Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product
This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Orvis.

Field Cuff KHP Marsh Trousers

To describe the genius of these trousers, you have to start at the cuff, an area overlooked in the design of most upland and duck-hunting trousers. The rack-on-rib knit wool cuff snugs to your hunting boot top—keeping out the cold—or to your ankle, which makes sliding into high rubber boots or waders easier. KHP canvas is a field-tested briar trouser material. We sourced this 13-oz. cotton fabric from the original manufacturer of a pair of briar trousers worn by three generations of our chairman's family. The fabric is heavily washed to tighten the gridlike weave and to soften the trousers. Lined at the seat and thigh with a moisture-repellent cotton poplin. Internal suspender buttons. Cotton web with leather tab suspenders sold separately. Trousers feature deep 11" front pockets and rear button-close flap pocket. Upland hunting trousers in field khaki. 100% cotton. Washable.
Average Customer Rating:
4.541 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (37 reviews)
5 stars
25
4 stars
9
3 stars
1
2 stars
2
1 star
0
35 of 37(95%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Field Cuff KHP Marsh Trousers
Review 1 for Field Cuff KHP Marsh Trousers
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
excellent,
January 16, 2014
By: grilse
from Cambridge, New York
"These harken back to the old days. Well thought out design, and excellent quality. I had a pair made by Duxbacks years ago, and been waiting for someone to come out with these again."
Review 2 for Field Cuff KHP Marsh Trousers
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
good value,
January 14, 2014
By: pepl
from Michigan
"These pants are easy to put on over other pants and makes for nice layered warmth. They ware well and are very comfortable."
Review 3 for Field Cuff KHP Marsh Trousers
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Pants,
December 30, 2013
By: trackerman
from Northwoods, Minnesota
"These are a great pair of pants. I have gotten a great deal of use out of them: duck hunting, pheasant hunting, fly fishing, cross-country skiing; you name it, they work great.
I generally wear a 38 waist, but ended up with 40 - they fit better. Also, I usually have a 34/36 inseam, but the 31/33 inseam has worked fine."
Review 4 for Field Cuff KHP Marsh Trousers
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great field pants,
December 12, 2013
By: TownandcountryinPA
from Lancaster, PA
"These are so traditional they almost qualify as a throw-back, and I wish there were more products like them out there. Great material--thick, strong and very wear resistant. They will work equally well in a goose blind or in an upland field or covert. Fit is good, finish is excellent."
Review 5 for Field Cuff KHP Marsh Trousers
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best field pants made,
November 5, 2013
By: 5stand
from Vancouver, BC
"These pants are so good I ordered a second pair. They fit into high rubber boots or waders without restriction and are canvas tuff and water resistant."
Review 6 for Field Cuff KHP Marsh Trousers
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Disappointed,
August 6, 2013
By: MNLabguy
from Western Minnesota Pheasant Country
"On the positive side, the pants were well made, great material, stitching , buttonholes, etc. On the negative side, the fit was very unusual huge seat and the crouch was down to my knees. I am 6ft tall and 180 lbs. and a pretty standard fit. There was no way that I could make theses pants work,
ORVIS took them back no questions asked and even credited the shipping charges.
"
Review 7 for Field Cuff KHP Marsh Trousers
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great pants for hip boots.,
February 2, 2013
By: BackBayWaterfowler
from Back Bay, VA
"I liked these so much that I bought a second pair. Perfect for inside waders or hip boots. Would recommend waxing or using gore-tex on the seat bottom to make it water-resistant when sitting in boat or duck blind before shooting time."
Review 8 for Field Cuff KHP Marsh Trousers
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
disappointed,
January 14, 2013
By: CSMret
from Florida
"This is my second pair with the same problem, the buttons are poorly sewn on. I just goose hunted in Texas for 3 days and 4 buttons came off a brand new pair never been worn before. I had to wear a belt aafter the first day. Same problem I had with first pair. Everything else is great about them - they fit well, true to size, elastic cuffs are great with waders and the material wears well. For the money these cost the sewing should be bettter."
Review 9 for Field Cuff KHP Marsh Trousers
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great Anti-brush Pants,
January 9, 2013
By: Autoslim62
from Southfield, MI
"I had purchased a pair of these with the suspenders to wear for Duck and Pheasant hunting. I finally wore them for a recent early January Pheasant hunt. I am 6'-3" and 230 lbs and they fit a little snug, but that might ease up when they get broken in. Kept me warm for a half day european hunt with afternoon walk up with just a pair of midweight thermal underware underneath. I think a heavy pair of longjohns would be too tight. We pushed thru some very heavy brush on the walk up and they did not snag, and a few times I had to kneel down in the snow to to pick up a bird or dropped shell and the snow just brushed off with out making the fabric wet."
Review 10 for Field Cuff KHP Marsh Trousers
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best Hunting Pants Ever,
December 28, 2012
By: Tickle
from Chester, Virginia
"My 2 guys loved these pants.
They are so hard to buy for, but were thrilled with these. Thanks Orvis for your continued quality products.
"
Review 11 for Field Cuff KHP Marsh Trousers
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Good but need tall size,
December 16, 2012
By: TallHunter56
"Bought these with some reservation cause I normally need a 34 inch inseam and these are about 3-4 inches too short and ride up to about 6-7 inches from floor when wearing/ sitting. Too short if not wearing tall boots/waders. Hunted in my Muck boots today and nice to slip pants in without bunching. Orvis should add gusset crotch for improved movement. Knitting on cuff could be tighter to help keep in place better. Overall OK given the limited choice in hunting pants like these from any other suppliers. Would prefer a darker color as mine got pretty stained up going through the wet cover/brush chasing pheasants in the melting snow."
Review 12 for Field Cuff KHP Marsh Trousers
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The Best,
December 3, 2012
By: cuz12
from by mail
"I have had a pair for years and they get better and better each time that they are worn. So, it was time to have a spare for back-up!"
Review 13 for Field Cuff KHP Marsh Trousers
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great product,
November 15, 2012
By: HighCol
from Alexandria, VA
"I've been looking for a pair of wader pants and these fit the bill. The cotton is tough enough for briars but does not restrict movement inside waders. I plan to wear them for upland game as well as waterfowling."
Review 14 for Field Cuff KHP Marsh Trousers
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Very nice pants,
November 6, 2012
By: Coton
from Pennsylvania
"When I received the pants they were quite stiff, but after one washing they were fine. They run true to size, but they are a little tight in the lower leg."
Review 15 for Field Cuff KHP Marsh Trousers
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Tough,
October 5, 2012
By: MoorlandWanderer
from Durham, UK
"These are amazingly tough trousers. I can wade through the harshest tangles of bramble without a thought, although gorse prickles can penetrate. They partner brilliantly with the Gokey Wetlander boots.
Because the fabric is thick, it takes a lot of water before they get wet to the skin, so wet undergrowth and some rain is no problem, although they do become stiffer when wet. I've never got them soaked through, but I think they would be pretty uncomfortable if I did.
I've used Nikwax Cottonproof on them to reduce their absorbancy with some success.
I have two problems with these trousers:
The braces buttons take a lot of force due to the weight of the trouser and I found the stitching quickly came undone. Stitching them back on through this tough, dense, thick material is not easy!
Secondly, I wish Orvis made them in a smaller size. My waist measures 33" but the 32" minimum size is too big and baggy and looks rather silly on me unless I have a very baggy top on to match and cover the trouser top. The excess fabric also reduces my freedom of movement."
Review 16 for Field Cuff KHP Marsh Trousers
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Superb!,
September 24, 2012
By: devv
from Warwick, NY
"Just returned from a moose hunt in northern BC where the aptly named marsh pants were indispensable. Every claim made in the product description was true... and then some. Excellent material and craftmanship. Perfect sizing. The best."
Review 17 for Field Cuff KHP Marsh Trousers
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Look and feel grat!,
September 12, 2012
By: RaymondJ
from Shreveport, LA
"I have not been able to use these pants in the field. My pheasant hunt will be at the end of October in Nebraska. However, they fit very well, and feel as though they are very well made."
Review 18 for Field Cuff KHP Marsh Trousers
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fabulous!,
March 12, 2012
By: HappyDuckDog
from Derwood, Maryland
"These babies will take a direct hit! The craftsmanship in these pants is superb and the quality of materials will exceed anyone's expectations.
These pants laugh at raspberry thorns! Have worn afield and laundered once. Did not shrink but got noticeably softer. Rather high waisted and full cut in the thighs and seat but comfortable. They will be my go to field pants. I expect them to last forever based upon the durable fabric and zipper. I would expect the knit cuff to eventually need replacing based upon what I will put them through. Is that something that Orvis can do?
Lighter than the jeans and waxed canvas chaps that I normally wear and thus more comfortable and less tiring. Knit cuffs slip into waders and rubber boots without ankle gaiters, so no uncomfortable bunching as with jeans.
The fabric is heavy duty but has a nice feel. Should Orvis make an upland shirt of the same fabric I would have to buy one. (forest green so it does not look like a uniform, please).
"
Review 19 for Field Cuff KHP Marsh Trousers
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Good...but noet perfect,
February 5, 2012
By: MIpheasanthunter
from Southeast lower Michigan
"Let me begin by saying that I congradulate Orvis for offering this style of hunting pants. I favor the traditional brown cotton duck version with ribbed cuffs. (The first pair was bought for me by my late father at Sears in 1967.) I have purchased three pairs of these pants over the years as my waist size changed <sigh> and I can detect some subtle changes. For example, the color seems to be getting lighter in shade which I view as a mild negative. I would like to see these same pants offered in an additional color of hunter green. One thing that has been a consistent short coming has been the less than deep rear pockets -- they are too shallow for my tastes. On the other hand, the ribbed cuffs seem to have been well made and hold their shape. I would like to see these pants offered in a heavier weight than the current 11.5 oz to accomodate upland hunters in colder climates. Still, the fabric has received a well deserved retutation of holding up well and I would agree with this. I continue to favor these pants and would encourage others to seriously consider purchasing them. If Orvis could make a few changes like I have mentioned, these pants would be ideal in my eyes."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Field Cuff KHP Marsh Trousers
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
great design,
January 18, 2012
By: homecookin
from Norfolk/eastern shore, Virginia
"I bought these first because I wanted the traditional brown canvas duck hunting pants, and also liked the idea of the ribbed cuffs, as I am in and out of hip boots all day, and the bottoms always bunch up. These slip on with no problem; a great feature.
The canvas has good water repellant, and I broke them in by getting stuck up to my thighs in "Chincoteague glue" and they stayed dry, and brushed off once the mud dried.
The calves are a little tight if you have big calves. Otherwise a comfortable cut. Deep pockets, but I'd like to see a flap on both rear pockets.
Very comfortable for walking, and not hot like oil cloth.
"