Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product
This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Orvis.

World War II Mechanic's Pullover

Warm, comfortable, and easy to move in, this is the style of utilitarian pullover that GIs wore in the field during the long winter of 1944. The foul-weather collar can be buttoned up tight to keep out the cold or buttoned down securely out of the way for a clear line of vision in combat. Knit in a beefy but versatile half-cardigan stitch for maximum flexibility. Zambezi® Twill elbow patches and button placket. Ribbed cuff, collar, and waist. Pure cotton. Washable. Sizes: S(34-36), M(38-40), L(42-44), XL(46-48), XXL(50-52).
Average Customer Rating:
4.491 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (106 reviews)
5 stars
76
4 stars
14
3 stars
9
2 stars
6
1 star
1
94 of 106(89%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for World War II Mechanic's Pullover
Review 1 for World War II Mechanic's Pullover
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Sweater,
January 17, 2014
By: AVJersey
"This sweater is great! It was a gift for my husband and he is always looking for something slightly different. This sweater fits the criteria and is weighty, comfortable and looks great on! The cut and style is terrific. Thanks for a great sweater!"
Review 2 for World War II Mechanic's Pullover
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Superb Jumper,the best,
December 11, 2013
By: jckglo
from herefordshire
"I cannot believe how superb this Jumper is,,The quality and style is amazing,,,The best purchase I have made,,,Will always go to Orvis first"
Review 3 for World War II Mechanic's Pullover
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
WWII SWEATER,
December 7, 2013
By: Jeremy87
"Great sweater. Runs large though. I normally wear a large but I'm returning for a medium."
Review 4 for World War II Mechanic's Pullover
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Super buy,
December 7, 2013
By: Craigster
from Virginia Beach, VA
"This sweater is super cool. Very comfortable and great look. I had 4 compliments the first time I wore the sweater. Only drawback I see is that the material will snag, this is minor. I am very pleased with my purchase and yes the sweater will keep you warm and cozy."
Review 5 for World War II Mechanic's Pullover
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
BRAVO,
November 13, 2013
By: TBONEJTOWN
from JAMESTOWN, NY
"WELL MADE STYLISH & WARM
HAS QUICKLY BECOME ONE OF
MY WARDROBE FAVS
"
Review 6 for World War II Mechanic's Pullover
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Disappointed,
February 18, 2013
By: McCrack
"I requested size XL although the jumper was labeled XL there was no way it was the correct size"
Review 7 for World War II Mechanic's Pullover
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Nice but Returned,
February 15, 2013
By: Qualitybuff
from Brookline, MA
"This is a well designed sweater (I gave it 5 stars,) that as it turned out was just not right for me (so I did not "recommend it to a friend" and have in fact returned it). I purchased it in Navy thinking the color would be darker - it is in fact closer to a deep denim blue that would be just right for someone looking for a more casual and faded feeling sweater. I think it would've been more to my taste in either boiled or worsted wool with a denser knit and a darker true Navy color. The button detailing at the front of the shawl collar has the potential to be a nice touch - however it could've had slightly smaller and darker buttons for a more integrated less aggressive look. Good but not for me."
Review 8 for World War II Mechanic's Pullover
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The Perfect Sweater,
February 12, 2013
By: kmj1
from Virginia Beach, Virginia
"Well-made sweater with great details and styling. It's the perfect weight for warmth without bulk."
Review 9 for World War II Mechanic's Pullover
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Perfect Sweater !,
January 30, 2013
By: 2dognight
from Alexandria, VA
"The sweater is great.
It is great quality.
Fits well
Very happy with it.
Thank you"
Review 10 for World War II Mechanic's Pullover
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great likeness and quality!,
January 13, 2013
By: DressClassic
from Chicago
"This sweater looks exactly as presented on the web site. The material is not cheap, it is really warm. It doesn't turn into a mess of lint after coming out of the wash's delicate cycle like some sweaters do. It's really durable and holds its shape well so long as as you dry it properly on a flat surface. I bought two - one olive and one black - and they are both great. I was worried about sizing. I'm a size 42 chest and often when I get a Large size it is too long, but this sweater ends just bellow the belt and not just above the thighs like most. The Large size was perfect. Getting lots of compliments. Well worth the price."
Review 11 for World War II Mechanic's Pullover
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Very happy with this purchase,
January 10, 2013
By: DontBlink
from Wisconsin Dells, Wi
"I could not be happier with this purchase. I was looking for a semi-formal sweater to wear in a changing work environment and this sweater does the job. Whether it be inside sitting at my desk or outside for stints while walking the lots, this sweater keeps me at a steady temperature."
Review 12 for World War II Mechanic's Pullover
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Comically too small,
January 4, 2013
By: kyliberator
from Lexington, KY
"I have been eyeing this sweater for quite a while and was very excited when it arrived. I ordered an XXL version. I was very disappointed to find that it was incredibly too small. I am not a huge guy, Orvis XXL shirts fit me great. This sweater is short and extremely tight. If you are over 6 feet tall or weigh over 200 lbs, this is probably not the sweater for you."
Review 13 for World War II Mechanic's Pullover
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Tried & True,
December 31, 2012
By: cplines
from Atlanta, Ga.
"This gem isn't new on the block; it's been around for a while: the WWII Mechanics Sweater isn't a stranger to providing reliable warmth. The Orvis replication delivers what the original was noted for. At first touch, the sheer heft and hand tell the story that has become legend. It's the only time I can recall being asked to take off a jacket so to view the sweater."
Review 14 for World War II Mechanic's Pullover
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Purchase,
December 31, 2012
By: EddieP
from Jacksonville, FL
"Definitely great quality, and value for the cost!!"
Review 15 for World War II Mechanic's Pullover
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent Sweater,
December 31, 2012
By: 67GTO
from West Hills, Ca.
"I had been looking at this for a while. Although there are similar type of sweaters out there at lower prices, I thought I would give the Orivs one a try. I remember seeing it in an in-slight catalog a few years ago.. Excellent fit, the tan one is a good color and the quality is outstanding. It fits perfectly and I have had several compliments on it. The collar is cool, and does not rub you wrong. Forget cheaper imitations out there. Highly suggested and an exact replication of the original."
Review 16 for World War II Mechanic's Pullover
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fantastic gift!,
December 29, 2012
By: BrusselsBees
"I bought this sweater as a gift for my both my father and father-in-law, and they both love them. Other "mechanics sweaters" I looked at purchasing were poorly reviewed on quality, so I went with Orvis. Very happy I did; the workmanship is much better and for virtually the same price as the competing versions. They love the historical look and practicality of the collar, it is distinctive and unique."
Review 17 for World War II Mechanic's Pullover
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Handsome, Manly Sweater!,
December 29, 2012
By: arwenelfmaiden
from Wichita, Kansas
"I bought this hefty sweater for my husband as a gift. He now has two of them and absolutely loves them. This item is thick, extremely well made with great attention to detail. It looks very WWII but yet it defines the person who is wearing it modernly. The fabric is warm, gorgeous color of Khaki and Navy Blue as he has 2 of them. I love this Sweater!"
Review 18 for World War II Mechanic's Pullover
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
perfect match,
December 29, 2012
By: cordero
"I originally bought this sweater in 'stone' and liked it so much I bought another in 'olive'. Great fit, great look, and very warm. A perfect match for the munitions vest I purchased earlier (also a winner)."
Review 19 for World War II Mechanic's Pullover
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Just what I wanted,
December 29, 2012
By: Rosie30
"It's hard to find the perfect sweater when your husband hates wool. This is it. It's warm and comfortable but does not itch."
Review 20 for World War II Mechanic's Pullover
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Handsome sweater,
December 29, 2012
By: tansey
from Boston, MA
"This sweater arrived a day earlier than forecast. It is just as pictured and is quite handsome. I gave it as a gift and my friend was very happy to have received it."