."
Review 14 for World War II Mechanic's Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
BRAVO,
November 13, 2013
By: TBONEJTOWN
from JAMESTOWN, NY
"WELL MADE STYLISH & WARM
HAS QUICKLY BECOME ONE OF
MY WARDROBE FAVS
"
Review 15 for World War II Mechanic's Sweater
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Disappointed,
February 18, 2013
By: McCrack
"I requested size XL although the jumper was labeled XL there was no way it was the correct size"
Review 16 for World War II Mechanic's Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Nice but Returned,
February 15, 2013
By: Qualitybuff
from Brookline, MA
"This is a well designed sweater (I gave it 5 stars,) that as it turned out was just not right for me (so I did not "recommend it to a friend" and have in fact returned it). I purchased it in Navy thinking the color would be darker - it is in fact closer to a deep denim blue that would be just right for someone looking for a more casual and faded feeling sweater. I think it would've been more to my taste in either boiled or worsted wool with a denser knit and a darker true Navy color. The button detailing at the front of the shawl collar has the potential to be a nice touch - however it could've had slightly smaller and darker buttons for a more integrated less aggressive look. Good but not for me."
Review 17 for World War II Mechanic's Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The Perfect Sweater,
February 12, 2013
By: kmj1
from Virginia Beach, Virginia
"Well-made sweater with great details and styling. It's the perfect weight for warmth without bulk."
Review 18 for World War II Mechanic's Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Perfect Sweater !,
January 30, 2013
By: 2dognight
from Alexandria, VA
"The sweater is great.
It is great quality.
Fits well
Very happy with it.
Thank you"
Review 19 for World War II Mechanic's Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great likeness and quality!,
January 13, 2013
By: DressClassic
from Chicago
"This sweater looks exactly as presented on the web site. The material is not cheap, it is really warm. It doesn't turn into a mess of lint after coming out of the wash's delicate cycle like some sweaters do. It's really durable and holds its shape well so long as as you dry it properly on a flat surface. I bought two - one olive and one black - and they are both great. I was worried about sizing. I'm a size 42 chest and often when I get a Large size it is too long, but this sweater ends just bellow the belt and not just above the thighs like most. The Large size was perfect. Getting lots of compliments. Well worth the price."
Review 20 for World War II Mechanic's Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Very happy with this purchase,
January 10, 2013
By: DontBlink
from Wisconsin Dells, Wi
"I could not be happier with this purchase. I was looking for a semi-formal sweater to wear in a changing work environment and this sweater does the job. Whether it be inside sitting at my desk or outside for stints while walking the lots, this sweater keeps me at a steady temperature."