Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

14-Pocket Expedition Poplin Cargo Pants

Soft, strong, and breathable, yet—at 6.2 oz.—one-third lighter than the weight of our chino fabric, Expedition 100% cotton poplin holds up to your outdoor adventures while keeping you cooler and more comfortable than any other cargo pants of their kind. 14 pockets keep just about all you need on hand for a day on the trail. Elastic sides and adjustable straps for an extremely comfortable fit. Pleat front. Cargo pants are made of pure cotton. Washable. Imported. Even waist sizes 30-46. Pants cuffed up to 34" or plain finished up to 35" at no extra charge.
Average Customer Rating:
4.698 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (172 reviews)
5 stars
136
4 stars
25
3 stars
7
2 stars
3
1 star
1
165 of 172(96%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for 14-Pocket Expedition Poplin Cargo Pants
Review 1 for 14-Pocket Expedition Poplin Cargo Pants
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Love but request some changes,
December 17, 2014
By: warmhoo
from Longboat Key, FL
"I use these pants for casual wear and they are great for your cell phone and other needed items. I would love an additional pant very similar but without some of the multi-layered pockets and the snaps and adjustment straps on the waist. It would make it even more versatile and less "bulky" without unneeded pockets. Make it only slightly more dressy but less cumbersome-it would still serve this use but also a different one; keep the pleats for sure. It would fill a niche that I have found impossible to fill. I mean does anyone really use two or three layers of pockets or just the first layer? I put keys in right front pocket and cell phone on the right side pocket. The layers of pockets underneath those are unused and bulky. The scattered other pockets are fine for effect. The snaps and straps to adjust the waist just get int he way of putting on a belt and seem to come undone when doing so and are just in the way."
Review 2 for 14-Pocket Expedition Poplin Cargo Pants
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
comfortable and stylish,
November 26, 2014
By: billandlucie
from stanwood
"I now have 3 pairs and like them much better than other cargo pants I have from other sources"
Review 3 for 14-Pocket Expedition Poplin Cargo Pants
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great Cargo Pants,
November 26, 2014
By: Loren6
from Bloomington, Il
"I have two pair in khaki and olive and they are my 'go to ' pants as an alternative to denim. One note to Orvis, Make the velcro fasteners thinner. Opening these, at times, is like prying a vault open. They can be slightly easier to open, while still maintaining secure closure with velcro that is half as wide. The cargo pockets are especially handy for my iPhone 6. The pants also fit true to size and if you use the waist fasteners correctly, you can avoid a belt and that is great for me as I fly extensively and get real tired of taking my belt off."
Review 4 for 14-Pocket Expedition Poplin Cargo Pants
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great pants,
November 21, 2014
By: BobUSCG
from Fredericksburg Virginia
"I am older and handicapped needing to ride a scooter when out of the house. Have trouble using my back pockets and find that these pants have the necessary cargo pockets for all my keys, wallet, cell phone, etc. The quality and style are excellent as expected from Orvis."
Review 5 for 14-Pocket Expedition Poplin Cargo Pants
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A great selection!,
November 20, 2014
By: LeeWill
from Hermitage, TN
"These cargo pants are well made, comfortable, and practical. The pants benefit from a well thought out design focus, leading to a finished product that should easily surpass any competitive brands out there.. Recommend to all!"
Review 6 for 14-Pocket Expedition Poplin Cargo Pants
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Dearth of zips,
November 17, 2014
By: DutchboyBushey
"14 pockets but only one with a zip, and even that only big enough for credit cards. When I'm rravelling I need to try and protect a wallet, passports and phone, and I was looking for some trousers that would provide some security. This doesn;t come close. Orederd two pairs, but haven't worn either yet."
Review 7 for 14-Pocket Expedition Poplin Cargo Pants
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
tested hiking in Provence,
November 15, 2014
By: Wooglin
from London, UK
"Wife and I spent a week hiking in the South of France(Provence). Cargo pants were fantastic at 30 degrees centigrade and sudden rain storms.
Orvis delivers as always.
"
Review 8 for 14-Pocket Expedition Poplin Cargo Pants
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
One pair is not enough.,
November 14, 2014
By: Hairymick
from Stratford upon Avon
"I have to make a determined decision not to wear my Poplin Cargo Trousers everyday.They are universally appropriate. The material, design and manufacturing quality make them my most favored trousers. I will have to buy another pair of a different color, so that it appears that I have at least two pairs of trousers."
Review 9 for 14-Pocket Expedition Poplin Cargo Pants
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
always reliable,
November 13, 2014
By: gangwey
from Suffolk, England
"I have had several pairs of these trousers and they have always been comfortable and hard-wearing.A great feature is their many pockets---very useful when travelling. My only reservation is the limited range of colours--- black, grey or blue would be handy."
Review 10 for 14-Pocket Expedition Poplin Cargo Pants
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Exceptional Expedtition 14 pocket Cargo Trouser.,
November 13, 2014
By: gcromp
from Edinburgh Scotland
"So much pocket space. No need for jacket pockets. At a pinch could pack enough for a long weekend in shirt and e Expedition trousers if the weather is good. Smart as well as functional. Greatly regret I did not know about them sooner."
Review 11 for 14-Pocket Expedition Poplin Cargo Pants
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent buy-timely arrival,
November 12, 2014
By: cbfischer
from Sacramento, CA
"I was going to Viet Nam and needed an excellent pant for that tropical climate. Purchased the Orvis pant and loved it at first sight. I have been in Viet Nam during the rainy season and the pant is a delight. Best set of cargo pants that I have ever owned."
Review 12 for 14-Pocket Expedition Poplin Cargo Pants
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Nice weight,
October 29, 2014
By: Walker95
from Michigan
"I purchased these pants for hiking. They are very comfortable. They are light weight yet they seem to block the wind well. I am purchasing another pair in a different color."
Review 13 for 14-Pocket Expedition Poplin Cargo Pants
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
BEST CASUAL SLACKS IN YEARS,
October 22, 2014
By: BUTCH1226
from GLENN DALE MD 20769
"THE (2) PAIR OF CARGO PANTS
I PURCHASE I HAVE ALREADY
RECOMMEND TO A FEW OF MY
FRIENDS.NICE STYLE DIFFERENT
FROM THE STANARD (CARGO)
PANTS YOU ON THE MARKET.PLAN TO GET THE OLIVE COLOR WITHIN THE NEXT (30) DAYS"
Review 14 for 14-Pocket Expedition Poplin Cargo Pants
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
poplin cargo pants,
September 30, 2014
By: wrclark
from Greenwood, MS
"Everything about these pants is what I hoped they would be except the snaps on the sides for takeup/letout don't want to stay snapped and it would be nice if another way to handle that could be found. Otherwise very comfortable for our hot area of the country."
Review 15 for 14-Pocket Expedition Poplin Cargo Pants
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
BEST COTTON SLACKS,
September 27, 2014
By: BUTCH1226
from GLENN DALE MD 20769
"I WOULD RECOMMEND TO MOST
OF MY FRIENDS.I MYSELF PLAN
TO BUY THE OTHER TO COLORS
GREAT PANTS"
Review 16 for 14-Pocket Expedition Poplin Cargo Pants
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Pants,
September 17, 2014
By: UncleB
from Maple Valley, WA
"I love my new cargo pants. It is also very convenient to get the pants in my proper inseam length. Lots of pockets too!"
Review 17 for 14-Pocket Expedition Poplin Cargo Pants
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
great pants,
September 17, 2014
By: Creek1945
from Vero Beach, FL
"the expedition pants are wonderful pants for any occasion. they are especially great for traveling, whether hiking or just airplane travel. well thought out location of pockets and certainly enough of them."
Review 18 for 14-Pocket Expedition Poplin Cargo Pants
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Fabric,
September 8, 2014
By: nsdollison
from charleseton, WV
"This fabric is great! Light enough for the outdoor summer hunt, but still nice looking enough to go into the office!"
Review 19 for 14-Pocket Expedition Poplin Cargo Pants
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sooooo comfortable,
August 25, 2014
By: Shane8
from Toronto, Canada
"These are lightweight and an excellent fit. Accurate sizing on the internet."
Review 20 for 14-Pocket Expedition Poplin Cargo Pants
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality Fabric/Cut,
August 23, 2014
By: Bernie65
"The pants were rue to measure, well constructed and a quality material (strong, but comfortable from the first wear)"