Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Barbour® Sportsman Sweater

Soft, warm, and stylish. Pure merino wool in a ribbed-stitch design and Alcantara patches give this V-neck a sporting look and comfortable feel. In loden. Pure merino wool. Washable. Imported. Sizes: M(38-40), L(42-44), XL(46-48), XXL(50-52). Classic fit. See size chart for details.
Average Customer Rating:
4.938 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (32 reviews)
5 stars
30
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
32 of 32(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Barbour® Sportsman Sweater
Review 1 for Barbour® Sportsman Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Barbour Forever,
March 7, 2014
By: pathprof
"Like all Barbour products, this sweater is extremely well designed and constructed. Similar to the crew neck model, this garment is tightly knit and will probably wear well. Color is rich. The midweight is especially good for layering under a parka or cruiser. It looks as though it will wash as well as the crew necks do (I've had 2 of them for 3 years.) More than satisfied!"
Review 2 for Barbour® Sportsman Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Superb Quality,
February 28, 2014
By: JandLM
"As advertized. Fits perfectly. Soft, non-scratchy Merino wool. English style V-neck accommodates either collared shirts or crew-neck shirts. Still new but appears to be well-made and durable. This sweater has quickly become my favorite."
Review 3 for Barbour® Sportsman Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great sweater,
February 22, 2014
By: Max60
"True to size. Great quality. Goes well with a Barbour Beaufort Classic."
Review 4 for Barbour® Sportsman Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Barbour quality again,
February 21, 2014
By: gerryj19
from Marblehead, MA
"Initial impressions of this are very positive. The workmanship on the stitching and finish are top notch. The sweater is ribbed with fine ribbing so it feels a little rougher to the hand than the Barbour Storm sweater. This has the true look and feel of an English country sweater, and the V-neck allows it to be worn with shirt and tie in the traditional manner."
Review 5 for Barbour® Sportsman Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Handsome and durable,
January 15, 2014
By: universityadmin
from Indiana
"I liked this sweater from the day it arrived. I was concerned the v-neck collar was too high to accommodate a shirt and tie, but it works very well for office wear as well as casual occasions. This sweater is very distinguished in appearance, with its contrasting shoulder pads and tightly knit dark wool body. I am tall and thin, and this sweater doesn't hang on me, which gives me a trim, neat appearance. I highly recommend this sweater.. Size runs true."
Review 6 for Barbour® Sportsman Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Perfect Barbour Sweater,
December 14, 2013
By: JeriM
from Philadelphia, PA
"The Barbour Sportman Sweater is the best! Great quality, soft, wears well with elbow patches."
Review 7 for Barbour® Sportsman Sweater
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
December 12, 2013
By: Maury
from Anchorage, Alaska
"This is a nice sweater that lives up to it's billing. Especially like the cuffs and waist, they are tightly knit. The neck is a little tight for me. The material is very nice and the color too. Highly recommend."
Review 8 for Barbour® Sportsman Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A clean handsome look,
December 6, 2013
By: universityadmin
from Indiana
"This is a handsome, well made sweater that is perfect for the office over a tie and white shirt. The knit is tight and the finish is ribbed but polished looking (I don't anticipate the front becoming nubby). As a v-neck, the opening isn't as large as a US style of v-neck, but it works and looks goods. The cuffs are intended to be folded back, and given their length, will work accommodate a variety of arm lengths.
The fit is European which is to say the sweater will look in the midsection on a slimmer person. The fit is true to size, and the color is accurately depicted in the photo. I have had many compliments since wearing this sweater. Warm , but not so substantial as to be uncomfortable indoors. The leather shoulder and elbow patches are an attractive feature.
"
Review 9 for Barbour® Sportsman Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Essential Sweater,
November 14, 2013
By: Greer
from Lake Forest Illinois
"A staple for any guy- the perfect symphony of comfort, warmth- but not over heating- and nice looks.
Liked so well purchased for a second as a gift!"
Review 10 for Barbour® Sportsman Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A Go to Item,
October 9, 2013
By: Schatzman
from New Hampshire
"I use this sweater all the time. In New Hampshire we frequently have in between weather where it isn't our version of cold or warm. The sweater is perfect for those days. What I love most about it, which is true with most Barbour items, is that I can go from shooting clays to dinner with my wife out somewhere and not require a wardrobe change. I do find the sleeves a little long. They are designed to be cuffed back but I feel like the cuff is quite large in order to properly fit me. I am 6'1 195 lbs. I went with a size large and it fits me well with the exception being the sleeves."
Review 11 for Barbour® Sportsman Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Bought my second one !!! Navy,
September 17, 2013
By: suso2
from Montevideo, Uruguay
"This sweater is so well done, good looking and very usable in different situations, that if I were Barbour, I´d give a chance to non hunting people. I would spread the range of my clients giving them a chance to buy this supperb sweater "with" and "without" the leather Alcantara patches but keeping the elbow patches. I´m sure they could double their sales."
Review 12 for Barbour® Sportsman Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Really nice,
August 25, 2013
By: TJJO
from NJ
"This has unexpectedly developed into a real go to garment- great materials and comfort, including allowing full range of motion. This is a keeper."
Review 13 for Barbour® Sportsman Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
One of my best,
July 28, 2013
By: suso
from Montevideo, Uruguay
"When bought I was nearly sure I wouldn´t miss, my first winter, and can´t take it off. Fits perfect to body and always seems to be new.
Color is very nice and would be delighted to buy my secon none but blue navy. Excellent.
"
Review 14 for Barbour® Sportsman Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A Good Fit,
December 30, 2012
By: brava
from Short Pump
"This is a perfect fit, well made, and has style that makes a positive impression. The sales staff were very helpful in making this decision."
Review 15 for Barbour® Sportsman Sweater
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality Product,
December 19, 2012
By: Marykate
from Stockbridge, UK
"You get what you pay for at Orvis. High quality long lasting products."
Review 16 for Barbour® Sportsman Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
New Best Friend,
December 11, 2012
By: Anonymous
from Steyning, West Sussex, England
"Me and jumpers don't normally get on - they're either too hot and bulky or too thin and ineffective. However, this jumper is a classic and quite simply...perfect!!
I'm a 42" chest and the 'large' fits me like a kid glove. The quality of finish is peerless and comfort-wise, sheer bliss. In fact my wife reckons I may need to be admitted to hospital for a minor operation to have it removed as I've not stopped wearing it (except in the bath) since it arrived 6 weeks ago."
Review 17 for Barbour® Sportsman Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent value,
October 9, 2012
By: Elsiebelle
from Seattle, Washington
"Product description accurately represents this sweater. Orvis "seals the deal" with their well known professional service.
I plan to wear this sweater during many fall hunts in the field.
Thank you."
Review 18 for Barbour® Sportsman Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
ORVIS Does It Again!,
September 18, 2012
By: DrDon
from Ashland, OR
"I chose to wait awhile before purchasing this sweater. As always, I read all of the reviews for the particular item(s) I am interested in. Barbour clothing already has an excellent reputation in the marketplace. This sweater is no exception. When it arrived, I immediately tried it on. The sizing was perfect! The craftsmanship first-rate. Its merino wool is extremely soft to the touch, actually more like cashmere, even with its ample ribbing. It is definitely heirloom quality and worth every penny of the asking price. I highly recommend it to family, friends, and anyone else who enjoys wearing high-quality clothing at a reasonable price. I am certain this sweater will out-live me! ORVIS and Barbour, both names synonymous with quality! Good job ORVIS you did it again!"
Review 19 for Barbour® Sportsman Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Another Winner!,
January 2, 2012
By: NOVA
from Alexandria, VA
"This sweater is exceptionally crafted and very warm without being overly bulky. The color has a lot of character and will definitely get compliments. Performed well on a chilly day at the sporting clays course.
As with most Barbour apparel, the sizing is accurate. I have a 39" chest and the medium fits perfectly."
Review 20 for Barbour® Sportsman Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Always,
November 4, 2011
By: DocHop
from Tahoe, CA
"I think I wear this sweater most days, I'm actually trying to think when I wouldn't wear it and can't come up with a reason.. other than my wife asking why I'm wearing it again..."