Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

14-Pocket Expedition Poplin Cargo Pants

Soft, strong, and breathable, yet—at 6.2 oz.—one-third lighter than the weight of our chino fabric, Expedition 100% cotton poplin holds up to your outdoor adventures while keeping you cooler and more comfortable than any other cargo pants of their kind. 14 pockets keep just about all you need on hand for a day on the trail. Elastic sides and adjustable straps for an extremely comfortable fit. Pleat front. Cargo pants are made of pure cotton. Washable. Imported. Even waist sizes 30-46. Pants cuffed up to 34" or plain finished up to 35" at no extra charge.
Average Customer Rating:
4.656 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (128 reviews)
5 stars
99
4 stars
19
3 stars
6
2 stars
3
1 star
1
122 of 128(95%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for 14-Pocket Expedition Poplin Cargo Pants
Review 1 for 14-Pocket Expedition Poplin Cargo Pants
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great cargo pants,
March 25, 2014
By: akaScoop
from Texas
"This is my first pair of these pants. They fit great -- really like the custom hem length option. Will buy again for sure based on quality and value. Will be a mainstay of my travel wardrobe."
Review 2 for 14-Pocket Expedition Poplin Cargo Pants
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great trousers,
March 24, 2014
By: hillwalker21C
"I have a pair of these trousers in each of the three colours available. I have had them for 10 months and found them to be suitable in most temperatures except very hot weather as their multiple pockets make them rather heavy around the thighs. But what trousers are suitable all year round anyway? They look good with a polo shirt."
Review 3 for 14-Pocket Expedition Poplin Cargo Pants
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
great pants,
March 17, 2014
By: joetexas
from san antonio tx
"have had these pants for 20 years. dont wear out and nothing falls out of the pockets. what more could a guy ask for. thanks"
Review 4 for 14-Pocket Expedition Poplin Cargo Pants
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fantastic pants,
February 27, 2014
By: Rollieman
from Austin, Tx
"Great fit. The look is very good. Can be worn casual or dressed up."
Review 5 for 14-Pocket Expedition Poplin Cargo Pants
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Awsome,
February 6, 2014
By: RayRey
"Great fit, looks great! I work in a electronics shop and the pockets are very practical."
Review 6 for 14-Pocket Expedition Poplin Cargo Pants
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Hiking Pants,
February 6, 2014
By: Bertiebassett0
from Albuquerque, NM
"I am a Orvis nut and just love their equipment and clothing. These pants are another great offering.I love the fact Orvis will tailor the length of the pants. I am a size 33 1/4 leg. There are not many companies that can provide such a great quality item that are tailored to fit. The pants are really comfortable, good amount of pockets, and look smart. Great job!"
Review 7 for 14-Pocket Expedition Poplin Cargo Pants
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Lots O Pockets,
January 15, 2014
By: Nubby
from Roseburg, Oregon
"I am a packrat. I love lots of pockets on my trousers always have. These are great trousers comfy to wear any where with any thing. "GetSome"....Yah, that's what us Marines say if we like it....and I like them..ordered two more pair today.
Orvis has the best customer service to...Get a Orvis Club Credit Card and get Free Ground Shipping.
Cool Huh??? Thanks Orivis
"
Review 8 for 14-Pocket Expedition Poplin Cargo Pants
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Pants,
January 14, 2014
By: 802Native
from Stowe, VT
"These pants are a staple of my wardrobe. I wouldn't be without a pair in my closet - comfortable, durable, attractive, and utilitarian. I like the lighter weight for all but the coldest weather."
Review 9 for 14-Pocket Expedition Poplin Cargo Pants
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Pant,
January 3, 2014
By: HunterMac
from Nashville, TN
"I wanted to find a casual pant that had a comfortable fit and yet offered additional pockets for several items. This pair of pants turned out to be the perfect item. The fit was just right for my size and I am extremely pleased with the decision. I am looking to get another pair in a different color."
Review 10 for 14-Pocket Expedition Poplin Cargo Pants
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great pants and a pocket for everything,
October 17, 2013
By: Jeux
from Charlotte NC
"These pants wear well, look good and are very comfortable. The adjustable elastic in the waist is just what is needed after Thanksgiving dinner. I only wish there were more colors."
Review 11 for 14-Pocket Expedition Poplin Cargo Pants
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Expedition pants/shorts,
October 3, 2013
By: ChristopherDWG
from Massachusetts
"I love the fabric of these items: lovely, soft cotton -- very comfortable next to the skin -- and all those pockets!
However, I have two criticisms: those two tiny outermost pockets on the right-hand thigh -- useless! I have small hands and if I cannot get my fingers in there, how on earth will someone with big hands?
Likewise the metal D-ring: what is one supposed or likely to hang there, to bang against the knee? Answer: nothing at all!
Why not remove these details and thus allow for a slightly less expensive garment?"
Review 12 for 14-Pocket Expedition Poplin Cargo Pants
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Good solid performance,
August 28, 2013
By: TJJO
from NJ
"I have been using these as utility pants around the farm this summer. The pros are that they are pretty durable and the pockets are great, well thought out design. The main con is that I have found them too thick for warm weather, a convertible option would be nice."
Review 13 for 14-Pocket Expedition Poplin Cargo Pants
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Excellent product,
August 7, 2013
By: foxjones
from London, UK
"I have two of these: one in stone and one in olive. I like both, though the olive seems to be of firmer cloth. After one wearing, the stone does look a little as if one had slept in it. Having said that, the design is superb, with loads of pockets and very comfortable in the tropics."
Review 14 for 14-Pocket Expedition Poplin Cargo Pants
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best Cargo pants I have!,
July 25, 2013
By: Hoosierbob
from Bloomigton, Indiana
"Great for travel! Pockets everywhere.Great for a belt and size adjustment snaps on sides are a special feature. May get another pair in different color."
Review 15 for 14-Pocket Expedition Poplin Cargo Pants
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Good Trousers,
July 23, 2013
By: Kapo
from England Kent
"The trousers are very good, they are extremely lightweight with ample pocket space, I would love to use these for work instead of the snickers trousers i currently use but unfortunately price dictates"
Review 16 for 14-Pocket Expedition Poplin Cargo Pants
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Stop the Sunburned Legs . . .,
July 12, 2013
By: fuzztone
from Dallas, TX
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"I've been wearing your Expedition Poplin shorts for years. With all the pockets it's easy to load gear for fishing. This year I am fishing more out of the kayak. My legs get Sunburned -- Texas is hot, hot, hot !!! I've been afraid long pants would be too hot !!! My new Expedition pants are cool and stop my sunburn problem. I still have lots of pockets for all my gear, just like my shorts !!! Why didn't I buy full length pants before ???"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 14-Pocket Expedition Poplin Cargo Pants
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Over Designed!!,
June 14, 2013
By: BJackson
from South Dakota
"Looking for a lightweight cargo pant and thought I would try these pants.
Well , I ordered a 36" waste hoping to shrink them to fit my 35" waist but when they arrived they felt like a 40" waist. sent them back and received a 34" waist which was a better fit but there definitely is way to much wasted fabric in the thigh and knee area(way to relaxed). Its as if all the engineering went into how many pockets could be designed into this pant and left out good form and fit design.
Have yet to put them through some rough use- it seems as though they are sturdy enough."
Review 18 for 14-Pocket Expedition Poplin Cargo Pants
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Better than the rest on offer,
May 24, 2013
By: Ohdannyboy
from Southampton
"These trousers fit great and the quality is much better than you can buy on the high street or from other xxl men's online shops"
Review 19 for 14-Pocket Expedition Poplin Cargo Pants
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Pockets Galore,
May 7, 2013
By: Perseus
from Queens, New York
"Me I love pockets....the more the merrier...I just found some more. The material very good...thinking really hard about getting another pair. A little expensive...guess its all the extra pockets. I like them."
Review 20 for 14-Pocket Expedition Poplin Cargo Pants
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Perfect,
May 1, 2013
By: Wordsworth
from Canada
"The pants were exactly what we were looking for, albeit a bit expensive."