Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Hi-viz Gel-Spun Backing

35-lb.-test Gel-Spun Backing gives you more capacity than using 20-lb. Dacron®, which is why it is the backing of choice for big-game angling. Braided from gel-spun polyethylene, this incredible backing is 10 times stronger than steel in equal diameters. A very small diameter for higher yardage on the reel means slower spool rpms on runs and faster pickups. Gel-Spun has virtually no stretch, is extremely abrasion resistant, yet has a very low coefficient of friction so it will not damage your guides, and retains 100% of its strength while in the water. Unaffected by UV, gas, oil, salt, or detergents. Chartruese comes in 30 and 45 lb. Made in USA.
Average Customer Rating:
4.818 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (11 reviews)
5 stars
10
4 stars
0
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
10 of 11(91%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Hi-viz Gel-Spun Backing
Review 1 for Hi-viz Gel-Spun Backing
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Hi Viz - high performance,
July 28, 2014
By: BigBoy32
from Big Bend, FL
"Love this gel backing - strong, visible and oh so much more backing in the reel for Tarpon that live to run!"
Review 2 for Hi-viz Gel-Spun Backing
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Grreat Stuff,
August 20, 2013
By: R12GS
"I've been using Gel-Spun for years and have not lost a fish yet."
Review 3 for Hi-viz Gel-Spun Backing
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Go to backing,
July 11, 2013
By: oceanographer
from Stockholm, Sweden
"This is a nice economical backing which is thin enough to wind some extra line on a fly reel, just in case the catch wants to run for it. Can pack more 30-lb gel-spun than 20-lb Dacron on a little fly reel. Great stuff."
Review 4 for Hi-viz Gel-Spun Backing
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Nice Backing,
June 11, 2013
By: Surbitonman
from London, UK
"Very tough, feels nice and if like me you want a nice bright backing then it is great."
Review 5 for Hi-viz Gel-Spun Backing
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Gives you a sense of relief,
September 16, 2012
By: MattL
from Winooski, VT
"Let's face it, most of us probably never have more than half our backing peeled off unless you're targeting big saltwater species, but having an EXTRA 50 or 100 yards of backing helps me feel MUCH better about a potential monster that I'm hoping for every time I'm on the water. This stuff doesn't seem to degrade over time like the Dacron, which is great. The high vis color is also great. I had a big VT steelie on last fall and it ripped off about 60 yds of backing before I landed it while it was almost dark out. I ended up almost losing the fish a few times on branches because I just couldn't see my white backing. After switching to the hi-vis I feel more confident and can't wait for that big one to peel it almost all off."
Review 6 for Hi-viz Gel-Spun Backing
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Gel spun Backing,
March 23, 2012
By: MarkN
from Katy, Tx.
"Great stuff. Reel was rated for 275 yds of backing but using the Orvis 40 lb gel spun backing I was able to get 400 yds plus a 10 wt fly line on the reel."
Review 7 for Hi-viz Gel-Spun Backing
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
HIGH CAPACITY GEL SPUN BACKING,
May 13, 2011
By: matty97504
from Medford Oregon
"Great backing I think for a beginner I have not had a fish yet to take me to the backing yet. I have some friends that do flyfish every once in awhile and they say it is a good brand to go with."
Review 8 for Hi-viz Gel-Spun Backing
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Gel Spun Backing,
July 7, 2010
By: tls512
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"My favorite place to be in the late spring early summer is on the flats in Maine chasing stripers. Backing capacity is limited on my Mid Arbor Battenkilll IV with a 350g fly line. WIth gel-spuns smaller diameter I can get 200m on the spool. A few weeks ago I hooked a large heavy striper in the skinny water that just did not want to turn. With about 50m left I finally got the fishes head turned and got her pointed back toward the beach. With dacron backing I would have lost her. This is a great product in general but it really shines in this type of situation.
Great products and Orvis customer service is second to none.
Thanks Orvis!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Hi-viz Gel-Spun Backing
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Backing Concerns,
April 9, 2010
By: RBenninger
from Morgantown, WV
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Do note, all colored backing whether spectra (i.e. Gel-spun) or even basic dacron will eventually bleed into the taper. I have been using Orvis Hi-Vis Dacron on all of my saltwater reels for years, and never once have I had an issue with performance. Discoloration has no affect on longevity of both the backing nor the fly line itself. To date and to my knowledge there is not a company in the industry that has fixed this issue. Regular routine maintenance of fly gear after usage in salt, (i.e. fresh water, minimal hand soap to remove salt deposits, a mix of grease and silicon and your gear will last for years. I am definitely hard on my rods and reels and so far minus a drag issue with one reel, I have been pleased with all Orvis Products. Thanks for taking the time to read this review! Tight Lines"
Review 10 for Hi-viz Gel-Spun Backing
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Stained my fly line,
July 5, 2009
By: Caladonia
from Waco, Tx
Good Value: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Features: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Appearance: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"This is very strong backing, and allows you to maximize your backing capacity. I am very satisfied with it's strength. However, the Hi-Viz line stained my light blue fly line. The color of this line is not supposed to discolor, especially considering it has only seen salt water once, and then thoroughly washed prior to use. I am unsure whether or not this will affect my fly line. All other products purchased through Orvis have been great quality, especially my 12 wt Helios:)"
Response from Orvis:By Orvis Customer Service TeamAugust 24, 2009
Orvis Customer Service contacted this customer and apologized that backing dyed his fly line. Orvis thanked the customer for this feedback, as we are constantly trying to find ways to improve our items. Orvis fowarded these comments to the product devloper for review. Orvis also offered to exchange this item or give a complete refund. We will cheerfully exchange or refund your purchase at any time, for any reason. Our 100% Satisfaction Guarantee is the strongest in the business.
Review 11 for Hi-viz Gel-Spun Backing
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
There when you need it,
March 11, 2008
By: Muskrat
from Oakville, ON
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
"Because it is so thin and yet so strong, I can put a lot on my large arbor spools. For example: 200 yds when I'd usually get just over 100. Or 100 yds of 30lb instead of 100 yds of 20lb dacron. For my 5, 6, and 8-wt rods, this is the backing I use. Be careful when mounting; wear gloves so you don't cut your fingers tightening the knot. Same thing when a fish takes a run. This backing will cut into your stripping finger lickety-split, so wear gloves or some sort of protector."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.